Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6710DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
3.836 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (207 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
49
3 stars
27
2 stars
18
1 star
21
150 of 207(72%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6710DW
Review 61 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great 11x17 printer
Date:July 2, 2012
By Winey
from Tyler, Texas
This the best low priced 11 x 17 printer in the business. I have a MFC 8860 that has been great but it didn't do 11 x 17. The scan is also excellent and very easy to use. Keep up the good work Brother
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 62 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer
Date:July 2, 2012
By danielmb
from San Antonio, TX
I bought this printer initially because I was tires of having both an All-In-One on my desk and a large format printer capable of printing 11X17 sheets. Now that I have used this pronter for several months, I find that it seems to do most everything better and easier than my old HP All-In-One. Over a period of time, I intend to replace all of my HP printers with Brother printers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 63 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine!
Date:July 2, 2012
By snappy
from Du Bois,Ne
Folks at Brother are a real great group to work with. The first printer-- printer head went bad. I thought the printer was done for-(ditch!) Brother send me a new one by air in 2 days. Had trouble between laptop & printer. I didn't have to bust my pocket. Thank-you!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 64 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Upgrade to MFC-J6710DW
Date:July 2, 2012
By Jeepnut
from Atlanta, GA
I had a previous Brother Printer (model MFC-5895) and had a lot of issues with it. I trusted the Brother name and invested a little more and upgraded to this model on an exchange. This is a great printer and I have had no paper jams or error codes at all while printing 11x17 or 8.5 x 11 documents. Fax works very good and the copier is very clear and reliable. The ink life is very good and the color or B&W clarity is excellent. I use this printer in a personal business and personally and it has performed flawlessly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 65 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever
Date:July 2, 2012
By IEandC
I am the Owner of a small engineering business and I have owned a dozen or so fax machines, scanners, printers over the past two decades. This is by far the best machine I have ever owned. For me, it truly is an all-in-one, as it has eliminated one machine in my office. I print most designs on 11" x 17" and also needed a printer/scanner/fax for 8.5" x 11" - NOT ANY MORE!! I am a happy printer Owner!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 66 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Great Product So Far
Date:May 2, 2012
By jayindep
from Independence, MO
I've had the same Brother mono laser printer for day-to-day business printing for several years but for some reason have always had HP all-in-ones for scan, fax, copies, etc. After the last HP died a premature death to to a miniscule plastic part failure, as had the others before it, I woke up and smelled the coffee. If this machine performs as well as the laser for as many years, I'll be happy. So far it has met all my expectations, and exceeds any HP I've owned in many areas.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 67 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT, INEXPENSIVE MFC 11X17 IN ALL FUNCTIONS
Date:May 2, 2012
By JT43
from BOYNTON BEACH, FL
I have an hp 7000 13x19 printer, but needed an 11x17 scanner-copier. The HP 11x17 all in 1 does not scan-copy 11x17, but the Brother mfc-j6710dw does 11x17 in all functions. The hp 7000 may have "slightly" better color quality if you want high quality large photo prints, but again it's only a printer. The color quality of the 6710 is fine for alll other aplications.
I now use the 6710 for almost everything.
One thing to keep in mind is the low cost.
Setup was easy and the speed is better than most inkjets I have used. Some users say that the 6710 is large & bulky. "DUH" it's an 11x17 all in 1, with two 11x17, 250 sheet paper trays.
Some say the paper trays are flimsly & dificult, but you are loading 250 sheets into a precision machine, not throwing them in a trash can.
I use all functions (except fax) and they work flawlessly. I produce 24x36 engineering drawings and use the 6710 to print half size proof prints. The prints are clear, with fine lines & legable.
The xxlarge ink carts are easily replacable, reducing ink cost & changing time.
For a lot more money, you may get a better machine, but for the cost/service ratio, I beleive this MFC (or other Brother 11x17 mfc's) are the best deals available.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 68 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product
Date:May 2, 2012
By DavidSantaFe
from Santa Fe, NM
Great product and more importantly, great service.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 69 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT PRINTER
Date:May 2, 2012
By speedo
from michigan
Laser like b/w printing, great color when used, and affordable inks. inks have simpler level indicator and change easily for self servicers. Only regret is it wont scan 11x17 like the bigger version i have in the shop.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 70 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer ever
Date:May 2, 2012
By holli2
from chicago, il
I love that i don't need to constantly replace ink cartridges! Their high yield ink is high yield. The software is not intrusive and easy to install. It also holds alot of paper, you don't have to constantly refill the paper. Two sided printing is a breeze! Very good directions included. The only issue I have with this printer is scanning. The scanner leaves a 1/8" blank edge on all sides. But I haven't checked to see if there is a setting to change this. So it may not be an issue.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 71 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Very Happy
Date:May 2, 2012
By Dash1051
from Rocklin, CA
I use this mfc for my home business and the bonus is that I can print from anywhere in my home. Another thing I like is having two paper cassettes that switch automatically. Have had only one paper jam in 6 months and was easy to clear and has worked perfect since.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 72 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product
Date:May 2, 2012
By Osiris1ky
from Huntington,WV
few misfeeds in top loader but over all great product.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 73 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great all in one
Date:May 2, 2012
By DebC
from Connecticut
This all in one machine is spectacular overall. It is easy to use if you read the directions. Customer support is great to help you over the technical issues if you have any. I would buy again next time. To improve the next generation: A faster print would be nice. Allow a default for copy size other than ledger would also be nice. It is easy to change but I forget to do it sometimes.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 74 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Large format and network friendly
Date:April 5, 2012
By swimvball
from San Antonio, TX
I have been very pleased with this printer/scanner. I need to work with 11"x17" format and this scanner works very well for that. The large format also works well for scanning multiple smaller documents at once and then split each document out as needed. The printing has been fast and reliable. Ink is also reasonably priced compared to competitors.
