Product Reviews

Brother Brother™ QL-720NW

Professional, High-speed Label Printer with Built-in Ethernet and Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 12(58%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Brother™ QL-720NW
Review 1 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother QL-720NW High Speed Label Printer
Date:January 29, 2014
By Badger
from Niceville, FL
Just purchased the Brother QL-720NW High Speed Label Printer after reading PC Magazine's review. Not disappointed.
I especially like the PC Address utility that allows you to select 1, many, or all address labels.
I "exported" a "test" label to EXCEL, did all my additional address entries in EXCEL, and then imported the file into the PC Address utility. I then printed three select labels to see if the label printer would "jam". Labels printed without problems.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GLAD I BOUGHT THIS
Date:January 28, 2014
By larry3566
from FLORIDA
HAVE HAD THIS MACHINE FOR ABOUT TWO WEEKS.
INITIAL SET UP WAS A little TRICKY. ONCE DONE HOWEVER, THE UNIT OPERATED FLAWLESSLY.
AT ONE POINT IT KEPT TELLING ME I HAD THE WRONG SIZE LABEL LOADED. I SPOKE TO SUPPORT AND THEY HELPED ME CLEAR UP ANY REMAINING ISSUES. BROTHER SUPPORT IS VERY GOOD.
I HAVE THE UNIT CONNECTED TO MY MACBOOK PRO VIA A10 PORT HUB AND IT WORKS JUST FINE. I AM GOING TO SET THE UNIT UP TO WORK WIRELESS THROUGH MY APPLE AIRPORT EXTREME. I WOULD RATE THE UNIT 5 STARS WITH REGARD TO OPERATION AND OUTPUT.
I THINK THAT THE INSTRUCTIONS COULD BE A LITTLE BIT CLEARER. I WOULD SUGGEST PUTTING ALL OF THE WNDOWS INSTRUCTIONS TOGETHER IN ONE PLACE AND THE MAC INSTRUCTIONS IN ANOTHER. THE P-TOUCH SOFTWARE MANUAL IS INTIMIDATING BUT THOROUGH. FOR THE MOST PART USING THE SOFTWARE IS QUITE INTUITIVE.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother QL-720NW
Date:November 13, 2013
By Manny
from Wisconsin
I had the brother QL-700 and was very happy with it, but the color didn't work with my set up. This printer is not only faster, but to me looks better and fits my color scheme.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great label printer
Date:August 5, 2013
By DeeJayKay
from Keene-area - New Hampshire
This actually replaced my QL-700 as I wanted Wifi feature. I've move my 700 to another system. I've owned Brother label printers since they came out with the 500 series and they been top performers for me. This was easy to set up and my wireless router connected it into my net instantly. Print speed is fast. Unit takes up very little desk real estate. I use this labeler almost every day, so am very happy with the quality. I own several Brother printers as well.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great barcode label printer
Date:July 30, 2013
By ltibuyer
from Norristown PA
easy setup, prints clear barcodes that scan well. I print from Excel which worked great with the printer (print preview matches what I printed exactly)
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 6 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 20, 2013
By LabelMate
from Los Angeles, CA
Very flexible label printer and even better with software provided. Works great with Windows 8 - 64bit! The wireless feature setup flawlessly too.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
QL-720NW
Date:April 24, 2014
By TheDuke
Outstanding device for the money. Easy to connect to my Network.
Highly recommend!!
Duke
Review 8 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Lean and confusing instructions
Date:April 5, 2014
By Wolfman333
from Iowa City, Ia
I did get it to work on my Wireless Network but not every thing works. When I hit the check media it say's it is not online yet will print. May need to start over. Funny my Wireless laser printer works flawlessly.
There seems to be no app for android.
Other then this it's pretty cool with a very good array of options.
Cost of labels are pretty extreeme
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Airprint does not work on iPad
Date:January 17, 2014
By Barbless
from FL
I love this little printer, and it will airprint from a desktop or laptop, but I bought it for use with an iPad in a warehousing situation, when barcodes need to be printed on the fly. It is a real set back and disappointment. :(
It will print from Brothers own proprietary iPad app, but this is of no use to me.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Brother:By BrotherJanuary 21, 2014
The Brother QL-710W and QL-720NW with firmware version 1.28 supports printing via AirPrint on iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch devices. The printing is supported on apps that support AirPrint. The printer will scale the print content to fit on the label size in the QL printer when using AirPrint.
Review 10 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Brilliant . . . unreliable
Date:August 6, 2013
By Linear
from San Diego, CA
This product worked brilliantly the first time out. Since then, it's hit or miss getting it to recognize other devices.
The mobile customization is limited, very disappointing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
brother!
Date:May 21, 2014
By MaxtheCat
from Georgia
I purchased a Brother label printer QL-720-NW, with WIFI, to eliminate having to put envelopes into my printer, which always seems to be the wrong way, and to make labels for around the house. I was looking for ease of use, and simple instillation of any software a d would be just plug and play. I must say I have been very disappointed with the product and have found it to make a good paper weight.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for Brother™ QL-720NW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Horrible Installation/Setup Software
Date:September 11, 2013
By SSWAG
from St. Louis MO
The firmware on this printer needs to be improved so the software works better. I'm an advanced computer user of 20+ yrs experience. I usually can install these products w/o reading the instructions. Not only is this product NOT intuitive, but I had to actually read the instructions. Even after reading it, I still got installation and network errors on the Android app when trying to connect to the device! About a week after setting up this printer, my AT&T U-verse went down, so they had to swap out another modem. As a result, I had to go over the entire installation again! In addition, I'd like to see more editing options on the app; this is also something that I was very displeased about. Please get your act together and improve this device and send down a NEW FIRMWARE UPDATE for us users.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 8 found this review helpful.