Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6710DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
3.836 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (207 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
49
3 stars
27
2 stars
18
1 star
21
150 of 207(72%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6710DW
Review 161 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Pretty Good Product
Date:August 27, 2012
By DavisMedical
from Indiana
I am a small business owner and having a printing solution that actually works is vital. I have had many other brands of printers that just didn't work. I bought this brother because they have a quality name in the industry, and I now know why. This printer works, was easy to install, and is fast.
A couple of issues I have with the printer could easily be fixed. Sometimes when printing wirelessly pages will only print a small section of data and move on to the next, and the machine is not space friendly.
If you are looking for a reliable work horse this will do the job!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 162 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 6, 2013
By bobmo2
from Lancaster, VA
I had been looking for a printer that would print 11 x 17 for quite some time.
I colleague at work told me about his one on sale at Amazon. I already had a Brother printer, and after reading the reviews I snatched it up.
Its a great printer, Scans very well also. So far its easy on ink.
The only Con with this unit is the same for all the Brother printers.
They list all the European paper sizes, by name.
Its very annoying when you want to print photos, and you have to search through numerous sizes to find a 4 x 6. Envelopes are the same drama.
But I love it and it works great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 163 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Not Bad !!!
Date:October 31, 2012
By Pear
from Jackson, CA
I spent 6 months looking for a printer with this printer's attributes & within my price range. Finally found & purchased this one. It is slower than my HP, but costs 4 times less per page than the HP. The docs I print in PDF are legal & letter and this printer does the job (selects the correct paper size). Print quality is good. Scanning from page feeder & faxing work very well. DRAWBACK: if printing a large doc (80 + pages), check the document. My printer seems to like to pull 2-3 blank pages when it should only pull one. (will call support to see what I can do to stop this)
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 164 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
love the 11x17 scanner/printer
Date:May 26, 2013
By teresa
from Maryland
I had some problems getting this set up as I don't have the wireless connection. Spent time with on line technical help, who were knowledgeable. Once it was set up, it is great. Love the 11x17 scanner and printer. The slot in the back for manual feed is a great idea but I cannot get the paper to print straight from there yet. I love Brother printers/ this is my third one over 10 years. I use them a LOT in my home office. Really like having the two paper trays for different size paper. The ink lasts a long time, the color printing is good, although I mostly use black and white.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 165 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Don't waste your money.
Date:July 23, 2013
By dslovejoy
from Kealakekua, HI
I have had 3 replacements of this printer. The first 2 were because the print head clogged after changing the ink. The inks were OEM.
The 3rd replacement was because Brother sent be a broken printer.
Because I live in Hawaii, I had to request the return labels every time the printer was replaced. The labels were not sent with the printer because of a "glitch"
Tech support sucks. They forced me to use 2 complete sets of cartridges for each printerto "prove" the print head was clogged, and didn't want to replace the ink they made me waste.
The printer is very slow and the print quality is poor.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 166 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
You know...
Date:August 6, 2012
By JohnG
from Corona CA
I have bought a lot of printers before, most recently Epson. Not happy, the inks cost a lot and very minimal output of prints. I bought the MFC J6710DW (a refurbished one) and works like a gem and comes with the two year warranty. Not needing the Wi-Fi, just hooked directly and off and running. No problems what's so ever. Loving it, for the price I paid, it comes with a large scanner, 11x17 and 8.5x11 prints dual tray and can copy a stack of papers automatically, so much more. What a convenience. I am very happy with my purchase. Brother has a printer to suite your needs. I would say just check them out.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 167 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Problems
Date:August 27, 2012
By BrotherPrinter
from Wiliamsburg, MI
The printer is very large and takes up the space on my computer table that normally is occupied by my laptop.
The setup is quite complicated, but the printing/copying has good quality.
The paper tray setup is more complicated than it needs to be. After printing, the printer displays "Please Wait" while it is busily doing something. If you are copying things manually (without using the sheet feeder), this really increases the time spent.
