Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother PT-2730VP

PC-Connectable "Simply Professional" Labeling System with Carry Case
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for PT-2730VP
Review 1 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great software makes it a winner
Date:October 4, 2014
By GrizzledGeezer
from Renton, WA
In writing Amazon reviews about scanners, I remarked that there is no such thing as a good or bad scanner, only good or bad scanner software.
The same is almost as true of label makers. The label-creation program that comes with the PT-2730 is remarkable for its features -- and complexity. It's not something you'll master in a few minutes. But it does have templates for common labeling needs, and if you want to do something that's not obvious, the Help system usually has an answer. It is far superior to the software that came with Brother's TX computer-connected labelers.
One of the program's best features is the ability to drag-and-drop text //or images// directly into the label you're creating.
I have two gripes. The PT-2730 doesn't take the TX tapes I used with my older machines. Nor does it take 24mm tape. (Only one or two TZ machines do.)
For those new to labeling machines -- note that the regular tapes will not stick to polypropylene (eg, buckets, trash cans). The tapes with "high strength" adhesive are required.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works great ... Some waste
Date:July 1, 2014
By loflandl
from San Diego, CA
The label maker works great and has filled my need for an inexpensive, PC/MAC connectable labeler. The only distraction is the 1 inch waste of tape at each printing. This is not much of a waste, but over time will add up. Other than my perceived problem with this item, the labeler is well worth the price.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 3 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Everything I expected
Date:March 13, 2014
By jschlimmer
from Janesville IA
Initially outraged as the manual makes no mention of P-touch Editor or printing labels from a database. After checking the website, I learned that I needed Editor, installed it, and have printed labels from Excel. Total control of what records to print - one record, a range, or all. Not too difficult, easy editing, and I love it! I recommend the PT-2730 connectable, even if you don't think you need to print from a PC. It's a good capability to have in case you or someone you know does eventually need it (you could end up a hero to an organization, family member, or friend).
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 4 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Label Maker
Date:January 12, 2014
By bcyspec
from Tennessaee
The label maker arrived on time and so far it does a great job making labels.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This labeler is a great thing
Date:November 11, 2013
By Peg1
from Chicago
I waited a while to get a labeler. After all, my primary experience with labelers has been with those things from the 60s that embossed plastic tape; that tape didn't stick well, and the embossing could flatten out... not so good, overall.
Then the Brother labelers came out. I was pretty sure I didn't want a handheld, so I waited around. I also didn't want one that was only usable when connected to a PC; I'm a longtime Mac person, after all. (I do run Windows on my Mac, but I prefer Mac software if it's available.) So I waited around some more.
I decided I was finally ready when the marker "labels" I'd been using rubbed off for about the 50th time. Time to get a real labeling gadget.
I was cruising Amazon, and saw this one. It had great reviews, it's not handheld (although it can operate on batteries, if I need that), and Mac software is coming (OS X 10.8 is available, but I'm on 10.9, and the 10.8 driver doesn't work). Sold... and for now, I'll use the PC software under Windows on my Mac.
This is a great thing. I'm labeling everything I can think of. The labels seem fairly durable; Brother claims they'll make it through the dishwasher, although I haven't tested that (yet). The print is clear, the tape sticks well (even better than I expected), and the print doesn't smudge. I like being able to use all of my fonts, even though the labeler itself comes with a fairly decent collection of fonts and special-purpose labels. It's easy to use (that is, once I read the instructions) standalone and easy to use on the computer. It takes a decent assortment of tape sizes, up to 24mm (just about an inch).
The only thing I wonder about is, why does it chop off a half inch of label tape, then print the label? Seems like a goofy waste of tape, but I'm sure there's a reason for it.
That's a very minor quibble, though, in view of what a good gadget this is. I recommend it highly, for almost any home or small business use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Liked it so much, we now have two
Date:February 18, 2013
By CindiLouWho
from Sussex County, DE
We work in a large building and now have one of these labelers at both ends for efficiency purposes. We have used the first one quite a bit over the past 4-5 years and had no problems or issues (knock on wood). It was the basic labeler, and now with the system, the package works for both. I'm not sure the download has been loaded properly on my computer - I haven't had time to try it out.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 7 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Beyond Excellent!
