Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (315 reviews)
5 stars
171
4 stars
74
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
21
256 of 315(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer + good customer service
Date:November 5, 2013
By NotReallyGeeky
from Fort Lauderdale FL
Bought the earlier cousin of the 870 (the 835) to replace an HP machine purchased a month earlier which had malfunctioned and for which HP rendered horrible customer service.
At first, I thought loading the paper tray was a pain. It is slightly more troublesome than the HP machines but is easy after you get used to it. And the fact that you can keep photo paper and letter sized paper loaded at the same time is a plus.
I've had the 835 for 10 months with only 1 malfunction, which was easily resolved by Brother's excellent customer service. It is a real pleasure to deal with Brother CS -- most times I get someone in the US and even if it's a foreign rep they are understandable and very helpful. Plus, they don't make me jump thru hoops to establish that the machine is under warranty.
I love the scanning software (Brother Control Center 4) which is easy to use to scan to my computer or a print output. I can also email it directly (not as good an idea as making a file first). The fax worked perfectly for send/receive from day 1 and I can fax from the machine or my computer.
Photo prints are great. Ink usage is very low versus prior HP printers. I'm a convinced convert to Brother.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worthy successoe to 295CN
Date:January 31, 2014
By FaOfBrother
from New Orleans, La.
Had to replace a 4 year old Bro 295 CN as it would No longer print with magenta ink. Everything else still works fine, however. I choose Brother again based on Brother's reputation and my great experience wit the 295 CN. This new model has more features and functions than the 295 CN. I tries scanning a 60 year old black and white roll film negative and it worked fine. I then negated the negative to obtain a useable print. NOTE: Brother does NOT approve of this use as it could produce unacceptable results. Hunh? So what, it worked for me and if it had not, I would be out only a few minutes of my time.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
printer
Date:April 3, 2015
By shabby
from Timmonsville, S.C.
I love it. It do everything I need done. This is the best all-in-one printer I ever bought. It does a great job in printing. My picture print just like a professional do.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J870DW
Date:August 22, 2014
By tbhdt
Second Brother printer owned. Great fax, print, copy and scan. Use all frequently. Easy on ink.
Display well set up and easy to use even with big hands and fingers like mine.
Directions not detailed enough on hook up if you have 3-1 package with cable TV. Tells you
wrong place to plug phone line in. After over 3hrs. on phone with Brother and trying everything called Comcast. Took man 10 min. to plug in another receptacle that you were not to use. A $40 cost to me to find out. Emailed Brother tech and never got a reply. Find it hard to think they are unaware of this.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great inexpensive multi-purpose priner
Date:February 27, 2014
By Anonymous
from San Antonio, TX
This was not an impulse buy. I decided to purchase a color printer for occasional printing at home. I was talked into an HP 8700 against my better judgment and past experience with HP. The store manager at Office Depot assured me it would be a great printer, easy install, etc. Well it was a nightmare and never could get it to print in color. Thus, back to the box and the store. Researched Consumer Reports, reviews from other consumers and this one kept popping up. I was able to install the software and it was sooo easy! The printer is awesome for a home-use machine. Printed great photos from the sample 4X6 paper that was included with printer. Lots of free software to use with it also. Could not be more pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Printer
Date:February 9, 2014
By ljerome
from Dunnellon, Fl
love my new printer, I scan many articles and send to my friends this works so easily as well as clear crisp photos
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Value!
Date:October 31, 2013
By enkido
from Edwardsville, IL
1. Easy set-up
2. Flawless wireless connectivity
3. Dark, clear print
4. Vibrant color
5. High resolution photos
6. Easy ink cartridge installation and replacement
The MFC-J870DW is an inexpensive, well-engineered and durable product that performs flawlessly: quality I have come to expect from Brother. If you need an MFC for your home or small office, this unit will not disappoint you.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Concern
Date:April 6, 2015
By Anonymous
from Oregon City Oregon
My MFC-J870DW makes some very load noises like something is breaking when it feeds paper, not all the time though. Please let me know what it might be.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Perfect purchase
Date:October 8, 2014
By Hitches
from Nassau, New York
The price was right, and it me all my needs for in home business
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Generally pleased
Date:March 23, 2014
By PaulP
Because of my wife's good experience with a prior Brother printer, I opted for the MFC-870DW, I found it relatively easy to set up and run. Print quality is good but a little slow.
