Product Reviews

Brother HL-3040CN

Digital Color Printer with Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
29 of 40(72%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3040CN
Review 21 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
not worth it
Date:May 8, 2010
By secretary
from saginaw michigan
the printer is quiet, fast and does a beautiful job printing. I purchased the printer based on the amount of pages that the toner said it uses. This is not true, I have spent so much money on toner it is ridiculous. I am very angry about that. I also have the laser 5140 and the toner lasts forever. But the 3040 is so expensive it is not worth buying
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
HL-3040CN
Date:November 20, 2010
By Phototom
from Smyrna TN
The printer is great, with beautiful color.
The only thing that I do not like about it, is the starter cartridges that is comes with. Very little toner in them, and for the money I paid for the printer, I should get more toner than this.
I was only able to print 125 color pages from them before the printer said I need to replace the color cartridges.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A GREAT BUY
Date:April 24, 2010
By TROLLEYNUT
from OCONOMOWOC, WI
THE PRINT QUALITY, SPEED OF PRINTING AND COLOR RENDITION QUALIFIES THIS PRINTER AS AN EXCELLENT BUY FOR YOUR MONEY. ITS PRICE COMPARES WITH INKJET PRINTERS THAT OPERATE AT A FRACTION OF THE SPEED AND BLEED ONTO THE PAPER SURFACE IF A DROP OF WATER TOUCHES THE INK. IT FAR SURPASSES MY FORMER INKJET PRINTER IN EVERY WAY. THANKS BROTHER FOR A VERY GOOD PRODUCT!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 24 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased With Purchase
Date:July 26, 2011
By Vern1947
from Greenwood, SC
I bought the Brother HL-3040CN color laser printer because it was at a great price, and because I already had a monochrome Brother laser printer, the HL-2040. I like the ease of changing the toner cartridges, and the relative low-cost of the cartridges. The print quality is superb! I will never go back to inkjet printers! I am very pleased with the Brother brand!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
won't buy another
Date:July 11, 2011
By Anonymous
I am really disapointed - gone through 4 sets of cartridges (color and black including the 'starter cartridges)) in less than 2 months and we haven't printed anywhere close to the approximated 6000 sheets that we should have been able to print. We don't use much color and they all go out at the same time?? not sure why and not much help from 'support' on why either.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome!
Date:August 17, 2010
By schworak
from Salem, Oregon
I already owned the Brother MFC-7820N but I wanted color and inkjets just weren't working out for me. I plugged the printer in, connected the network cable and within 20 minutes had it running on my two Ubuntu Linux laptops and two Windows 7 boxes as well. I am running the HL-3040CN over the network just like the 7820N and they both work perfectly. I am so very happy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Eats Toner, Terrible front loader
Date:September 4, 2010
By Administrator
from Lansing, MI
I used to think Brother was a great company until I bought this printer for my office from Office Max. Even though the machine is not out of toner, it demands I replace the toner and will not let me print anything. This is a SCAM. It is my printer, I will decide when to replace the toner. Dollar for dollar a basic ink jet printer is more cost effective and often faster than this terrible printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:April 24, 2010
By huskeyman
from Jackson, Mi.
Printer is a part of our home network. It operates very well on our Imac, however, I get nothing but blank pages while using my MacBook Pro. It receives the signal to print and begins printing, but only blank pages come from the printer. I have not yet contacted Brother to have them help determine the problem. I'm sure it can probably be resolved. I did print well on the Mac Book Pro the first time I tried printing from it; it is just recently that I started getting the blank pages. Other than that, it prints beautifully vivid colors.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 29 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Toner Problem
Date:May 1, 2010
By DJones
from Evans, GA
I received this printer for Christmas. I thought they were reasonably priced but since I set it up I have had to buy 3 sets of toner drums. Now in all fairness I keep 1 set in reserve as not to be caught in the middle of the night needing one, but that is still averaging $100.00 a month for ink. I don't do a lot of heavy printing and have gotten to the point of being afraid to use it because it goes through ink so fast. I use a different brand laser printer at work and in the last year I have had to change it once, and we do a great deal of printing there.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Winner!
