Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (416 reviews)
5 stars
221
4 stars
102
3 stars
40
2 stars
26
1 star
27
335 of 416(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Always great printer from Brother
Date:September 3, 2015
By
from Florida
This model has it all - NFC, wireless, USB and ethernet connections, great screen, just all the bells and whistles. Prints fast, clear, sharp, and fast. I also like the ink - separate colors that last long and are not expensive to replace. Just change the ones that you need to.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good value, prints great
Date:August 30, 2015
By
from Nebraska
Very happy with printer, was easy to install, good print quality, still haven't needed ink yet, so can't comment on that. Purchased from Staples.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:August 28, 2015
By
Quite, uses small amount of ink. Great quality of prints. Great price.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:August 26, 2015
By
from The Villages, FL
I have done little more than copying and printing, but for printing out the "test" photo. The speed is admirable; the colors are vibrant; and the wireless operation is seamless. One of these days, I may get around to taking advantage of all of the capabilities of this machine. Thank you, Brother!!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
User Friendly
Date:August 24, 2015
By
from Ohio
The printer meets all my needs and produces sharp, clear prints. My only dislike is the paper storage drawer could hold more paper but that's very minor. I'm very happy with it over all.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy Printer
Date:August 23, 2015
By
from Northwoods, WI
I am certainly NOT a techno geek. This printer was easy to set up with my MacBook Air. I had a few small issues with the set up and the helpdesk was VERY helpful and issue was solved quickly. The printer has worked flawlessly now for over a year. We travel from location to location and when we return, my laptop hooks up the first time and prints away. Adjusting the print quality is a little cumbersome, but it is a small inconvenience .
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:August 22, 2015
By
from Utah
I have used another brand of printer for the last 10+ years. For the most part I was very satisfied with them. But the new one I bought about a year ago had multiple problems and used way too much ink. After about 9 months it started streaking everything that I printed so I bought this new Brother printer. The print quality is excellent and it uses a fraction of the ink the other brand used. I am very satisfied with this printer and would highly recommend it to others!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:August 21, 2015
By
from North Carolina
I am pleased with the speed and quality of my printer. I haven't used the fax yet but everything else is great
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:August 20, 2015
By
from Gulf Breeze, FL
It was a choice between HP and Brother and I made the right choice (ink could be a little less costly,,,) but I am very happy with my Brother.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
printer
Date:August 20, 2015
By
from ohio
printer works very well.I use it for personal use at home.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:August 19, 2015
By
from Pocatello ID
Clean crisp print and graphics easy to change ink
I really like the option to print CD or Dvd
Sharp looking
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
One of the smartest purchases I've ever made
Date:August 18, 2015
By
from Chicago, IL
I can't really say enough good things about the MFC-J870DW. Once it was set up...very easy and fast...connectivity is excellent. I especially like the NFC ability. Print quality is excellent! I've already recommended this printer to several Amazon inquirers, along with my friends. It does everything I want and more. Great job Brother!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect for my needs
Date:August 16, 2015
By
from Cape May NJ
This all in one machine handles all my needs and fits in the small space I had available for it. Great purchase!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great All Around
Date:August 15, 2015
By
from Sand Lake MI
I need a fax machine now and then so I decided to get a multi function machine. I also like to work on my lap top in the living room. Didn't want to go back & forth to print things. The Wi-Fi set up was easy and works great from the other end of the house. I can print pictures as well and they come out nice. All around great machine for home office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Lee1
Date:August 14, 2015
By
from Penrose, CO
Easy to install and works great. Sips ink.
Con: Colors not as bright as I like. Nothing like the HP printer that this one replaced. That is probably due to $100 dollars for ink cartridges for the HP on a fairly regular basis.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Quality Printer
Date:August 10, 2015
By
from Lehigh Acres, FL
Ink cartridges are easy to replace. Quieter than other printers I have had. Occasionally pulls more than one sheet when printing. Screen is easy to read for information especially for ink levels. I have a Linux system and had to have some help to set it up to work with my system. I am still trying to figure out how to scan to my computer but it prints just fine.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great printer
Date:August 9, 2015
By
i have had the printer for a couple of months now and i love it. i would recommend it to anyone. great for the price.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J870DW -BEST printer I've owned yet!
Date:August 9, 2015
By
from Cleveland, Ohio
I received this printer as a gift a few months ago and I must say that for the price and promise it's the best "home" printer I've used since 1986!
The WI-Fi feature is wonderful since I can use the printer at my main computer and it is also available for my son and wife on their computer/tablet. The color quality for the price is very true and the ink cartridges are sizable enough to not need changing/buying as often as other brands I've used over the years!
I definitely recommend this product!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic printer
Date:August 5, 2015
By
from Erie, CO
Having had 2-3 HP printers previously, that gave me nothing but problems, I chose to change it up and try a different brand. Not only was the Brother cheaper, it's smaller, lighter, its ink is significantly less expensive, it does double-sided printing (the HP that did double-sided cost a lot more), and has all-around been very easy to use. I love that the paper tray is in front and extremely easy to take out and refill, and the LCD screen is very helpful to determine when you're out of paper or low on ink. I've also scanned photos and I was delighted with how easy that was. With HP's software, it was a hassle to figure out how to adjust the settings and where it saved the scans. I'm very happy that I switched!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent
Date:August 5, 2015
By
from New York, NY
This has been a joy to use. The only improvement I would suggest is easier paper loading
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>