Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6720DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
9
37 of 56(66%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6720DW
Review 1 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice multifunction printer
Date:January 31, 2016
By
from Florida
The 6720 handles media up to -B size, it can Scan, Print, and copy -B size media. This nice if you deal with CAD drawings now and then. The -2 paper tray is expandable, and can hold up to -B size paper. I have my printer configured with -B size paper in tray -2, and -A size paper in try -1. The single sheet feeder on the back can handle paper sizes down to envelopes, so if you want to print on an envelope now then, you can feed from this point. As to connectivity, it has WIFI, USB, and 10B-T. as well as standard telephone for the FAX function. The scanner has a document feeder, as well as the standard single sheet flat-bed for scanning or copying of media... It also has USB, SD card ports for printing directly from storage media. This is a lot of functionality for a single product. So far I have been quite please with the product. As to reliability, only time will tell...
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product!
Date:January 27, 2016
By
from Napa, CA.
Great product...use it a lot and so far the best printer I have bought! First Brother print and will purchase brother from here on..love the warranty! 2 years you cant beat that!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Mighty Fine Printer
Date:January 25, 2016
By
from Northeast Indiana
I recommended this printer for our company, since I have another Brother model that I use at my home office. It uses the same ink/printer head system, and it has worked flawlessly. We are an engineering company and need to print detailed documents on larger paper than 8 1/2" X 11" to make the documents legible. So far, The MFC-J6720DW has worked great for our needs. The print quality is excellent, and we have yet to have a jam or any other issues. This printer replaced a laser printer and a plotter. Both required expensive printing supplies. The Brother ink/head system has shown great quality with no ink plugging problems. The ink cartridges are also easy to replace and far less expensive than any other product. I would recommend this printer to anyone looking for a large paper size printer. It gets high marks from us.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:January 9, 2016
By
from columbus ohio
Haven't had the printer long, but so far, excellent set up, communication, and function. I bought it because it is rated by consumer reports as one of the low ink consuming printers. So far, it looks to be true.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic Purchase!
Date:December 16, 2015
By
from otisco, in
This machine does it all and does beautifully. couldn't have asked for a better purchase. Thanks.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Review 10-26-15
Date:October 26, 2015
By
from Montgomery, AL
This is an excellent machine and it was purchased for the 11" scanner. My only problem was it would not take the # character to install to the router. I changed the WEP and it has worked fine. This is a replacement machine an has functioned perfectly once I figured out I had to install it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Product good enough to recommend to others
Date:October 14, 2015
By
from Eustace, TX
When I was looking to purchase a printer, a colleague of mine from Waco, TX told me he had purchased this Brother printer and was very happy with it. After purchasing this model, I can say that I am also very happy with this printer. I have also recommended this printer to another colleague located in Montalba, TX. He has also purchased this same printer model and has let me know, he is also very happy with this machine. Reviews don't get much better than this.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
As good as advertised
Date:October 10, 2015
By
from Construction Manager, Texas
Easy to set up. Much more intuitive than my previous printer. Display is also easy to navigate.
Does 11 x 17 very well. No paper jams in 2 months use.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6720DW
Date:September 7, 2015
By
from West Palm Beach Florida
This unit has good capabilities for a small office or a busy house hold. Easy to set up and use.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:September 2, 2015
By
from Georgia
I have owned this printer for over a year now so I have lived with it as my main source of network printing for that timeframe.
Cartridge costs are reasonable and the
cartridges don’t gum up if not used for a while (I don’t print every day).
All of my Computer software now automatically sees and prints to the printer. Mac and Linux have automatically seen the printer and made it available. Windows struggled (not because of the printer) until the release of W10, now windows automatically sees the printer and prints to it without the need of additional drivers (welcome to present day …. Microsoft)
iOS devices have seen the printer via air print and printed to it without further need of settings adjustments or drivers.
Android, is just not made for printing … It will not see or print to the printer (Android thingy I am too old to deal with attempting to get Android to work any longer, just keeping my iOS devices they work)
I don’t recall the last time I had a paper jam
Scanner works on Mac and Linux but you have to install the driver for Windows (go figure)
It’s a big printer so you will need a solid space to set it upon, however it is wireless so it can stand alone if need be as long as it can access your wireless router. Mine is in a central location so everyone can access it.
I don’t recall printing pictures from this printer … so no comment there
Copying is easy and the printer will copy several sheets via the sheet feeder
Setup is straight forward for a wireless printer.
This printer has taken on my toughest jobs and churned right through them. It’s every bit as reliable as my commercial laser copiers
I have recommended it to others who have been very happy with its operation .... Including commercial use
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Really GreatPurchase
Date:March 31, 2015
By
from Norristown, PA
I've always loved Brothers products. all my supers use them.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best small office printer ever
Date:March 16, 2015
By
from North Kingston, RI
This printer does everything!
2 bins, I use one for letter, one for tabloid.
flat bed scanner is 11 x 17, and has 50 page auto feed for letter sized document scanning.
Prints two sided without manual intervention.
I have not used fax yet.
Ink lasts a very long time.
It does not need much space for a tabloid printer.
Software for the PC is great. OCR is included and works well. All functions are easy to use.
Only downside is it is fairly heavy, but this is probably good. It is a quality product.
Printing speed is noticeably faster than prior HP and Cannon all in one and tabloid printers.
I have not tried printing to photo paper yet. But printing photos to plain paper is very good, without the wet over inking on other printers.
Great Product at a great price.
