Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.044 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (608 reviews)
5 stars
308
4 stars
150
3 stars
64
2 stars
41
1 star
45
481 of 608(79%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Perfect purchase
Date:October 8, 2014
By
from Nassau, New York
The price was right, and it me all my needs for in home business
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:October 6, 2015
By
from Presque Isle, ME
I spent much time researching All-in-One inkjets for ink costs, warranty and reliability before deciding on this model. The ink costs that were one of the lowest, the 2 year warranty and the price sold me.
I haven't used the fax function or printed many photos, but the general text, color and graphics are excellent. I don't do many photos but I tried a few 4 X 6s to check the quality. I'm not an expert but they looked great to me. Colors and detail were great. I have only scanned documents but they were produced and printed looking exactly like the originals. I especially like the auto off/on feature. I don't have to go to the printer to power on before printing and it powers down after an idle period.
The printer and wireless setup was accomplished with only one problem and that was my fault. I overlooked a step but Customer Service straightened me out. They were very knowledgeable and courteous.
The only slightly negative comment that I have is that the paper tray must be removed to load paper, envelopes and 4 X 6 photo. Personally, I don't have a problem with this.
This printer does everything that I need to do and does it very well. I am very satisfied with the purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
first time brother purchase
Date:September 19, 2015
By
from dallas,tx.
after several hp,canon, and kodac printer purchases i'm still using the same ink cartridges furnished with this unit(currently FOUR MONTHS old!) I know I would already have gone through several sets with these other manufactures.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Second one
Date:April 26, 2015
By
This is the second Brothers all in one I have purchased and the only reason I bought it was my other one needed a good cleaning and I didn't have time. I am betting when it is cleaned it will run like new so I will have a back up printer if I need it.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
printer
Date:April 3, 2015
By
from Timmonsville, S.C.
I love it. It do everything I need done. This is the best all-in-one printer I ever bought. It does a great job in printing. My picture print just like a professional do.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer for the Money
Date:January 7, 2014
By
from Huntsville, Alabama
Printer is used in a home application and is adequate for my needs. Printer is very user friendlier, easy paper and cartridge replacement. Replaced a HP laser printer with this one, and am more than satisfied. The print quality is equal to the HP and the replacement cartridges cost less. Excellent value for the money spent.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
good machine
Date:January 26, 2015
By
from Chicago Area
Overall it seems to be a good machine. It takes a lot of time to reset it's self between printing jobs and it uses a lot of very expensive ink.
I have had good service from other Brother machines that I have owned but I don't think I would buy this machine again as it is way to expensive to operate.
I'am looking at getting a mono laser machine to save money and time on black and white jobs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Crippling Cartridge Expense
Date:January 8, 2015
By
from Atlanta
I have printed 1 color photo as a test and less than 10 pages of B&W text and my color cartridges are supposed to be dangerously low and the printer would not print a B&W copy until I put in a new black cartridge. Over $3 per page for B&W and god knows what for color is outrageous. There should be a way to override the incorrect ink level sensor - it is my printer and I should be able to ignore it at my own risk. I just threw out a functioning HP Colorsmart for same reason. Hoped for more honesty from Brother, based on good use I got from my Brother laser, but regretfully they are using the same scam.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Affordable MFC
Date:November 12, 2015
By
Great machine at an affordable price. My only complaint would be that I'm always replacing ink cartridges. They should make them bigger to hold more ink so you're not replacing them all the time.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J870DW
Date:September 30, 2015
By
from VA
Everything is easy with this printer, installation to use. The ink useage is good. Great for home use. I would recommend this model.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I LIKE THIS PRINTER
Date:March 30, 2015
By
from Up State NY
Printouts are awesome. Quality is fantastic! Great ink management! What could be better???
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
very satisfied
Date:September 16, 2014
By
from Toms River NJ and The Villages Florida
great for the home office. No problems Very easy to operate it does everything Ineed to do .
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excelent product
Date:July 18, 2014
By
from Lancaster, Pa
I spent a lot of time researching a new printer. I am so glad I ended up with this printer. Set up was easy and the wireless option came right up. I have not had any problems and don't expect any.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy to use
Date:May 17, 2014
By
from Southwest Florida
The new MFC-J870DW was easy to set up and is so easy to use. We have a wireless set-up for use with 3 computers and two cell phones. I have also used the SD card from my camera to unload photos and I can see them on the printer screen. Printed sheets are crisp and clean for one sided as well as two-sided copies. It's a great bargain for the price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Value!
Date:October 31, 2013
By
from Edwardsville, IL
1. Easy set-up
2. Flawless wireless connectivity
3. Dark, clear print
4. Vibrant color
5. High resolution photos
6. Easy ink cartridge installation and replacement
The MFC-J870DW is an inexpensive, well-engineered and durable product that performs flawlessly: quality I have come to expect from Brother. If you need an MFC for your home or small office, this unit will not disappoint you.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good,But!
Date:October 1, 2013
By
from PA
Like this printer, but it is not to easy to print a CD or DVD. sometime it keeps asking to close door when door is close. You could sent more setup instructions, like you have to install Label print. With better instructions on how to print a CD or DVD. Had to find this out after trying 2 or 3 times
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Adequate Printer
Date:June 24, 2015
By
from Stoneboro, PA
Printer has many strong points but lacks in other areas.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Review of MFC-J870DW
Date:January 26, 2015
By
from Reading, PA
The unit works 3/4 of the time good, howevery
Sometimes get errors in bluetooth connection, taks 2-3 trys.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Best printer I have owned so far
Date:July 27, 2014
By
from Manhattan, NY
Good printer. Many great functions. Faxing and receiving voice messages is an issue. Outgoing faxes an issue, machine says fax sent, but no one has received any faxes from me yet. Instructions are confusing. Not sure what to do when 1 color is finished but others aren't, keep getting color messages.
Great copier, connection between wifi and iPad/ iPhone is wonderful. Many great features.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Review of MGC-J870DW
Date:January 11, 2014
By
from NY, NY
I have had this printer for about 1 month now. I had to return my first one due to a manufacturing defect. The second one was operational.
So far I like the printer , its speed and especially the printing on two sides of paper which is great saver.
The scanner seems to work well and I use the cloud feature to scan directly to dropbox. I like that.
My one wish is that the scanner would be able to scan both sides of a document rather than one.
Other than that I like it alot. Speed is good, fax works too.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next>>