Product Reviews

Brother HL-2170W

Laser Printer with Wireless and Wired Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.985 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
54 of 68(79%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2170W
Review 1 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:November 3, 2011
By ALYSON
I have used this for a few years now. It is wonderful. I do agree with the "wireless network" complaints because it does fall off the network frequently. So if you really need wireless, find a newer model - they say the ones with internal wireless cards are better. HOWEVER, that said - this actually prints FAST and wonderfully. I have NEVER had a better black and white printer. It doesn't jam and is easy to refill the paper and toner. It also prints special items like envelopes and labels with ease. So just buy a cable and plug it directly into your pc, and forget that it has a wireless capability. You'll be glad you did.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
You need to learn to read!!!
Date:November 7, 2010
By Sandito
from New Port Richey
If all you cry babies having a hard time setting up wireless would read and follow directions, the setup is simple as pie.
I boughr a refurb and the toner ran out quickly. The new toner has lasted a long time and I am more than satisfied.
Buy this product. It is inexpensive to run compared to the ink jets.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
8 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works great in Linux!
Date:September 23, 2010
By Larry
from Oklahoma City, OK
I bought this to use with Linux and I was not disappointed. Brother has awesome Linux support.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great printer for the price
Date:September 15, 2010
By Anonymous
from middletown, ct
print fast, reliable so far, great price for a wireless printer, good customer service
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Happy So Far!
Date:September 3, 2010
By printingfool
from Suburbs of Illinois
After I figured out my handwriting and typed the correct network password (63 Char), I was able to easily install the wireless function. Follow the instructions to the letter and you won't go wrong. Prints nice and so far, so good!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Superior to my HP2600N
Date:September 1, 2010
By primordius
from Dekalb, IL
First, short summary.
Network Setup = Simple.
Windows7 client = Auto Detect
Ubuntu 10.04 client = Auto Detect
Overall = Fantastic
Bought this printer to replace my color HP2600N that was out of toner and I didn't want to spend over $100 on new toner. The HP used color toner even for B/W prints, which irritated me. HP printer was VERY heavy. This Brother is light and takes far less space.
I primarily print in B/W. The lack of color was actually a feature I was looking for in a printer. B/W toner is much cheaper than color toner.
The network setup (wired) was a breeze. Plugged it in, printed a config sheet, then pointed my browser to the IP address. The printer setup and network setup was very straightforward.
Windows 7 automatically detected the printer by IP Address, found the drivers, and even installed an icon for the printer that looked exactly like it.
Ubuntu Linux (10.04) automatically detected the printer and installed the drivers as well.
Test pages for each Operating System were crisp and clean and printed very fast.
Documents printed are just as good, clear text. Not the best for images, but that is not the reason I purchased the printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best little Laser printer I have ever owned
Date:August 9, 2010
By Joel
from Utah
I have owned or used many printers for my business and personal use over the years. This little printer is a trouble-free workhorse. To find such a reliable network printer for such a modest price was quite a pleasant surprise. The operating cost is very low also. The wireless networking feature works flawlessly. Those who have reported problems with it must not be following the instructions carefully. I rarely take the time to write product reviews, but in this case I wanted to make an exception. This is one great little economical laser printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-2170W is a great value
Date:July 10, 2010
By Kale
from Fremotn, CA
I've owned HP IIp, Lexmark, Brother HL-1240, Samsung, and now this Brother HL-2170w. I've been wanting network printing for some time now. When my Samsung needed a new toner cartridge and I saw this printer on special, I bought it. It is smaller, faster, quieter, and less expensive than the Samsung it replaced. I did not have to connect via USB, instead I went directly to a wired network connection to my home network. Driver install was smooth however printing did not work. A troubleshooting utility downloaded from the Brother website solved the problem. I had to load the drivers and run the troubleshooting utility on all my computers but now I can print from any of them including my wife's laptop when she is wirelessly connected to my home network. Brother should include the utility as part of the drivers or at least on the CD. Overall a very good product. I'm satisfied with my purchase.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Product
Date:July 6, 2010
By Marion
from Los Angeles, CA
Great product, great price with great performance. It comes handy when printing from our lap tops around the house. Prints good copies. I just bought another Brother printer (MFC9120CN) because I am very happy with this product and customer service. Easy to set-up too. Got it running in minutes.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Incredible bargain
Date:July 5, 2010
By dabongady
from Iowa
This was the easiest wireless setup ever!