Best tabloid all in one printer on the market and at a great price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:March 6, 2015
By
Printer is worth every dime I spent on it. Tech Support is EXcellent!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6720DW - A Good Purchase
Date:June 27, 2014
By
from Beaumont, Texas
I wanted several features in a new printer. Large format printing (11" x 17") with minimum borders was a must as I do engineering drawings. Also two sided printing, ability to print on label stock and card stock, copying, and faxing. The yearly ink costs for my old printer was really excessive so lower ink cost was also a must. This printer seems to meet them all and then some.
With two paper trays that each hold an inch high stack of paper, up to the 11 x 17 size, paper loading should be much less frequent. And the rear, manual feed slot is excellent for thicker stock, like card stock or labels because it has a straight paper path through the machine so die cut labels should not be stripped off. I have seen some reviews that criticized the rear position of this manual feed slot, but the rear position actually is the best place for it due to the ability to feed die cut label stock or other heavy stock because it avoids the necessity of making a "U" turn inside the machine as would be necessary with a front, manual feed slot. As I said above, a "U" turn like this tends to strip labels off their backing sheet. I have fought this problem in other printers and it is no fun taking the printer apart to remove all those stripped labels from the various parts of the paper path. Brother should point this out as the great feature it is in their sales literature.
The 11 x 17 scanner is a real bonus feature and will allow me to scan and copy drawings and other technical documents in that larger size. I am already scanning record album covers for inclusion in my digital music collection. This is a great feature.
Installation was a bit lengthy and I did make an initial mistake, but Brother tech assistance was quite helpful and I now have it installed on four computers; 3 Windows 7 and an older, Windows XP system. That initial mistake was easily rectified by just running through the installation disk a second time and had I just known that, I would not have had to call Brother. I actually did so in an abundance of caution.
I print a fair amount of color photos and I was concerned about the quality of photo prints. I tried some photos on plain paper and the results were disappointing. But then, they were similar to what my old printer produced on plain paper, perhaps just a bit lower in contrast. The Brother printer driver software does allow some very sophisticated adjustments to the photo quality and I did play with it a bit. But I then tried to use some photo type paper and the results were just excellent on the first try. The paper I used was not the Brother brand so I can only assume that the results will be as good or better with their, recommended paper.
I have seen reviews of this printer that critiqued the noise level. I noticed in the set-ups that there is a quiet mode that you can select, but I did not as I wanted to see just how noisy it was. While it may not be the quietest printer that I have ever used, it is FAR from the noisiest. I would place it in the average category in this respect. I have mine installed at the left side of my desk, on a separate printer stand so it is about an arm's length away. I can reach the touch screen with my left hand without shifting my position. I find that the sound level is entirely satisfactory, in spite of this close proximity. I have to wonder if those critical reviews were perhaps written by employees of other printer companies.
The black and white prints on standard paper are a little low in contrast. Not to the point of being unacceptable and I probably would not have noticed it if I did not have my older printer to compare them to. One suggestion for improvement would be to make the black ink a bit darker. Unless that would mess up the excellent photo printing capability.
Another small disappointment is the speed of producing prints. After reading the specifications, I really expected faster operation. For plain, black text, in Normal mode, the first page takes about 20 seconds to start printing, but subsequent pages are somewhat faster, perhaps 15 seconds each. I am sure that the manufacturer developed standards for rating the speed of producing prints are written in their favor, but it would be better to do this spec. in a more realistic manner.
Overall this is an excellent printer and a great value for the price. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone interested in a printer of it's general capability.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J6720DW
Date:June 13, 2014
By
from Binghamton, NY
Works as expected. Scans in a reasonable time up to the 11x17 size. Prints with a good quality, great for a light duty office printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So far, so good!
Date:June 3, 2014
By
from Los Angeles, CA
I have only had the printer a few weeks, but so far its doing really well! Ink usage seems normal, no paper jams, and it prints clearly (no lines or smudges). It is a little loud, but that doesn't bother me. The only thing I would fix is the tray that catches the paper is very flimsy. We'll see if I still like it in a year (I have had MANY bad experiences with printers, usually after they are a year old).
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very solid design, 11x17 that is affordable
Date:June 3, 2014
By
from Los Angeles CA
I bought this to get a combination of the occasional color printing needed in the business (I also have a Brother laser MFD for monochrome printing) - and to get 11 x 17 scanning and printing capability for drawings, floor plans, etc.
It is an excellent printer/scanner-copier/fax machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Versatility and Fit for Purpose
Date:April 10, 2014
By
With the dual paper trays and the ability to print, scan, and email up to 11"x17", this machine does it all at a very economical price. My home office is complete for both my business and personal needs with the wireless and network functionality.
I traded all my other brand name printers and now am sold on 'Brother".
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I made the right choice!
Date:April 8, 2014
By
from Hamburg, NY
MFC-J6720DW, has it all over any Canon printer that I owned previously. The ink cartridges are cheaper, the printer hold more paper and it prints so much faster than expected. The one negative point I have is that I wish the printer was a little quitter, other than that this Brother All-In-One inkjet printer is a great product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J6720DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:April 7, 2014
By
My HP all in one display machine screen crashed and it was not a re-placeable part and was not pleased with HP support. So I decided to try a Brother machine. Have used Brother faxes for many years and have been very pleased.
The MFC-J6720DW is very good quality and I like the multiple paper size features.
Installed in a Windows 7 three computer wireless network with no problems.
Very pleased with ease of use and installation.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>