Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-6490CW

Professional Series Inkjet All-in-One Printer with up to 11" x 17" Printing and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
55 of 66(83%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-6490CW
Review 1 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Huge, but Full-Featured - and at a Great Price!
Date:July 16, 2011
By DOSBoxMom
from Dwight, IL
This was an upgrade from Brother's bottom-of-the-current-line DCP-J125 (quite a bit smaller, USB connection only, no fax, and a almost-but-not-quite-letter-size scanner glass), so there's a big difference in the form factor between the two models. I went with the MFC-6490CW rather than the current-model MFC-6510DW for 2 main reasons:
1) Rock-bottom price (you can buy this as a refurb from Staples for half the MSRP in the Brother Mall, and it still has the same manufacturer's warranty as a new 6490); and
2) If you're moving up from one of the smaller current-line DCPs/MFCs (which take the LC61 ink cartridges) and have spare LC61 cartridges on hand, those LC61 cartridges can still be used in the 6490 (although, once you've used those up, you'll doubtless want to switch to the high-capacity LC65s). The MFC 6510DW (like its siblings, the 6710 & 6910) takes a different size cartridge.
Setup of the MFC-6490CW was more time-consuming than for the DCP-J125 (because I had to set up the fax & the wireless networking), but at least the instructions were pretty clearly laid out, programmed-text/flowchart style. I already had the optional software installed from having done it for the DCP-J125, so that saved some time. I got to practice sending a fax by faxing in the product registration form (although you can still also register the product online). I've made both black & white and color printouts with it on its first day of use, and have figured out the scanner. (I expect to do a LOT of my eBay "product photography" directly on this scanner!) If you've got the space for something this big, the extra features make the MFC-6490CW well worth the investment.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Terrible
Date:June 11, 2011
By puppy
from Maine
Purchased for a 2 person office. Would not recommend it. Jams all the time, goes to sleep all the time, loses wireless connection (when other printers do not), does not do envelopes without jamming, leaves lines on copies, takes forever to cancel a print job, VERY TEMPERMENTAL!! I am very frustrated with it and often resort to using my old printer. Definately the worst printer we've owned!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Poor print and scan quality.
Date:May 29, 2011
By Pdmiller
from Denver, CO
The 11" x 17" format is convenient, but the quality of prints and scans is poor.
Print colors are dull and lines are not sharp. Scans are streaked like a circus tent.
Doesn't come close to the quality of my other printers.
Everything else seems fine.
For me, it was a total waste of money.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 4 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Not Quite Good Enough
Date:April 27, 2011
By Ghostman
from Englewood, CO
We struggle with the machine picking up more than one piece of paper at a time. In making two sided copies, this creates a HUGE problem. Not only does it not perform correctly, it destroys all of the preceeding work because of messing up the order. It may be easy to use, but it doesn't make up for having to reuse it time after time, hoping it will get it right.
In my opintion, this machine is just not quite good enough to recommend to others.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Constant hassle
Date:March 16, 2011
By Nickname
This printer is very fussy. It's very slow, takes forever to cancel a document, and there's always something to fiddle with when I need to print. It tells you it's low on ink when it's really not.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another Excellent Machine!
Date:October 22, 2010
By LinuxMan
from New York, NY
I was so satisfied with the results I got with an MFC6890CDW I purchased that I went and got this one for Home use to set it up on a mixed interface network with different Operating Systems and network protocols (I have linux on my machine, my wife uses Windows and my teenage kids use Mac).
Once again the Brother machine proved to be extremely easy to set up even for my wife who is not an advanced user and the wireless connectivity works flawlessly, my children are able to print and scan wireless and even use it with the Iphone through the App Brother has developed for them.
ONCE AGAIN, GREAT PRODUCT FOR A GREAT PRICE!!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great print quality with large scale scanning
Date:October 3, 2010
By SkipStone
from Phoenix
Finally a reasonably priced printer with great photo printing quality. Throw in an 11 x 17 scanner and you have the best all-in-one for the money. Thanks Brother.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Promblems & Quality
Date:September 29, 2010
By vms52
from Baltimore, Md.
I have many printers in my home & business and access to many others in my family. I use Cannon, HP and Brother Printers constantly. I need reliable, great quality and productive printing options for my personal and business needs so... I bought the Brother Printer to get the extra large copy and scanning capabilities. Well that's the only thing it's worth doing on the printer. When I print my photos and flyer items I use my Canon or HP. The Brother is constantly jamming, cleaning or otherwise taking forever to print something. It drives me nuts and I try not to use it much. The photo color and quality sucks and when I print the same photo on my other printers you really can see the difference in quality (Cannon & HP have much better photo quality).
Thank God I have my other printers for the important stuff!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer I have purchased
Date:August 12, 2010
By options
from Omaha, NE
Absolutely the best printer I have ever had. I've used HP's for years and last 3 were junk and supplies are expensive. We use this printer hard and have yet to have a problem. The 11x17 capabilities make printing our show posters cheaper and easier than taking to a print shop. We brought our design and printing in house, now we change our fliers on a per show basis. Networkable so all the computers in your office have the same great capabilities, fax, scan, print etc... We like this printer so well a couple us us have purchased for home use.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Disappointment Ally
Date:July 12, 2010
By MilwaukeeKid
from Milwaukee, WI.
