Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J875DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
20 of 24(83%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J875DW
Review 1 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The best printer I've had
Date:February 24, 2014
By Olee
Didn't need fax but it came with it. Its fast and with all the features that any one would want
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Extremely Happy
Date:January 20, 2014
By Santi52
from Maplewood, MN
I have had this product for a few months now, and I have been quite pleased! I haven't done a lot of printing, but everything has been really efficient. Set-up was a breeze and very user friendly. I am looking forward to using the other options in the future.
I would definitely recommend this product, especially for the price!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
"Ezeee Mon"
Date:January 12, 2014
By dirtdude
from OC CA
Easy to set up printer, scanner works well, yet to use fax.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 4 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
They Keep Getting Better
Date:November 29, 2013
By Printing101
from Gulf Coast, Florida
This is the second Brother printer I have had. I loved the first one and it's still going strong, given to a family member. I wanted this one simply because I can print from my phone with it. I didn't think the print quality could improve over my old one but it has. It was simple to set up and is simple to use. I just wish that I could've used the extra ink cartridges I had for my old printer in this new printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
above average printer
Date:November 24, 2013
By jinl
from scottsburg in
great product .excellent value for the price . great product size and features .
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good so far
Date:November 22, 2013
By Techperson
Was easy to setup except would not pick up the routers password when I did the automatic setup (WPS). Had to enter the router password manually.
The plastic parts seem to be light weight construction. Hope they hold up.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:November 21, 2013
By Loppergnome
from Miami, FL
It is a great printer with all the features I can use. Love the print quality
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 8 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very nice
Date:September 21, 2013
By bones007
a great all in one printer for photos faxing and much more love it
Review 9 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
mfc-j875DW
Date:March 14, 2014
By Arty
from Monroe, VA
I am enjoying being able to two side print without having to flip over the paper by hand.
Did have a problem getting the WI-Fy to work at first but it caught on later.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
So far it works great!
Date:February 27, 2014
By surfcaster
Have not needed to do much heavy printing yet, but it is much faster than my old Cannon and my old HP. The duplex is a great feature. This is my first Brother unit, but may not be the last.
Review 11 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:February 24, 2014
By Ourbrother
from Colorado
Really like the printer and it does a great job printing photos. Getting the drivers installed, however, took FOREVER and 3 calls to Customer Service. The instructions for installation leave a lot to be desired.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:February 24, 2014
By Xtitcher
from Reno, Nevada
Just replaced a fairly new HP as they killed the OCR software in their recent update.
This is the EASIEST install of a printer I have done. 15 min. max and that was because my printer is in my back bedroom/office and had to go back and forth a couple of times.
Haven't used it much yet, so quality of print is still to be determined.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:February 4, 2014
By willellen
from charlottesville,va
easy to set up, early use shows good quality and speed, small footprint
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 14 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Multi-function Printer
Date:February 3, 2014
By BobNY
from Lower Hudson Valley, NY
Printer/scanner work great. SW control panel adds more options versus the panel. FAX cannot work on my cable data service--keep alive tone confuses the cable modem, rendering my telephone (triple play) out of service.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
OUTSTANDING
Date:February 1, 2014
By TECH
OUTSTANDING PRINTER. HAS ALL THE DIFFERENT ePRINT OPTIONS. GREAT PRICE.
Review 16 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice quality, reasonably fast
Date:January 17, 2014
By rumplestiltskin
from El Paso, TX
As is typical with Brother MFC units, the models with the two year warranty (like this one) are a better quality than the cheapest models (which only have one year warranty). Can use "compatible" ink cartridges but stay away from the "G&G" brand sold by the big-box stores as they will surely clog the unit.
One star deduction for not having a bypass tray for thick paper stock that won't feed through the normal "flip & feed" underside tray. You have to go with one of the larger and more costly Brother MFC units for that feature. (I have a J6710 for that.)
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 17 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer, poor manual
Date:January 1, 2014
By Ugjhh
from Raleigh nc
Printer seems to be excellent so far. However it's only been a week so can't comment on durability or ink cartridge life. Setting it up for wireless is easy once you understand what you need to do and that you NEED to download the drivers from the website manually. The supplied Disk is useless. The paper rinstructions provide hints but you can not just follow them . Like a puzzle. But after an hour I liked the printer. Anyone on our home network can print or scan wirelessly and effortlessly. The print quality is excellent . So I can recommend it .
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Easy to Use, Fast Prints, SLOW (but decent) Scans
Date:October 28, 2013
By PersonalAssistant
from Texas
This is my 3rd Brother. I am quite happy with it. (It does everything!) Color prints on regular paper are not photo quality by any means, but it's good enough for most non-commercial use. The only thing I would note is that if you intend on using this MFC for a lot of scanning, you may want to look into a different (more commercial level) model. This one is certainly affordable, and it does decent (600x600 DPI 24-Bit Color) scans, but even at 400x400 DPI it takes over 90 seconds PER SCAN, even in True Gray, from the time you hit the Scan button in Brother Control Center to the time the document appears on your computer. My most favored setting would be File Type: PDF; File Size: Small; DPI: 400x400; Scan Type: True Gray or 24-Bit Color. So that's not even maximum setting... On these settings, it takes between 90-110 seconds to complete scanning a single page wirelessly with a resultant file size of 1-1.5MB. That's slow...slow as molasses! For reference I'm using Brother Control Center2 on a 2.3Ghz i7 computer with 8GB of fast RAM, so my computer's not slow, by any means.
So, this MFC really does do everything, just not everything quickly! But printing on this thing is a joy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice printer
Date:September 22, 2013
By travelingsage
I set up the wireless quite easily. I liked that I didn't have to physically connect the printer to my laptop to do the first setup. The prints are good and text prints really fast.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J875DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
It's OK.
Date:January 1, 2014
By healer98
from Phoenix, AZ
It's an OK machine. Construction is mediocre. The worst feature is I can't use greeting card stock. I need to be able to make greeting cards and I can't use the 60lb paper I have. The screen isn't colorful enough; too bland. The MFC-J835DW had a more colorful screen. I thought this one was an upgrade but it doesn't appear to be. Otherwise, it does what I need it to do.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>