Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6520DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and Wireless Printing
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
6
16 of 27(59%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6520DW
Review 1 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Machine Ever Purchased
Date:March 29, 2015
By Jockomo
from Connecticut
Have owned many printers since 1955, and this one is the best and most useful ever owned
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6520DW.....Great printer!!!
Date:March 18, 2015
By my6520
from Florida
We were a little skeptical at first due to the complaints of noise and cheap plastic parts. After we opened the box and got through the setup process; we wondered why people complained. This printer was neither loud or cheap feeling. Yes, the plastic did feel kind of cheap, but once you look closely, you notice that it isn't cheap...the paper feeders employ a bendy plastic that simply bends to pressure, rather than breaking apart after just a little pressure....flex is way better than break!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very please
Date:February 21, 2015
By ThePrinceofBoynton
from Florida Boynton
I used to buy HP but most of the time the head fail,
recently I got to dump to printer screen touch, because the head, I decide to buy Brother printer and I'm very please with it, I highly recommend
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6520DW review
Date:December 7, 2014
By MHaas
from Washington, DC
One of the best printers I’ve ever had (in 30 years) and Brother services - both people and policies - are impressive. The printer is easy to understand and use and when I had a problem, Brother walked me through a diagnostic (already done using clear instructions, but they wanted to be sure) and sent a refurbished printer out to arrive two days later. All this is the kind of product and company that builds in loyalty.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This company stands behind their products!
Date:November 2, 2014
By Andrew
from Los Angeles, CA
Just before the end of the warranty period, my all-in-one had a problem. I called Brother and they immediately offered a free of charge replacement.
This is great service and the new device works fine.
Keep up with the good work!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works graet
Date:September 14, 2014
By Anonymous
from Tavares FL
I had some confusion when I loaded the program for the MFC-J6520DW Printer because I also had a Brother ADS-2000 copier already loaded onto my computer. The new program erased or I should say modified the program for the copier so both units could use the same program. After my initial panic I discovered that the “Control Center 4” that came with the 6520 operated both machines faster and more effectively.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 7 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best printer
Date:January 5, 2014
By bobby1
from nj
This printer is the beast I bought so far. I will recommend to everybody who is interested in buying the printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:December 2, 2013
By maiden
from Egg Harbor, NJ
I was very excited to be able to get an 11x17 scanner/printer for so low a price. It does exactly what I needed it for. Great product. It is very versatile and a super addition to all my other office equipment. I have other Brother machines and I am quite satisfied with all Brother products. Keep up the good works! Brother Co.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 9 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
More features and very low price
Date:November 29, 2013
By PatS
from Rochester, Michigan
This scanner and printer is the best purchase I made this year. For self employed and needing 11 x 17 scanner, I could not believe when I heard about it for such a low price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Good Purchasse
Date:February 17, 2015
By jpatterson57
from Troy, AL
I received my order in a timely manner and, I am delighted about the purchase because I have always wanted 11"by1y" printing capabilities. Very good product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great printer so far at a great price
Date:February 6, 2015
By SCOOPNJ78
from Nutley, NJ
I love this printer. Great value for the money The only problem so far is that it is very noisey sounds like a freight train. my last Brother printer was a lower priced one, that I worked to death and lasted over 3 years. A lot better than other brands but Brother wont let me tell you the names
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good value
Date:January 31, 2015
By Idontdonicknames
from abington, pa
met all expectations ( so far). no more rto say xxx.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 13 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Smaller, quicker, and better
Date:January 24, 2015
By Colorist
from New Jersey
This All-in-one replaces a 6710 that failed after 4 years of service. It still handles 11 x 17 inch paper, but only thru the rear port, not in a tray. Setup was via Support to work with Apple Yosemite, and the person was officious but expert and went without a hitch. The new machine handles scan to Email easily, much better that previous software. The new touch screen it simpler and much easier to work with, quite intuitive. So far color copies are not very bright or professional, but we'll see as time goes on. It mates with our WIFI easily, and has a smaller footprint which is nice. It's light grey color has grown on us. Altogether, a good machine.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 14 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Pick for my requirements
Date:January 5, 2014
By RobC
from Rhode Island
I'm a bit technically challenged but was happy to be able to get the first PC (of three computers) connected wirelessly and operate all aspects of the Printer wirelessly pretty quickly. Took two installations each for the next PC and lap top but was successful with all, and can also print from our I Pads and I Phones. Very Satisfied with the product so far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:December 18, 2013
By ORBob
from Portland, Oregon
My old printer (a different brand) died suddenly and I was stuck. After poking around the net and looking at features and reviews, I came upon this printer.
