Product Reviews

Brother MFC-L8850CDW

Color Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Advanced Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
9
74 of 94(79%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-L8850CDW
Review 1 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Multifunction!
Date:February 8, 2016
By
from Hawaii-Sunny State
Have been using this laser printer for 2 months now and wow, it is a great improvement for a previous Brother unit ( 5yrs older).
Love how easy the Wifi ability works with other computers nearby. The double sided printing is big improvement and saves flipping page and reinserting to print back side. The colors is still not picture perfect but stunning for any color laser. The unit surprisingly is lighter than the previous unit and about the same size. Too bad it uses different toners but no problem. Time to move on with the new features. Love it!!!! Worth every dollar spent.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It's a lifesaver!
Date:February 5, 2016
By
from Tucson Arizona
I print a LOT of material for my home based business and this is the first printer that can keep up with me. The quality remains consistently high on page 500 as it did on page 1. I also love the bigger capacity paper tray, less reloading.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Working Fine
Date:January 27, 2016
By
from Pittsburgh, PA
Rather pleased. My original laser cartridges are still in service and I just ordered a backup set of TN3336 high capacity cartridges online.
Used legal paper in it this morning for a poster.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value for the money
Date:January 20, 2016
By
from Los Angles
I like this printer a lot, I've had 3 Xerox Printers like this and all seem to fail after new Toner carts, and No tech support after 12 months. I bought this printer because of the lifetime support and I have 2 other Brother printer B&W laser and no problems and lifetime support. Easy setup and fast to get going
biggest problem is all the packing tape everywhere took more time to remove that than the setup after I got it all removed
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 5 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:January 13, 2016
By
from Southeast, KY
We have only had our printer for a short time, but to date, I have not had any problems or issues with it. The print quality is excellent, very easy to start up. I anticipate thoroughly enjoying this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:December 28, 2015
By
from Kansas City, MO
After years of buying cheap inkjets from competitors and paying insane amounts of money for ink we decided to go back to a laser. Initially the ink is more expensive but it last forever. My first printer in the early 80's was a Brother laserjet; it was a workhorse we only retired it when we no longer had computers with parallel printer ports. Spend the money and get a quality printer that last; it is solid, well built, works perfect, lots of features and the print quality far exceeds the inkjets.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:December 10, 2015
By
from Eastham, MA
Love it and have recommend this printer to two other people and they have bought the printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Quality performance
Date:December 3, 2015
By
from Indy
This unit replaces another Brother MFC with several years of service. This unit is quieter from the get-go than its predecessor and has less paper curl. The quality of print is very good and quick. Photo quality is not as good an inkjet, but that's not for which we purchased it. The touch-screen operation is intuitive and accurate. This MFC fulfills its functions for our small office very well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very nice printer
Date:November 19, 2015
By
from So Cal
This printer works well overall. I have a small issue with the output area, in that the printed paper is delivered pretty deep under the scanner (somewhat difficult to extract). Printing is crisp and fast, scanner works well. This is a heavy item, hopefully indicating rugged construction and long life (mine has been in service only a month at this point). My research indicates lower cost of supplies than its competitors (TBD in practice).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Satisfied Customer
Date:October 28, 2015
By
from Alexandria, VA
After reading the one and two star reviews, I was very hesitant to purchase printer. Needlessly to say, I had searched multiple brands and read reviews for months. Finally, I made the decision to purchase MFC-L8850CDW because it had the features and benefits I needed. I am so glad I purchased my printer – I am extremely satisfied. It was very easy to setup. I have had no problems with it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased, Brother products are great!
Date:October 25, 2015
By
from Centerville, Texas
This is my second Brother laser printer which recently died after 9 years. Easily installed and ready for use in minutes. Great print quality and fast.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good Printer
Date:October 18, 2015
By
Great printer overall and this is my second Brother printer. The last one I owned lasted about ten years. Quality and speed is excellent. The only thing is that I wish Brother would make this printer smaller. It is HUGE and takes up a lot of space on your desk.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great small office printer
Date:October 7, 2015
By
from Sacramento, CA
Bought this as a replacement to an older brother, similar lazer printer but without the multi function. This works well, easy to set up with network and prints fast.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Can't ask for more
Date:October 5, 2015
By
Has everything I could ask for in a laser printer. Haven't tested color output when printing pictures yet but I am sure ink jets do a much better job on those.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Review of MFC-L8850CDW
Date:October 5, 2015
By
from Owensboro, KY
The MFC-L8850CDW has proven to be a quality product built with a ruggedized design that did not suffer any harm from the damage sustained to the shipping box in transit to my location. I was afraid that the printer had been damaged, but it has worked reliably from the first day for printing, scanning, and FAXing operations. I have not used a product with this level of reliability for over 15-years, so I am happy to see that Brother is investing in building reliable All-in-One Color Laser equipment for small business.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Recent purchase
Date:September 22, 2015
By
I am very happy with this machine which I bought for use in my home office. The print is clear and, once I learned to make "print double-sided" the default option, I was getting exactly what I was looking for - and it is compatible with Windows 10. I do turn the power off when I am through with a work session to keep my electricity bill down. It is not that it is a heavy consumer - just that I do not need to pay for electricity that I am not using.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This puts our old MFC-9840CDW to shame!
Date:September 16, 2015
By
from Signal Hill, CA
Fast! Quiet! A Real Performer!
Easy to setup and even easier to use!
The 300 entry internal dialing directory was a pleasant surprise, but the ease of use and quiet operation were what really gave us the impression that this purchase was worth the expense.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Great
Date:September 15, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
Like the ease of set up and how well it works with our internet and multiple laptops - very pleased. It is exactly what we needed!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:September 8, 2015
By
from New York NY
Everything I expected from a Brother machine. This is my 2nd Brother Color Laser and my 7th Brother printer over 13 years for office and home office.
Brother support is super and extends for the life of the machine.
Highly recommend.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-L8850CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ebst printer/scanner/fax/copier I've owned
Date:September 7, 2015
By
from San Antonio, Texas
It is a very nice machine. I have had no problems so far. Easy installation and programming is very user friendly!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>