Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6520DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and Wireless Printing
Average Customer Rating:
3.474 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
7
25 of 38(66%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6520DW
Review 1 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:August 15, 2015
By
Very convenient and easy to navigate. It is much bigger than my HP. I chose Brothers because I was fed up with the constant issues from the aforementioned sorry company.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best value for the money
Date:July 11, 2015
By
from Mississippi
I love this machine after owned Lexmark for several years. It is very versatile, user friendly and produces a great copy, scan, etc. I also like that I can now copy ledger size pages in addition to letter and legal.
I can highly recommend it to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Don't Know It's There
Date:May 7, 2015
By
from Cullowhee, NC
I select PRINT button on the menu and several seconds later I reach behind me and retrieve my print job from the printer. Quiet and quick, not knowing it's there is the highest accolade I can give any IT device.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Machine Ever Purchased
Date:March 29, 2015
By
from Connecticut
Have owned many printers since 1955, and this one is the best and most useful ever owned
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6520DW.....Great printer!!!
Date:March 18, 2015
By
from Florida
We were a little skeptical at first due to the complaints of noise and cheap plastic parts. After we opened the box and got through the setup process; we wondered why people complained. This printer was neither loud or cheap feeling. Yes, the plastic did feel kind of cheap, but once you look closely, you notice that it isn't cheap...the paper feeders employ a bendy plastic that simply bends to pressure, rather than breaking apart after just a little pressure....flex is way better than break!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very please
Date:February 21, 2015
By
from Florida Boynton
I used to buy HP but most of the time the head fail,
recently I got to dump to printer screen touch, because the head, I decide to buy Brother printer and I'm very please with it, I highly recommend
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6520DW review
Date:December 7, 2014
By
from Washington, DC
One of the best printers I’ve ever had (in 30 years) and Brother services - both people and policies - are impressive. The printer is easy to understand and use and when I had a problem, Brother walked me through a diagnostic (already done using clear instructions, but they wanted to be sure) and sent a refurbished printer out to arrive two days later. All this is the kind of product and company that builds in loyalty.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This company stands behind their products!
Date:November 2, 2014
By
from Los Angeles, CA
Just before the end of the warranty period, my all-in-one had a problem. I called Brother and they immediately offered a free of charge replacement.
This is great service and the new device works fine.
Keep up with the good work!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works graet
Date:September 14, 2014
By
from Tavares FL
I had some confusion when I loaded the program for the MFC-J6520DW Printer because I also had a Brother ADS-2000 copier already loaded onto my computer. The new program erased or I should say modified the program for the copier so both units could use the same program. After my initial panic I discovered that the “Control Center 4” that came with the 6520 operated both machines faster and more effectively.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best printer
Date:January 5, 2014
By
from nj
This printer is the beast I bought so far. I will recommend to everybody who is interested in buying the printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:December 2, 2013
By
from Egg Harbor, NJ
I was very excited to be able to get an 11x17 scanner/printer for so low a price. It does exactly what I needed it for. Great product. It is very versatile and a super addition to all my other office equipment. I have other Brother machines and I am quite satisfied with all Brother products. Keep up the good works! Brother Co.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
More features and very low price
Date:November 29, 2013
By
from Rochester, Michigan
This scanner and printer is the best purchase I made this year. For self employed and needing 11 x 17 scanner, I could not believe when I heard about it for such a low price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good all printer
Date:August 4, 2015
By
from Jensen Bch. FL
very good printer & faster but can`t print checks on it
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Happy with my purchase so far but have some questi
Date:July 6, 2015
By
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
I am overall very satisfied with my purchase. However, I am not totally satisfied with the printing of 11 by 17" color pages which was my primary reason for purchasing this printer. I am not sure if it is the printers fault or if it is a problem that my ink cartridges are getting low, but the output does not come out in the true colors the input had. I still need to experiment with it before I throw in the towel on large page printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Best 11x17 home printer
Date:June 21, 2015
By
from Fort Bragg, CA
I've had this printer for 6 months. I needed it to scan things like art and music that are bigger than legal size, and to print posters. Pros of this printer are small footprint--it's the same size as most home printers! Also it has an excellent ADF, it's very fast, it bluetooths so I can print with my phone; it has an xxl black cartridge.
Cons primarily are paper jams as you can read about them online. But I figured out if you fan your paper before loading you can avoid most jams. Easy to fix after your first foray into the machine. Sometimes you have to unplug to reset the error message, but no biggie.
If you have it set to 'fast print' it often grabs too many pages, so use 'normal'. It started to print jagged lines, so I reset to custom print alignment and that works. Brother helpline was not helpful on this as they had me go through all the steps I already had done. But the custom setting worked. Another con is the manual feed in back only takes one page and you have to help it grab. Everything goes in sideways so it takes getting used to.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:June 10, 2015
By
This is a very good product. Using the enclosed CD, the setup is easy from installation to printing. The wireless capability gives me the flexibility to print from anywhere within my home network, and the mobile app is just a cherry on top that allows me to print from my smartphone. The 250 sheet paper tray along with printing speeds of 35 ppm black and 27 ppm color makes this an exceptional buy.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good Home Office Printer
Date:May 31, 2015
By
from San Luis Obispo, CA
Good Home Printer, Scanner, and Copier that accommodates both Letter and Legal size paper. Fairly easy to set-up on a MacBook computer with wireless capability. Good features like ability to turn off color and print in black & white, ability to print on both sides of a sheet of paper. Don't have a landline so have not faxed any documents.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Does 11X17 Printings
Date:May 4, 2015
By
from Sevierville, TN
The main reason I purchased this printer was that it would print 11X17 sheets and I needed that. The first printer I received didn't print correctly and after I called Brother and explained my situation they tested it and said there was an internal problem so they sent me another new printer which is working pretty well. They were extremely nice and very kind about that process.I print a lot of music I've composed and the only problem I have with it now is when I'm printing a 2nd side to already printed sheets it sometimes picks up 2 sheets at a time and throws off my page sequence which creates a big problem for me forcing me to reprint both sides of the music pages that do not sequence properly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Good Purchasse
Date:February 17, 2015
By
from Troy, AL
I received my order in a timely manner and, I am delighted about the purchase because I have always wanted 11"by1y" printing capabilities. Very good product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great printer so far at a great price
Date:February 6, 2015
By
from Nutley, NJ
I love this printer. Great value for the money The only problem so far is that it is very noisey sounds like a freight train. my last Brother printer was a lower priced one, that I worked to death and lasted over 3 years. A lot better than other brands but Brother wont let me tell you the names
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>