Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-L8850CDW

Color Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Advanced Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
27 of 32(84%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-L8850CDW
Review 1 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Printers
Date:March 25, 2015
By DebP
from Richmond KS
This is the third Brother printer I have owned and they seem to get better and better each time I get one. It works great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
will let you know in a couple of years
Date:March 25, 2015
By cjwhitt
from California
I have only had this printer for less that a week so far I am pleased with the features and function. the price for the ink cart. are good and easily purchased. the real proof of this machine will be in the duration. I look forward to a long and useful life for this machine.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent network All in One.
Date:March 7, 2015
By Bunkerhillbill
from Tampa Fl.
I've had numerous office grade network printers but this is my first all in one. It's not as fast as my Kyocera FS-4000DN but it's a lot more versatile. The quality of print is very good both in B&W and color. The only negative thing I can say is when you have the telephone cord plugged in for fax and you use the same line for a phone call, the screen lights up. Therefore I just unplugged it as I don't fax that much anymore. I would highly recommend to anyone that needs a laser all in one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 4 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product and a good price point
Date:March 5, 2015
By HectorSF
from San Francisco
The product was easy to set up out of the box - the quick instructions were a handy guide. Once unpacked it was easy to use. The print quality was excellent and has been a reliable addition to our network from the start. A word of caution: we connected it to our network which combines wired and wireless units. We first connected it to our wired units; no problem. We used the software provided. We then connected it to our wireless unit. Be careful. The software provided turned off the wired network. We had to reset the network via the menu screen and then go into the wireless unit and manually address the port to make sure everything worked on our network. Since then all has been smooth. Good thing I could figure out the problem. Support tried to help but couldn't resolve my problem; they thought it was a firewall issue. It was not. I had to figure it out. Still, am happy with the machine itself.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 5 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Just Fine
Date:February 27, 2015
By Dave46
The printer works as described. Some people have described this as a monster product but once out of the box I found it not much different than other similar products to move and place on the counter. The installation software was easy to run and seemed to work ok. There is a trouble shooting and network setup repair tool that works well but the manual provided was a little difficult to navigate. I found myself looking at the online documentation to resolve a couple of issues. The first copy out is a little slower than I am use to with other printers. I have only had it installed for a couple of weeks but at this point I am generally happy with the result and unless something goes terrible wrong I would buy it again.
Review 6 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding
Date:February 25, 2015
By KFTDC
from Kentucky
It is a great printer. I love brother printers. The toner cartridges are way less expensive than their competitors. You definitely get more bang for you buck. Printing is fast and quiet. I am not using it to it's fullest capacity yet due to crunch time I am under. The only thing I would wish ...and this isn't just Brother ...but all manufacturers do that ...in order to get the optional 2nd tray they want your first born...it is almost as much as the printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Glad I made the pruchase
Date:February 16, 2015
By rdmWIS
from Wisconsin
All went well. Setup was easy. I read post that had trouble with setup. They must not follow instructions. The longest part was setting up my computer because it is old and slow.
yeh, the photos are not what you would call excellent but I gave that up for a lot of other things I was looking for like speed in print and scanning.
And the photos I do for business are just fine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 8 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Phenomenal Printer - Unbeatable Value
Date:February 16, 2015
By RSTinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
I am so glad that I purchased this printer. I replaced a non-duplexing, color laser printer from another (probably most popular) printer manufacturer. There is absolutely NO comparison in print quality, print speed, toner efficiency (versus waste), and convenience. My "short answer": I LOVE THIS PRINTER!!!!
In our home we have both Windows and Mac computers... both of which work flawlessly with the printer and were very easy to setup over the wireless network. I have not tried any of the mobile printing applications, so I can't comment. Being able to scan documents to AND print from the major cloud-storage services is very cool... although I don't make use of those features often. Perhaps over time I will determine how to integrate those capabilities to improve my workflow.
There are 2 things that I will recommend... [1] if you submit a print job that will produce a large number of printed pages - which is easy to do because of the high capacity paper tray - be aware that the output tray is limited and may start pushing papers out of the tray when full. [2] If you are wanting to update the firmware of the printer, don't use the software utility provided the Brother website but rather connect to the printer via your internet browser and the printer's IP address (192.168.1.xxx) and update the firmware using the web-based interface to the printer.
As other reviewers have mentioned, this is a big & heavy printer... so just prepare accordingly.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer!
Date:February 15, 2015
By Trey
This has been one of the best printers Ive ever owned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 10 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid Performance
Date:February 10, 2015
By MGregL
from Palo Alto, CA
Although machine has an above average footprint, seems solidly constructed and makes less noise than my previous Lexmark x544 which had a miserable UX. Setup is easy but if you are on a network, setup drivers using the IP address to get them to work right.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-L8850cdw LOVE IT
Date:January 28, 2015
By Anonymous
from Barnegat NJ
Greatest printer ever! Fast, clear print, great photos. SMART PRINTER!!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great all in one
Date:January 23, 2015
By brims
I've printed off a couple of color brochures that looked great, the 2 sided ADF is a great feature, I can scan documents directly to my SFTP server which is great for the Linux/Unix users. The Brother driver for Linux works great and was simple to install, thank you Brother for working with the Open Source community. Printing when the machine is in deep sleep is really quick; I had to wait a while for my brochures to print because it was a lot of information to send via WiFi. I use this for home which is a little overkill, but it's already surpassing my expectations. I've had to run a few test prints for getting my envelope configuration sorted out, it was mostly a configuration mismatch in LibreOffice.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easiest Wireless Setup Ever - Great Printer, too.