Date:December 5, 2012
By Sasa001
from Chicago, IL
The PT-2730VP is a very versatile machine. It can be used with or without a computer. You can also transport it easily because of the carrying case. Labels of different sizes can be made and can be easily read. It also helps in keeping everything neat and tidy.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 8 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Super Label Maker
Date:December 3, 2012
By MoJo
from Powder Springs, GA
This is the fourth label maker I have purchased over the last 10 years, and it is be far the best.
It has done everything that I have asked, and has been able to execute all requests into a god finished product.
It gets put into action a minimum of three times a week and is always able to provided a quality product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:November 29, 2012
By sbrown
from Willis, TX
great product. easy to use and makes great looking labels. many label colors to choose from. many styles to choose from. highly recommend this machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Simple to use with good results
Date:November 25, 2012
By Squeezer
I didn't think this machine would be able to do all the things I wanted a label maker to do. It has suprised me with the ability to perform multiple tasks with ease. The instructions are easy to understand and well laid out for easy use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good value
Date:November 25, 2012
By esub
good product and good value. Does everything I expected it to do. Would like a warning as I get close to the end of the tape roll!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 12 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
SMOOTH OPERATOR
Date:November 25, 2012
By farmer
from SO CALIFORNIA
ITS A GOODIE, I USE IT WITH THE COMPUTER, BUT WHAT IS REALLY NICE IS THE HARD CASE FOR IT, YOU CAN THROW IT IN THE CAR SAFELY AND HAVE IT WITH YOU FOR ON SITE LABELS.
DOES A GOOD JOB SPINNIG OUT THELABELS, ALL DIFFERENT SIZES.....GOOD TOOL, TAPES ARE A LITTLE PRICEY.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 13 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Item
Date:November 25, 2012
By eagleman49
As I expected the Brother Labler is an exhalent unit and has met my expectations.
Review 14 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:April 5, 2012
By PowerUser
from Seattle WA.
This is the best label maker (for the price) I have ever own, you can use with or without your computer. Its works with windows 7 64bit, I would recommend this unit to my very best friend.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!!!
Date:October 1, 2011
By Tiger
from Ca
This is a great labeler, and a tremendous value.
I can see why you would go crazy labeling everything.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Labeler
Date:July 30, 2014
By srhudd
from Richardson, TX
This Labeler is great for making multiple labels, it can be connected to a PC and linked to a database or spreadsheet to print from. The software that came with the unit is clunky and could use updating, but it is functional and saves a lot of time.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good Product
Date:April 27, 2013
By Bluestar16
from O Fallon IL
Brother delivers a good labeler that is very versitle. Good value for the price
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 18 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
A Bit of a Challenge, But It Works
Date:April 20, 2013
By BrotherRandahl
from Washington State
First Labeler for me other than one of the manual type ones of many years ago. A bit early to write a detailed report, but I found the manual that comes with it, although quite detailed, a bit challenging and not clear in places. I had to call tech support 2 or 3 times to get solutions, but I got them and I always have from Brother. I have 2 of their Printers, also, and they are top notch. I have finally used the Labeler to make some initial labels, ( Letters for my Keyboard Keys, as the decals wore out from my fast and considerable typing. Nothing else has worked in the way of replacement, but white letters on black tape works great and is wearing fine so far. Time will tell, but I can quickly make more if needed. The tape seems to stick well, also. All in all, I am looking forward to using this machine as soon as I figure it out a bit more.....I would say, Go for It!!! SHALOM.....Brother Randahl
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great item
Date:November 25, 2012
By NINJA555
from New Jersey
I like the label printer. It works great and it's very versatile.
The only thing I don't like is the fact it wastes a lot of expensinve label paper since it cuts a portion of it before it prints every time, really annoying.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PT-2730VP
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
nice unit
Date:November 16, 2012
By gar1
from canada
nice portable unit can also connect to pc.
use it outside on the job
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 2 next>>