Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (155 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
40
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
17
124 of 155(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another Solid Brother Product
Date:September 2, 2015
By
from Easthampton, MA
Having used Brother products over the decades, I can say that this printer respects Brother's tradition of competence and value for the price. I've been unable to discern any discrepancy in color reproduction of a given computer file and the finished printed copy. As for the cost of replacing toner cartridges, that's a qualifier. But I made my purchase understanding that I wouldn't be buying cartridges for an inkjet.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Color Laser HL-3170CDW
Date:August 29, 2015
By
from Mesa, AZ
Very happy with printer. Much better than always needing to buy inkjet cartridges. For heavier stock you should let it feed out of the back to avoid curling. It is a big and heavy printer so you will need adequate room to place it. It is not meant to be a photo printer. If you need photo quality or need to use photo paper this is not the printer for you. For greeting cards, craft projects, etc. I believe you will like it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Trouble free on my home network
Date:August 25, 2015
By
from Georgia
This is a super printer. Print quality looks like it came from a pro print shop. I've had it 3 months and it is the first printer to work on the home office network without periodically wasting hours running around to all the computers adjusting this and that and uninstalling and re-installing software to make everything work and play well together. I kept my old "all-in-one" around for scanning. After ink purchases, I think this will be cheaper in the long run. Highly recommend.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great print at a great price
Date:August 22, 2015
By
from Louisville KY
So far an excellent product and at a great price. A slight issue with the one I received. Tech support troubleshooted and immediately sent me a new printer. Great support.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Saved by the quality
Date:August 21, 2015
By
from Pittsburgh, PA
I needed to have a minimum standard of quality to present quarterly reports to my Hospital client. I am a one person office and generally in the room working with and competing against the largest of companies.
My purchase and use of the HL-3170CDW had an immediate impact on my confidence as soon as I installed it and printed the reports within minutes. I was truly relieved. I have been in business 35 years and 17 on my own. This color printer gave even me a boost of confidence. Thank you Brother.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Trouble at first
Date:August 20, 2015
By
from St. Peters MO
I had problems keeping this printer connected to my wireless network at first. I even returned the first one thinking the printer was a problem, as my last brother and all the other brothers printers worked fine in my office on the wireless network. Come to find out the printer I was replacing was not connected wirelessly and was hard wired as I have a connection issue back in my personal office. Either way, tech support worked with me over and over trying to get it working for me. Thanks.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent
Date:August 19, 2015
By
from Port Angeles, WA
As good as it gets. Ironically, this replaces an HP OfficeJet 6700 which was a disaster from day 1.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
No complaints!
Date:August 12, 2015
By
from Knoxville,TN
Right out of the box, easy setup and start printing immediately from my iphone/PC. Drivers are MAC and Windows friendly and color pages are flawless for brochures or reports.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Wonderful printer
Date:August 11, 2015
By
from Chesapeake, VA
I am very pleased with my printer and the quality of its output. It is simple to use and much more quiet than its predecessor! I am still working on my starter pack, so I cannot speak to the economy of prints.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Versatility
Date:August 11, 2015
By
from California
This is one of the best purchases I have made. This printer allows me to print from any room in my house directly from my phone or my iPad.
The color printing is very accurate and in most cases I don't need to make adjustments.
I am very pleased with this printer and the setup was easy.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
love it!
Date:August 8, 2015
By
from Cape Cod MA
I purchased the printer because I need to print pictures of my grandchildren that are in color.
This printer does the job nicely!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best customer service ever
Date:August 7, 2015
By
from Carlstadt, NJ
All I can said Brother have a fast solving problem team.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL 3170CDW
Date:August 7, 2015
By
from Oregon
I have had this printer for about two months and so far i really like what it can do and the quailty that it prints in. I have not as of yet tried color printing. So far thrilled with printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does *everything* we need, well
Date:July 29, 2015
By
from San Jose, CA
Love this printer.
It does absolutely *everything* we need (except print high-quality photos, for which we keep a dedicated photo printer). Laser? check. Color? check. Duplex? check. Inexpensive? Compared to competition, yes.
I also really appreciate that the software driver includes a checkbox for "Black & White", which I use for printouts that don't require color (so don't waste color toner).
This printer replaced a Dell color laser printer, with which I was NOT happy. It didn't do duplex, didn't have a B&W option, and after owning it for 6 months or so started making a horrible clatter and stopped working. Poor quality.
We have owned 5 Brother (B&W) laser printers over the last approx 12 years, and EVERY SINGLE ONE of them is still working!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good value
Date:July 27, 2015
By
from Northwest
I have used this printer as my main printer for about two months replacing an older HP multifunction printer. I am very happy with the speed, quality and economy of using this printer. I am glad I purchased it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 21, 2015
By
from Virginia
I really like this printer. I love that I can print wirelessly, it is incredibly convenient to print from the laptop or phone. It prints fast and has good quality. I don't print fancy documents, so I cant say for certain that type of quality, but for all of my needs it has done really well.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good overall printer
Date:July 20, 2015
By
So far, so good. Purchased to replace Kodak printer that kept having jamming issues. Looking forward to not having to buy ink so often.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT Printer!
Date:July 9, 2015
By
from Florida
Having first become aware of this printer at my employer's workstation, I found it to be a very good solution for a cheaply made & defective H-P inkjet printer. The interesting thing was that the H-P unit was advertised as an office quality unit, NOT a home quality one. For all the printing needs, both colour & B&W, this BROTHER printer performed quite well, even on lengthy print runs. And, since a couple of PCs under my control at the office were portable laptops, the WiFi connections to these devices & the BROTHER printer worked WITHOUT a hitch. I can say that the installation of the software in all 3 PCs went smoothly, WITHOUT interruption & to completion. Based on this experience, when it was time to purchase a printer for my personal home use, I purchased the same model, and have been likewise very well pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MANAGER
Date:June 30, 2015
By
from MILFORD, DE
THIS IS A FANTASTIC PRINTER. I AM SO PLEASED TO HAVE PURCHASED. FEATURES ARE EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:June 28, 2015
By
from Fayetteville, NY
Easy to set up... working without any flaws. Just what I expected from my newest Brother Printer. I now have three, two of them are my main printers and one is a back up (which I have had for better than 9 years and it still works perfectly).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>