Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2280DW

Versatile Laser Printer with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
5 stars
107
4 stars
62
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
8
173 of 196(88%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2280DW
Review 1 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Dependable Wireless Printer/Scanner/Copier
Date:August 28, 2014
By FredCW
from Westchester County, NY
I bought my Brother HL-2280DW in October, 2011 and it has been a very dependable printer/scanner/copier. It is set up wirelessly and the couple of times over the years where the settings mysteriously disappeared I was always able to get it working again. Called Brother Support once when I was clueless and the tech quickly figured out what needed to be done - turns out Verizon had upgraded the security of its wireless modem and the unit needed to be remapped and the new password entered.
I highly recommend this printer also for its moderate toner usage. All-in-all I would buy this printer again.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product & Price
Date:August 25, 2014
By DaveL
from Overland Park, KS
This is my 1st wireless all-in-one product for home use and I couldn't be happier. I bought the HL-2280DW because of its low price, not thinking I'd actually use the copier or scanner that often -- I was wrong. We use the copier at least once a week saving the cost and time of driving to OfficeMax. We use the scanner less often, but do use it. Having a duplex printer is also a great paper ($) saver. The quality of everything is great for a product at such a low price point. I'm sold.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 3 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:August 7, 2014
By Segerguy
from Los Angeles, Ca
I am so happy with this printer! Finally, I can say goodbye to those ink starving inkjet printers!
This printer meets and exceeds all of my expectations. Very easy to use and setup.
My only regret about this printer is that I didn't buy it sooner!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exceeds Expectations
Date:August 5, 2014
By Tom629
from Springfield, IL
I purchased the HL-2280DW primarily for printing documents and to use as a network printer instead of my inkjet printer. It is much faster when printing the first page (since it doesn't have to waste ink cleaning the print heads) and also for multi-page documents. I've owned the printer for about 3 months and in that time it has performed better than expected as far as speed, quality and versatility.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:August 3, 2014
By JevCran
from Atlanta, GA
This is an excellent printer. I only wish I could scan with it. Otherwise it is great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic!
Date:July 30, 2014
By BigBendHiker
from Las Cruces, NM
Installation was effortless; hooked up to the wireless router with out a hitch; on the PC I said print and it took off.
Do not think I've had a PC-related product do so well (and that's from several vendors.)
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer for B & W needs ONLY!
Date:July 28, 2014
By Whiskers
from Ipava, IL
Have not used up the trial cartridge as of yet, so cannot confirm exact usage cost per sheet, but seems to be fairly economical. I most frequently use in the Toner Save Mode, which should help a lot. Wi-Fi compatibility and use seem great too. Maybe a bit noisy, but not overly loud. Purchased online during a great Black Friday promotion for a super low price for a Laser printer. Love the quality and features so far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 8 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:July 26, 2014
By Bb073
from Topeka KS
This is our 1st Brother brand printer and it has proven to be an excellent printer. The lazar speed is awesome. We wanted a black only printer as most of our print jobs are B&W and this Brother HL-2280DW does a great job. We have always used HP printers before but the last one was so noisy and went though such an ordeal just to get the printer ready to print. The Brother HL2280DW has the page printed and cycled though before the HP gets started.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
2280duplexLaser
Date:July 25, 2014
By FTinIOWA
I love the HL-2280 and have it on the 4 season porch. I don't have to go to the basement to print and the duplex is specially nice to save paper. I sing barbershop and can print new music from my recliner.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great small office machine
Date:July 24, 2014
By RVK55
from Washington, New Jersey
Well built. cartridges last a long time. Printing flawless.
Software problematic. One laptop likes, it another doesn't, so printer has to be installed through Windows add printer.
Seems to have settled down now and all is well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great buy by me.
Date:July 14, 2014
By Buckeye48
from Murrieta, CA
I haven't done a lot of printing with this unit so far but I sure love the quality of printing and operation. As I use it more I will do add-on's to the review.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Wireless printer great
Date:June 28, 2014
By BJCG
from Austin, TX
This is a very good printer, and the price was great. I have a brother fax and copier that I have been using since 1986, and it still works as good today as it did when I bought it, and I am sure that I will get the same results with this wireless printer as I have with my fax machine. Brother has great products, and I have owned their sewing machines. Great Products.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 13 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fabulous Printer!
Date:June 27, 2014
By Louis0199
from El Campo, TX
I purchased this printer to replace an 8-year-old Brother manual duplex laser printer that I gave to a friend. Since I need to print both documents & music which need to be printed on both sides, I needed a printer with auto-duplex. After using this printer for 6 months, I am VERY pleased with my purchase!
Set-up with my wi-fi was a breeze, and software installation and configuration was flawless. Brother makes everything so easy to do and understand. Printing is fast, the littering is crisp and sharp, the paper feeds through smoothly, and there's been no paper jams or any other problem with this printer in six months. Love it!!
So far, in printing, I have used regular printer paper, high-quality laser paper, transparencies, and thin card stock... all performed beautifully and the printing was great. No complaints at all so far (I have not yet used the scanner or FAX YET, so I cannot comment on those functions).
I can definitely recommend this printer to anyone who needs a reliable B&W laser printer that's fast, easy to set up, has excellent print quality, and is a great value for the price (I did buy the printer on sale at Staples).
If helpful, I will report any updates or issues in the future. In the meantime, count me as a totally satisfied customer and proud own of yet another Brother printer (I also own a Brother MFC-J835DW color inkjet printer... and love it, too!).
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great B&W laser printer
Date:May 29, 2014
By TomX
from Harrisburg, PA
I have used this laser printer for 4 months now. It has performed flawlessly. The printed copies come out very quickly. Duplexing has saved me lots of paper. The print quality is very clear. I print about 500 copies a month and have not encountered a paper jam.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Small Inexpensive Laser Printer
Date:May 16, 2014
By Keys1944
from Southbury, CT
I went to a local office supplies store and asked if there was such a thing as an inexpensive monochrome laser printer (also taking into account the cost of the cartridges and supplies). All the sales associates unanimously steered me toward the Brother line. I bought the HL-2280DW, and took it home. It set up easily, including hooking it up wirelessly to my home network. I have printed almost a thousand pages already, and it is still on the first toner cartridge. GREAT printer!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very happy
Date:May 8, 2014
By lavendy
from Salem, Oregon
I'm very happy with this printer. It is a very good value for what I paid and does everything I need it to do.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-2280DW Laser Printer
Date:April 28, 2014
By PCTwin
I bought the HL-2280DW printer to augment an existing HL-2040 printer. The reasons were networking and duplex printing. The printer(s) are shared with 6 PC's all connected via hardwired Ethernet. The quality, speed and duplexing are all great. This is the third Brother printer I have, all networked and all work great. This printer replaced an old LaserJet 4 printer.
Review 18 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer!
Date:April 20, 2014
By ProfKen
from Maitland, Florida
Best printer I have had in last few years. Better than another well known brand. This is my third printer over 25 years with computer printers. Have purchased two of this model, one for a NC home and this one for our Florida residence. Thank You.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good product
Date:April 15, 2014
By packstore
from Troy, Michigan
Have used this machine for about a month now and am very pleased with the quality and performance of the printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for HL-2280DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!
Date:March 10, 2014
By shey1961
from california
I am very pleased with my purchase. It does everything I need it to do and more. Easy set up and easy to use. Great customer service and I like that the company sends me updates on product sales. Thanks!!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>