Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-3170CDW

Digital Color Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
7
60 of 72(83%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3170CDW
Review 1 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:December 10, 2014
By Donnf
from Georgia
The HL-3170CDW is an excellent printer, performance wise. If it has any negatives it is the cost of the toner cartridges. They are a little pricy, but they do make excellent printed documents.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 2 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Forget those color inkjet (aka ink-suckers)
Date:October 19, 2014
By MeMeMom
from Franklin, TN
I am so glad I went with this product. I got tired of the less-than-professional looking color prints on multiple inkjet printers I have tried. This one exactly fills the bill---and no more worrying about dried up cartridges. Color is vibrant, crisp, and the printer has a small footprint making is perfect for my home office. Speed is more than adequate. Setup was a breeze. Yes, you may pay more initially for replacement ink when needed, but it lasts SO MUCH LONGER and nothing is wasted. I also own a Brother 8890DW, which has been a workhorse for many years without a single problem. This is why I went with Brother again and have not been disappointed. Very, very happy with my purchase.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Band for the Buck
Date:August 13, 2014
By VideoPro
from Baltimore, MD
I bought this Brother color laser printer after finally being fed up with my older inkjet printer taking too long, using too much ink and dealing with paper jams. I did some research and found that for the price, this printer fit my needs, and more. I use it mostly for printing DVD case labels, which I do a lot of. It is fast and prints great color labels. I am not using it to print my photos (I am keeping my inkjet for that) but for everything else, it is great. Only complaint is that since I use A4 paper for the labels, the plastic paper stopper on top really does not give enough room for this longer paper. I leave it down and let the labels fall onto the table. Also, the 4 ink cartridges it came with did not not last as long as I thought they would and the replacement ink is not cheap but it is easy to replace. You just have to use common sense and do not print a lot of deep, dark colors for your labels if you want to save on ink. It has a great menu system which is easy to navigate. For instance, I recently was able to figure out how much ink is available for each of the 4 toner cartridges via the menu system, without having to print 3 pages of the Print Settings any more. It seems to be built solid and I expect it to give me many years of great service.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for the Price
Date:August 12, 2014
By Ivor
from Bay City, MI
For a color laser printer you can not beat the price and the quality of printed material when using a decent paper for the job involved. I use this on a home network between 2 desktops, a laptop and one tablet.. No problem.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Great
Date:July 27, 2014
By JLee
I bought this machine & it has worked great. I have not had any problems or complaints about this printer.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 6 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase, Great Price, Just love it.
Date:July 26, 2014
By FEWray
from Sunrise, Florida
I was looking for a color printer to replace my other B&W Brothers' Laser printer. Had to give it up to my daughter heading for college. I fell in love with Brother Printers, so had to get another one, Great Products. I then saw this model at a great price and did not hesitate to purchase. This has a larger foot print, but still smaller than lots of the other color printer out there and has every thing you will need for a home office. Initial setup of the wireless printing can be tricky, but brother has information on their WEB site that will help you with that, not in the manual.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worth the money
Date:July 5, 2014
By PeteL
from CT
I have been waiting for a reasonable color laser printer and now have found one. This machine prints in great color and the double sided is a bonus. The only thing negative I have to say is that I have a chomebook and thought the wireless connection would allowed it to print, but it won't I still have to print using the cloud.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Our new Laser Color printer
Date:June 30, 2014
By M87inc
from Medinah, IL
We have in the past used ink jet printers for our students graduation certificates. The HL-3170CDW we purchased, delivers a 50% or more, sharper image for our students. We also have seen much less laser powder use compared to our old HP printer. We have owned the Brother printer for about 3 months and so far we are pleased with the quality of our printing our Photoshop images, and the cost of our printing per page.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Welcome upgrade
Date:June 28, 2014
By fStop
from Pennington, NJ
After using a competitive color laser printer fpr 7 years, I needed to upgrade. Much to my surprise, not only was the size and the price about half of what my old unit was, but the features had been improved. Who doesn't want to get more for less? And the quality is wonderful--good job!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 10 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:June 27, 2014
By DirtDoctor
from KY
I have only used it a dew days but everything I have printed is very good.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I needed
Date:June 24, 2014
By Skyline
from Spokane, WA
I have looked at several color Laser printers and this one is the best of the lot. Great interface, easy to set up, and just works. Simply put the deep sleep feature is great, the simplicity of printing and cloud printing just worked with this product.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 12 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Really love it
Date:May 28, 2014
By carversm
from Prescott, AZ
Not the fastest printer but then I did not need speed and it duplexes and the colors are good and I REALLY like it
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 13 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good copier
Date:May 25, 2014
By officefrau
from fort washington pa
Everything is good about this copier. I especially like the duplex. Only drawback is the on/off button. Really need to push it and do not know if it worked.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:May 15, 2014
By Samy
from Southaven, MS
The church had a desk top multi purpose printer. It was old and not dependable. I was familiar with Brother products and decided to try the color laserprinter. It has been a good purchase and the documents printed are very professional looking and the color is perfect. I would highly recommend it to anyone needing a good printer. The printer is also used to print checks. I feel more secure printing checks on the brother than a inkjet printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 15 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice Printer
Date:April 25, 2014
By bgravit
from Turner, ME
Bought this to replace my old Brother Laser Printer which was around 10 years old and beginning to show its age. It still worked fine, but was black and white only.
Setup was a little difficult to understand for wireless printing, but I can attribute that more to my not understanding exactly what I was doing rather than the equipment or literature. Got my girlfriend's laptop connected up for wireless printing and she just loves it. :)
Very happy with the quality of print and even though it is not supposedly a photo quality printer It does a great job for me. I have used it to print pictures of various things...like the mounting hole inside a front spindle assembly for the ABS sensor on a 94 Camry and was very impressed with the fine detail the printer showed. If I want a higher quality picture I will take a SD card into a store and print one.
I like the printers ability to print on both sides of the paper as well. Saves paper and time. I just have to remember to select the option when the print window appears.
Unlike a inkjet printer I do not have to worry about the ink drying up on me, so it is always ready to go.
Very happy with this purchase.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:April 21, 2014
By gimmama
from union city, tennessee
I have only had the brother printer for a short time but I am very pleased with it thus far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 17 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
DA BEST I EVA HAD
Date:March 14, 2014
By UDABEST
from West Palm Beach, FL
This is the fastest, most reliable, and easiest wi-fi printer I have ever owned. Can't say more for a printer so I will leave it at that.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 18 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-3170CDW
Date:March 14, 2014
By MalcolmZ
from Fayetteville, AR
This printer performs excellently, a bargain for what we paid. Installation was very simple and it worked immediately.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
hl3170cdw
Date:March 13, 2014
By eddsr1
from Woodbury, NJ
This printer works really well, it has all of the features a home or small office should need. The printing is very sharp, the paper trayis large enough, the duplex printing works nicely and the speed is great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 20 for HL-3170CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good printer/terrible with Win 8
Date:March 10, 2014
By GreyBeard
from Ohio
I have several Brother printers and they all have problems working with windows 8. Brother blames the computer manufacturer and windows and in return they all blame Brother. I am tired of going back and forth trying to get everything working on my windows 8 computer. All of my Brother printers work great on my win 7 computers but unfortunately my main computer that I use the most if win 8. Brother needs to find a fix for this problem so they can service their customers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>