Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-7440N

Laser All-in-One with Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-7440N
Review 1 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Purchased
Date:December 21, 2012
By Gideon
from Arizona
I have had this printer since it had first came out and to this day I have not had any problems with it whatsoever.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Tough printer
Date:December 3, 2012
By DaveD
from Jax, Fl.
I know printers, having worked for a competitor as a rep for a few years. This one has done everything I've asked, and without one problem. I just recomended Brother to my daughter last night, as she had a problem with another brand and uses it in her home office.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Always Brother for me
Date:December 3, 2012
By dbhtn
from Knoxville, TN
Our office purchased two brother printers just to try them out. We LOVED them and are going to be ordering more. We haven't had one single problem from with either one of them. I personally use this one, and it has proven to be a work-horse. I use it mainly as a printer, but i do use the copier and fax functions at least once a day. The toner usuage seems to be less then the Big brand name All-In-One that we replaced with this one and i know that we don't have the jams and other "nuisance" issues that we always seemed to have with the other brand. You can order this machine with confidence. We have only good things to say about it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 4 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Multiple Function Printer
Date:December 3, 2012
By Rayh
from Tampa FL
Using this unit for several years. Very dependable. Great print time even while idle for long period of time. Use the scanning feature and very pleased with this function. Highly recommend!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
All Brother Printers
Date:December 3, 2012
By LGiovinazzo
from Kent, Ohio
I have several printers from Brother and in some models more than one of the same printer. The following models are what I have and would rate all of them excellent. MCF-7440N, MCF-8460N, 2140, 2170, DCP-7065DN. Print quality, Toner life and durability is excellent. I never really experienced any problems with any of them. They take a lot of abuse because my business is a mobile business so they are often in various environments, temperatures and moved in and out of packaging. My only minor wishlist item is that their new technology of the same model would take the same toner and drum cartridges to make stocking of these items easier and less confusing for staff to grab the right replacements.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 6 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
gOOD RELIABLE PRODUCT
Date:November 26, 2012
By Dixon
from New Orleans La
I HAVE OWNED THIS mfc 7440N FOR 5 YEARS. USE IT DAILY AND HAD NOTHING DONE TO IT EXCEPT CHANGE CARTRIGES.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great unit
Date:November 25, 2012
By Leaf
from Cincinnati,Oh
When the time comes, I will replace with the same type unit.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 8 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great little work horse
Date:November 25, 2012
By Kelucia
from Sarasota, Florida
Small, compact, quick functions and great value for the money.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Bang for the Buck!
Date:January 19, 2011
By ubet426
from Kansas City
As a Reltor I go through a lot of paper. Each contract is approximately 30 pages and I may deal with multiples per day. This printer is simply amazing in it's speed and reliability. Typically I'll go two to three months with a toner cartridge & I just got the warning after a year to replace the drum unit.
The auto feed scanner works great too & when properly set can scan in 50 pages in less than two minutes. This has been one of the best business buys I've ever made. If you deal with a lot of printing & scanning, make this your printer of choice!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Quality printer
Date:January 17, 2011
By MVMa
from Washoe Valley, NV
This printer has a very solid, quality & professional look. The control panel is very easy to understand yet still has much versatility in the menu set up. Fax was very easy to set up & works independently of computer. Not oversized so fits comfortably in a small home office but still does a lot.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Wise Buy for the Money
Date:July 20, 2010
By BufordinTexas
from Texas
The MFC-7440N is a terrific purchase at just under $300 in its many easy-to-use features and it Networks also easily. Same can be said for the Model HL-5250DN copier WORKHORSE sitting next to it -- compatibility with WINDOWS VISTA is pure and easy without ANY hickups. And, finally, the software and Service directly from Brother is what you want and they provide... free. It's all easy, fast, efficient, friendly, copy quality is superior and operating costs minimal; all at a very low overall cost. Rating: A.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great networked printer
Date:July 19, 2010
By JohnF
from Hampton Va
I purchased this printer in part because of the Brother name. Back in 1998 I purchase a Brother laser printer, and it's still going strong today. This 7440N is a great printer and all in one for the cost, extremely easy to setup.
