Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 star
4
118 of 134(88%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J870DW
Date:August 22, 2014
By Anonymous
Second Brother printer owned. Great fax, print, copy and scan. Use all frequently. Easy on ink.
Display well set up and easy to use even with big hands and fingers like mine.
Directions not detailed enough on hook up if you have 3-1 package with cable TV. Tells you
wrong place to plug phone line in. After over 3hrs. on phone with Brother and trying everything called Comcast. Took man 10 min. to plug in another receptacle that you were not to use. A $40 cost to me to find out. Emailed Brother tech and never got a reply. Find it hard to think they are unaware of this.
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Continuing the Cycle
Date:August 16, 2014
By Handicomp
from Eastern Shore, Virginia
After literally wearing out an MFC-885CW after 5 years of hard use, I decided to stay with the Brand and buy the 'replacement' printer. My wife, who added to the workload, bought another brand of printer, whose maker's name was 2 initials, before my 870 arrived. I now havr TWO printers in my office and I've noticed a couple of things. First, the Brother is noisier BUT it's twice as fast in printing the same multi-page document. Ink is cheaper and is not consumed as fast. Print density is comparable as far as the colors are concerned.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best puchase ever
Date:August 8, 2014
By 1981
I can't print from my remote PC . That is the one I am using now. I also need help on understanding the hook up for fax. I have called you a number of times with great results, but I'm embarrassed to call again.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J870DW
Date:August 7, 2014
By Brother2014
from Brooklyn, NY
Much better than magazine reviews. Great print out, excellent scans and very good color hi res printouts out glossy print paper.
Great product
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesomeness
Date:August 4, 2014
By Camper421
from Pittsburgh Pa
I loved the easy set up, easy and convenient use, and great value of my all in one. The only thing i wish was different is that it would hold more paper.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
nice printer for the low price
Date:August 3, 2014
By tlong001
from Phenix City, AL
This printer has a feature that I never heard of home printers doing and that's printing on both side! It's black, sleek design is nice and the touch pad is nice too. It prints fast. And all this for a low price because it was on special online.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Expensive ink,but great printer
Date:August 1, 2014
By Whizzer
from Naples Florida
The printer does everything you want it to do and more.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
so far it is great
Date:August 1, 2014
By viclcsw
from los angeles, ca
I have only had the printer for about 2 months, however I am very pleased with it. It is fast, prints well and I am still on the starter ink which came with the printer. It is sturdy, and customer service was responsive and quick to a question I had. Overall, I am very pleased. If it continues to function at the level I will never buy an HP again.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best brand ever
Date:July 31, 2014
By ghostwriter77
I purchased a Brother copier many years ago and it lasted for several years with no issues.
When that one needed to be replaced I purchased another brand and it did not last very long before I began to have problems. After no response from the company and reading some reviews on their product I hurried back to my local Office Supply Store and purchased another Brother. I have had it now for a while and have been very happy. I will be contacting the company very soon to learn more about the ways it can be used.
Can't beat a Brother!!!
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
my printerrrr
Date:July 30, 2014
By goofball
i always wanted a brother and finally got this one may not be the high end but it works so good for me. it is quiet and it keeps it self in check even when it is tired off. overall it is a great printer. lots better than well- you know the OTHER brand. you can not go wrong with Brother.:))
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 29, 2014
By uche
I am well pleased with this printer. I don't have much to write because of my time, but this printer is the best printer I have ever used easy to set Up. WiFi is excellent, great customer service from brothers company. Works perfectly well . Very cheap but high quality. It solved my home office issues.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 25, 2014
By meha
from Owasso, OK
Impressed with this new printer. Previously had purchased only HP but decided to try something different because ink cartridges, even extended use, seemed to run out too quickly. The last printer also had a short life particularly for home use. Although it is also much smaller than purchased previously we are adjusting to it fine and the space saving is a big plus.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Can't Go Wrong with Brother
Date:July 23, 2014
By BroRandahl
from Washington State
Nice looking unit. Arrived well packaged. Setup went quite well. A few challenges with wireless connecting, but all working fine, now. Have not used it a lot, but does all it is supposed to do. I have had only Good Experience with Brother Products and Brother Service. I automatically go to Brother when I need Products they market.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great WiFi
Date:July 20, 2014
By Broncos2SuperBowl
from Lincoln, CA
Wanted a printer that would reliably wirelessly connect between my two work computers and this one does with minimal effort in initial set up. Print from iPhone, tablet..... no problem.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Purchase Ever
Date:July 19, 2014
By pazman
from Middle Village,NY
Simply put this was with out a doubt the best printer purchase I ever made. The price just made it all the better. The printer was so easy to set up including setting up the printers wireless capabilities. I would recommend this machine to ever one, what a great product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What art thou?
Date:July 19, 2014
By GreatBrotherPrinter
from Quincy, CA
This is a very fine unit. I had to replace another wireless inkjet printer from a company that won't be named. After reading other reviews on this Brother printer and finding out that the replacing the ink would not cost a small fortune (like the previous Dell that failed after minimal use), I purchased this Brother printer. Setup was very, very easy and in 20 minutes or less, I was printing with ease. I highly recommend the Brother line of wireless inkjet printers.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excelent product
Date:July 18, 2014
By Bdyr5x2
from Lancaster, Pa
I spent a lot of time researching a new printer. I am so glad I ended up with this printer. Set up was easy and the wireless option came right up. I have not had any problems and don't expect any.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
PrinterMFC-J870DW
Date:July 14, 2014
By Doris
from Penna.
I never had a wireless printer and I really love it.I also like the size and how easy it is to use .I would recomend this to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Decision
Date:June 4, 2014
By Stretch
from North Carolina
Over a 3 month period shopped for a printer for home use to replace an all in one HP that had given me problems since day one and it finally gave up after 5 years. I am impressed with the Brother MFCJ870DW. So far after a couple months is working fine and much more reliable than the HP I had. Do not do a lot of printing but the Brother is a Great Decision for us.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Thought of everything!
Date:June 1, 2014
By Geek32
from Upstate NY
The quality of this machine is incredible. My wife is a teacher and we have 2 teen age kids, we destroy printers with our constant printing. I got a Brother ink jet because a friend of mine has been so impressed with his Brother Laser. The ink is easy to install, the scanning software works well and we can print from our iPad, iPhone, Mac laptop, windows laptop and our desktop. I recommend that you plug the printer into a network unless you have good strong wifi signal. Our wifi at the printer was weak and it caused slow printing. Problem was fixed when I plugged it into our network. Brother sounds like they really stand by their equipment giving it a 2 year warranty. The ink cost isn't bad and it seems to be thrifty on the ink. I am impressed with the quality so far, it meets all of our needs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>