Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6720DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
18 of 23(78%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6720DW
Review 1 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6720DW - A Good Purchase
Date:June 27, 2014
By ChipsNChips
from Beaumont, Texas
I wanted several features in a new printer. Large format printing (11" x 17") with minimum borders was a must as I do engineering drawings. Also two sided printing, ability to print on label stock and card stock, copying, and faxing. The yearly ink costs for my old printer was really excessive so lower ink cost was also a must. This printer seems to meet them all and then some.
With two paper trays that each hold an inch high stack of paper, up to the 11 x 17 size, paper loading should be much less frequent. And the rear, manual feed slot is excellent for thicker stock, like card stock or labels because it has a straight paper path through the machine so die cut labels should not be stripped off. I have seen some reviews that criticized the rear position of this manual feed slot, but the rear position actually is the best place for it due to the ability to feed die cut label stock or other heavy stock because it avoids the necessity of making a "U" turn inside the machine as would be necessary with a front, manual feed slot. As I said above, a "U" turn like this tends to strip labels off their backing sheet. I have fought this problem in other printers and it is no fun taking the printer apart to remove all those stripped labels from the various parts of the paper path. Brother should point this out as the great feature it is in their sales literature.
The 11 x 17 scanner is a real bonus feature and will allow me to scan and copy drawings and other technical documents in that larger size. I am already scanning record album covers for inclusion in my digital music collection. This is a great feature.
Installation was a bit lengthy and I did make an initial mistake, but Brother tech assistance was quite helpful and I now have it installed on four computers; 3 Windows 7 and an older, Windows XP system. That initial mistake was easily rectified by just running through the installation disk a second time and had I just known that, I would not have had to call Brother. I actually did so in an abundance of caution.
I print a fair amount of color photos and I was concerned about the quality of photo prints. I tried some photos on plain paper and the results were disappointing. But then, they were similar to what my old printer produced on plain paper, perhaps just a bit lower in contrast. The Brother printer driver software does allow some very sophisticated adjustments to the photo quality and I did play with it a bit. But I then tried to use some photo type paper and the results were just excellent on the first try. The paper I used was not the Brother brand so I can only assume that the results will be as good or better with their, recommended paper.
I have seen reviews of this printer that critiqued the noise level. I noticed in the set-ups that there is a quiet mode that you can select, but I did not as I wanted to see just how noisy it was. While it may not be the quietest printer that I have ever used, it is FAR from the noisiest. I would place it in the average category in this respect. I have mine installed at the left side of my desk, on a separate printer stand so it is about an arm's length away. I can reach the touch screen with my left hand without shifting my position. I find that the sound level is entirely satisfactory, in spite of this close proximity. I have to wonder if those critical reviews were perhaps written by employees of other printer companies.
The black and white prints on standard paper are a little low in contrast. Not to the point of being unacceptable and I probably would not have noticed it if I did not have my older printer to compare them to. One suggestion for improvement would be to make the black ink a bit darker. Unless that would mess up the excellent photo printing capability.
Another small disappointment is the speed of producing prints. After reading the specifications, I really expected faster operation. For plain, black text, in Normal mode, the first page takes about 20 seconds to start printing, but subsequent pages are somewhat faster, perhaps 15 seconds each. I am sure that the manufacturer developed standards for rating the speed of producing prints are written in their favor, but it would be better to do this spec. in a more realistic manner.
Overall this is an excellent printer and a great value for the price. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone interested in a printer of it's general capability.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J6720DW
Date:June 13, 2014
By Carlo
from Binghamton, NY
Works as expected. Scans in a reasonable time up to the 11x17 size. Prints with a good quality, great for a light duty office printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So far, so good!
Date:June 3, 2014
By muzicnote
from Los Angeles, CA
I have only had the printer a few weeks, but so far its doing really well! Ink usage seems normal, no paper jams, and it prints clearly (no lines or smudges). It is a little loud, but that doesn't bother me. The only thing I would fix is the tray that catches the paper is very flimsy. We'll see if I still like it in a year (I have had MANY bad experiences with printers, usually after they are a year old).
