Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6520DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and Wireless Printing
Average Customer Rating:
3.118 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
9 of 17(53%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6520DW
Review 1 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J6520DW review
Date:December 7, 2014
By MHaas
from Washington, DC
One of the best printers I’ve ever had (in 30 years) and Brother services - both people and policies - are impressive. The printer is easy to understand and use and when I had a problem, Brother walked me through a diagnostic (already done using clear instructions, but they wanted to be sure) and sent a refurbished printer out to arrive two days later. All this is the kind of product and company that builds in loyalty.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This company stands behind their products!
Date:November 2, 2014
By Andrew
from Los Angeles, CA
Just before the end of the warranty period, my all-in-one had a problem. I called Brother and they immediately offered a free of charge replacement.
This is great service and the new device works fine.
Keep up with the good work!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works graet
Date:September 14, 2014
By Anonymous
from Tavares FL
I had some confusion when I loaded the program for the MFC-J6520DW Printer because I also had a Brother ADS-2000 copier already loaded onto my computer. The new program erased or I should say modified the program for the copier so both units could use the same program. After my initial panic I discovered that the “Control Center 4” that came with the 6520 operated both machines faster and more effectively.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 4 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best printer
Date:January 5, 2014
By bobby1
from nj
This printer is the beast I bought so far. I will recommend to everybody who is interested in buying the printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:December 2, 2013
By maiden
from Egg Harbor, NJ
I was very excited to be able to get an 11x17 scanner/printer for so low a price. It does exactly what I needed it for. Great product. It is very versatile and a super addition to all my other office equipment. I have other Brother machines and I am quite satisfied with all Brother products. Keep up the good works! Brother Co.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 6 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
More features and very low price
Date:November 29, 2013
By PatS
from Rochester, Michigan
This scanner and printer is the best purchase I made this year. For self employed and needing 11 x 17 scanner, I could not believe when I heard about it for such a low price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Pick for my requirements
Date:January 5, 2014
By RobC
from Rhode Island
I'm a bit technically challenged but was happy to be able to get the first PC (of three computers) connected wirelessly and operate all aspects of the Printer wirelessly pretty quickly. Took two installations each for the next PC and lap top but was successful with all, and can also print from our I Pads and I Phones. Very Satisfied with the product so far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:December 18, 2013
By ORBob
from Portland, Oregon
My old printer (a different brand) died suddenly and I was stuck. After poking around the net and looking at features and reviews, I came upon this printer.
Size was a definite issue also since the printer sits inside a computer desk, next to the tower, under the keyboard tray.
I originally looked at 6920, but the second paper tray made it too tall (ditto with the 6720). So I bought the 6520.
Installation was a breeze, and it works just great.
My only "issue" is the printer's output tray. Since the printer sits under the keyboard tray, my knees are there. This means I will normally keep the output tray closed (i.e., pushed inside the printer). And when I print, I just need to remember to pull it out. This is not a major issue, but becomes major if another family member prints from their laptop over our in-house network. If they don't think to run in to my "man cave" and pull out the output tray, their printed pages spill out onto the floor.
It would be nice if there was some little mechanical gadget inside the printer that would extend the output tray when printing starts.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
behemoth
Date:September 25, 2014
By SeriousUser2
from Birmingham AL
It is big, fast, and NOISY! Did I mention that it is NOISY?
