Product Reviews

Brother PT-P700

PC-Connectable Label Printer for PC and Mac
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
12 of 17(71%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for PT-P700
Review 1 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I prefer this to the keyboard product
Date:July 3, 2014
By MelB
from Santa Ana
For many years I have used a model of the P-Touch printer with a built in keyboard. But most of the time I used the keyboard on my PC. When I switched from a Windows PC to Mac, I need a new P-Touch that would support OS X. I decided to get one without the bulky keyboard. For me, the PT-P700 fit the bill ands I am extremely happy with it.l
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent!
Date:April 11, 2014
By EROZEK
from Southern California
P700 is a first-class label printer.
Does everything expected of it.
Worth more than the purchase price.
Have four other Brother printers.
You may count me as a satisfied customer.
I will be purchasing from Brother in the future.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I like the auto features.
Date:March 19, 2014
By shaggydog
from Murrieta, CA
It takes some practice, But it's not hard to use, Using with a Mac.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 4 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:March 19, 2014
By ADavid
from Nevada
Excellent results.
Professional appearance
Well received samples of my products
Review 5 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Wonderful Label Maker
Date:March 14, 2014
By Beavor
from Portage, WI
Everything as expected happened. Set-up a breeze and printing labels in minutes. Huge selection of labels available.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Truth in Advertising
Date:March 13, 2014
By nic48
from Lancaster, Pa
This is my second purchase from Brother and once again the product lives up to what Brother said it would do. The PT-P700 is one of the simplest machines to operate that I have ever experienced. Easy to connect and easy to operate, a winner.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great - works with a iMac!
Date:March 13, 2014
By LabelsInPhilly
from Philly
I switched to a iMac from a PC and my Brother labeler was not Apple friendly. This new one is and it works great. Highly recommended.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Price Great Product
Date:January 31, 2014
By Nighteyes
from Marshall, WI
PT-700 is one of the simplest labeler ever. Hard worker & makes waterproof labels in several size widths & colors. It also has an editor program that can edit & store specific often used labels. This is my second Brother UBS labeler and I still use them both on two computers. I keep A different tape in each. I use batteries in mine (it takes six AA) and they last well over a year depending on use. Program is very fast to load. Just turn the labeler on and program loads. No matter what your status you'll love this labeler.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exactly what i needed
Date:January 13, 2014
By JM1305
from Pekin Illinois
This printer is great, works great, and takes up very little space.
The only two items that I can see to make it better is a little better instructions on installation and making where you didn't have to tip the unit on it's side.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 10 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Works as advertised
Date:May 7, 2014
By Downtoearthwoodworks
from Wisconsin
In woodworking (as is the case with many other endeavors) it is imperative to stay organized… labels are a critical key to success. The P-touch labeler can be connected to a computer allowing precise composition of labels. For example, I needed to make labels for some hardware storage bins… the labels had to be precise in length in order to fit. With the PT-P700 I was able to set the length (in decimal fractions of inches) precisely and get a perfect fit.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Prints well but...
Date:March 20, 2014
By wyliej
from Winnsboro, TX
I have no complaints with the hardware but unable to hook up to the USB on the router and use on the home network. I believe the software needs updating for both network and compatabilty with Windows 8.1 & Office 2013.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good
Date:January 12, 2014
By jaceyscc
from South Jersey
this is good and works with my mac....the only problem I have is that all the tapes I have from my 1500 brother label maker does not fit!!!! I do not know why but if someone needs or wants some tapes I have quite a few'
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good but ...
Date:March 24, 2014
By CTGreybeard
from Southwest CT
I like this printer. Once I learned how to use the label editor I liked it even more.
BUT ...
It seems to have a problem with Mac OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) that causes it to munge the label at the 73mm mark or so. Every time. Once that it fixed I'll give it five stars.
Once I attached it to an older computer running 10.7 (Lion) it works very well.
The editor did take some getting used to. But I have found that it's actually pretty powerful.
One suggestion I might make to Brother would be to have a really cheap tape available to use while learning the software. It's pretty expensive to use up 1" tape while learning the software.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Printing
Date:March 9, 2014
By Wdmor
Unless I'm doing something wrong this product will not allow me to determine the cut line. The tape is expensive and the printer cuts with excessive amounts on both sides of the output. I would like to cut it where the printing ends. To much wasted tape that I have to cut off anyway
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
I'm sure I'll like it soon
Date:June 15, 2014
By spangles
The potential is great with this labeler but I have not been able to use it yet. I'm having trouble with less than user friendly on line manuals and one support person knew so little about the machine that he told me it would not print Bold. The next support person I got just asked me to change the font, showed me how, and it printed bold. I cannot find any explanation of "chain printing' nor can I find out how to regulate the space between words. I have simple needs and have used a Brother PT 320 for over 20 years. I'm hoping for intelligent support when I next call.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rather difficult to install on a Mac
Date:May 18, 2014
By Leopold1500
from Dallas, Texas
For the most part I'm fairly happy with the unit think I would've rather had an older model that was not connected to my computer. The software was not intuitive it was pretty difficult to get the software installed on my Mac. Instructions were poorly written.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PT-P700
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Macintosh Compatibility
Date:April 10, 2014
By Pharmconsult
from Seattle WA
This product does not work well with OSX 10.9. The desktop application does not install properly and the P-Touch Lite software is awful and does not compare with the PC version i.e. totally deficient. Keeps losing contact with printer. Do not recommend for Macintosh.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5