Brother does a very good job making their MFC printers true network capable printers. The print server is in the printer so unlike "networkable" printers from other manufactures I do not have to connect the printer to a Window's computer to be able to print via the network. I run Linux, Mac, and Windows desktops and can print using the network printing from each of them.
I have also been very impressed with the printer administration features provided in this device. It has a lot of enterprise level features available to make remote administration of this device a joy. I would definitely be willing to use this printer in a small office environment.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 75 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Brother Printer I Ever Purchased
Date:March 30, 2012
By Eclecticart
from Florida
This is my sixth Brother printer and it is as reliable and economical as all the others I have purchased. If you want to save on ink, then any Brother printer will be your best purchase. This printer, though, by far is the most economical printer I have ever owned. I have printed 1000s of pages and have only changed the cartridges once. I use the high yield LC79 cartridges which have proven to be the most cost effective. The print quality is excellent; photos are brilliant and clear. I downloaded the iPrint and Scan app for my andriod phone and tablet and it works wonderfully. I bought this printer specifically because it prints on both sides of the paper (duplex printing) and because I can use 11x17 paper. The enlarge and shrink functions for copies is very useful and the wireless scan feature is a time saver. This is a totally affordable wireless, multifunction printer that does everything any small business can want.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 76 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good Machine
Date:March 30, 2012
By Rockengineer
from Port Orchard, WA
Excellent Machine for the price. I have been well pleased with this for my small business.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 77 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid Performer
Date:March 30, 2012
By TomH
from Concord, NC
I replaced another brand printer with the MFC-J6710DW and couldn't be happier. It came right up on the in-house wireless, took just a few minutes to get all of the computers around the house to be able to use it and it just works. I was almost suspicious because it worked so easily, something HAS to be wrong, but it isn't. Keeps on working just fine without dimming the lights like my last laser did!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 78 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer ever had!
Date:March 14, 2012
By Nina800
from Yarnell, AZ
Super great printer - easy to set up, easy to use and is the MOST RELIABLE printer the church has EVER had! Thanks so much for a great product!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 79 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good machine
Date:February 13, 2012
By Paulb
from Colorado
Well I just got off the phone with Brother technical support. I have been using this machine now for about 3 weeks. I am using a wireless setup. I configured it myself. It was fairly easy to do. I am an architect and work from home mainly. I needed a 11"x17" printer with scan capability previously I was using an HP 2800n. This thing scans to my server, uploads to my FTP sharing site. I am using it with both XP and Win 7 this thing is awesome. The only minor issue I had was the black print was coming out grey, I played with the settings for about 2 weeks, figuring it was just a user error. Finally I gave up. I contacted technical support we worked through some issues, in about 30 minutes I am printing as good of quality as my laser. It is so much quieter than my laser or old inkjets. This blows HP out of the water. We will see how it holds up, we have the larger laser in our corporate office. I set that up 2 years ago and it is still trucking. Great product. I am buying 2 more for our remote offices.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 80 for MFC-J6710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Nice Printer
Date:January 15, 2012
By Anonymous
from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
I've been using it for a week now, and I love it. I've used it for just about everything except FAX, including scanning and printing 11x17. Easy to set up. Easy and intuitive to use. Fast. Good control center software, good onboard display and controls. I have experience with a LOT of printers, ever since my first computer in 1979, and so far this is one of the best. Time will tell, though.
The bottom line for me is that I can't believe I got such a capable printer for so little money.
The weaknesses so far are minor: Poor or nonexistent instructions for the software (but it was fairly intuitive for me, a highly experienced user of new printers and scanners). Flimsy paper output tray (but that seems to be the norm these days). Rather long wait for first page when printing in reverse order (almost 2 minutes when doing a 12-page Word document). And the biggest one... colors, though fairly true-to-life, are generally not very intense. The only time I've gotten intense colors is when copying a photo onto glossy photo paper.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>