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 10 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Date:December 10, 2013
By boomboom2
from Ahwahnee, CA
Good machine so far but I think there's a problem with the Windows 8 drivers. Every time I want to use the printer I have to run the troubleshoote to access the printer from 8. Dell tech could not isolate the problem but oc course blamed Brothers driver, I have no problem accessing from my Windows XL or Vista machines.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Fair at best
Date:September 13, 2014
By Tgreenmi
I generally do not do reviews, but I felt people need to know before they spend their money on this. I give it a fair because of so MANY issues. It prints nice and has a nice big scan deck. Then things go down hill. 1. The self feed to print simple cards done nothing but JAM. Every other printer I have ever had printed the cards no problem yet this one it jammed it up and if it did SOMEHOW not jam it was so off center it was worthless. Should have sent it back then but I was stupid. 2. Need to print carbon-less legal papers. Well my brother laser prints no problem. This paper weight it grabs more than one sheet most of the time. So it prints only part and sometimes it jams....I just wanted to print the legal papers why do you think I got the large scan deck and the second paper tray. Another reason this printer is a fail. 3. I can print wireless but I can not scan. It used to scan and then it stopped. Had to call for help took 45 min of sitting there to get it up and working. Only to have it stop again. I am very very VERY let down with Brother. I have had 2 brother laser printers and I bought this one thinking brother makes good things. Well I should have NEVER gotten this one. This will frustrate you to no end. When it works its great and the key is when it works. The man reason I went with Brother is that they have live support for free. SO I give brother thumbs up for that but thumbs down for this printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
VERY LOUD
Date:February 7, 2014
By HuBee
from OLEAN, NY
I USE THIS PRINTER ALMOST EXCLUSIVELY FOR 11 X 17 PRINTING AND SCANNING SO I HAVE LEDGER STOCK LOADED IN THE TRAY AND USE THE BACK TRAY FOR THE OCCASIONAL 8.5 X 11 PRINTS. I BOUGHT THIS PRINTER TO REPLACE AN OLDER BROTHER MFC6490CW THAT NEEDED A NEW PRINT HEAD. HOME OFFICE B&W PRINT QUALITY IS GOOD BUT THE MACHINE IS VERY LOUD WHEN PRINTING THE 11 X 17'S, MY OLD MACHINE WAS QUITE A BIT QUIETER. YOU PROBABLY WOULD NOT WANT TO USE THIS MACHINE IN A QUIET OFFICE ENVIRONMENT OR YOU'LL BE WAKING UP YOUR CO-WORKERS.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
DO NOT BUY
Date:December 18, 2014
By Community
I have had nothing but a bad experience with this printer. I would give it 0 stars if I could, it has given me nothing but frustration. It is not intuitive, can't connect wirelessly, and when I can (on a rare chance) it refuses to cooperate and print a simple document. And when it does accept it, the paper jams, of course. When I unjam it, it still says it's jammed. And you can forget about printing on anything other than plain paper, don't even think about printing on tabloid or card stock. This machine CANNOT handle it. I always end up having to go to Staples to print. A multitude of problems with this machine. I went to a friends house, connected to their Canon and printed on the spot in a matter of seconds. That is how it should be. Please save your money. I think I will throw this one out the window (given the frustration it has caused) and buy a Canon.
Review 14 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not so good
Date:April 22, 2014
By dwnothappy
Kept getting a paper jam message. Could not see any paper in machine. Message wouldn't clear after several attempts going through the motions in the troubleshooting section of manual. Called the number and they sent me a new one. Different model, but no user guide or set up manual, and no sofware to put into laptop...so I'm still out of a printer. Called number again and left message to send me these things...Will see what happens.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Date:February 6, 2014
By toohardtofindanunusednick
Wireless setup was easy and, the tech support (telephone) I received was excellent.
I needed the support as the included software would NOT install on the latest version of MAC or Server 2008 and I needed to be assisted with specific downloads to install the correct software.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Installation Process for MFC-J6520DW
Date:December 24, 2013
By Anonymous
from Portand, OR
I really liked the MFC-J6520DW for all of it's features. But the installation was (and still is) a nightmare for which I am choosing to stop. I received the unit on a Friday and it took until Sunday to get the network to recognize it. And I was in chat and email conversation with support the whole time. Having two networks, the printer would not recognize the network keys or passwords of either network. It would not accept the WPS pin from the routers. At this point, chat support gave up. I finally force fed it into my router. Then, my Macbook Air recognized it the printer and it worked very well.
While I worked on getting the wireless to work, I tried to install the MAC on the wired LAN connection and this would not work with my MAC as it is running Maverick. For Maverick, you have to go to the web to get the installation components which was piece-meal and difficult to figure out. However, one of my Windows XP platforms did work by wired LAN just fine.
So, abandoning the wired solution to go totally wireless, the XP platform would not properly load the drivers. Again. I had a support person on the phone the whole way and that person finally gave up to send me to some one with more technical knowledge.... but it would be the next day before I could talk with them.
So, I had to trick it by loading the solution software package and then reload the divers. While it connected , the solution software did not respond like it was connected. It would tell me there was no printer while, in fact, it was printing. Another mess.
BTW: This printer will not duplex wired and wireless modes... it is one or the other. So, after three days, I am stopping the madness and taking this back to the seller and buying a competitive unit from a well known maker.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J6520DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Bad Printer and bad customer service
Date:November 8, 2013
By holly
Bought this machine a several days ago. First time I printed 4x6 pictures they had black lines through them. Emailed customer service back and forth and they told me to clean the rollers which I had already done form a conversation with their chat team. Still no good prints. Finally had to setup an appt. for their customer service to call me (and then they could not guarantee that a person would call when the appt was set up for). They finally got the black lines out of the pictures of course I again had to clean the rollers. Now after 8 pictures I have the black lines again. I feel for the price I should not have an issue with having to clean rollers when I first get a printer. Also after 8 pictures I should not have to clean rollers again. I resent an email to the Brother customer service at 4:09 pm Mountain time. Still no word back from them. Bad printer and bad customer service. Will not buy a Brother printer again. This printer is going back to the store.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.