Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 star
5
123 of 140(88%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer + good customer service
Date:November 5, 2013
By NotReallyGeeky
from Fort Lauderdale FL
Bought the earlier cousin of the 870 (the 835) to replace an HP machine purchased a month earlier which had malfunctioned and for which HP rendered horrible customer service.
At first, I thought loading the paper tray was a pain. It is slightly more troublesome than the HP machines but is easy after you get used to it. And the fact that you can keep photo paper and letter sized paper loaded at the same time is a plus.
I've had the 835 for 10 months with only 1 malfunction, which was easily resolved by Brother's excellent customer service. It is a real pleasure to deal with Brother CS -- most times I get someone in the US and even if it's a foreign rep they are understandable and very helpful. Plus, they don't make me jump thru hoops to establish that the machine is under warranty.
I love the scanning software (Brother Control Center 4) which is easy to use to scan to my computer or a print output. I can also email it directly (not as good an idea as making a file first). The fax worked perfectly for send/receive from day 1 and I can fax from the machine or my computer.
Photo prints are great. Ink usage is very low versus prior HP printers. I'm a convinced convert to Brother.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:January 3, 2014
By LaginPhx
from Phoenix, AZ
I had purchased a Brother wireless laser printer (Model # HL-2280DW) earlier in the year and was so impressed with it that I decided to replace an older HP inkjet printer with the Brother MFC-J870DW. So far I'm extremely happy that I did so. Setup/installation was easy and within 20 minutes of taking it out of the box I was printing. It easily recognized my wireless network. So, I was able to install it without having to go through the hassle of a direct cable connection to my computer. I will be using all the functions and so far all have worked well. I love how easy it is to do duplex printing. Definitely it saves on paper costs. Direct printing to media (inkjet printable CD's, etc) was a feature that I definitely wanted and have used it often in the short time that I have had the printer. I am looking for media printing software though that will work with this feature other then the NewSoft CD Labeler that came with the printer. Printing output is fast even though it is going through a wireless network. I'm getting the first page of the print job within 5 to 7 seconds after clicking on print. I do wish that the paper tray had a larger capacity. That is the only negative in my opinion.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great inexpensive multi-purpose priner
Date:February 27, 2014
By Anonymous
from San Antonio, TX
This was not an impulse buy. I decided to purchase a color printer for occasional printing at home. I was talked into an HP 8700 against my better judgment and past experience with HP. The store manager at Office Depot assured me it would be a great printer, easy install, etc. Well it was a nightmare and never could get it to print in color. Thus, back to the box and the store. Researched Consumer Reports, reviews from other consumers and this one kept popping up. I was able to install the software and it was sooo easy! The printer is awesome for a home-use machine. Printed great photos from the sample 4X6 paper that was included with printer. Lots of free software to use with it also. Could not be more pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worthy successoe to 295CN
Date:January 31, 2014
By FaOfBrother
from New Orleans, La.
Had to replace a 4 year old Bro 295 CN as it would No longer print with magenta ink. Everything else still works fine, however. I choose Brother again based on Brother's reputation and my great experience wit the 295 CN. This new model has more features and functions than the 295 CN. I tries scanning a 60 year old black and white roll film negative and it worked fine. I then negated the negative to obtain a useable print. NOTE: Brother does NOT approve of this use as it could produce unacceptable results. Hunh? So what, it worked for me and if it had not, I would be out only a few minutes of my time.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice printer
Date:March 26, 2014
By jsslesw
from Chicago suburbs
This is my first Brother product and so far, I am pleased with it. I bought the product primarily as a printer. I have no intentions of using the fax or scanner functions since I already have separate devices for those purposes.
I am happy with the printing of non-color documents, but the photo printing lacks the crispness that I was used to with my former Pixma printers. That is the only reason I didn't rate it as 5 stars.
The printer is a comfortable fit in my home office because it is quiet and simply does it's utilitarian job of printing when called upon. I leave it on all day and it wakes when I call for a document to be printed.
So far, I am pleased with the economy of it's ink usage. The original ink cartridges have lasted for a reasonable length of time and I assume that the XL cartridges that I have as replacements will last even longer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
nice but won't scan to network
Date:April 26, 2014
By flpod321
This all-in-one is nice....except it won't scan to my macbook. For some reason the driver isn't supported on OS X 10.9.x. I have had this for a while now and there has yet to be a new driver. Very disappointed in this lack of function.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J870DW
Date:August 7, 2014
By Brother2014
from Brooklyn, NY
Much better than magazine reviews. Great print out, excellent scans and very good color hi res printouts out glossy print paper.