The software for the Brother is not as good as my Kodak 7200 series printer. This is very apparent when scanning. Kodak is self-explanatory and easy; the Brother is complicated.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 168 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:October 24, 2013
By Marsh
from Tallahassee, Fl
We have had this machine for 3 months and are very pleased with the machine. Have not had any wireless network issues, it was very easy to set up. It handles the 11 x 17 paper beautifully especially in duplex mode. We purchased this machine for printing church bulletins, small church we print at home. we print 60 bulletins each week both sides, plus our other household printing needs and have just this last week replaced the starter cartridges on the machine. Good clear print quality and color. The closest thing that I could say as a draw back is that it does not print as fast as other printers that I have in my home.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 169 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J6710DW
Date:January 5, 2013
By Wags
from Annapolis, MD
Decided to purchase this all in one after the success I had with my three previous Brother printer purchases and how pleased I was with them. Due to all the additions of devices, three laptops, two I-Pads and three I-phones, the demand for printing and the convenience to do it wirelessly drove the new purchase. Have been very pleased so far with the purchase and the ease it has been to set everything up and get everyone connected has been a snap.
The print quality is exceptional and the capability to print up to 11 x 17 combined with all the other features you get with the MFC-J6710DW made it an easy choice with no regrets.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 170 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Paper trays leave a lot to be desired.
Date:February 6, 2013
By exABStech
from Missouri
Let me start out by letting you know that I am a professional printer repair technician with over 20 years experience. This printer is a decent printer for the price. The color is outstanding and the dual trays and document feeder that are capable of 11x17 pages are a great selling point. However, while the paper trays DO adjust to fit 11x17,if they are extended out that far, they are extremely flexible and twist out of shape easily. They need to be made from a sturdier plastic that will stay square, otherwise, the ledger size paper doesn't feed consistently. If you put ledger paper in the bottom tray, it won't feed at all.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 171 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not worth your money
Date:October 31, 2012
By designer
from Milwuakee, WI
I've owned this printer for about a year and a half and it started printing with a very low quality. I replaced all of the cartridges and had the same results- text that was printing at 30% of tone with lines missing. Trying to work with Brother to get it resolved was not worth my time. They claimed their ink was unique and they wouldn't talk to me until all of my cartridges were replaced with their brand, regardless that the main black cartridge was brother Ink and all I print is black and white. My MFC-J6710DW is going to find its way into the dumpster and I'll be shopping for a replacement. HP has been more supportive in the past.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 172 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good all around printer for home use
Date:August 26, 2012
By Michelangelo
from Virginia
This is a pretty good all-around printer for general use. I purchased it primarily for two reasons, it has 11x17 sheet size and it connects to my wireless hub. It does both of these things reasonably well. It has adequate color printing capability and it scans well.
If there was one thing I think Brother could do that would be to make the paper feed and tracking more solid. The paper tends to get crooked in their automatic sheet feeders a little too easily. At least it is not an HP!!!! I will never buy another HP printer as long as I live since they now refuse to support legacy printers with updated drivers. Keep up the good work Brother!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 173 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Disappointed
Date:November 7, 2013
By Dogro
from Charleston, SC
Many options and for the most part it does exactly what I need. However, the print quality is less than stellar. I need to choose best quality to even see what is printed. If I elect to save ink, well I do just that, but cannot see anything on the paper. Wireless works great as does scanner and ADF. Printing envelopes is a no go...don't even consider because you will just get frustrated and in the end it just doesn't work. Ink is much cheaper than HP or any other brand, so that is a plus. No need for the phone line fax, but internet fax works great as well. So, in a nutshell it does what I need, but I am still disappointed for the money spent.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 174 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
worst purchase ever
Date:August 27, 2013
By what
from montana
I had to choose between this printer and a similar hp printer. I should have spent the extra money and got the hp. this is the biggest pile of junk I have ever owned. it takes 30 seconds between each page when using the copy function. I cant do a black and white print job if I am out of any of the colors. the printer pulls more then one page at a time causing paper jams and I have to re number my checks after printing because of it pulling more then the one page required. I am extremely disappointed with this printer and all the time I waste constantly messing with it. I will never buy another brother product and will spend the extra money and get hp.