The ONLY thing I do not like about this printer is your date and time settings dissapear whey you turn the printer off, meaning you either have to leave it on, or continuously reset the date and time whenever you turn it on.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-7440N
Date:July 17, 2010
By shortimer
from Reno, Nevada
This the third Brother MultiFuntion Printer I have owned. Each of them provided good service before the cost of repair was greater than the cost of a new unit. Each of the new units cost less than the previous and provided more features. The current MFC-7440N has the most features and was the least expensive. Consumables are reasonable if you shop around and after market toner is readily available. The printing, copying, and faxing features work very well and provide the features I need. However, the menu arrangements are not very intuitive and can be a challenge if the manual is not handy. The scanning function using the Brother software gives the user a great deal of choices and controls to get just the results wanted. The only feature which I would like to see added is the abililty to great multi-page Adobe Acrobat reader (pdf) files from the scanner. Overall this is a very small footprint document handling equipment that has many features and works reliably at a very low cost.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great workhorse
Date:July 6, 2010
By NEgal
from Boston & Cape Cod
Networking setup was a breeze with the 7440. We have 6 computer users in our household, so a networked machine is essential. Copies are crisp and clear. Scanning is easy and very easily customized. Great and versatile machine. We are Brother fans - we own 4 MFCs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-7440N -Can't just buy just one.
Date:July 4, 2010
By Stejohn53
from Meridian, Mississippi
I was using a MFC-7440 at home and when my old MFC at the office started giving me trouble I bought a second MFC-7440. I have medium home office and office demands and this MFC does it all. The MFC works well with all my programs, is economical to use, and provides great black and white copies. Althouigh there is a large coppier close to my office, coworkers borrow my MFC - 7440 when they need quality copes.
My son's birthday is coming up soon. I might need to get him a MFC-7440.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good purchase one concern
Date:November 29, 2012
By caruso
from Beverly Hills, CA
Hi I love my7440 all in one, but i found that the feeder does not work very well when I have about 8 or more pages. It takes a few pages at a time, so I have to stop and start, sometimes 2 or 3.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 17 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
The MFC does what it's advertised for.
Date:November 8, 2010
By bTii
from New York, NY
Back in the days before personal computers, or rather where one could not afford a personal computer, I relied on Brother's products in order to churn out paperwork for school. Little did I know that Brother made things other than typewriters. I'm proud to own a Brothers Multi-Function Copier. Even though I've been using this for less than a year, I've been putting this machine thru so much work that the fact it hasn't broken down is a testament to the quality of product that Brother is known for.
This MFC has a scanner, fax machine, copier, and printer all in one handy package. I purchased mine as a refurbished model, which makes me all the more willing to put it through the wringer. I originally wanted to use it mainly as a fax machine, but slowly getting used to the scanner functions (upgraded to this from a Canon LIDE30) as well as everything else.
Pros:
- All in one function (no need for extra peripherals)
- Easy setup
- Comes with toner (and those things are pretty durable and long lasting for printers)
- Has an ADF (Auto Document Feeder) slot
- Clutterfree
All in all, this is a pretty solid printer, it does everything that it is supposed to, and if you're pressed for space, this is the machine for you.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good solid machine; want darker print
Date:July 18, 2010
By sullivanjam
from Las Vegas, NV
This machine keeps going and going. I do wish it would print a little darker. It's probably my age as I am not getting any younger. I am not getting many paper jams at all. I go through a ream a week and it is no problem for my Brother. I do like this machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good purchase
Date:July 17, 2010
By Beagler
from Illinois
I couldn't be more pleased with this multi-function machine. I prepare and print tax returns and I find the printer to be fast and to produce a high quality product.
My one complaint is that I cannot print envelopes from Word. I called company and rep finally blamed it on Word; however, I have an older Brothers Laser printer that I now have to use to print envelopes. I am convinced that it is the MFC -7440N causing the problem.
Other than the fact it will not print envelpes from Word, the machine could not be better. The price is right, too.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-7440N
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good product
Date:November 25, 2012
By scott4598
from Cheyenne, WY
Product works as it should, easy enough to use. However hooking it up was difficult especially the wireless networking option. I have been working on it for months and still cannot get my wireless router to communicate with the printer. I have basically given up on the wireless portion and just carry the laptop over to the printer to use it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 2 next>>