Product Reviews

Brother HL-3040CN

Digital Color Printer with Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
29 of 40(72%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-3040CN
Review 1 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Much better than HP
Date:December 24, 2012
By jl75
from Hoisington, KS
Very good purchase. I replaced an HP Color Laser that died before it was 2 years old. The quality is very good, print is fast and very reliable. I definitely won't ever buy another HP printer.
Replacing cartridges is easy. Larger paper tray is great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer
Date:November 6, 2011
By Walid
from Brea, CA
I have this printer for one year now, and this is the best printer that I ever owned. In the past I always bought inkjet printers, but by far this one is the best. My whole family are using it and everyone loves it. I really recommend this printer for every house it's great printer buy it buy it buy it, don't think twice just buy it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased With Purchase
Date:July 26, 2011
By Vern1947
from Greenwood, SC
I bought the Brother HL-3040CN color laser printer because it was at a great price, and because I already had a monochrome Brother laser printer, the HL-2040. I like the ease of changing the toner cartridges, and the relative low-cost of the cartridges. The print quality is superb! I will never go back to inkjet printers! I am very pleased with the Brother brand!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer for the price
Date:May 9, 2011
By Bobmo
from Frisco, TX
I bought a refurb for half the list price. I have used this printer for over six months. I added extra memory to 544Mbyte. The memory was a very cheap upgrade. While I didn't expect inkjet photo quality I have found my photo prints acceptable. I don't understand the complaints about starter cartridges. Even HP starts you out with a partial cartridge. You should know that this is an industry practice. Brother did not start this practice. Having owned multiple inkjects for over 20 years I find the plusses of laserjet printing refreshing. I got over 1.000 prints from my starter cartridge not the very low amounts that others complained about. My printing was mostly text with colored photos. When people complain about the cost of cartridges they should compare the cost of owning a HP color printer with this HL-3040CN unit. It is not even close. Setup was very simple and was done for my desktop and laptop without issues. The sleep mode is noiseless. While I don't doubt some people have had bad luck with their printers, that has not been the case with my refurb. If my wife wasn't satisfied with her Okidata C5500 I would get her a HL-3040CN. In the past I have owned HP, Canon, and Epson inkjets that all had nozzle issues due to irregular usage. This is why the wife now has a color laser printer. A color laser is a better fit for my situation and usage. My workhorse printer is a HP Laserjet M2727nf. Between the two printer I print about 1,200 pages a month with out issues. I throughly research products before making a purchase. Perhaps some of the disappointed user comments relate to unrealistic expectations.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother HL-3040N
Date:November 18, 2010
By Tcamperman
from Western North Carolina
We've just gotten this printer, so it may be a bit premature to fully assess its capabilities.
However, a couple of points: As the machine comes out of the box, it's heavy and rather robust compared to some of the printers we've had. Assembly is minimal...mainly just drop in the 4 cartridges and plug it in and it's ready to go. Set up went very smoothly...drivers loaded quickly and we had both my wife's and my laptops sending wireless commands in just a few minutes.
I'm no expert, but print quality looks to be very good. There are some bells and whistles we havn't tried yet...envelope printing, draft quality printing, etc....but so far....we're very pleased with our choice.
The scary prospect...as in all printers...is how many grandchildren sold into slavery will it take to replace the toner cartridges.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Very Good Product
Date:October 15, 2010
By stan3398
from Pittsburgh
I like everything about this printer except the fact I have to download the manual every time I want to use it. Why not make make the manual so I can place an icon on my desktop to get to it?
I would also have liked the on/off switch on the front panel but that is a small quibble.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-3040cn
Date:October 12, 2010
By Candlestick
from Frankfort, Illinois
Great quality, nice speed, and really quiet. Nice crisp printing with very accurate output. Best general purpose printer I've found.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome!
Date:August 17, 2010
By schworak
from Salem, Oregon
I already owned the Brother MFC-7820N but I wanted color and inkjets just weren't working out for me. I plugged the printer in, connected the network cable and within 20 minutes had it running on my two Ubuntu Linux laptops and two Windows 7 boxes as well. I am running the HL-3040CN over the network just like the 7820N and they both work perfectly. I am so very happy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Winner!
Date:August 13, 2010
By turkeyneck
from So. Cal.
I first purchased this model's "bigger" brother, the 4040CN but found it was a bit too big for my small office and donated that to a local school.
The 3040CN is just what I needed. An excellent laser-quality image--either color or B&W--and utterly dependable, network available, easy to maintain, everything I've NEVER gotten from dozens of bogus ink-jet printers going back into the 1980's.
Add to this fact that Brother updates the firmware regularly and fully supports MacOS X right up to the latest versions and you have an outstanding value for your printer dollars, giving up nothing but hassles & incompatibility.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer, Terrible Marketing Decision
Date:May 2, 2010
By North32Rowan
from Chattanooga, TN
I've had very good luck with Brother products and the HL-3040CN continues that streak. Easy to set up, easy to operate and it makes great copies. A great value. One BIG disappointment, however: someone decided to use "starter" toner cartridges in the product, which last roughly half as long as the standard replacement cartridges. So I got a nasty (completely unnecessary) surprise when I had to buy replacement cartridges twice as soon as expected since I took the trouble to read about expected cartridge life before buying the printer. Come on, BROTHER!!! This is penny-wise and pound-foolish! You want to surprise your customers pleasantly . . . not the other way!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Digital Color Printer For The Money!
