Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9010CN

Digital Color All-in-One With Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
14 of 19(74%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9010CN
Review 1 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good deal for a good price
Date:December 3, 2012
By Shadowfox
from Atlanta, GA
When I had to replace the toner cartridges in my previous printer,I discovered that I could buy the laser printer I wanted for less than the cartridges for the old one. It's been a must reliable workhorse ever since and I haven't had to replace the cartridges yet! The only thing more I could ask for is color.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 2 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Professional grade at an affordable price.
Date:December 3, 2012
By JimWides
from Clarksburg, MD
I have been using this unit for two years. It is compact but has every feature except ports for USB drives, duplex or fax.
The printing speed fast and the same regardless of the color.
Pro
Fast trinting speed
Fast warm-up
Fast scan and copy
Low noise on operation.
Con
Comes with starter cartridges. They stop before the toner is consumed up.
Scan quality could be better.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
BEST of the best
Date:November 25, 2012
By Rogern270
from MS
I have found the 9010CN to be frugal in toner use and efficient in copy or scanning. One of the most efficient and for quick copies top of the line.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 4 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer I've ever owned
Date:May 20, 2012
By 7gthom2
from Starkville, MS
Up until I purchased this unt all the printers I owned were HP, which with multiple printers always made for software conflicts between units and process difficulty in scanning.
This machine is great. Easy to set up. Easy to use. High quality. I now have a unit both at my office and at home.
I'm now a major Brother fan!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Printer
Date:July 27, 2010
By Fabricius
from Georgia
The MFC-9010CN is perfect for average use in a home office and is a good value for the money. Nearly all functions work well.
The only negative so far is the options for printing envelopes. Envelopes jam often enough that I quit trying to use it for envelopes.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best All-around Printer Ever Bought
Date:July 6, 2010
By gene12
from Huntsville, Alabama
This is the first Brother Printer purchase I have made, and so far the performance is exceptional. It was easy to network, operates on the network reliably, laser cartridges are available at reasonable prices, and quality of print is exceptional. I am extremely well satisfied with this printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A very good printer / scanner / copier
Date:April 24, 2010
By Chris
from Spokane, WA
I purchased the MFC-9010CN a few months ago and have been very pleased so far. I needed to replace my inkjet with a laser or LED printer. I received a great deal on it at the time.
I've had no problems at all. Setup was very easy. I've used the print, copy, and scan functions with great results every time. I have it set up on both Windows 7 and Ubuntu 9.10. Brother has the Linux drivers available on their website.
I have only two minor complaints. It's a little louder than I would like when printing. Also, it came with an old version of Paperport, which I have to run in compatibility-mode for it to work in Windows 7. There is a new version available from Nuance, but I'd have to pay for the upgrade.
The advantages far outweigh these minor complaints, and I highly recommend this product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Regular Product
Date:December 15, 2012
By Ahbu
The MFC is great for networking especially a home network. And I purchase Brother's products as needed MFC printer and sewing machine because of the quality, if the products continues to do satisfactory work, it's not necessary to use a different brand. Is it?
Review 9 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:November 26, 2012
By Nweber
from Lafayette, LA
The MFC -9010CN does a great job and the copies come out clear and crisp. My only drawback is the slowness of that first copy. For the price it was worth the money. Have not had any problems as of yet.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good with some issues
Date:November 25, 2012
By DotsndoodlesArt
from Astoria, Oregon
The brother laser printer works well but the main issue for me is that it has a slow warm up period and therefore can slow down worktime on its' sleep mode. Also if there is a paper jam you have to open it up, remove the cartridges to reset it. I would recommend this printer for its' price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Excellent Color Laser in it's price range
Date:November 25, 2012
By Tectime
Ease of use and excellent color printing. It would be nice if the toner cartridges lasted a little bit longer.
Review 12 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
works great on Linux
Date:May 3, 2010
By fz0dbx
from Vermont
The drivers from the Brother web site work great on Linux. Printing and scanning work on Linux. Copying doesn't have anything to do with the computer so of course it works. I haven't had to replace the toner yet but it isn't going to be cheap.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:April 25, 2010
By AZguy
from AZ
I enjoy this printer!!
It was easy to set up and network. It prints very nice black and white copies. It has nice features for scanning, copying, and printing. The color gives a nice copy also. The feeder is very convenient for a copy job. I would not recommend it for a nice professional color copy job though.
Cons: Slow start-up. However, for me, I can easily wait a few extra seconds without much of a complain. This is definitely NOT a deal breaker! The copy color is a bit on the weak side. But for the price it has a nice pictures overall. Printing a color picture gives a nice crisp picture, much better than a copy.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Great Utility printer
Date:December 30, 2012
By Sedgewick
from Cary, NC
Easy to setup and attach to network. Low current draw in standby allows 24/7 powered on for ease of use by wireless users in other rooms. Envelope printing is complicated and triggers error conditions and paper jams when returning to normal printing. Scan quality is OK, but not acceptable for photo scans that you want to print on inkjet photo printer - use a better scanner for that job.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 15 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Cant use it
Date:December 3, 2012
By Royboy
from Kent Washington
For what little I have used it I like it but the cost of the ink is so high I cannot afford to use it and it has been a while since I have used it as I am still out of yellow ink for it and if you are out of any color ink you cannot use it as it will not even print in black ink or so I have been told when I contacted customer service. So my printer has just been sitting for a number of months. It is lucky I have another hp printer that I can use.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Less then avertised
Date:November 27, 2012
By mngrfrank
from Howell NJ
Advertised fax, but it doesn't have fax feature.
Can't print out pictures, come out smeared
Other print outs features work fine but could buy less expensive machine to just do color and no fax feature.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 17 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
poor toner usage
Date:April 3, 2011
By Anonymous
from NY
The machine works well accept for toner. I get no where near the 1300 pages per toner cartridge. I'm lucky to get 400 pages. And I am not using a lot of color per page. And the toner is expensive. That makes this a poor choice. I am not happy with the purchase.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Poor paper handling
Date:May 6, 2010
By CMart
This printer does a poor job of handling paper. It is all but incapable of printing envelopes. The manual paper feeder is very unreliable and jams frequently. The automatic document feeder will not handle documents that have been stapled, or have any other irregularities. It is a great scanner, but don't expect to print on anything but 8.5 x 11 paper of normal weight.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-9010CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
No comment
Date:May 1, 2010
By TexasDanno
from Texas
Good price on the machine but can't afford the cartridges and they don't last as long as other cartridges.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
0 of 5 found this review helpful.