Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother PT-1230PC

PC-Connectable Label Maker
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
25 of 27(93%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for PT-1230PC
Review 1 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great little machine
Date:July 31, 2013
By auntmot
I have an online sewing business and have enjoyed printing customized labels at the blink of an eye. It installed on my computer very easily and has worked like a charm. It works better than my regular printer. GREAT PRODUCT!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
very good product
Date:July 7, 2013
By baldy
from Iowa
I like this a lot better then the handheld, you can do so much more with it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great item
Date:July 5, 2013
By martire
from Galveston, TX
This was a special buy, and a special product, as it turns out. Simple to operate, and a real plus that the software is built into the printer. Results are no different than any of the hand printers, except the software gives you a world of different ways to print it. I highly recommend this product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 4 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Used to make Electrochemical Etch Stencils
Date:June 21, 2013
By MikeinSC
from South Carolina
We bought the machine to produce stencils for electrochemically part marking aerospace parts (Method AS478-7A)
The self loading software is easy to use and the stencils work well in our application.
You need to buy STE cartridges for the stencil material. We're getting perfect part marks on stainless steel and Inconel parts with this system.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I can't live without my label maker
Date:December 4, 2012
By Bevi
from Tucson, AZ
I love my label maker. There is no end to the creative possibilities for this label maker. You name it, you can put a label on it. I made some labels for my husband, he put them in his shirt pocket, the shirt and labels went through the laundry/dryer and the labels were still good to use. Difficult to get off the item you put them on, you don't have to worry about the label falling off. I couldn't ask for anything better.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 6 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice little label-maker
Date:December 4, 2012
By RVRoamer
from Silver Springs, FL
I bought this for convenience so I could make labels at my computer/desk rather than getting out my Brother 1400 portable. The software for the 1230C plus the computer keyboard are an easier interface than on the portable.
The 1230 is very simple to install and use - I didn't even bother downloading the full software package - the self-installing app included right in the 1230 is plenty for everyday use.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best thing since sliced breat.
Date:December 3, 2012
By NJCharlie
from NJ, Fl and PA seasonally
Works great. easy to set up for quick usage.
The only complaint is that I would like to see less "wasted" tape on each side of the wording.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
love it
Date:November 26, 2012
By bob8258
from waterford, CT
does all and more. Bought all colors of lables and the on board program as well as the downloadable program works 110% as expected
Thanks
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 9 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Impressive labeler
Date:March 30, 2012
By Lobod80
Great compact labeler with easy to use software preloaded in the device, just plug in USB and ready to go on any computer - very portable. Labels print great, one line or two with clipart, if so desired. Got the unit at a great price, couldn't be happier. Yes, a bit excessive on the lead in/out, but chain printing (multiple labels in one printing) helps. I installed the higher featured standalone software too, but don't bother with it and just use the built-in software, which meets all my needs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 10 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So much easier
Date:September 18, 2011
By JBatDCA
from Washington, DC
Very handy, more convenient than the handheld units. Intuitive operation and the ability to save templates as PC files. Only drawback is the excessive tape leader and trailer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 11 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So-Far-So-Good
Date:July 30, 2011
By BigEd
from TTown USA
Haven't used it that much so far, but like what I see. I love the quality of the product and the labels it can produce. The price was right. A couple of cons; 1- Tape is still quite expensive. And 2- The wasted 3/4" leader on single labels.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Brother:By BMGSeptember 22, 2011
Most TZ labels have a clear laminate top layer. This durable laminate helps the label withstand abrasion, fading, moisture and chemicals, providing a crisp, readable image. The process of adding this laminate layer results in a leading edge margin of blank space. Using "full" margins will result in a label with centered text, but with blank space on both sides. You may be able to reduce the total amount of blank tape by choosing a different margin setting, or by using the chain printing function.
Review 12 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
PT-1230PC
Date:July 29, 2011
By groy
Small foot print. Easy to use w/provided s/w. Not all the bells and whistles as the more expensive models, but a good value and works well.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Amazing tool!!
Date:July 1, 2011
By Jabaleno
from Solvay, NY
I was given this by a friend who no longer needed it as he was retiring. As the Director of Operations for a small, volunteer EMS agency, I love the portability and range of this tool. I can carry it in my laptop bag and produce professional labels with it easily.
Thank you for a great product!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:March 7, 2011
By RobS
from Plainfield, IL
I use this product nearly every day. I have only had a couple small problems and both were my fault. It works as advertised, reliably. I recommend this to anyone wanting the convenience of PC based label design and the quality of a laminated label that does not smudge or wear off. I use it to put barcodes on attendance cards. It works perfectly for my application.
Sincerely,
Rob S.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 15 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
PT-1230PC
Date:December 4, 2012
By shipbuilder
from Coast of Maine
Machine was purchased to provide miniature year & mint mark labels for labeling those extra spaces found in coin books. Using the pc connected version, I have been able to create labels suited to my purpose with any font in my computer. My tape preference for this purpose is black on clear backing
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good Value
Date:December 3, 2012
By lakepaul
from San Diego, CA
Nice unit and works as advertised. It does waste a little bit of label on each printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 17 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very nice product
Date:December 3, 2012
By MGHB
from Glen Burnie MD
I have found this to be a great little gem. Sadly it is not not Mac compatible, I should have read the box better, but when using PC I use it all the time!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 18 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Low price made this a VERY good buy
Date:December 3, 2012
By wvuguy
from West Chester OH
I purchased the unit off the closeout shelf at Office Depot, making it a borderline screaming bargain. So while I personally find the software kind-of clunky to use.....though others might disagree....I still give this printer a solid 4-stars. Compact, flexible, and significantly more print options than a typical P-touch label maker.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 19 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Labeler
Date:November 25, 2012
By lrcole147
from East Texas
I really like the ease of use and the ability to modify layout and design on the fly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 20 for PT-1230PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
PT-1230PC Printer
Date:November 25, 2012
By Webee
from Spirit Lake, Idaho
Its a good deal I like the fact that it is plug and play or you may load the full program and have meny options. I would buy this unit again. Happy ,Happy , Happy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 2 next>>