Staring out on a $29 Lexmark printer, years ago proved to be a smarter buy. The color was closer than my new MFC-6490-CW. Ink cartridges are over priced and don't have much ink in them. It's nice to have the fax and the other features, but they sure didn't put much into the printer. I am embarrassed to show people the colors that come out on color schemes that are known, such as logos or national brands. The "ledger" was the thing that brought me to Brother, but just about every other aspect they put together here is mediocre at best. The features are less than the old Lexmark, that at least featured 'duplex' printing. My comparable HP business printer had all the features and a good print set-up dialogue box, to show a preview. HP also had comparable priced ink cartridges, but they held three times more ink. Even with $100 off, I feel "ripped". All and all, except for the 11X17, it's a big disappointment.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent purchase
Date:July 8, 2010
By KyleJ
from Port Orchard, WA
The purchase of this printer has served me very well. The print quality is very good and the wireless application went smoothly. Scanning has not been a problem either. I would recommend this for the person who doesn't do heavy printing volumes as the speed is a little slower but overall it is an excellent machine for the small office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
quite adequate, but not perfect
Date:June 28, 2010
By businessowner
from rural New England
My business has purchased two Brother MFC-6490CW Color Inkjet All-in One printers. They have been perfect for printing large format client newsletters. They also work well for everyday use, but as with inkjets, consume large amounts of expensive ink. There are several issues that have been encountered. Connecting to multiple PCs, and reconnecting to other PCs seems to be a problem for recognizing drivers. Large envelopes easily jam. Even though the specs indicate use for large envelopes, I have been unable to get them to feed without jamming. The final issue is the large footprint, although perhaps for all the features it is necessary. All in all, I am satisfied with Brother vs. the problamatic HP printers that I had been using.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Unhappy consumer
Date:May 27, 2010
By PurpleLady
from Oviedo, FL
I purchased this printer because I needed to be able to print 11x17 documents. It uses a lot of ink because the printer must continually clean the heads. It is a year later and now the printer goes into the offline mode and is not easily brought back online. The print heads must be cleaned six times after changing the cartridges before it will print (it will pull the paper through like it is printing, producing a blank paper and it takes trial and error to determine the multiple cleanings necessary to print).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Experience and Terrific Value
Date:May 6, 2010
By Barry
from Southern California
Brother has his a home run with this product. I've had it for over three years and it has never disappointed me as I continue to explore and use its many features. I'm still amazed at its price point considering it is one of the few machines that can handle 11x17 documents - what a value! I was also concerned that I would have trouble once I installed Windows 7. Those concerns evaporated as the machine worked flawlessly from the get go. This is by far the most versatile, reliable, and economical multi-function I have ever had. I expect to get many more years of service out of it. After that, I look forward to replacing it with whatever successor model Brother has at that time. As far as I'm concerned, Brother has earned my loyalty.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:May 3, 2010
By 32sc16
from WA
Easy to set up and use including networking!
Scan & Print quality is fast for this price point & good quality.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine so far!!!!
Date:April 26, 2010
By Fabe
from Hazleton, PA
I originally purchased your competitors all in one. In my opinion it was very difficult and a nightmere to set up with Windows 7. I tried several times/ then had a friend of mine who is a computer tech try and he couldn't get it either- It also used alot of ink. The second day I had it I was back at the store for ink . I was very disgusted and annoyed. I returned it and bought this machine which was a bit more expensive but well worth the extra money-it set up right away and works great-no problems so far-not hard on ink-highly recommend this machine-I also have a word processor that still works great - I used in college- about 13 years old and it's still running- I also bought for my parents a brother fax machine that's over ten years old and it just keeps running. Great products -thanks BROTHER!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Buy
Date:April 14, 2010
By PropheticVoice
from Stafford, VA
This has to be one of the best values for the money I have come across as far as multi-function printers are concerned. Being able to print 11 X 17 paper is unheard of at this price. Very frugal on the injet cartridges also. Software that came with it (Paper Port 11 SE and others) is great. I am pleased as punch.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
poor quality
Date:April 10, 2010
By Rayprinter
from aurora , co
we have spent a small fortune in transparent paper and ink for our silk screening business and this printer does not print quality and crisp pictures. 11x17 tray jams when trying to print on transparency paper. Would like a refund on this printer but customer service is not cooperating.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Meets expectations
Date:April 9, 2010
By NightOwl54
from Augusta ME
Relatively easy to set up, considering all it does. Wireless is terrific; print quality very fine. Purchased particularly for 11X17 paper handling capability-it works great! Only concern is that materials (plastic) seem pretty flimsy and may not hold up (glad I got extended warranty).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for MFC-6490CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent All-in-One Machine!
Date:April 6, 2010
By RimCountrySunrise
from Arizona Mountains
I have had this printer for over a year and am are very pleased with the performance. The computer and the printer are in separate rooms and the wireless feature works great! I prints lots of letter and legal documents every day and it is so easy to switch between paper trays on the computer screen. The scanner feature works very well for documents and pictures. The fast/normal print feature is great for printing emails...get a quality print and saves on ink. It would be nice to have a less cumbersome way to print envelopes. Overall, this is a great machine - black/white and color prints are sharp/clear. A great all-in-one machine and excellent value!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>