Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother HL-2140

Compact, Personal Laser Printer
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
43 of 48(90%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HL-2140
Review 1 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:November 26, 2012
By wojo1233
from Chicag0
Printer is several years old and still working well---Good Product!!!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great buy
Date:July 13, 2010
By dpump
from Greensboro, NC
I have only printed 40-50 pages so far, but I am very pleased with the quality. Installation and setup was very simple and everything has worked perfectly. I bought this unit to print financial statements to save using my inkjet printer and it has met my expectations. I would gladly purchase this product again.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Value
Date:July 11, 2010
By jfwino
from Berwyn, PA
I use it all the time and it performs flawlessly. I print labels and the back side of pages through the direct feed slot. I've had my HL-2140 for 7 months and I'm very glad I switched from ink jet to laser.
If you only need B&W this is an excellent machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great bang for the buck!
Date:July 9, 2010
By STStudios
from San Diego, CA
I bought this printer for high speed printing purposes. It has not disappointed me in any way. The printer prints five pages for each one my old ink jet did.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother HL-2140
Date:July 8, 2010
By YellowJacket
Compact size disguises a high quality and fast printer for a reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone for home or small office use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 7, 2010
By Dot1
from Missouri
My Brother laser printer has far exceeded my expectations. I have NO complaints!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Value
Date:July 7, 2010
By Kenneth
from Winchester, Va
Printer is compact and performs well.
It has some difficulty with the final page or so in the tray. When it runs out of paer, it tends to jam the final sheet.
It printed on both sides with no problems.
Well pleased.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Like it
Date:July 5, 2010
By BrotherLove
from Los Angeles
Was really happy with the following:
FAST, great price for printer and per page, DUPLEXING is easy, even made a booklet which the printer handles proper page layout for. Took a while to figure out how, but happy with the results.
I even used some strange, handmade paper with rough edges. Got jammed but quite simple to unjam.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer for the money
Date:July 5, 2010
By Eric
Well worth the money. No problems. I would buy this printer again.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 5, 2010
By Dean
from Colorado
This is a great little laser printer. It warms up quickly, is quiet while printing and the print quality is very good. It did use up the included toner quickly, so it will be interesting to see how long the new cartridge lasts.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great deal
Date:July 4, 2010
By Art29
from Chicago
This printer is great. I replaced my HP 1012, which is similar, with this one. Then I went out and bought a second one on sale. Wait for the sales. Great B&W printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 12 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very very pleased
Date:July 4, 2010
By macdude
from Quincy, Illinois
I recently purchased this printer and first off the price was great, it is the quietest and quickest printer I have ever owned. I found a web site that has the toner for a great price as well, as far as I 'm concerned I will stick with the Brother name brand. Thank you for making a quality product in a time where the customer seems to be less important than company profits. It is obvious to this customer your company is not that way.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Completely Satisfied
Date:July 4, 2010
By LALADY
from LA
I am a small business owner, and I purchased the Brother HL-2140 a couple months ago. I have been completely satisfied. It was a great buy. It's fast and efficient, and I'm not constantly running out of ink!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Nice!
Date:July 3, 2010
By triplereed
from Milwaukee, WI
This is my first laser printer. After getting sick and tired of buying expensive ink cartridges for my slow, poor quality, ink thirsty printer, I decided to buy this printer. It prints very nice quality and very fast. Ive had it over 6 months and no problems. I bought a toner refill kit for it but still haven't had to use it. Very Nice!
Mike
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value
Date:July 3, 2010
By Schmidto
from Paulding, Ohio
This HL-2140 replaced a similarly-priced competitor's laser printer, which was my first B/W laser printer. I thought the competitor's printer was decent until I saw the HL-2140 perform. I could not believe how much better the Brother was as far as print clarity, sharpness, and "blackness" of the print. The competitor's laser printer would not print really black no matter what I did. There is just no comparison: the HL-2140 is very, very good. Manual duplexing works just fine if you somewhat flatten the printed sheets before doing the other side. I've run card stock through it and it does just fine, even on duplexing. Also, I bought mine at a big box store on sale for much, much less than MSRP. I recommended one to a friend and he's happy with his as well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very happy with this machine
Date:July 3, 2010
By SteveS
from Walnut Creek, Calif.
I wanted to avoid buying all those color cartridges that dry up. The salesman said I should buy an extra laser cartridge as the one that comes with the machine wouldn't last long but he was wrong and I'm still using it months later. It is very fast and clean and I have had no trouble whatsoever.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever
Date:July 3, 2010
By Bosh
from Niagara Falls
I bought my HL-2140 over a year ago. I love it. I get almost 3000 pages every time I add toner. Since I have bought it - I have probably printed over 6000 copies. I love it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Yea Bro.
Date:July 3, 2010
By Dadd
from Visalia ca.
Fine working printer never missed a hitch since I have owned it. The print is clear and it last quite a while thanx. Dad
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 19 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
OUTSTANDING!
Date:July 3, 2010
By colodude
from Colo Spgs, CO
Looking for a replacement for my 1992 HP Laserjet 4. The Old Boat finally wore out, and I figured at worst I was only going to be out the cost of an HP toner drum and then I'd get a replacement HP Laser. Forget it it. The printer does what it is designed to do superbly.
I love the quiet sleep mode. I love the print speed. I love the footprint. I always use 24-pound paper, and no problems with handling yet. Toner price is okay for the TN 360 OfficeMax product and print quality is excellent. I'll see what page count I get in normal mode, then try the toner-saver mode on the next drum.
I'm going to try some manual duplex work some day soon to see if the reviewer panning this process is also right about jamming with the heavier paper. My experience has been that 20-pound paper doesn't do manual duplex very well, regardless of printer. And, I've always been scared of owning any home-use duplex printer, so I've been a manual duplexer forever. Hope he's wrong.
The printer exceeds my expectations for simplicity, far exceeds it in value, and functions as well as the more expensive products I've used. Reliability and toner use will opinions await three months. If the machine lasts a year, I will have achieved break-even in costs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HL-2140
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best printer
Date:July 3, 2010
By dolly
from long island ny
i love this printer we have it at my job and i saw first hand that it works well. i owned several printers before and this one works the best. the only thing i would change is that i should have gotten wireless. the cord is a pain.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 2 3 next>>