Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8220

Business Laser All-in-One
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 17(76%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-8220
Review 1 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-8220 They should all be this good
Date:August 21, 2013
By pdial
This purchase has been a pleasant journey. No surprises, dependable, and easy to operate.
Review 2 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best goods
Date:August 10, 2013
By jeffrey
from Traverse city
I highly recommend brother products, high quality/ lower price/ long live.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
WORK HORSE......BEST MULTI I HAVE USED
Date:December 21, 2012
By CURTIS
from LAUREL MISSISSIPPI
THIS IS MY SECOND ONE. FIRST ONE LASTED 9 YEARS. IT MEETS ALL MY NEEDS. I PRINT, FAX AND SCAN. HEAVY SCANNING. FOR THE MONEY IT CAIN'T BE BEAT. MINE IS USED IN OFFICE.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Low cost work horse
Date:December 3, 2012
By Cssfixit
from PA
Great home/small business machine. We print about a case a month (5000 sheets) and have never had a problem. Recommend purchasing the high capacity toner cartridge they seem to last forever.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 5 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What a workhorse
Date:November 25, 2012
By JOECAT
from Raleigh, NC
I have owned this all in one machine for over 5 years. It has never missed a beat. The quality of print, scanned items and fax resolution is great. I would say that it is also economical with respect to toner usage. I probably print about 100 pages per day.
The version I have is not network capable, and it is not wireless, but my home network seems to be an okay work around. If I had a couple of wishes, I would wish that it were wireless and also wish that it opened up as a flatbed scanner (my work around is to tape to a sheet of paper and feed it through).
This has been the best office purchase I have ever made.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 6 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:October 11, 2012
By dm2736
from Salinas Ca
I received a new laptop and had to down load the latest software but had problems installing. I called for technical support and was still not able to resolve the problem. So I kept working on it myself and eventually got the printer working. All is well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC8220
Date:March 21, 2012
By Funbobby
from Beverly Hills, Ca.
I have been using Brother Multi-Function products for over 20 years. They have worked beyond my expectations and I have had the MFC-8220 and similar Brother products for 20 years and have upgraded the similar Brother All-In-One-Multi-Function as needed. I cannot rocommend highly enough.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 8 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliable
Date:May 25, 2011
By Spackie
from Virginia
Had this unit for 5 years and it still keeps producing reliable copies. The fax function works well and the scan function connects to my computer without a hitch. I print about 300 pages a month, fax about 30 or 40 pages, and scan about 15 documents. For medium duty use it has been the most reliable machine I have owned.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellent machine
Date:March 10, 2011
By hvacrman
from Mass
all I can say is I ve owned this machine since 2004 and have had no problems with it at all. It has no problem connecting to computer through privite net work and the coping and scaning feature work great. it is the most reliable machine I have.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
7+yrs old and going strong
Date:March 5, 2011
By nala
from New York State
I have been very pleased with the faultless services this product has provided for over 7 yrs in my small business. Very well designed, simple to use and well made.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great old Work Horse
Date:December 3, 2012
By Birdbrain1963
from Missouri
I bought this device used at a resale shop and cleaned it up bought a new drum and cartridge and it works better that the newer one I purchased for my business.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Faxing
Date:December 3, 2012
By Danoksa
from Dumfries va
You have to be very careful when you fax the paper ,if it is not square with the feeder it will jam and tear the paper and clean the rollers with Goof-Off so that is will pick up each page evenly ,They can get coated with toner which will make them slippery
Out side of that it is a good 5-1
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 13 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Strong Performer
Date:November 26, 2012
By MrKen
from Marco Island, FL
Strong, fast printing of copies and faxes. Long lasting toner cartridge.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Amazing
Date:November 25, 2012
By Trish
Love this everything printer. Still haven't figured out what all it can do, but am excited to find out.
Only problem? Doesn't have color printing.
Review 15 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Issues
Date:March 7, 2011
By Wixom
from Wixom, MI
We have 5 of these units and have had issues w/the rollers on all of them. They seem to wear out fast and squeak a fair amount. We call for service at least once every 2 months for one of these units.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Not as good as previous model
Date:March 5, 2011
By Admin
from Arizona
I insisted on buying this model to replace the MFC 8500 I had used for 8 years without a problem until the laser reader died. This model does not perform even close to the workhorse my previous version was. I will be looking to replace it much sooner than I had hoped because it is not meeting my business needs as the other version had.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for MFC-8220
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Date:March 5, 2011
By bernard
from new york
Manual is too complex
Occasional malfinction of fax
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 3 found this review helpful.