My only reservation is that on several occasions it has indicated there is a paper jam when there really isn't any. Then it forces you through a clearance routine that isn't necessary.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Decent Printer - Lousy Company
Date:December 27, 2014
By HeatFaninTN
One of the deciding factors in purchasing this printer was the ability to print when one ink cartridge is empty - well, you CANNOT!! I know I had read that this was possible but it is not. So everything grinds to a halt until you replace the ink cartridge. Another issue is the blue tape they used to keep parts in place during shipment has left residue and marks on the printer. Brother wanted my credit card info in order to send me a replacement, which I am sure would have the same blue tape. They also expected me to pay return shipping and the agents were extremely unprofessional and abrasive.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
So far a very good printer
Date:October 4, 2014
By jerryand
from Winston-Salem, NC
easy to set up. Very good for the price. The reason I brought this printer is because you can purchase refillable clear cartridges and all you do is just add the ink each time. I had a Kodak , pure junk.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Intermittent Network Printing
Date:July 21, 2014
By Anonymous
from Tampa, FL
Very good printer, but no reliable network printing is available! Both wired and wireless network printing are intermittent. Must re-install setup over and over again to use network printing. My HP Photosmart printer works well on the network using either wireless or wired setup! I think the Brother machine should work without re-installation every day!!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Poor performer
Date:July 16, 2014
By enr1949
from Williamsburg, VA
Not as good as I was led to believe. The paper feed often grabs too many sheets and the printer jams up requiring about 6 steps to clear the machine and start up again. Replacing paper is tedious because you must remove the entire cassette rather than just adding paper to the paper tray.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Crippling Cartridge Expense
Date:January 8, 2015
By CashCow
from Atlanta
I have printed 1 color photo as a test and less than 10 pages of B&W text and my color cartridges are supposed to be dangerously low and the printer would not print a B&W copy until I put in a new black cartridge. Over $3 per page for B&W and god knows what for color is outrageous. There should be a way to override the incorrect ink level sensor - it is my printer and I should be able to ignore it at my own risk. I just threw out a functioning HP Colorsmart for same reason. Hoped for more honesty from Brother, based on good use I got from my Brother laser, but regretfully they are using the same scam.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nifty
Date:June 20, 2015
By NewportDave
from Rhode Island
I've come to like this Brother printer a lot. It uses considerably less ink than my previous (another brand). Controls are not confusing, once you get the hang of it. Initially I had problems scanning to PDF ... received detailed, polite help from the Brother rep by phone and email. (Needed a fresh program download. The CD hadn't matched my Windows setup quite right.) Now it's working fine.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellence
Date:June 11, 2015
By tonyNewJersey
from New Jersey
easy setup. easy print. picture came out excellence.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect
Date:May 7, 2015
By Karen0711
from Ann Arbor, Mi
I LOVE it !!!!Perfect for my home business. Great.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Really lov it!
Date:April 23, 2015
By Scott62
from Bellmawr NJ
Does all that we need!............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:April 18, 2015
By Lvtoplay
from Elgin IL
When it was time to start looking for a new printer I decided I wouldn't just stay with the brand I had for years. After doing a considerable amount of research I decided on the Brother MFC-J870DW. The reviews were all positive and I was looking for something reasonably priced and claimed to have a decent print cartridge life. I've had the printer for two months and have not yet had to replace the ink and have done a fair amount of printing. Setting up the printer was very easy. There hasn't been anything that has caused me to question my purchase. Deciding to purchase this printer was a great decision and I haven't encountered any problems.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>