Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9840CDW

Color Laser Multi-Function Center® with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
3.661 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
33
3 stars
22
2 stars
15
1 star
12
88 of 127(69%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9840CDW
Review 1 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Painless Linux compatibility
Date:April 18, 2011
By iaaipjcm
from Payson, UT
I was looking for an Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (Lucid Lynx) Linux compatible color laser multifunction printer/fax/scanner with full duplex printing and wireless network capability. This printer fit the bill perfectly. To my surprise, everything was so easy that I didn't have to download anything or even open the manual. It was a so nice to be able to program the wireless settings from the printer itself. It's also a bonus that the included toner cartridges were the standard capacity and not merely a starter size.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer for me yet
Date:April 13, 2011
By jdtz
from Mississippi
After suffering for some time with top-of-the-line inkjet printers from the major company, including supply costs and most of all crashes with large print jobs (forcing me to restart at an uncertain state), I paid the extra amount for the color laser MFC-9840CDW. I have never suffered any crashes with even longer print jobs and never have had a software problem. My only complaint resides with the supply costs. Perhaps, because printing is so easy, I use it rather extensively. I recently reacted to the Brother suggestion of using black and white as the default. It really helps since I was needlessly using color all of the time, even when not essential.
I wish there were a better way of determining the actual toner usage besides counting pages or allowing me to make adjustments, accepting a gradual decline in quality. Further, if a color toner is out, it still will not print - even if that color is not important in the print. However, using B/W as the default has really helped this problem. Relative to service, I have found Brother service to be quicker and better quality than from the competition ( a pleasant surprise).
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid Machine
Date:April 11, 2011
By Roger
from Leominster, MA
My machine has been in service for several months and has performed as advertised. Scanning to PDF is essential in my tax practice. This machine handled the task without fault. Consumables are easy to change, albiet a little on the high price side. The duplexing function is the real high light of this machine. Saves on the cost of consumables which is never a bad thing. The added paper tray is a must if you're planning on using the machine in a small office environment. The MP tray is a little tempremental when printing envenlopes - it eats them! Overall this is a very good starter machine for a home based business or an excellent machine for a college student (who has a little deep pocket at home to pay for the toner and drum).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 4 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Capable System
Date:April 6, 2011
By lrwalker
from Little Rock, AR
I bought this system for my wife's new business over a year ago and it has been the workhorse for her ever since. The system itself was easy to set up. The software was a small issue because of Windows 7 I required a new version of the Brother software but their support team was great in troubleshooting that. I would recommend this device to any small office.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent for Business
Date:April 4, 2011
By Alain
from Southwestern Michigan
I purchased this for my new office. It was extremely easy to set up the network including the wireless. I recently printed a brochure on glossy laser paper and the results where great. Only minor irritation is the time to first copy and the lamp warmup time to make a copy.
I plan to purchase one for my home and would recommend it to anyone wanting a low cost full featured multi-purpose machine. By the way I already own 2 black and white Brother multi-purpose laser machines that have also been excellent.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic printer!
Date:April 4, 2011
By Fading
from Cincinnati, OH
I work for a small company, and I purchased this printer for our office. We do a lot of printing for every day use. This includes inner office paperwork, faxes, order confirmations for customers, etc. It has held up so far with our heavy usage, including lots of stamps.com printing, mass print jobs of 100+, duplexing, etc.
The only downside to this printer is that the color printing is not great for any kind of publications, photos, etc. This is not an issue for us as we use a professional printing company for things such as color flyers, business cards, etc.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 7 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Lots of capabilities; reasonably competant on all.
Date:April 3, 2011
By HuronS
from Milwaukee, WI
Duplex scanning, duplex printing are great capabilities. I guess the only other thing I would ever want would be 11x17" paper handling capacity--but that would be a much larger machine!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 8 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever!!
Date:April 2, 2011
By Xavier
Best MFC wireless printer ever. Amazing quality of build. Works perfectly all the time. Great piece!
Review 9 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer!!!
Date:April 2, 2011
By JRedd1291
from Texas
Although this printer was a little difficult to set up, it has turned out to be the best printer that I have owned! It has great quality prints, and I love the wireless scans. This unit is extremely fast. I would like to have more paper in the unit, but this may be an option that I have not checked into. Right out of the box, the MFC-9840CDW has been absolutely fantastic!!!
