Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (411 reviews)
5 stars
219
4 stars
100
3 stars
39
2 stars
26
1 star
27
332 of 411(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer + good customer service
Date:November 5, 2013
By
from Fort Lauderdale FL
Bought the earlier cousin of the 870 (the 835) to replace an HP machine purchased a month earlier which had malfunctioned and for which HP rendered horrible customer service.
At first, I thought loading the paper tray was a pain. It is slightly more troublesome than the HP machines but is easy after you get used to it. And the fact that you can keep photo paper and letter sized paper loaded at the same time is a plus.
I've had the 835 for 10 months with only 1 malfunction, which was easily resolved by Brother's excellent customer service. It is a real pleasure to deal with Brother CS -- most times I get someone in the US and even if it's a foreign rep they are understandable and very helpful. Plus, they don't make me jump thru hoops to establish that the machine is under warranty.
I love the scanning software (Brother Control Center 4) which is easy to use to scan to my computer or a print output. I can also email it directly (not as good an idea as making a file first). The fax worked perfectly for send/receive from day 1 and I can fax from the machine or my computer.
Photo prints are great. Ink usage is very low versus prior HP printers. I'm a convinced convert to Brother.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great inexpensive multi-purpose priner
Date:February 27, 2014
By
from San Antonio, TX
This was not an impulse buy. I decided to purchase a color printer for occasional printing at home. I was talked into an HP 8700 against my better judgment and past experience with HP. The store manager at Office Depot assured me it would be a great printer, easy install, etc. Well it was a nightmare and never could get it to print in color. Thus, back to the box and the store. Researched Consumer Reports, reviews from other consumers and this one kept popping up. I was able to install the software and it was sooo easy! The printer is awesome for a home-use machine. Printed great photos from the sample 4X6 paper that was included with printer. Lots of free software to use with it also. Could not be more pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Crippling Cartridge Expense
Date:January 8, 2015
By
from Atlanta
I have printed 1 color photo as a test and less than 10 pages of B&W text and my color cartridges are supposed to be dangerously low and the printer would not print a B&W copy until I put in a new black cartridge. Over $3 per page for B&W and god knows what for color is outrageous. There should be a way to override the incorrect ink level sensor - it is my printer and I should be able to ignore it at my own risk. I just threw out a functioning HP Colorsmart for same reason. Hoped for more honesty from Brother, based on good use I got from my Brother laser, but regretfully they are using the same scam.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
printer
Date:April 3, 2015
By
from Timmonsville, S.C.
I love it. It do everything I need done. This is the best all-in-one printer I ever bought. It does a great job in printing. My picture print just like a professional do.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J870DW
Date:August 22, 2014
By
Second Brother printer owned. Great fax, print, copy and scan. Use all frequently. Easy on ink.
Display well set up and easy to use even with big hands and fingers like mine.
Directions not detailed enough on hook up if you have 3-1 package with cable TV. Tells you
wrong place to plug phone line in. After over 3hrs. on phone with Brother and trying everything called Comcast. Took man 10 min. to plug in another receptacle that you were not to use. A $40 cost to me to find out. Emailed Brother tech and never got a reply. Find it hard to think they are unaware of this.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Value!
Date:October 31, 2013
By
from Edwardsville, IL
1. Easy set-up
2. Flawless wireless connectivity
3. Dark, clear print
4. Vibrant color
5. High resolution photos
6. Easy ink cartridge installation and replacement
The MFC-J870DW is an inexpensive, well-engineered and durable product that performs flawlessly: quality I have come to expect from Brother. If you need an MFC for your home or small office, this unit will not disappoint you.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
More than I expected!
Date:October 3, 2013
By
from Albany, NY
I don't often respond to specials from manufacturers. I am SO happy with this one! This printer is compact, sturdy and amazingly user friendly. I have never had the "print on a CD" option before. It works seamlessly. The individual cartridges are great and I love the user interface! Best ink jet printer I have EVER owned!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
am satisfied so far.