Date:May 1, 2010
By rickyz
from Spokane, WA
The HL-3040CN is a great digital color printer. It's like a laser printer, only better. This printer features LED's vs a laser to "write" to the printer drum so with less moving parts there is less to fail. It prints up to 17 pages per minute, but being the cheap guy I am, I would never try to clock it unless absolutely necessary. Its 600x2400 dpi are more than adequate for the average user. Installation was super simple and it is MAC compatible, which is one of the main reasons I purchased it. The colors and the quality of the print are excellent. Of course the big concern with any printer is how much the inks or toners will cost. Surely, inks cost less than a toner cartridge, even if you don't buy the off-brand ones, but you get less printed pages with ink over toner, so I would say if you figured it out, the toner would end up slightly more. The problem with ink cartridges are that if you don't use the printer regularly, the ink can dry out on the nozzles, causing streaks which you will have to run a "clean-up" thus using more ink. Also, even if you are printing black copies with an inkjet, it sprays a little color to keep the nozzles clear, thus wasting even more ink. I don't believe this is the case with toner carts, however there is a "waste" tank on toner models, so I'm sure they're not 100% efficient. I have had only one issue so far with this printer and that was printing on hard stock. It has a door to open to feed hard stock in, but apparently you have to do it just right as it took me about 2 out of 3 tries to get the card stock in without jamming it. It was simple to clear however, so that was no big deal. Anyway, bang for the buck, this is a great color printer and I would buy it again in a heartbeat.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Quality -Great Price
Date:April 25, 2010
By bluemaxLXV
from Morristown, TN
I've owned this printer about a year now ... it's replacing a 10-12 year old HPIIP+ ... which was also a great printer ... yet was going to take more than just replacing the toner cartridge to make it print right.
If you're looking for a photo printer, this is not the printer you want to buy ... however, for color printing in documents you'll get real good results. I'd owned inkjets in the past but got tired of the mess ... smeared ink and expensive refills .. even when I tried refilling the cartridges myself.
I haven't had to replace a toner cartridge yet, so I can't say anything about cartridge life ... I am taking advantage of the "economy mode" for most of my documents.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 13 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Purchase
Date:April 24, 2010
By huskeyman
from Jackson, Mi.
Printer is a part of our home network. It operates very well on our Imac, however, I get nothing but blank pages while using my MacBook Pro. It receives the signal to print and begins printing, but only blank pages come from the printer. I have not yet contacted Brother to have them help determine the problem. I'm sure it can probably be resolved. I did print well on the Mac Book Pro the first time I tried printing from it; it is just recently that I started getting the blank pages. Other than that, it prints beautifully vivid colors.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A GREAT BUY
Date:April 24, 2010
By TROLLEYNUT
from OCONOMOWOC, WI
THE PRINT QUALITY, SPEED OF PRINTING AND COLOR RENDITION QUALIFIES THIS PRINTER AS AN EXCELLENT BUY FOR YOUR MONEY. ITS PRICE COMPARES WITH INKJET PRINTERS THAT OPERATE AT A FRACTION OF THE SPEED AND BLEED ONTO THE PAPER SURFACE IF A DROP OF WATER TOUCHES THE INK. IT FAR SURPASSES MY FORMER INKJET PRINTER IN EVERY WAY. THANKS BROTHER FOR A VERY GOOD PRODUCT!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good, Solid Printer
Date:December 25, 2012
By Gizmo39
from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
It is a good solid printer. If I could improve 3 things, it would be the overall size, the warm-up/print speed, and the cost of the toners. Very expensive to keep it going, but once you print something on it, way to hard to not want to keep it going. Overall, I highly recommend the printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By dman44
from camden, n.c.
works good it is fast but the starter toner went fast. i suggest you go ahead and buy new toner the same time u get the printer
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Decent Printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By Chief1
from Wisconsin
Only two frustrations with this printer: 1) Envelope feeding is very touchy; it will tell you there is a jam when there isn't if you don't push the envelope in JUST at the right moment, and 2) Ink is pricey. Otherwise, it's a work horse!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
great printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By ICUAutomotive
from jackson, TN
Great printer works well with no jams to this date.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
HL-3040cn review
Date:November 26, 2012
By JohnL
Works well. Cartridges are easy to replace. Two sided copy procedure recommended is awkward. I just turn the pages over in the paper tray instead.
I use the unit a lot with no problems. It would be nice to have toner cartridges that last longer.
I would buy this unit again.
Review 20 for HL-3040CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Low Cost Printer
Date:January 25, 2011
By ClassicDave
from RI
I have been using this printer in a small home office for 3 months and have no complants.
It is a very low cost color laser printer an works fine in home or small office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>