Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
4
80 of 91(88%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good, better than advertised!
Date:April 22, 2014
By Sanyi
from Cleveland, OH
Excellent quality printer, user friendly and easy to setup.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:April 19, 2014
By DarrellDread
from Tahlequah, OK
Well worth the money. Does everything its supposed to do with no foul ups. Easy to use and set up.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase made
Date:April 17, 2014
By charler
from Lost Nation, Iowa
I am so happy with my new Brother MFC-J870DW. I am able to print on both sides of the paper without having to turn the paper around. If anyone is looking for a printer this is a great one to have. It's also wireless.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exactly what I needed
Date:April 7, 2014
By Eenie
from Southwest Florida
Easy to set up, easy to connect to the internet, clear copies. Does everything I need in an all-in-one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent purchase
Date:April 5, 2014
By Alexander1
from Pflugerville, texas
Good machine. Easy to install. Good customer service when needed.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
love this product
Date:April 5, 2014
By Marlenef
from los Angeles, CA
I am extremely pleased with this purchase. It was easy to install and navigate through. I have an office full of brother products, I am always satisfied.
Only con would be, that it has a small paper tray.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great so far
Date:April 5, 2014
By paulthom
from Buckeye, AZ
I haven't had any problems so far... Great buy!!!!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent value
Date:April 5, 2014
By dfrank2
from Orlando, FL
Recently purchased this printer and found it quite easy to set up. While I have not yet used all of the functions eg. fax, the touch screen makes operating the printer simple. The quality of the printing is very good and I expect photo prints will be as well.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Great - Less Problems
Date:March 24, 2014
By DEHRN
from Clearwater, FL
I am thoroughly satisfied with the Brother MFC-J870DW printer that we have recently purchased. The setup was very easy and the connectivity is relatively seemless. No issues as with previous HP printer. The prices of the replacement cartridges are acceptable as well. Thanks for a great product! With our Brother Fax machine and this new printer we should be fine for years to come!!! (Hopefully)
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:March 21, 2014
By Smilie
from Wisconsin
This printer has numerous options, bought it for the AirPrint to use with our Apple products. But it has so many options for the price. I would recommend to anyone it's a excellent printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product
Date:March 19, 2014
By Mitsuko
from California
This is my second Brother printer.
And this is my second all-in-one with fax.
The set up was so easy, connect to my wifi in a second. Paper tray is inside the unit and saves my desk space. For everyday personal use, this machine suits me in every aspect. The automatic duplex printing is a big plus. The software it came with is easy to navigate through the display window. On and Off button is another added feature that you do not have to use power on and off to start and saves energy.
The initial ink cartridge seems lasting long...the previous HP all in one was ink guzzler!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer and Scanner
Date:March 16, 2014
By ed68
I am very pleased with my new Brother printer. In the past, I had good printers that had bad scanners. This Brother printer has a great scanner that scans directly to Google Drive, which is extremely convenient.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great inexpensive multi-purpose priner
Date:February 27, 2014
By Anonymous
from San Antonio, TX
This was not an impulse buy. I decided to purchase a color printer for occasional printing at home. I was talked into an HP 8700 against my better judgment and past experience with HP. The store manager at Office Depot assured me it would be a great printer, easy install, etc. Well it was a nightmare and never could get it to print in color. Thus, back to the box and the store. Researched Consumer Reports, reviews from other consumers and this one kept popping up. I was able to install the software and it was sooo easy! The printer is awesome for a home-use machine. Printed great photos from the sample 4X6 paper that was included with printer. Lots of free software to use with it also. Could not be more pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just Awesome MFC-J825DW
Date:February 20, 2014
By Neal
from Port St. Lucie, Fl
I have had this printer for well over a yr. now and have not had a problem with it. My previous printers never lasted this long from other manufacturers. I did have a few questions over the time frame and Brother support solved them for me very quickly. I can assure you my next printer will be a Brother. Consumer Reports should rate this item much higher than they do. The unit is very sturdy and not as flimsy as the competitors.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great all purpose printer on a budget
Date:February 14, 2014
By JOHNALAN3311
from McHenry, IL
Very happy overall with the printer. Good speed, easy to use (and set up), good software support, and best of all easy on the ink usage. Highly recommend.
Drawbacks: A little cheap in construction (all plastic); fearful that the feedout tray that holds the paper after printing/copying will break off if bumped to hard while it is extended. Scanning software could be a little better; i am used to HPs Solutions software that was great for scanning.
BUT, overall very happy with the choice at this price. AND it is the best around when it comes to keeping ink prices down.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I was looking for....
Date:February 14, 2014
By GrannyGG
from Mount Sinai
I am on my I pad a lot. It is so great to have the wireless printer. What a convenience. The fax option is a plus. Prints and copies great. Double sided. Paper saving. Love it!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
very satisfied
Date:February 13, 2014
By ramgen
main purpose to buy was for cloud ready and stay with Brother.
After a month of light use it has completely answered my requirement.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Perfectly
Date:February 11, 2014
By ptinaz
from Fountain Hills, AZ
Am very please with the quality of the printer and the copier and fax work great. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Control Center
Date:February 9, 2014
By Gadget
from California
The control Center does not work for scanning on my MacBook Pro I am waiting for update
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Printer
Date:February 9, 2014
By ljerome
from Dunnellon, Fl
love my new printer, I scan many articles and send to my friends this works so easily as well as clear crisp photos
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 2 3 4 5 next>>