Date:August 7, 2015
By
from booger branch,nc
I order ink cartridges when I ordered printer. I,m still using initial cartridges. I,ts been 2 months. Had Kodak printer before , ink was suppose to last 400 pages would,nt last 100 pages. decided to try Brother, am satisfied so far.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Adequate Printer
Date:June 24, 2015
By
from Stoneboro, PA
Printer has many strong points but lacks in other areas.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Concern
Date:April 6, 2015
By
from Oregon City Oregon
My MFC-J870DW makes some very load noises like something is breaking when it feeds paper, not all the time though. Please let me know what it might be.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Perfect purchase
Date:October 8, 2014
By
from Nassau, New York
The price was right, and it me all my needs for in home business
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Best printer I have owned so far
Date:July 27, 2014
By
from Manhattan, NY
Good printer. Many great functions. Faxing and receiving voice messages is an issue. Outgoing faxes an issue, machine says fax sent, but no one has received any faxes from me yet. Instructions are confusing. Not sure what to do when 1 color is finished but others aren't, keep getting color messages.
Great copier, connection between wifi and iPad/ iPhone is wonderful. Many great features.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very impressed
Date:November 4, 2013
By
from Chicago, IL
While I know it is not a really expensive printer, it is perfect for me. Thanks Amazon reviewers for answering my ink questions. This little printer is amazing. I was worried about the display being on the front, thinking I would always need to be ducking up and down, but surprise! It tilts up in several positions. My 5 year old niece, Emma, could do the set up. Once it is set up, get ready to print and it just starts by itself, without touching it. Wi-Fi works seamlessly. You can print to printable disks, which would be a terrific gift for friends and family. (Think photos on the front of cd's, dvd's, instead of labels). My daughter and her wife (yes) had purchased a Brother printer, over a year ago, off Amazon.com, that I was very impressed with over, and so...... And that little printer is still going strong.
Of course it will print labels, You need to download the FREE template to your computer for that purpose and there are many. Go to Avery.com
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
it's OK
Date:May 29, 2015
By
from Oxford CT
printing is slower then I thought, noisy paper not easy to load
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
So far so good
Date:January 29, 2014
By
from WA
In general this printer/scanner seems to do what it is advertised to do. I'm just using it in a home setting so it hasn't had a lot of use in the two months I've owned it.
Instructions for connecting it to a wireless network using a Mac computer could be much better. Frustration level was fairly high by the time I managed to get it working.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Intermittent Network Printing
Date:July 21, 2014
By
from Tampa, FL
Very good printer, but no reliable network printing is available! Both wired and wireless network printing are intermittent. Must re-install setup over and over again to use network printing. My HP Photosmart printer works well on the network using either wireless or wired setup! I think the Brother machine should work without re-installation every day!!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Poor performer
Date:July 16, 2014
By
from Williamsburg, VA
Not as good as I was led to believe. The paper feed often grabs too many sheets and the printer jams up requiring about 6 steps to clear the machine and start up again. Replacing paper is tedious because you must remove the entire cassette rather than just adding paper to the paper tray.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Brother Printer Purchase
Date:April 14, 2014
By
from WI
For an "All in One" it is fairly compact. However, I found it very difficult to set up in the wireless mode. I struggled for a couple of hours on my own to get it set up and ended up calling someone to help and spent another $80 to do so. My IT person also struggled with the set up. Better instructions need to be provided to make set up easier.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Quality Printer
Date:August 10, 2015
By
from Lehigh Acres, FL
Ink cartridges are easy to replace. Quieter than other printers I have had. Occasionally pulls more than one sheet when printing. Screen is easy to read for information especially for ink levels. I have a Linux system and had to have some help to set it up to work with my system. I am still trying to figure out how to scan to my computer but it prints just fine.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Printer Youll Just Love
Date:July 7, 2015
By
from Northern Kentucky
I have had printers that would tell me that I needed ink cartridges every time I would start printing 100 pages or heaven help me if I printed a photo. Then it would need both black and color. I am thankful that its electrical connection began ceasing the printing. I found this Brother MFC-J870DW printer at Staples that was reasonably priced and I have been pleased with it ever since. I have printed, scanned things and faxed with it. It prints great photos too! Ink cartridges don't cost an arm and a leg either. With "Big Brother" on your desk doing your work you'll definitely spare a dime!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>