Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (152 reviews)
5 stars
87
4 stars
40
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
7
133 of 152(88%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:October 13, 2014
By flyfisher60
from Ramona, CA
I have to say that this was so easy to install and has worked great and we have been using it quite often.
We use it for normal everyday type of printing. I have another printer that I use for photos, but this is a great printer for a home office. I like the fact that whatever function you are using, just those buttons that relate to the function being used are lighted up.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy setup
Date:October 9, 2014
By Corwin
from Lincoln NE
The machine worked good right out of the box, and was very easy to set up.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine -- great value
Date:September 26, 2014
By Mark6468
from Chicago
This is my second Brother printer for home and home office use. I will never buy a different brand again. This machine is fast - both in printing and scanning. Also it networks flawlessly and easily.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
very satisfied
Date:September 16, 2014
By chucki
from Toms River NJ and The Villages Florida
great for the home office. No problems Very easy to operate it does everything Ineed to do .
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:September 2, 2014
By joye4211
from Charleston, SC
Love this printer. The MFC J870DW is one of the best printers that I have bought.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I like
Date:August 31, 2014
By llj19282014
from Iowa
I've had several printers but this one works the best. It far out performes my expections.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Very Good Purchase
Date:August 28, 2014
By ScrapJr
from Texas
I purchased this unit because of price and that fact that I can print directly to CD/DVD's. Thus far it has lived up to my expectations.
Good Job.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brothers great printers
Date:August 27, 2014
By moez
from Maine
Brother printer works as advertised works great with black print and it works great with color.very quiet.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:August 26, 2014
By MFCMan
from Chicago
I have had other brother ink jet printers, but this MFC is the best. The price is great and the printer is fast, although, it is an ink jet. I recommend this for anyone, whether small office, student or home use. Brother also has great tech support. If you want a MFC, get this model. You cannot go wrong.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J870DW
Date:August 22, 2014
By tbhdt
Second Brother printer owned. Great fax, print, copy and scan. Use all frequently. Easy on ink.
Display well set up and easy to use even with big hands and fingers like mine.
Directions not detailed enough on hook up if you have 3-1 package with cable TV. Tells you
wrong place to plug phone line in. After over 3hrs. on phone with Brother and trying everything called Comcast. Took man 10 min. to plug in another receptacle that you were not to use. A $40 cost to me to find out. Emailed Brother tech and never got a reply. Find it hard to think they are unaware of this.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Continuing the Cycle
Date:August 16, 2014
By Handicomp
from Eastern Shore, Virginia
After literally wearing out an MFC-885CW after 5 years of hard use, I decided to stay with the Brand and buy the 'replacement' printer. My wife, who added to the workload, bought another brand of printer, whose maker's name was 2 initials, before my 870 arrived. I now havr TWO printers in my office and I've noticed a couple of things. First, the Brother is noisier BUT it's twice as fast in printing the same multi-page document. Ink is cheaper and is not consumed as fast. Print density is comparable as far as the colors are concerned.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best puchase ever
Date:August 8, 2014
By 1981
I can't print from my remote PC . That is the one I am using now. I also need help on understanding the hook up for fax. I have called you a number of times with great results, but I'm embarrassed to call again.
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J870DW
Date:August 7, 2014
By Brother2014
from Brooklyn, NY
Much better than magazine reviews. Great print out, excellent scans and very good color hi res printouts out glossy print paper.
Great product
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesomeness
Date:August 4, 2014
By Camper421
from Pittsburgh Pa
I loved the easy set up, easy and convenient use, and great value of my all in one. The only thing i wish was different is that it would hold more paper.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
nice printer for the low price
Date:August 3, 2014
By tlong001
from Phenix City, AL
This printer has a feature that I never heard of home printers doing and that's printing on both side! It's black, sleek design is nice and the touch pad is nice too. It prints fast. And all this for a low price because it was on special online.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Expensive ink,but great printer
Date:August 1, 2014
By Whizzer
from Naples Florida
The printer does everything you want it to do and more.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
so far it is great
Date:August 1, 2014
By viclcsw
from los angeles, ca
I have only had the printer for about 2 months, however I am very pleased with it. It is fast, prints well and I am still on the starter ink which came with the printer. It is sturdy, and customer service was responsive and quick to a question I had. Overall, I am very pleased. If it continues to function at the level I will never buy an HP again.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best brand ever
Date:July 31, 2014
By ghostwriter77
I purchased a Brother copier many years ago and it lasted for several years with no issues.
When that one needed to be replaced I purchased another brand and it did not last very long before I began to have problems. After no response from the company and reading some reviews on their product I hurried back to my local Office Supply Store and purchased another Brother. I have had it now for a while and have been very happy. I will be contacting the company very soon to learn more about the ways it can be used.
Can't beat a Brother!!!
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
my printerrrr
Date:July 30, 2014
By goofball
i always wanted a brother and finally got this one may not be the high end but it works so good for me. it is quiet and it keeps it self in check even when it is tired off. overall it is a great printer. lots better than well- you know the OTHER brand. you can not go wrong with Brother.:))
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 29, 2014
By uche
I am well pleased with this printer. I don't have much to write because of my time, but this printer is the best printer I have ever used easy to set Up. WiFi is excellent, great customer service from brothers company. Works perfectly well . Very cheap but high quality. It solved my home office issues.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>