Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8890DW

High-Performance Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
50 of 61(82%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-8890DW
Review 1 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:December 26, 2012
By athefish
from Hemet, CA
This is my 5th Brother.. I give them a lot of work and they did with no problems. When my 8890 wears out, I will buy another Brother.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 2 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:December 26, 2012
By GTuccio
from Westchester County, NY
Purchased my MFC-8890DW w/ dual trays over 6 months ago and it's our office's main peripheral on our LAN. We all work it all day long. Print, Fax, Scan & Copy. We're still on the original toner. It's a workhorse and, a pleasure to use. Don't know how we lived without. Can't imagine working without it again. Awesome product. Congrats to Brother. Great design. Software has so many wonderful and efficient options.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 3 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome All-in-One Black & White Laser Printer
Date:December 25, 2012
By TerryN
from Ashland, OR
We run a small business and have a small office. We have owned a variety of name brand ink jet printers over the years, but never a Brother pirnter. We print 90% more black and white documents than color. Yet the ink jet printers always seemed to want color cartridges along with the black cartrideges. Ink expenses seemed high. We decided to try a black and white laser printer for the bulk of our printing. After investigating and reading many reviews, for the various manufactures, we opted for the Brother MFC-8890DW. It was easy to set up. It has an easy to understand menu. It performed well out of the box. It has printed over 1300 pages on the toner that came with the printer. And we have the larger economy toner cartridge standing by when this one expires. Of those 1300+ pages there has been only one paper jam, and that was my fault. That was easy to remove through the back panel that comes off. We have scanned many multiple stacks of two sided documents for archiving, with only one failure due to crumpled paper. That was not the machines fault either. It faxes two sided documents with ease as well. We also have a need to use the single sheet feed document tray on a regular basis, and that works very well. The paper feeds straight and we can use it to fill in preprinted ready made State forms using a spreadsheet. It prints laser labels perfectly. I have not tried printing envelopes. We do not had a need to use the wireless capability yet either. Our 3 year old ink jet printer is a two sided printer and I started the ink jet printer on a 10 page two sided document job, then started the MCF-8890DW on the same document job, and this Brother printer out paced the ink jet 5 to 1. All in all, we were pleasantly surprised. I have read some complaints about all the cheap plastic, but we have not had a problem. Go to your office store and have a look. All the brands in the $80 to $500 range are plastic. Because this is a laser printer, it does take a small amount of time to warm up. It is not instant on, but that has not been a problem for our application.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
works great
Date:December 25, 2012
By GregEP
from El Paso Texas
Easy network setup. Fast speed. Good copies. Glad I bought this for my back and white needs.
El Paso, Tx
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic
Date:December 24, 2012
By MrJBond
from Arizona
The MFC-8890DW exceeded my expectations for copying and scanning. The machine works flawlessly.
The only issue that I have is that the product instructions are not clear all the time. However, some trial and error effort for me has resolved any unknowns. I find the product great value and works superbly!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 6 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best product for small office
Date:December 24, 2012
By Wonderful
It is the best all in one product that I have purchased so far. It has proven to be an excellent workhorse and has worked flawlessly in my office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 7 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Satisfied
Date:December 24, 2012
By NEC47
I am very satisfied with the Brother printer copier that I purchased. It is the best I have every used.
Review 8 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer I have
Date:December 24, 2012
By PasWilly
from Pasadena, CA
The mulitfunction printer works well in all aspects. The best thing that I like is duplex on everything. The duplex scanning is a big plus. The wireless printing works with all my Apple devices.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:December 24, 2012
By lqthornton
from New England
This really does a great job for my small accounting office. The copier is great with lots of features so I don't have to use my big one every day. The scanner is fast, too. My only criticism of the machine is that the pages come out rounded so if I want to copy on the document feeder on my big copier, I have to straighten them out. With the high yield toner I don't have to replace the cartridge much.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:December 24, 2012
By ghernandez
from Orlando, Fl
EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR HOME OFFICE I AM SO HAPPY WITH HIS PRODUCT
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!!