After 11 months, it has never had even one error. We use it with a desktop and a laptop.
The starter toner didn't last long, but the TN-360 cartridge (rated at 2,600 pages) just seems to last forever even though we do not use the toner saver setting.
I'd guess this machine has easily paid for itself compared to what we pay for ink cartridges on our inkjet printer. And if the paper gets spilled on you won't get smeared ink.
Much faster and quieter than our old Hewlett-Packard 4L.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good product from an exceptional company
Date:July 5, 2010
By Albert
from Appleton, WI
The original ink cartridge was short on ink and was replaced by Brother automatically as they shipped another cartridge direct to my address after simply leaving a phone message, on my phone of their intent.
I use this printer in wireless mode for 1 desktop and 2 laptops. One laptop with XP, the desktop has Win-7 pro, and the other laptop has Win -7 Premium. Brother helped me with the first wireless set-up to the desktop but I had a wireless communication drop out after rebooting the computers. After downloading the procedure documentation from Brother I was able to make a proper settings to prevent that from happening again. All printer functionality has been rock solid since.
It works great with other printers too. I had a Konica/Minolta that seemed to corrupt other printer drivers installed on the same drive.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Home Office Use
Date:July 4, 2010
By Notechie
from Portland, OR
Quick responsive machine that makes excellent copies. I had to get help from Brother Technical Support, which was excellent, to get the wireless working. Since then it hums!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
HL-2170W
Date:July 4, 2010
By KENNETHfortmyersfl
I tried following the instructions to set the printer up on my home wirless network, but couldn't get it to work. I called customer service and they were very friendly and helpful. It's been running fine now since January 25, 10 and I'm still using the original cartridge. Printing has been flawless and my new apple connected to it with no problem. So far I love it and more importantly my WIFE loves it.
Review 14 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 4, 2010
By Islander
from New York
Easy setup, works great, once it goes into sleep move..after a few minutes pf printing its absolutely quiet. A must if you have a laptop!!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice little laser for home use.
Date:July 4, 2010
By GaryUnitarian
from Bradenton Florida
I had a minor issue hooking up the HL 2170 W. ( I had pluged the USB cable into the ethernet jack), but 10 minutes with Brother tech support fixed that. After using an ink jet, it's great to be able to print things so FAST. Most of my print jobs are text so there is no need to waste ink on them. Toner is much cheaper. Loading paper and toner could not be easier. I have not replaced the drum yet, so I can't comment on that. I realy like this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fine Wireless B&W Laser Printer
Date:July 3, 2010
By Walter
from Wisconsin
I use this as my main printer at home. The wireless connection works flawlessly. Speed and print quality are fine. Cost of toner replacement cartridges is reasonable. I also use the 2140 (similar, but not wireless) at a store I help at. It has also performed well. I recommend the 2170W, if you want the wireless feature, or the 2140 if you don't. Wireless gives you more placement options.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 17 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 3, 2010
By TROYDC
I purchased this printer primarily for my real estate business. I use it in my home office and it has worked great. The best feature is the wireless capability. I can be on the other side of the house researching, editing, writing contracts and then print them. It's a great printer and would recommend it for any small business or home use.
Review 18 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
dependable and economical
Date:July 3, 2010
By mrsC
from Atlanta GA
This printer will not fail you. The cartridge seems to last forever. I use it cabled to my desk top PC and also wirelessly with my lap top. Crisp and clear; I only use my ink jet for photos.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 19 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Nice Printer...
Date:July 3, 2010
By Spanky
from Westminster, Ca.
This is the best printer I have ever owned hands down! It fast and prints awesome... Very nice best money I've ever spent and my daughter can print from her laptop from anyplace in the house... Awesome Product!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for HL-2170W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Sister-in-law loves it
Date:July 3, 2010
By KRS03
from Van, B.C.
Bought this for apt. dweller who needs the office space and puts the printer in the spare room close by.
Set up was a bit time consuming because I had tried to do it at another location first. Best to use the cable to set it up, then move the unit for wireless operation when it's up and running.
Works flawlessly (must remember to turn it on!) and quality of prints is perfect. Remember it isn't really for printing your photo collection - it's a workhorse for B&W text-based printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 2 3 4 next>>