Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.129 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (363 reviews)
5 stars
199
4 stars
84
3 stars
32
2 stars
24
1 star
24
294 of 363(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:July 29, 2015
By parkranger
from Niles, Michigan
The printer has exceeded my expectations since I purchased it. It has already far outperformed the previous printer I replaced. I would highly recommend this printer. Used in a home office.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So far Great
Date:July 28, 2015
By Piddler
from Little Rock, AR
I have owned several brands of printers and this is my favorite. Print quality and speed are good and so far I like the ink cost and use. The photo paper feed from the same tray as the paper feed was a surprise that I like. I would like to buy a second paper tray for envelopes to keep from unloading and resetting paper guides every time I need to print an envelope. This printer works for me.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Met expectations
Date:July 28, 2015
By oldbaldguy
from Arlington, TX
I have left MS Windows far behind and migrated completely to Google Chromebooks. So, easing connection to Google Cloud Print was essential. NO problems setting it up.
Like the two sided print option, but would really like to see two sided copying.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J870DW
Date:July 28, 2015
By mfcgood
from Dewey, AZ
I purchased a Brother a couple of years ago and liked it. I wore out the paper pick up so I purchased a new one - this J870DW a few months ago. I like it very much. The cartridges are easy to replace. The one thing I would like is for it to print from the last page to the first page on long prints. I just have to reverse the printed pages now.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Better than the last 2 HP All in One printers
Date:July 27, 2015
By Terry673
from Southeast Kansas
.....so far. I like the features and the size (sits on the desk) and I had not had any problems with the print heads clogging as with the HP's. The fax function worked great; the wireless setup is a little more busy than with the HP, but it works fine. Have yet to get the cell phone app to work with this printer (low priority). The paper tray is a closed system so it is not as easy to swap out paper in a pinch as with the HP; sometimes I must print to a legal size poster; will have to work that out later.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Finally got a good printer
Date:July 27, 2015
By ginnyj
from nj
I bought a different brand printer it worked ok. After about 3 months it wouldn't do anything. I tried everything. I didn't like that printer from the time I installed it . Bought this printer I love it! It's easy to use and works great! Uses less ink then any printer I have ever owned.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product!
Date:July 25, 2015
By Tinman
from Bowie, MD
We have used other brands of all-in-one printers and Brother is the best hands downs. Never had a connection problem with wireless, long lasting ink, clear and clean printing, easy set up and faxing is a breeze!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Really Great Printer
Date:July 24, 2015
By Gramps247
from Mt. Airy, MD
I use this printer at my church, and am getting one for home also. I do a lot of CD's for church and home, and love the ability to print directly to the CD. It does a great job, and looks very good on the CD's. Does a good job of scanning, and print quality is very good. Cartridge cost is lower than some other printers, and last longer than I would have expected for the use I give them, and they are easy to replace from the front of the printer.
Overall, I have no complaints about it. A great printer!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC_J870DW
Date:July 23, 2015
By Goody2
from New Jersey
I always wanted a Brother Printer, so finally when my last printer broke I purchased this one and found it perfect for me. I researched several models and went with this one.
I got really tickled the other day when I turned on my computer and the printer automatically started cleaning itself, now that was amazing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
love my printer
Date:July 22, 2015
By willil
from germantown. md
I love, love, love my printer. It the best one I had ever own(5 printers). The Brother MFC-J870DW does everything it took 2 printers to do. I used MFC-J870DW every day.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Compact and reliable
Date:July 21, 2015
By Levo
from Hobe Sound, Florida
The printer has been a pleasure since I purchased it about eight weeks ago. I would highly recommend it. Ink Jets are easy to change and have a reasonable life span.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brothers are the best
Date:July 19, 2015
By Lolli
from Rockville, MD
We have had Brothers printers for many years. They keep improving and we have not had any problems with any of them (knock on wood). The MFC-J870W is fast and easy to use - no problem connecting it to our computers. We also have the MFC J6710DW which has the larger window so we can copy and scan legal documents. We take the 870 with us on vacations - perfect!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 18, 2015
By NWALee
from NW Arkansas
It lives up the hype. Very economical and fast with little difficulty in setting up.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great
Date:July 18, 2015
By Rob69
from W-B, Pa
No problems, very eafishent, has all the features of a big model, easy to setup and use
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent product
Date:July 18, 2015
By GeorgeD
from New Middletown, Ohio
This is a replacement for my old printer that died. This all in one has so many great features many of which I haven't used yet. Printing is fast and I especially like the double side print feature. The large ink tanks and their easy installation are just great. I have used the scanner which works very well and I also was able to retire my old scanner. The longer warranty too helped sell me on this unit. I look forward to checking more features in the future.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:July 15, 2015
By hotshot
from Pacifica, CA
Excellent quality, fast and very easy to set-up and is very compact which I like
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer I ever purchased
Date:July 14, 2015
By Greatest
from Williamstown, NJ
There is not 1 complaint I have about this product. From day and it's ease of hook up to present time, this printer has never failed. It's easy operation is pretty unknown among printers ranked the same in it series.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best wireless
Date:July 14, 2015
By Phils
from Archbald, PA
Have this printer for several weeks and am very happy with its' performance. The wireless feature works flawlessly with all of our devices. Ink cartridges are also reasonably priced and easy to replace.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
workhorse MFC
Date:July 10, 2015
By meNJ
from NJ
easy to set up, works well wirelessly for multiple users
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
BROTHER PRINTER
Date:July 8, 2015
By peprinter
from lOUISIANA
This printer is awesome for what I need it for. The black ink runs out pretty quick but I copy a lot in black.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>