Product Reviews

Brother MFC-L8850CDW

Color Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Advanced Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 of 8(75%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-L8850CDW
Review 1 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great all in one
Date:January 23, 2015
By brims
I've printed off a couple of color brochures that looked great, the 2 sided ADF is a great feature, I can scan documents directly to my SFTP server which is great for the Linux/Unix users. The Brother driver for Linux works great and was simple to install, thank you Brother for working with the Open Source community. Printing when the machine is in deep sleep is really quick; I had to wait a while for my brochures to print because it was a lot of information to send via WiFi. I use this for home which is a little overkill, but it's already surpassing my expectations. I've had to run a few test prints for getting my envelope configuration sorted out, it was mostly a configuration mismatch in LibreOffice.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easiest Wireless Setup Ever - Great Printer, too.
Date:December 1, 2014
By JohnGuru
from Texas - of course
As expected, the Brother MFC-L8850CDW is a great overall printer. For the price, it's even better. Fast startup, fast printing, super-fast single-pass, dual-sided scanning, and a legal sized scanning bed for scanning larger bound documents.
But the thing that impressed me most was the super easy wireless install. OK. I must admit that I'm using entirely Macs and iPhones, so all installs tend to be easy. But this wireless install was beyond easy. I plugged in the USB cable, ran the installer, put in my network password and system administrator password and a few moments later, I disconnected the USB cable and that was it. The second Mac and the iPhones and iPads were even simpler, since they didn't require the USB cable. FYI, according to the instructions, you can do the install without a USB cable. Since I had the USB cable handy, I didn't try it the other way.
After the wireless install, printing, scanning, and faxing worked as expected.
AirPrint works like a charm, too. I've used it on iOS 7 and 8.
Another neat feature is that you can use the printer to fax wirelessly from your computer. On a Mac, there are two ways to fax. Both involve starting as though you were going to print. 1) You can select "Brother MFC-L8850CDW Fax" as your printer. 2) You can Select "PDF" and then "Fax PDF…" from the drop-down menu. Both will bring up your cover-page and dial screen.
I'm also pleased that it has a straight paper path, for printing on card stock or envelopes. As a former print shop owner, I can assure you that regardless of brand or quality of printer, card stock and envelopes are guaranteed to give you problems on any printer, sooner or later, if that printer doesn't have a straight paper path option. The only problem with this is that the straight paper path is rather limited in how many pages or envelopes you can put in the feeder at a time.
All in all, I'm very impressed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-L8850CDW does the job
Date:October 11, 2014
By jdrewf
from Bayville, New Jersey
The MFC-L8850CDW is a fast and loaded with impressive features and networking and it is built in.
The MFC-L8850CDW is a large heavy printer. It also has a serious footprint: 19.3in Wide x 20.7in deep x 20.9 in High. The packaging is quite good as is typical for Brother and while the box had some dings the printer was in perfect condition. The setup was very simple and easy.
The printer comes with TN331 standard yield cartridges that drop right in. They are good for 2500 pages B&W or 1500 pages Color. It can take the TN336 high yield cartridges that mean less frequent changes and printing that is more economical. I always get genuine Brother Cartridges.
I connected the printer using the Ethernet cable to my Netgear router, install the software on my pc’s download the app for my iPad and Samsung Galaxy 4 and had everything configured and up and running in minutes.
Driver installation was simple and consistent with other Brother Printer installations. When installed the driver finds the printer on the network and registers the PC with the MFC-L8850CDW so you can scan-to-PC from the device. This is a very nice touch! The installation installs PaperPort scanned document management from Scansoft.
I found the large LCD touch screen both intuitive and attractive. It was easily use it for setup and to manage functions/settings of the printer/scanner/copier and fax at the printer.
Printing is very quick. I believe the specifications are close to real world at 32ppm for both color and B&W. The MFC-L8850CDW has a quick first page print time. To get that the printer has a large surge current needed to warm the print drum/fuser.
I used ordinary laser printer paper. I also used business card stock all with no issues.
Bottom-line it does want I want it to do effortlessly and at a very good price point, Brother builds very good products that deliver every time. I have had many Brother Products and have never been disappointed.
What I would like to see:
An additional paper tray at a reasonable price, not one that cost almost as much as the printer did.
An envelope cartridge/tray for high run mailing jobs
Near Field connectivity.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Meets expectations
Date:January 26, 2015
By Genesis
from Marion, Oh
Wanting this printer to produce several colored documents weekly at first we had a problem, contacted customer service, was helped very professionally and in turned solved our problem immediately! Is working well and meeting our expectations at this time! Thanks, Brother!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer
Date:November 2, 2014
By ChinaRider
from Michigan
So far, so good (only had for couple of weeks). Fast printer. Like the Wi Fi easy setup, printing from mobile good too. As reviews have said, color not the greatest (I've only printed color on regular paper--might look better on special paper), but sufficient for my needs. If you need high quality color, you might want to look elsewhere. But if you want a fast, easy to use MFC networkable device for a small office, this fits the bill.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice, but....
Date:October 29, 2014
By ISM34
from Boston, MA
My only real complaint is I can't scan different paper sizes through the feeder. If I want a batch file of receipts, I have to continuously replace them on the glass.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Prints well but cheap made
Date:January 18, 2015
By Dlpahas
from Tomball, TX
I am an accountant and have been buying Brother printers for over twenty years. I have had small ones and large MFC's. I don't buy anything except Brother to use in my offices.
But I have to say this printer is the cheapest made that I have purchased.
The print quality is good, color is good. The print speed could be improved as far as response time from the computer to the actual start of printing time. Too tall to use sitting at your desk, without getting out of your seat to make copies, scans, etc. That's kind of a nuisance.
My biggest complaint is the quality of the printer itself. It is the cheapest, flimsiest made printer that I have ever purchased from Brother. I noticed the MFC-8910DW was a little flimsier than most I had purchased. But this one is even worse.
The doors are all very thin and flimsy. They seem like they would break on opening if you aren't very careful. The first time I opened the main door to put in a new cartridge, the handle that releases the door came apart. It is held on by the flimsiest plastic part and is spring loaded with a very small wire. Took me a few minutes to put back together but the spring load still isn't perfect.
The parts on the Brother printers keep getting cheaper made but the price still goes up.
After what I paid for this one, it better last longer than I expect it to.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 8 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Good purchase
Date:January 13, 2015
By mikeh
from Houston
I bought it primarily to use for high volume scanning and copying and I want a laser color printer. It funtions as expected but I am finfing it is "blurry" when printing color pdf files. I am hoping it needs to be broken in. Otherwise it will be a problem when printing color brocures and marketing pieces
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2