Date:August 13, 2010
By turkeyneck
from So. Cal.
I first purchased this model's "bigger" brother, the 4040CN but found it was a bit too big for my small office and donated that to a local school.
The 3040CN is just what I needed. An excellent laser-quality image--either color or B&W--and utterly dependable, network available, easy to maintain, everything I've NEVER gotten from dozens of bogus ink-jet printers going back into the 1980's.
Add to this fact that Brother updates the firmware regularly and fully supports MacOS X right up to the latest versions and you have an outstanding value for your printer dollars, giving up nothing but hassles & incompatibility.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
HL3040CN
Date:December 24, 2012
By BruceC
from Nashville TN
Print Quality - very satisfied
Software Driver Win7 Home - Had some minor difficulty in setup, but acceptable
Toner Cartridges-One low cart makes the whole printer unavailable to print even draft quality. Nothing like finding out someone else swapped a cart and you come along and you have to wait a week for a new cart to ship in.
I sure would like to see a fallback draft mode work.
It would also be good if Brother has a toner cartridge recycle program. It is not 'green' to just throw perfectly good toners in the trash. There has to be an economic recycle price where the contribution margin is equal to a new cartridge.
Bruce
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good with glitches
Date:April 26, 2010
By DocBright
from Pittsburgh PA
The Brother has been a great idea. Glad we upgraded to Laser printer from inkjet. The printouts have been consistently of high quality. Our problem is recurrent and annoying low toner warnings that occur even after I downloaded and installed the firmware update. We can't be a quarter of the way into the first thousand pages and we get toner messages. I've taken the cartridges out and shaken them; there's nothing wrong with the prints; no bare spots, but it insists on needing toner. The product does what we want it to do, but you need to fix this. It's built-in buyer's remorse when it tells you something's wrong that doesn't need attention.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 33 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer, Terrible Marketing Decision
Date:May 2, 2010
By North32Rowan
from Chattanooga, TN
I've had very good luck with Brother products and the HL-3040CN continues that streak. Easy to set up, easy to operate and it makes great copies. A great value. One BIG disappointment, however: someone decided to use "starter" toner cartridges in the product, which last roughly half as long as the standard replacement cartridges. So I got a nasty (completely unnecessary) surprise when I had to buy replacement cartridges twice as soon as expected since I took the trouble to read about expected cartridge life before buying the printer. Come on, BROTHER!!! This is penny-wise and pound-foolish! You want to surprise your customers pleasantly . . . not the other way!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Quality -Great Price
Date:April 25, 2010
By bluemaxLXV
from Morristown, TN
I've owned this printer about a year now ... it's replacing a 10-12 year old HPIIP+ ... which was also a great printer ... yet was going to take more than just replacing the toner cartridge to make it print right.
If you're looking for a photo printer, this is not the printer you want to buy ... however, for color printing in documents you'll get real good results. I'd owned inkjets in the past but got tired of the mess ... smeared ink and expensive refills .. even when I tried refilling the cartridges myself.
I haven't had to replace a toner cartridge yet, so I can't say anything about cartridge life ... I am taking advantage of the "economy mode" for most of my documents.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 35 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Almost 5 stars
Date:April 25, 2010
By DJOasis
from Orlando Florida
Bought this printer about 4 months and it works great. It networked without any issues and works fine on my windows 7 PC. Not photo quality prints but then this is not a top of the line printer. It prints good for everyday use in an office or at home and is pretty good. Actually I haven't been able to print full size prints at the highest print quality only because the 32 megs of on board memory is not enough for full size high quality prints. You will want to add some memory if you plan to print large pictures.Another thing that bugged me was that it doesn't always catch the label paper or envelopes that you feed through the front paper feed.You want to make sure that the printer grabs the sheet and pulls it in.Other than that it is a decent printer for the price and would recommend it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 36 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother HL-3040N
Date:November 18, 2010
By Tcamperman
from Western North Carolina
We've just gotten this printer, so it may be a bit premature to fully assess its capabilities.