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 4 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very solid design, 11x17 that is affordable
Date:June 3, 2014
By Donzer33
from Los Angeles CA
I bought this to get a combination of the occasional color printing needed in the business (I also have a Brother laser MFD for monochrome printing) - and to get 11 x 17 scanning and printing capability for drawings, floor plans, etc.
It is an excellent printer/scanner-copier/fax machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Versatility and Fit for Purpose
Date:April 10, 2014
By Juddge
With the dual paper trays and the ability to print, scan, and email up to 11"x17", this machine does it all at a very economical price. My home office is complete for both my business and personal needs with the wireless and network functionality.
I traded all my other brand name printers and now am sold on 'Brother".
Review 6 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I made the right choice!
Date:April 8, 2014
By patribeck4
from Hamburg, NY
MFC-J6720DW, has it all over any Canon printer that I owned previously. The ink cartridges are cheaper, the printer hold more paper and it prints so much faster than expected. The one negative point I have is that I wish the printer was a little quitter, other than that this Brother All-In-One inkjet printer is a great product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:April 7, 2014
By KenD
My HP all in one display machine screen crashed and it was not a re-placeable part and was not pleased with HP support. So I decided to try a Brother machine. Have used Brother faxes for many years and have been very pleased.
The MFC-J6720DW is very good quality and I like the multiple paper size features.
Installed in a Windows 7 three computer wireless network with no problems.
Very pleased with ease of use and installation.
Review 8 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice MFC Printer
Date:February 5, 2014
By MacFromWakefield
from New Hampshire
I've only had it for a short while and use it for home, and not business use. However scan quality does seem to be excellent, both from Paperport and Control Center. The auto feed and the two trays are a bonus. Text print is excellent quality and is fast. Have not printed graphics at this point although my previous Brother printer was fine and I expect this to be the same or better. I may update when I have more experience with it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best for the money
Date:February 3, 2014
By Darrin
from Sacramento, CA
I had an earlier model of the same printer for about 5 years. It then died of print head failure. But that to be expected. I got this new one and it's awesome!! Fast and easy to set up. If you need 11x17 and don't need every print to be photo quality, this is the one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 10 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
the best
Date:January 11, 2014
By caramia
from Bakersfield, CA
Great product, functions & qualities. Great brand and meets all my expectations. Good support & costumer services.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 11 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Product - Home or Office
Date:October 29, 2013
By ospsprnt
I also have the previous model at work. Great machines for all my needs!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Upgrade
Date:November 11, 2014
By tjeans
from Branson, MO
Have enjoyed the upgrade with the additional features that were not on my former equipment for my office.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 13 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Big Help
Date:October 14, 2014
By Mapman
from Washington, D.C.
I originally purchased a MFCJ6710DW because it had the 11 x 17" scan bed. I used it to scan newspapers and historical documents that are now beginning to disintegrate. My MFC-J6720DW replaced my MFC-J6710DW after a broken piece of equipment made printing impossible (something like Error50 message). The 6720 has all the capabilities of the 6710, including 2-sided scanning and printing (although I haven't been able to figure out how to do it). The 6720 is also more compact and much lighter. Printing quality is average so I would not use it for printing photos, etc. It was easy to connect my iPad to the printer using the wireless capabilities. The only difficulty is that if you want to print on an 11 x 17" piece of paper, the paper need to be fed in from the back. All and all, a good, all-around printer. I wish Brother would make a laser printer with a 11 x 17 scan bed.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J6720DW , A happy user.
Date:May 23, 2014
By Handyman1665
from Westlake, Ohio
I purchased this printer because of the ability to print & scan 11X17 inch size and the multi ink cartrige system. I don't have a land line so did not set up for faxing. The OEM ink is reasonably priced and you only replace the color required rather than a tri-color cartrige. Although the printer startup time is a little slow the output is quite fast. Very easy to set up with three options, wired, wireless and USB. I chose USB since wireless in my home has proven to be somewhat slow when printing. I think this is due to my printer not located very close to the wireless router. This printer is on a network being used by 5 computers and the "ADD A PRINTER" worked flawlessly.