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 175 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Great Scanner
Date:September 8, 2011
By RonH
from San Jose
The 11 x 17 scanner is great, is fairly quick and works well with the software.
As a printer the unit has some quirks with paper handling that need improvement. The single sheet feeder in back does not always feed paper on the first or second try. And you can feed only one sheet!
The machine gets confused on feeding paper out of the two trays. If the top one is low or empty, you get an error message that you have to clear by hitting start.
Finally, the unit sometimes thinks paper is stuck in it, even if there is none. You have to unplug it and then plug it in to clear the error.
If the paper handling quirks were resolved this would be a perfect maching.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 176 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Machine!
Date:July 20, 2013
By Saxmanno
from Covington, LA (north of New Orleans, LA)
I have had this machine for about 2 years and have finally gotten around to write a review. I love this machine! The 11x17 printing and scanning is invaluable to me. I am a musician, run a big band and a summer community band, and do some arranging for local high schools and a college. The printer works well with all programs, including SIBELIUS, a music notation program. I can create all types of documents. The wireless feature is wonderful! Yes, I had initial difficulties setting up the scanning feature wirelessly, but that was on me, not the software or the machine. It is networked so my real estate agent wife can print to it and scan from it to her computer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 177 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Solid Workhorse
Date:August 26, 2012
By renoengineer
from Reno, NV
This is my second Brother multi-function machine and I am pleased with it's performance and features for the price. I use this machine as an office photcopier and printer, to be used in printing non-photo types of B&W and color documents. I also use the machine extensively to produce 11x17 sized documents and to create PDF files of any size. The machine is sensibly constructed and easy to use.
Things that could be improved:
The color printing could be better. Whenever I photocopy a single sheet off of the plate, the machine needs to pause and "spin it's gears" for a short period of time, requiring the user to wait in between each page that you want to photocopy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 178 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Great machine, terrible software
Date:August 15, 2011
By GregTex
from Texas
The printer and scanner work great, haven't used the fax yet. The software is terrible when trying to use Wi-Fi. Had to load and remove and load several times. Always came up with "invalid agrument" when loading program. Tried downloading from Brother's website, takes about 1/2 hour then after waiting all that time the download disappears. Finally got it to work when I manually configured the ports. The scanner is great but only works when I use a USB cable, kind of defeats the wireless concept.
Also, when program was installing it automaticaly deleted my Adobe converter and replaced it with Paper Port. If I wanted my converter deleted I would have done it myself
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 179 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
MFC-J6710DW Questionable Purchase
Date:September 15, 2012
By OldCharlie
from Starke, FL
I purchased this printer after looking at a LexMark online. Unfortunately they were both on the same display aisle at Office Depot and I let the sales girl convince me to purchase this Brother. I have used Brothers over the years many times and liked them; however, this one is not real user friendly when it comes to keeping it or waking it up from sleep on the wireless printing and I can't stand the way long paper is configured for the machine. It is cumbersome and pokes out the back. I don't even use it because of this problem. My Kodak wakes up when I hit my laptop print button from the next room; the Brother I have to go physically hit the on button. I would not purchase this one again.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 180 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Amazing value Multi-Function machine
Date:September 28, 2011
By Officeserv
from Rural Oregon
This is an outstanding addition to my office. I have had a competitor's 11x17 printer but never had the ledger size scanning ability. While there are a few items that could be improved, everything that is there works well. The installation and wireless setup went smoothly and everything functions as advertised. A bit of a hassle to register software when I began to use it, but I'm pleased with the features and am amazed that a machine with all these specs sells for such a reasonable price! Now, to the negatives: Envelope feeding - one at a time is not a good thing! Also, the output stacking mechanism is flimsy and inconvenient. Other than that, I'm very pleased and give this unit a 5-star rating.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 next>>