Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (315 reviews)
5 stars
171
4 stars
74
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
21
256 of 315(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best for the price.
Date:June 30, 2015
By GarlandOul
from Everett, WA
I am retired and carry on a number of activities from home that require a machine that will do many things. This unit fulfills the mission very well. It is easy to use, and produces high quality results.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Builds the Best Printers
Date:June 27, 2015
By burnt
from New Mexico
This replaced a 6 year old MFC490 Brother printer that was a real workhorse! I love the double sided printing on this model. Setup and configuration is a breeze. I have a household that includes: Win7,
Win8, Win10, several Linux Mint machines, Kindle, and iPhone. I don't know about the fax functions, no land line, but everything else is great. I really appreciate the Linux support for scanning and printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Getting to Know all about Brother
Date:June 25, 2015
By Clouse43
It has been a bit of a struggle learning a new printer's habits.
The name Brother caught my attention when I needed a new printer. I bought it and when I had a little trouble getting everything to work together, I called Brothers hotline for help. I'm not a spring chicken and needed someone to walk me through the setup. He was great.
A couple of other questions were realily answered by using the FAQ on their help site. Interested to see if this lasts longer than the other brand I used. I bought one that is a Four In One, attractive on the desk and handles everything I need.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:June 23, 2015
By twrist
from salem ny
Easy To set up prints great for the money it is a very nice printer
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great little multi-function printer
Date:June 23, 2015
By edce
from Worcester, MA
Have had the printer for over a month. For what we need we are very satisfied with the quality of the print, speed and ease of use. The price was good too.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
more than pleased
Date:June 23, 2015
By TheCaptian
from Swansea, Illinois
I'm more that pleased with my new all-in-one. After having constant problems & failures with my HP. I chose to go with the MFC-J870DW for 2 reasons; 1st the price, 2nd the reviews were exceptional, 3rd what it had to offer, over my HP; 4th I was totally surprised that it would print 2 sided without me turning the pages around. I have not received a FAX or sent one yet, but hoping it works just fine.
Would recommend this to any one for home or small office use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good product
Date:June 23, 2015
By StevenL1955
from Mount Washington, KY.
For a non-laser printer this one is very good. Print quality is very acceptable, the print directly onto a printable DVD or CD disk is fantastic. Very pleased with it
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nifty
Date:June 20, 2015
By NewportDave
from Rhode Island
I've come to like this Brother printer a lot. It uses considerably less ink than my previous (another brand). Controls are not confusing, once you get the hang of it. Initially I had problems scanning to PDF ... received detailed, polite help from the Brother rep by phone and email. (Needed a fresh program download. The CD hadn't matched my Windows setup quite right.) Now it's working fine.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great!
Date:June 15, 2015
By 2Bee
from New York, NY
Very satisfied with all features of Brother MFC_J870DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One. High quality printer at an affordable price. It meets all my needs, just as advertised.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
convenient use
Date:June 13, 2015
By favorgrace
from California
I like the touch screen and the wireless connection.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:June 12, 2015
By ohrocker
from Columbus, Ohio
Love my new printer. I had an older model MFC Brother before which I loved and I love this one just as much.
I would definitely purchase it again.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellence
Date:June 11, 2015
By tonyNewJersey
from New Jersey
easy setup. easy print. picture came out excellence.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best buy EVER
Date:June 10, 2015
By jsrbk
from Page, AZ
When our old printer began to leak ink, my husband's decision was to toss it and get a new one. We use our printers for multiple projects and had had multiple printers to do them. So when he saw this one at such a reasonable price, saying it did them all, he bought it, although a bit skeptically. It arrived quickly and was very easy to set up. The only function we don't use is the fax. We first tried out the 2 sided printing. It took small tasks like a pro, so when a friend put up an 84 page photo letter in PFD on her website on her last trip, that I wanted to send to my sister who doesn't have a computer, I decided to give it the ultimate test and send it through. While slower than a laser, it had it done in no time very nicely. I do a lot of photography and we had invested in printable disks that I sell at a local restaurant with photos of our area. We have had printers in the past specifically for that purpose and been dissapointed. The software for this one was very easy to use and printing is a snap and gorgeous. One day I needed to scan in a document that I then needed to send via email to someone else. I put it in the scanner, chose that I wanted to email it and within a couple of minutes it was done. There are even more features I've yet to use. I couldn't be happier.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good printer
Date:June 10, 2015
By firetaz19
from Tampa,Fl
Glad to be rid of my HP. This Brother unit works well. The best thing about this one is it will print remotely off the wifi even with the home computer turned off. Easy to set up, easy to print, easy to fax. Ink change is a snap. Good price, too. Love it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A very good purchase!
Date:June 10, 2015
By TJinFL
from Florida
This review is for a Brother MFC-J870W AIO Printer. I am replacing another manufacturer's AIO ink jet printer with this model. I spent a lot of time researching printers, especially between getting another ink jet printer or upgrading to a lazer printer.
It seems my problem is that I often don't use my printer for months and then eventually the ink jets get clogged. However replacing the cartridges did not solve the problem with my previous printer.
After a lot of consideration I decided to give ink jet printers one more try due to their more compact size, my familiarity with them, and their being lower priced. Part of my thinking was that perhaps another brand would be more reliable.
This printer really works well. It will print on both sides of the paper. It allows copying of multiple documents by a document reader eliminating the need to feed copies one at a time. It has a fax feature that works. Copying documents to a file is a breeze.
Also it seems to be very frugal with ink. I used it to print copies of my tax returns and so far the original 'starter' cartridges show almost full on each of the color cartridges and about 2/3 full on black. This is after printing approximately 200 pages with normal resolution.
The software is very good. I have the printer connected to two computers using the WiFi connectivity feature. Which was fairly easy to install.
I like the touch screen on the printer. I find it very easy to use. Also I like the display for showing the ink cartridges' remaining ink.
I am an engineer and I find the product very well designed and engineered. I really have no issues with the printer. I like the way the paper is loaded and I have had no issues with paper jams!
So overall I am very happy with my purchase and would purchase it again. I would definitely recommend the printer to a friend.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Luv this printer
Date:June 3, 2015
By MajorJ
from calif
Bought this printer for features and price. Easy to set up, easy to use and it has been dependable. don't know about ink usage as yet, but have read that it is much better than my HP's and Epsom that I still have. Highly recommend it!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A very good purchase
Date:June 1, 2015
By Millertime
from Tallmadge, Ohio
I like the wireless connectivity. The unit is very economical on ink; and I just love the two sided printing. The setup instructions were easy to follow. Recommend this unit to anyone looking for a low cost unit with many good features.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever
Date:May 30, 2015
By BlackAlchemy
from West Bend, Wisconsin
Brother Model MFC-J870DW is by far the best printer I have ever owned. Great quality copies, easy to use and easy to load. My husband had one and recommended it highly. It lived up to expectations and more. Great functionality at a super price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent product
Date:May 29, 2015
By gramps
from Wisconsin
This is my first Brother product and I am happy to say that it is an excellent. It was easy to install and works better than anticipated. For the price, I doubt if anyone can beat it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFCJ870DW
Date:May 29, 2015
By fank6142
from Montgomery,AL
As my first Brother printer, this printer was a pleasant surprise. Has handled lots of printing and scanning very reliably and with good quality. Setup was easy. So far, much better than my previous other brand printers that did not last very long.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>