I like the dual trays for handling different paper sizes but would have liked a cleaner operating system. The printer works quietly without a hitch however when using the 11X17 size the lower tray projects in front of the printer and it is suggested that you pull out the upper tray to catch the prints. A bit cumbersome but livable.
Also, the front print delivery receiver is quite small and does not support the full printed page. Fix these two and I would rate it Five Stars. Copying documents is fairly quick but I have not tried using the document feeder. If printing on heavy card stock you can use the rear sheet feeder but the printer needes to be moved away from the wall. Again for my use this is not enough of a quirk to make me look for another printer. My old printer was an HP 1220c 11X17 that I used for about 5 years. It was a printer only. For the money, I liked the multiple features offered on the Brother and for the few weeks I have used it I am very pleased with the build quality and the performance. Hope this helps!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
easy to set up
Date:April 27, 2014
By jack223342
from michigan
Easier to set up and use than previous versions.
Great printer for the price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Almost a 5 star rating!
Date:April 14, 2014
By Socal52
from Orange County, California
This all-in-one multifunction printer is absolutely amazing. It's very stylish, very nice size, incredibly fast printing speed (both color and black & white), quality of printing is fantastic, features and options absolutely great. I would have given it a 5 star rating except for the noise. Because of the new landscape technology for feeding the paper sheets into the printer, the printer makes a very loud clunking noise each time it feeds another sheet of paper into position. I literally dread printing anything because I have to listen to that loud clunking. It also worries me that the loud clunking is going to damage something inside the printer over time, thereby reducing the life of the printer. It replaced a Brother MFC-6890CDW which also was a great printer in every respect, but I miss my old printer because it was whisper quiet compared to this new one. I'm just sorry Brother sacrificed the quietness in an effort to reduce the footprint of the printer when it actually doesn't seem much different in size than my last Brother printer. The puzzling thing to me is that there could have been an option to load the paper in a portrait orientation, thereby eliminating the clunking noise. Maybe a little printing speed would be sacrificed, but it would be worth it to me not to hear the dreaded clunking.Other than the loud irritating noise, I'm ecstatic with everything else about this printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
So Far So Good
Date:October 17, 2013
By Kimmie
from California
Easy set up. Fast printing speed. A tad bit noisy. I think it will be an excellent printer for our small business.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Great Machine For Good Price, Software Poor
Date:February 11, 2014
By tinybim669
from Stockbridge, MI
This All in One is a nice machine but the software you get is not very good for scanning 11 x 17 documents. The paperport program doesn't even do large documents such as 11 x 17, which would be nice cause paperport has alot of nice features. most scanning options tell me my computer doesn't have enough memory which is pretty frustrating (my computer has 4gb ram and i close all programs running and still have issues). The scanned document won't open up in most programs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Very Disappointed
Date:July 17, 2014
By SCLAY820
from Virginia
I researched many all-in-one machines before purchasing this one. I purchased it based on other reviews and it seemed to fir my needs. It has some really impressive features but mine gives me an error message after every page I print saying to "reload paper tray" I also have issues with the manual feed slot, it takes 2-3 tries before the printer recognizes there is paper in the slot. Very frustrating when you are trying to be productive. All other features seem to work OK, I am let down on the quality of color copies.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Terrible Setup, fine printer
Date:May 27, 2014
By Maximillian
After receiving the printer I did the initial setup, during which the print quality check failed. This required me to perform a head cleaning, everything seemed fine except the color inks were still not printing all the boxes on the page. Before I wasted more ink I checked the FAQ which advised to perform the check up to 5 times before contacting customer service.
After the 4th test my printer is now out of ink and still didn't pass the quality test (it had improved though). After contacting customer service, I was less than pleased that I'd used up all the included ink and hadn't even been able to use the printer. However all customer service did was send me information on other methods of cleaning the heads, all of which require me to replace my ink. Now I have to spend another $50 on ink, hoping it will work correctly.
Everything otherwise seemed to be working fine thus far and I'm sure it will print fine. However, don't expect the initial ink to last, not even past setup if you have to clean your heads.
1 2 next>>