However, a couple of points: As the machine comes out of the box, it's heavy and rather robust compared to some of the printers we've had. Assembly is minimal...mainly just drop in the 4 cartridges and plug it in and it's ready to go. Set up went very smoothly...drivers loaded quickly and we had both my wife's and my laptops sending wireless commands in just a few minutes.
I'm no expert, but print quality looks to be very good. There are some bells and whistles we havn't tried yet...envelope printing, draft quality printing, etc....but so far....we're very pleased with our choice.
The scary prospect...as in all printers...is how many grandchildren sold into slavery will it take to replace the toner cartridges.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer for the price
Date:May 9, 2011
By Bobmo
from Frisco, TX
I bought a refurb for half the list price. I have used this printer for over six months. I added extra memory to 544Mbyte. The memory was a very cheap upgrade. While I didn't expect inkjet photo quality I have found my photo prints acceptable. I don't understand the complaints about starter cartridges. Even HP starts you out with a partial cartridge. You should know that this is an industry practice. Brother did not start this practice. Having owned multiple inkjects for over 20 years I find the plusses of laserjet printing refreshing. I got over 1.000 prints from my starter cartridge not the very low amounts that others complained about. My printing was mostly text with colored photos. When people complain about the cost of cartridges they should compare the cost of owning a HP color printer with this HL-3040CN unit. It is not even close. Setup was very simple and was done for my desktop and laptop without issues. The sleep mode is noiseless. While I don't doubt some people have had bad luck with their printers, that has not been the case with my refurb. If my wife wasn't satisfied with her Okidata C5500 I would get her a HL-3040CN. In the past I have owned HP, Canon, and Epson inkjets that all had nozzle issues due to irregular usage. This is why the wife now has a color laser printer. A color laser is a better fit for my situation and usage. My workhorse printer is a HP Laserjet M2727nf. Between the two printer I print about 1,200 pages a month with out issues. I throughly research products before making a purchase. Perhaps some of the disappointed user comments relate to unrealistic expectations.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Digital Color Printer For The Money!
Date:May 1, 2010
By rickyz
from Spokane, WA
The HL-3040CN is a great digital color printer. It's like a laser printer, only better. This printer features LED's vs a laser to "write" to the printer drum so with less moving parts there is less to fail. It prints up to 17 pages per minute, but being the cheap guy I am, I would never try to clock it unless absolutely necessary. Its 600x2400 dpi are more than adequate for the average user. Installation was super simple and it is MAC compatible, which is one of the main reasons I purchased it. The colors and the quality of the print are excellent. Of course the big concern with any printer is how much the inks or toners will cost. Surely, inks cost less than a toner cartridge, even if you don't buy the off-brand ones, but you get less printed pages with ink over toner, so I would say if you figured it out, the toner would end up slightly more. The problem with ink cartridges are that if you don't use the printer regularly, the ink can dry out on the nozzles, causing streaks which you will have to run a "clean-up" thus using more ink. Also, even if you are printing black copies with an inkjet, it sprays a little color to keep the nozzles clear, thus wasting even more ink. I don't believe this is the case with toner carts, however there is a "waste" tank on toner models, so I'm sure they're not 100% efficient. I have had only one issue so far with this printer and that was printing on hard stock. It has a door to open to feed hard stock in, but apparently you have to do it just right as it took me about 2 out of 3 tries to get the card stock in without jamming it. It was simple to clear however, so that was no big deal. Anyway, bang for the buck, this is a great color printer and I would buy it again in a heartbeat.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Excellent print quatlity, but uses TONS of toner!
