Product Reviews

Brother HL-4040CDN

Color Laser Printer with Duplex and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 of 16(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-4040CDN
Review 1 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice Printer
Date:May 3, 2010
By Huntndox
from Fort Collins, CO
This printer is good quality. Printing is fast, and clear. Good colors. Works quietly. Easy to install, basically plug and play. I really appreciate the duplex printing feature, which works flawlessly.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Color Printer (Laser)
Date:May 3, 2010
By Downeast
from Coastal Maine
Setting up the 4040CDN was easy, using the included instruction sheet and Windows 7. We loaded the tray with color laser paper and first printed a family photo. AMAZING quality delivered in a few seconds. Because the 4 toner cartridges are quite expensive, we have kept our black toner cartridge printers (Brother HL-5340s) for routine work; however, our invoices, mailing labels, etc. are printed in color, which make an attractive appearance. And 8 X 10 color photos are the best prints of all !
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for Home with 6 users
Date:May 1, 2010
By Phil13
from McDonough, GA
I got tired of having to buy ink for 6 different printers for the family use, plus the ink cartridges cost a lot for 6 different printers. The toner does get pricey but not if you figure the use and time between replacements. I hooked this baby up to the network and now everyone prints to the one printer, I don't have to worry about the cartridge drying up on the areas that don't see a lot of use and so far all the print outs have been flawless. The software that comes with the printer is a dream to set up and we have XP, Vista and Windows 7 Home and Professional on the different computers in the household. It's the best idea I have had in a long time. The toner is actually cheaper and more convieniet for me than all those different ink jet cartridges. Printer is excellet and works just like it should. And it is heavy but that means its less likely to get tipped over with some of the atheletes in the family horseing around nearby.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Fair to Good
Date:June 21, 2010
By marievm
from Vienna, VA
For the most part I like the printer. I agree with the other comments on printing envelopes. Every envelope I have attempted to print comes out wrinkled and VERY unprofessional looking.
I dislike having to replace all the color cartridges when I primarily use the black. Replacing the cartridges is almost the same price as a new printer.
Print quality is good. I have not had jams on the duplex nor on the manual feed.
IF I had a friend interested in a printer I would make sure they are aware of the envelope and cartridge problems.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Happy, but two issues
Date:June 4, 2010
By NapervilleAccountant
from Naperville, IL
Overall I do like this printer. Quality, speed, paper tray, etc. all good. However there are two things that I do not like about it. First, when I try to print on business envelopes they come out wrinkled - I cannot use them because of their lack of professional appearance. Also, I find it strange that every time one of they color cartridges goes out, they all go out. Yet, I use significantly more of some colors than others. I thought they would be more independent and find I am spending more money replacing all three color cartridges at the same time when I seriously doubt that they are all empty.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good value color printing; problem with envelopes
Date:May 11, 2010
By DSharper
from NY
The print quality is very good, and the media cost is lower than some other printers. I like and use the autoduplex feature a lot, although it slows down the print rate somewhat. Overall, a very good value. The only problem I've had is that business envelopes run through the sheet feeder invariably come out with wrinkles and creases. I'm still working to see if this can be resolved. In the meantime, since I don't do a lot of envelopes, I'm happy to use the Brother for color printing and an old B&W laser printer for envelopes.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Quality printer no real problems
Date:May 6, 2010
By LJTechservices
from Normal, IL
Let's get the bad out of the way. I don't like the warm-up time. But I don't like it on any color printer.
If I printed more I would turn the power save features off.
Colors are vivid. Duplexing works well.
I print to this device from 3 operating systems.
Ubuntu Linux 9.10 & 10.04, Mac OS X Leopard, Windows XP.
I may need to boost the memory in it as sometimes it chokes on larger print jobs.
I'm a trained laser printer technician. I've fixed HP and Lexmark laser printers for 15 years.
I've almost exclusively suggested and owned HP printers to customers for that period of time.
I jumped to Brother because the print quality on many HP work-group and personal printers has dropped over the years.
Even though I was leaning toward a Brother Printer when i was searching for a color printer the price point on the HL-4040CDN just happened to be right for me when the time came to make a purchase.
This printer doesn't get 5 stars due to problems feeding from the manual tray.
Though I only use it for an occaisional envelope it will mangle an envelope once in a while.
other times it doesn't feed straight. This may be due to media or other environmental errors. But it's happened enough to make it annoying.