My only complaint would be that I would like to have more detailed instructions for use, and set-up with specifics for each of the features.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 10 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:April 2, 2011
By Anonymous
from Charlotte, NC
I've had this printer for about 2 years now and have used it everyday for business since. At first it positively mangled envelopes and I thought I would need to return it. Brother Customer Support explained how to move the toggles in the rear of the machine which instantly fixed the problem. We print brochures, letters, presentations, envelopes, etc. Great scanner. Anytime I've had an issue, Brother Customer Support gets me fixed up right away. The first output can take up to three minutes from the time the machine is turned on. After that they print very quickly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic product! Was worth every penny spent!
Date:April 2, 2011
By Nehanda
from Fairburn, GA
I purchased this Brother MFC after having my other one for 8 years. I gave that to my Dad for his office and it's still working. I've now had this one since 2008. Still working well and I'm just now having to replace parts - believe me, I've worked it! I'm an editor/information designer, which means I print and review a lot of documents. A word of caution - be careful of the gold foil labels - they mess up the rollers. I haven't had any problems and Brother Service has always helped me whenever I've had to change my technology. Absolutely great product!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value
Date:April 2, 2011
By SouthernIllinois
from Harrisburg, IL
We use this in a home/office environment with plenty of copying and faxing to our central office. The quality (color and b/w) is exceptional. Initial setup was easy, although we don't use the internal wireless capabilities, since our hub is located directly below the printer.
We love the double sided printing feature and use much less paper with it. Document feeder and large capacity paper trays are big pluses.
Cons - fairly large footprint and quite heavy, but it seems to be built to last, unlike the multiple inkjet machines it has now replaced.
At this point, we would purchase again and certainly recommend it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love the MFC-9840CDW
Date:April 2, 2011
By EvaJ
from San Francisco, CA
This is the best quality printer that I have ever purchased. Besides having multiple functional features, it is also reliable and an excellent printer to have. Very low maintenance and I do it myself. I would buy MFC-9840CDW over and over again. I highly recommend this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 14 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great all-in-one
Date:April 2, 2011
By LABob
from Shreveport, LA
I really enjoy using this product. I have had my unit for over three years, and it has NEVER had a jam. The only hiccup I have ever had is that occasionally the printer inexpicably goes "off line," and I have to reboot, but it always comes right back up.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 15 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
EVERYTHING I NEEDED AND MORE
Date:April 2, 2011
By SISI1NC
from COLUMBUS,OH
VERY SATISFIED WITH USE.dOES EVERYTHING THEY SAID IT WILL DO. NO PROBLEMS WITH FUNCTION. ALL THE FUNCTIONS I NEEDED IN ONE MACHINE.NICE! BEST OF ALL I LOVE THAT IT IS WI-FI
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-9840CDW
Date:April 2, 2011
By MaryK
Very easy to print from my wireless. Was a little hard to setup but with tech support, no problem. Love the Control Panel that shows up on all my computers.
Review 17 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love this printer
Date:April 2, 2011
By michaels
I love my Brother 9840. it is very easy to use. I spend much less in ink than when I had a inkjet. I love that I can be anywhere in the house and just hit print and it prints in the other room. I will by brother from now on.
Review 18 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:April 2, 2011
By Stevie
from OH
A lot of bang for the buck. Supplies are expensive, but about the same as HP or Dell. The fact that they use the same drum and toner as many others in the family makes me think it won't be obsolete soon. A little slow for first print since it has to warm up first, but thats the trade off for not consuming electricity all the time. Love the wireless setup. I built an office at home and brought it home from my company office and don't have a telephone line for fax so I only use the scan, copy and printer functions. Have used Brother laser fax machines at work forever and they have been great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 19 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
We Own Two
Date:April 2, 2011
By JonBoy1956
from Metamora, MI
We own two of the Brothers MFC-7840W, one for home use one for the office. We purchased the first because of great reviews and decent price and was so very pleased we bought another. Easy to use, functions great, easy set-up. Very cost efficient per page with the laser toner. If you print a lot of black and white this is the multi-function printer for you.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for MFC-9840CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good printer
Date:April 2, 2011
By dheadingto
from North Myrtle Beach, SC
This has been a very good printer as we use it to print patterns for my wifes design business. At the time of this review we have over 40,000 copies on printer we are on 2nd drum unit as expected . The only toner we use is genuine Brother from online supplier at a discount. This is cheaper to operate than the inkjet printers we have used in the past.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>