Great product
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Thought of everything!
Date:June 1, 2014
By Geek32
from Upstate NY
The quality of this machine is incredible. My wife is a teacher and we have 2 teen age kids, we destroy printers with our constant printing. I got a Brother ink jet because a friend of mine has been so impressed with his Brother Laser. The ink is easy to install, the scanning software works well and we can print from our iPad, iPhone, Mac laptop, windows laptop and our desktop. I recommend that you plug the printer into a network unless you have good strong wifi signal. Our wifi at the printer was weak and it caused slow printing. Problem was fixed when I plugged it into our network. Brother sounds like they really stand by their equipment giving it a 2 year warranty. The ink cost isn't bad and it seems to be thrifty on the ink. I am impressed with the quality so far, it meets all of our needs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excelent all-in-one
Date:May 19, 2014
By counsel
I am impressed with this machine although I have only used it for printing so far. I think the air printing (iPhone/ipad) is great. It's nice when I'm reading an article in my recliner I can print out the article from my ipad.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy to use
Date:May 17, 2014
By frannie39
from Southwest Florida
The new MFC-J870DW was easy to set up and is so easy to use. We have a wireless set-up for use with 3 computers and two cell phones. I have also used the SD card from my camera to unload photos and I can see them on the printer screen. Printed sheets are crisp and clean for one sided as well as two-sided copies. It's a great bargain for the price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase made
Date:April 17, 2014
By charler
from Lost Nation, Iowa
I am so happy with my new Brother MFC-J870DW. I am able to print on both sides of the paper without having to turn the paper around. If anyone is looking for a printer this is a great one to have. It's also wireless.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exactly what I needed
Date:April 7, 2014
By Eenie
from Southwest Florida
Easy to set up, easy to connect to the internet, clear copies. Does everything I need in an all-in-one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I was looking for....
Date:February 14, 2014
By GrannyGG
from Mount Sinai
I am on my I pad a lot. It is so great to have the wireless printer. What a convenience. The fax option is a plus. Prints and copies great. Double sided. Paper saving. Love it!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer for the Money
Date:January 7, 2014
By CivilMan
from Huntsville, Alabama
Printer is used in a home application and is adequate for my needs. Printer is very user friendlier, easy paper and cartridge replacement. Replaced a HP laser printer with this one, and am more than satisfied. The print quality is equal to the HP and the replacement cartridges cost less. Excellent value for the money spent.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Value!
Date:October 31, 2013
By enkido
from Edwardsville, IL
1. Easy set-up
2. Flawless wireless connectivity
3. Dark, clear print
4. Vibrant color
5. High resolution photos
6. Easy ink cartridge installation and replacement
The MFC-J870DW is an inexpensive, well-engineered and durable product that performs flawlessly: quality I have come to expect from Brother. If you need an MFC for your home or small office, this unit will not disappoint you.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works well
Date:October 16, 2013
By TopSullivan
from Florence, Oregon
A good machine. Setting it wireless very difficult and to get support.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I Like This Printer
Date:October 15, 2013
By Kenwantstoknow
from Huntsville, Texas
Not only is the MFC-J870DW feature rich with automatic 2-sided printing and the 2.7" intuitive touchscreen display just to name a few. The wireless networking was very easy to setup. Perhaps the best of all is Brother's technical support. When you do have a problem they will fix the problem and then send you an email describing the fix. This is a Lifetime Toll-Free
Technical Support.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:October 8, 2013
By GGprinter
from Oxnard CA
Excellent product. I am replacing an old MFC240, and this has significant improvements. It works well, is fast and it is quiet
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
More than I expected!
Date:October 3, 2013
By RuththeEngineer
from Albany, NY
I don't often respond to specials from manufacturers. I am SO happy with this one! This printer is compact, sturdy and amazingly user friendly. I have never had the "print on a CD" option before. It works seamlessly. The individual cartridges are great and I love the user interface! Best ink jet printer I have EVER owned!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good,But!
Date:October 1, 2013
By RevOne
from PA
Like this printer, but it is not to easy to print a CD or DVD. sometime it keeps asking to close door when door is close. You could sent more setup instructions, like you have to install Label print. With better instructions on how to print a CD or DVD. Had to find this out after trying 2 or 3 times
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>