Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J870DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Enhanced Connectivity Options
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (186 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
51
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
12
157 of 186(84%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J870DW
Review 1 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer with great price
Date:March 25, 2015
By Hell0
from Fremont, CA
I bought this compact inkjet all-in-one printer a few months ago based on the positive reviews on the websites. I have used all functions except fax and am very pleased with it. It is compact enough for my home office and provides all the functions I need. The maintenance cost is very low as I have not need to change the ink cartridges yet. Last but not the least, I got it at a great price while it was on sale.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good...
Date:March 24, 2015
By JerryAtl
from Atlanta GA
Always used HP, but ink too expensive. This does all and is very economical. Quality of print is very good. Photos, business documents, scan, does it all as I expect.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 3 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J870DW
Date:March 20, 2015
By horsedude
Printer has worked perfectly since day it was hooked up and software installed. However, the software is a bit hooky. Hard to change settings from PC, but can be changed easily from touch display on printer. There are times when I get a popup on PC that updated software is available, however, in most cases software will not download and install.
Review 4 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love new printer
Date:March 19, 2015
By Nick1941
from Hagerstown, IN
Love my new printer, it does so many things, and was a great price.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:March 18, 2015
By Jbear99
from Frisco, TX
Easy setup, great product, would recommend for anybody. Have had no problems, wifi setup is simple and keeps connection. Easy on toner and inexpensive.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:March 17, 2015
By Bandit57
from Florida
I use this printer in my semi truck to print copy and scan paperwork
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 6, 2015
By Koonsing
from Hawaii
I love it because it is trouble free. It is still going strong and have not change the ink cartridges yet. Color photos are very good. No linking issues. Best printer owned so far.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer for the price
Date:March 4, 2015
By scruffy12
from Chicago, IL
I have been using the printer for 2 months using the functions: printing one side, duplex, envelops and directly on DVD, faxing, and scanning. I used the Newsoft label program recommended by Brother to print on the DVD disc. The installation was very easy and I have had no problems. This is a fairly quiet printer. Another plus is the 4 ink cartridges are reasonably priced. This is an excellent home printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Value for a Good Product
Date:March 1, 2015
By PrinterBuyer
from Oregon
I have had this printer/copier/fax about three months. The included setup CD made the initial setup easy. The printing is excellent, and pages come out very sharp and crisp. Even in the "greyscale/ink-save" mode, the printing is crisp and sharp. In "color" mode, the colors are very accurate and true to life, and I was very impressed by that. I am still using the factory-supplied "starter" ink cartridges, and have done quite a bit of printing quantity just from them. I like the fact also, that when I do run out of one color ink, I do not have to buy a "tri-color" cartridge to replace three colors---only the one color that is out. I also like the fact this printer is very appreciably quieter when printing than my old HP inkjet. Very nice machine. I recommend it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
2nd Brother printer
Date:October 29, 2014
By lbw46
from Boca Raton, Fl
very happen with the printer. print quality is excellent as was the price
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
purchase of above
Date:October 28, 2014
By wiskota
from Western Wisconsin
This is one of 5 different units I have. I have laser and color ink. The previous version of this unit had issues after about 3 years and hope this one lasts longer. I have an older about 10 years as a primary Fax. This model is a primary for the scanner but print on disks.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 12 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:October 13, 2014
By flyfisher60
from Ramona, CA
I have to say that this was so easy to install and has worked great and we have been using it quite often.
We use it for normal everyday type of printing. I have another printer that I use for photos, but this is a great printer for a home office. I like the fact that whatever function you are using, just those buttons that relate to the function being used are lighted up.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 13 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy setup
Date:October 9, 2014
By Corwin
from Lincoln NE
The machine worked good right out of the box, and was very easy to set up.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine -- great value
Date:September 26, 2014
By Mark6468
from Chicago
This is my second Brother printer for home and home office use. I will never buy a different brand again. This machine is fast - both in printing and scanning. Also it networks flawlessly and easily.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
very satisfied
Date:September 16, 2014
By chucki
from Toms River NJ and The Villages Florida
great for the home office. No problems Very easy to operate it does everything Ineed to do .
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 16 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:September 2, 2014
By joye4211
from Charleston, SC
Love this printer. The MFC J870DW is one of the best printers that I have bought.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I like
Date:August 31, 2014
By llj19282014
from Iowa
I've had several printers but this one works the best. It far out performes my expections.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Very Good Purchase
Date:August 28, 2014
By ScrapJr
from Texas
I purchased this unit because of price and that fact that I can print directly to CD/DVD's. Thus far it has lived up to my expectations.
Good Job.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brothers great printers
Date:August 27, 2014
By moez
from Maine
Brother printer works as advertised works great with black print and it works great with color.very quiet.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J870DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:August 26, 2014
By MFCMan
from Chicago
I have had other brother ink jet printers, but this MFC is the best. The price is great and the printer is fast, although, it is an ink jet. I recommend this for anyone, whether small office, student or home use. Brother also has great tech support. If you want a MFC, get this model. You cannot go wrong.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>