Size was a definite issue also since the printer sits inside a computer desk, next to the tower, under the keyboard tray.
I originally looked at 6920, but the second paper tray made it too tall (ditto with the 6720). So I bought the 6520.
Installation was a breeze, and it works just great.
My only "issue" is the printer's output tray. Since the printer sits under the keyboard tray, my knees are there. This means I will normally keep the output tray closed (i.e., pushed inside the printer). And when I print, I just need to remember to pull it out. This is not a major issue, but becomes major if another family member prints from their laptop over our in-house network. If they don't think to run in to my "man cave" and pull out the output tray, their printed pages spill out onto the floor.
It would be nice if there was some little mechanical gadget inside the printer that would extend the output tray when printing starts.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
behemoth
Date:September 25, 2014
By SeriousUser2
from Birmingham AL
It is big, fast, and NOISY! Did I mention that it is NOISY?
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 17 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Date:December 10, 2013
By boomboom2
from Ahwahnee, CA
Good machine so far but I think there's a problem with the Windows 8 drivers. Every time I want to use the printer I have to run the troubleshoote to access the printer from 8. Dell tech could not isolate the problem but oc course blamed Brothers driver, I have no problem accessing from my Windows XL or Vista machines.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 18 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Decent, but very slow
Date:March 11, 2015
By AZNative
from Phoenix, AZ
We purchased two of these around the same time. Both are very slow at printing and horribly slow at copying. One had a major failure within the first six months. Brother did provide great customer support and exchanged it quickly for us.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
MFC-J6520DW
Date:February 16, 2015
By Chief54
from Houston, Texas
Although the functions available on this machine are sufficient I am surprised that Brother would continue to manufacture a product that does not provide duplex scanning. When I order the machine I thought I was getting the MFC-J6920DW. Although it was my fault because I did not read the model number more closely it does not reduce my disappointment that duplex scanning is not a basic function of any Brother scanner/printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Large Business (1000+ Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Fair at best
Date:September 13, 2014
By Tgreenmi
I generally do not do reviews, but I felt people need to know before they spend their money on this. I give it a fair because of so MANY issues. It prints nice and has a nice big scan deck. Then things go down hill. 1. The self feed to print simple cards done nothing but JAM. Every other printer I have ever had printed the cards no problem yet this one it jammed it up and if it did SOMEHOW not jam it was so off center it was worthless. Should have sent it back then but I was stupid. 2. Need to print carbon-less legal papers. Well my brother laser prints no problem. This paper weight it grabs more than one sheet most of the time. So it prints only part and sometimes it jams....I just wanted to print the legal papers why do you think I got the large scan deck and the second paper tray. Another reason this printer is a fail. 3. I can print wireless but I can not scan. It used to scan and then it stopped. Had to call for help took 45 min of sitting there to get it up and working. Only to have it stop again. I am very very VERY let down with Brother. I have had 2 brother laser printers and I bought this one thinking brother makes good things. Well I should have NEVER gotten this one. This will frustrate you to no end. When it works its great and the key is when it works. The man reason I went with Brother is that they have live support for free. SO I give brother thumbs up for that but thumbs down for this printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>