Date:December 1, 2014
By JohnGuru
from Texas - of course
As expected, the Brother MFC-L8850CDW is a great overall printer. For the price, it's even better. Fast startup, fast printing, super-fast single-pass, dual-sided scanning, and a legal sized scanning bed for scanning larger bound documents.
But the thing that impressed me most was the super easy wireless install. OK. I must admit that I'm using entirely Macs and iPhones, so all installs tend to be easy. But this wireless install was beyond easy. I plugged in the USB cable, ran the installer, put in my network password and system administrator password and a few moments later, I disconnected the USB cable and that was it. The second Mac and the iPhones and iPads were even simpler, since they didn't require the USB cable. FYI, according to the instructions, you can do the install without a USB cable. Since I had the USB cable handy, I didn't try it the other way.
After the wireless install, printing, scanning, and faxing worked as expected.
AirPrint works like a charm, too. I've used it on iOS 7 and 8.
Another neat feature is that you can use the printer to fax wirelessly from your computer. On a Mac, there are two ways to fax. Both involve starting as though you were going to print. 1) You can select "Brother MFC-L8850CDW Fax" as your printer. 2) You can Select "PDF" and then "Fax PDF…" from the drop-down menu. Both will bring up your cover-page and dial screen.
I'm also pleased that it has a straight paper path, for printing on card stock or envelopes. As a former print shop owner, I can assure you that regardless of brand or quality of printer, card stock and envelopes are guaranteed to give you problems on any printer, sooner or later, if that printer doesn't have a straight paper path option. The only problem with this is that the straight paper path is rather limited in how many pages or envelopes you can put in the feeder at a time.
All in all, I'm very impressed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-L8850CDW does the job
Date:October 11, 2014
By jdrewf
from Bayville, New Jersey
The MFC-L8850CDW is a fast and loaded with impressive features and networking and it is built in.
The MFC-L8850CDW is a large heavy printer. It also has a serious footprint: 19.3in Wide x 20.7in deep x 20.9 in High. The packaging is quite good as is typical for Brother and while the box had some dings the printer was in perfect condition. The setup was very simple and easy.
The printer comes with TN331 standard yield cartridges that drop right in. They are good for 2500 pages B&W or 1500 pages Color. It can take the TN336 high yield cartridges that mean less frequent changes and printing that is more economical. I always get genuine Brother Cartridges.
I connected the printer using the Ethernet cable to my Netgear router, install the software on my pc’s download the app for my iPad and Samsung Galaxy 4 and had everything configured and up and running in minutes.
Driver installation was simple and consistent with other Brother Printer installations. When installed the driver finds the printer on the network and registers the PC with the MFC-L8850CDW so you can scan-to-PC from the device. This is a very nice touch! The installation installs PaperPort scanned document management from Scansoft.
I found the large LCD touch screen both intuitive and attractive. It was easily use it for setup and to manage functions/settings of the printer/scanner/copier and fax at the printer.
Printing is very quick. I believe the specifications are close to real world at 32ppm for both color and B&W. The MFC-L8850CDW has a quick first page print time. To get that the printer has a large surge current needed to warm the print drum/fuser.
I used ordinary laser printer paper. I also used business card stock all with no issues.
Bottom-line it does want I want it to do effortlessly and at a very good price point, Brother builds very good products that deliver every time. I have had many Brother Products and have never been disappointed.
What I would like to see:
An additional paper tray at a reasonable price, not one that cost almost as much as the printer did.
An envelope cartridge/tray for high run mailing jobs
Near Field connectivity.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Solid multi-function printer
Date:April 1, 2015
By NMSwede
from Albuquerque, NM
Haven't had a chance to use it a lot yet. Infancy problems might still arise. Initially I noticed the duplexing unit would jam paper, until I noticed a lever in the back that moved with resistance. The one on the other side didn't. I exercised it, and after that the duplexer seems good. Print quality is great, scanning functions are excellent. Scan-to options are plentiful. Tested scp and to mail server without hiccups. Unit makes a little more sound while printing than some other units, but it's quieter than other printers. I switched from an HP to this one, and I am not dissapointed. I will order more RAM for the printer though, spooling large jobs takes quite some time.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:March 22, 2015
By relobo
from Westminster, Co.
The product works well on USB but leaves a lot to be desired on a Wireless connection. It is not reliable when scanning and sometimes it even has problems when printing.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 17 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
GREAT FOR A SMALL OFFICE
Date:March 18, 2015
By hilda
from Alhambra, CA
I purchased another Brother MFCt a few years back and because it worked so well in my office, I decided to update to this new one. It works great so far.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Almost Perfect Machine
Date:March 18, 2015
By jakmaw
I love this machine! Fast, clear copies, easy access for envelope and legal size printing. The one complaint is the scanning function. Very tempermental. I am unable to scan from the machine to two of my three computers - never had this with other multifunction machines. Also often have to turn the machine on and off to scan from the computers. Brother could do a better job of integrating their scanning feature and working out the bugs that make it so difficult. (i even had to download separate scanning drivers - why are they not in the set-up software?) Otherwise, i would give this machine a 5.
Review 19 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:March 14, 2015
By SHALL
from Watertown, SD
My multifunction machine is really nice and fast. The only problem with it is when it is duplexing. After the sheet of paper goes through the first time, there is a gear grinding sound when it is printing the back side.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rough Start But Good Now That It Is Going
Date:March 1, 2015
By JHH3
from New Jersey
Once operating, our new MFC-L8850CDW seems to be functioning well. However, we en-counted two major problems getting started. First the CD that came with our new unit didn't work and Bother Support said that it didn't contain the most recent drivers. After 2 calls for help, each where we had to wait over 30 minutes to talk to someone, we were advised to download the drivers from the internet. We did that and were up and running very quickly. Too bad the CD we were sold was out of date and that the wait time for help was so long.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>