Date:April 24, 2010
By BrotherBeliever
from Long Island, NY
I have two Brother black & white laser printers. I love them! I bought the HL-2170W because my HL-5040 has always given me great print jobs. I even spent money to make repairs to my HL-5040 rather than replacing it. I use the HL-5040 exclusively at home. I bring the HL-2170W with me on business trips to print sales receipts for my clothing business (Yes, it's bulky...I'm considering getting a smaller inkjet as long as the print speed is quick enough.)
Recently, I decided to make a color brochure to give out at a brunch. Rather than paying $2 each for color brochures at a local office supply store, I chose to buy this color printer. After all, my other printers always gave me great print quality. I know that printers always come with starter cartridges and so I purchased an extra cyan and magenta since I planned to use mostly purple in my brochure. It's a good thing, too. Not only did I use up the starter cartridges, but I quickly used up the entire full cartridges, as well. I was able to print only about 100 brochures total (2 sides with a good bit of color coverage.)
I'm very disappointed that Brother does not tell you the toner capactiy per cartridge (how many ounces) so that I could compare this to other manufacturers before buying the printer. It's common knowledge that most of the cost of printing is the cost of the toner not the cost of the printer. That said, however, I think the print quality is excellent (as I expected from Brother.) Unfortunately, due to the small quantity of toner per cartridge, I would not recommend this printer. I considered returning the printer but decided that the cost of the re-stocking fee (plus the aggravation) wouldn't be worth it. Next time I need brochures with lots of color I'll take them to a printer instead.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
HL-3040CN Printer
Date:October 30, 2010
By LinuxGuy
from New England
I just received the printer less than 24 hours ago. I found setup to be normal. In other words, not cumbersome but, not easy either. This is in part due to the LCD Display not having a back-light. I should not have to set the language to "English". It should be set at the factory during initial setup to default to the country it is sold in. This can be accomplished when the control module is first programed and then they are stocked in the parts house by country. With today's technology, this can be accomplished easily.
The straight through paper path is still a mystery to me and I have yet to get the printer to print a single page using this method. Front door down, backdoor down, tell the driver to print with the straight through path and NOTHING! 12 attempts have resulted in no printing.
The printer driver settings are not easy to understand. A lesson should be learned from Canon here. Brother should also learn that for Linux support the only thing needed is a PPD file. Forget DEB and RPM files.
The PPD file on the CD installed the 3070CW just fine and the same features I see in Vista 64-Bit for the 3040CN are there in the Linux properties. However, with the 3070CW PPD file the 3040CN printer refuses to print at all! (No big surprise there.) It would be nice to have a 3040CN PPD file and call it a day. This would give Brother access to a lager range of Linux Users without having to have separate installs for every Distro of Linux out there. I suspect the reason I had no printing from the 3070CW PPD Metrics is because I am using USB and not the network setup. Including USB in the PPD would be helpful. - And yes!, my Linux Distro properly identified the printer even though no native driver exists.
When not in use, the printer is completely quiet. I don't understand User Reviews I read before my purchase about the printer being noisy in "Sleep Mode". The only noise is during printing as one would expect. I find the noise level when printing to be no louder than most Laser Printers in its class.
Printing photos on plain paper with the paper tray paper path produces the same results as I read in pre-purchase reviews. However, by choosing to reduce page curl, print quality improves. If I could get photo paper to print on the straight path with "Fine Printing", I suspect the photos would print just fine and the 3040CN would serve as a backup to my main photo printer.
A BIG! plus for this printer are the separate Toner/Drum Assemblies. I like the fact all I have to purchase is toner when I run out.
The upper lid could raise higher though for Toner/Drum replacement. I have big hands and they were cramped by not enough lid clearance. -- Especially when placing the Cyan Toner/Drum in for the first time. While not impossible, this means that Toner/Drum replacement will be difficult, always.
I find the 250 page paper tray to be generous for a compact design. For Home use, this will serve for several months of printing. That said, I seriously doubt I would use this printer in anything but a S.O.H.O. setup. Anything larger for a business setting and I would most likely consider a different printer. It would be Digital as the 3040CN is but, I would prefer better capacity and quality for real business printing.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2