I would suggest this printer to anyone looking for a home office or even family printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great service, good printer overall.
Date:May 3, 2010
By DaveF
from Oceano, CA
I bought this printer for my business about six months ago. First, Brother's phone support is excellent. I have VOIP and needed to change some settings, and the representative handled it quickly and easily. I have a lot of "curl" when I print envelopes, but haven't called on that yet. I highly recommend this printer and Brother's support.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer for the price.
Date:May 3, 2010
By CSMorris
from Lapeer, MI
I have had this printer for about 4 months now. It has performed well with paper jams ONLY on 45 lb. paper printing duplex. The instructions state that this paper is to heavy to work, but I used the front feed manual system an only had 3 jams in 500 brochures.
The colors are not as vivid as my other printer, but that was a Xerox Phaser 8200 and there is no way to compete with the wax ink!
Over all it is a good workhorse that prints quickly.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good value for the price
Date:July 25, 2010
By Pooh5898
from Massachusetts
This is a great value for the price. The biggest negative is that the envelopes come out wrinkled. I disagree with the other reviewers about needing to replace all the cartridges when one goes. You only need to replace the color that is empty not all of them, however, you cannot print anything until you replace that one toner. I never had to replace all my toner cartidges when one is empty.
I've had the printer for a little over a year and used the duplex feature constantly. However, recently the duplex printing is squeaking & getting jammed. I don't know why.
Overall good purchase.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
not bad for the money
Date:May 1, 2010
By fjnbear2
from kearney, nebraska
If you are looking for a REALLY fast printer this is really not the one. For the price paid it is really not a bad printer. Very slow to print from sleep mode.Duplexing is great. Print is not to bad . Not perfect. colors are kind of washed out. Black is good.I have new brother 5370 dw that cost about $100 less and is MUCH faster and better quality print.only its just b & w .
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
It's great but ...
Date:May 1, 2010
By karenb
from Carbondale, IL
Love the price, compact office size, easy and less expensive cartridge replacement, relatively fast printing but ...
a bad cyan cartridge dumped toner all over. Customer service was just OK to get it running again and very quick to replace the cartridge.
The printer has never operated right since then, the paper is sometimes pulled and stretched through the rollers and curls up in the upper left corner.
The toner conservation control is so hard to get to.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Better then most but could be better
Date:December 23, 2010
By Desta
from Mercer, PA
after researching for the best quality and lowest price per page i ended up getting one of these and loved it as it did everything i needed and more:-) it is a solid build and looks and feels well built (unlike most other brands i tried) i have printed thin and thick paper, lables and envelopes with no trouble
the only downside was it uses quite a bit of power even in sleep mode but i see some of there new models are much better
all was good until 2 years and 3000 pages later (i never even had to replace the ink) then it failed with the error code "Print Unable 32" witch with a little searching appears to be quite common with brother printers and you can't fix it (or at least not for less then the cost of 2 new printers)
i have other friends with similar brother laser printers and they have all died with the same error code within 2 years
so while i will most likely buy another one (as i have yet to find a better printer) don't expect them to last more then a few years and i would spend the $ and get a 3yr extended warranty as it will be worth it
Printer Firmware Version : 1.18
Printer Sub Firmware Version : 1.09
Engine Firmware Version : 1.15
Memory Size : 64 Mbytes
Total Page Count : 3072
Color Page Count : 2402
Monochrome Page Count : 670
Total Paper Jams 3
Error History (last 10 errors)
1: Print Unable 32 Page: 3072
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
not a great value
Date:November 16, 2011
By Stevi
from The Woodlands, Texas
We bought this for our office a little over 1 year ago. Used it once/month to print newsletters. it started making loud grinding noise and I found out the drum and OPC belt needs replacement. These consumables will cost more than buying a new printer. All in all, I would not recommend Brother if this is how long the product lasts.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Tired of the Jamming!!!
Date:November 18, 2010
By TheDude
from Phoenixville, PA
I do not recommend this printer. I purchased the device in July 2009. The jamming has gotten worse and worse over time. Started a few months after I purchased it, but the frequency was tolerable. Now, I can't print anything with out the pages ripping, jamming, wrinkled. I am extremely disappointed as I thought this was a good value based on other reviews I read.
Do Not Buy!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-4040CDN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
junk! junk! junk!
Date:June 18, 2010
By angry
piece of junk. duplex printing gets jammed constantly, feeding from front tray and it multifeeds 4-5 sheets. don't buy this printer.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.