Date:December 3, 2012
By AttyDiane
from San Diego, CA
Am in private practice of law as sole practitioner. For years had separate printer, fax and copier. When I recently needed a new copier it was hard to find one so I finally broke down and bought Brother Laser All-in-One. It has made my life so much easier. I like the fact that I can copy and print so simply, especially in duplex. The fax is a breeze too.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Teacher Affordable
Date:August 31, 2012
By Carochan
from Greater New Orleans, Louisiana
The MFC8890 is a fantastic product! I owned two of them: one for home and one for my classroom! This monolaser printer is a great workhorse. I used both for class materials and personal stuff. Students (mine and their friends) also printed their work--drafts and final produts--from my classroom printer. I gave that one to a colleague (who acted like he won the lottery) when I retired, but I still use the other at home.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 13 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Duplex scanning and printing
Date:March 30, 2012
By Whymi
from Texas
I purchased this machine to replace an older Brother all-in-one. I chose this particular model because it offers duplex scanning as well as printing. Many of the documents I need to scan are printed on both sides of the paper. I can place a stack of papers in the sheet feeder and it scans front, then back and moves on to the next page. The duplex printing feature has already saved lots of paper and file storage.
We use this printer on a wireless network and it has worked seemlessly. It was easy to set up and just keeps on working.
Great printer for a small office.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect All-in-One Laser for small law office
Date:March 10, 2012
By NJattorney
from Newark, NJ
I purchased the MFC-8890DW for a small law office; and, have been extremely satisfied with printing, faxing, copying and scanning.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Copier / Scanner for Home Office
Date:January 3, 2012
By Carlos
from Morgan Hill, CA
Within the last year I have purchased two MFC-8890DW systems for myself and my daughter.
The wireless function works flawlessly with my PC laptop, my MAC and my IPAD2.
Print quality is excellent even in the toner save mode. The scanning function is outstanding with forwarding to file and email and will handle letter and legal sizes. I recommend this for both home and small office. Above all - it is reliable!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Satisfied with this purchase
Date:November 7, 2011
By AlKoAirConditioning
from New Orleans, LA
This is a all around great product. The printer itself is very reliable. I have not had any problems with paper feeding, either from the tray or the feed scanner. The software package that comes with the drivers is also very good. Allowing you to adjust the settings, send faxes and even scan from any computer over the network. Notifications are also sent to all the computers.
In my opinion Brother printing products are much more efficient and reliable than the comparable HP counterparts.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:October 28, 2011
By Monterey
from Oregon
This printer overall works very well! There is the issue of envelope wrinkling. But otherwise we really enjoy the printer!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!
Date:October 10, 2011
By DigitalWalt
from Pittsburgh, PA
I had a Brother MFC-8640D with the optional NC-9100h network card (both purchased ~2005) and loved it. I'm a relatively light home user. I mostly used the copier and network printer features, about 10 pages per week or so. The few times I needed to fax or scan something, it was right there and worked great! The automatic document feeder and duplex printing were "must" features for me and always worked perfectly. At least with my use, the high-capacity toner cartridges last a couple of years. I loved my MFC-8640D and would still be using it today. Unfortunately a nasty lightning strike took it out! Grrrr! With zero hesitation, I turned to the MFC-8480DN as a replacement. At the last minute, I found a great deal on the MFC-8890DW (reviewed here), and bought it instead. It offers two major features over the 8480DN: built-in Wi-Fi and duplex *scanning/copying*. My old 8640D and the new 8480DN can automatically *print* duplex, and can scan/copy duplex with the caveat that you have to run your originals through the feeder twice (once for the odd pages, then flip the stack over and run it through again for the even pages). For my relatively light use that was fine, but the 8890DW is totally slick -- its feeder does all the duplexing automatically! Just load it up, select your copy options on the keypad, and press Start! Very cool! Thank you, Brother!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Top Drawer Performance
Date:September 29, 2011
By PopNeal
This is the best performing All-In-One I have ever owned. Has all the features anyone could need and is easy to operate. Duplex printing from the ADF was the feature that really sold me on this product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 20 for MFC-8890DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Copier
Date:September 25, 2011
By DottieF
from New York, NY
I just purchased this copier for our small business and it's been wonderful. I had never had a Brother product before so I were a cautious about this purchase, but it's been the an excellent choice.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 2 3 4 next>>