Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6510DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and 3.3" TouchScreen Display
Average Customer Rating:
3.746 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
41 of 55(75%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6510DW
Review 1 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
paper jams constantly - completely unusable
Date:October 25, 2011
By businessmom
from Colorado
Do not buy this printer!
All worked well for the first several months. But then...we've been unable to use the printer for several months now because of constant paper jams.
Took it in for warranty service, got it back with a new paper tray, it printed 3 pages and is back in the constant paper jam mode - completely stopped and can't print a single page. Haven't even had it back for an hour and am already without a printer again!
Also, the copy quality is awful - always was. We had to keep our old printer for making copies because this one is illegible.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great machine, great price
Date:July 5, 2011
By Anonymous
from Hattiesburg, MS
First, let me say this is just a J6710DW without the extra paper tray, so you should probably read those reviews too.
I don't do a lot of printing, but like others who bought this, I needed scanning and printing of oversize stuff (music, in my case). For under 3 bills, this is about your only choice.
Performance:
Greyscale printing is average, but you can make it very very good by changing the print settings (which of course slows it down somewhat).
Color printing I would say is somewhat below average. However, I have not spent any time tweaking this for better performance. Why? Because I virtually never print color, and when I do, it's just to run off a web page for friends/family. I don't do photo printing, so I can't comment about that.
Yes, the supplied black cartridge seems to be dwindling fast. No worries. For $30 (if you shop hard) you can get the high-cap black, which is rated for 2400 pages. Folks, this is really cheap black printing.
Software:
I've dealt with HP and Lexmark software installations for MFC machines in recent years, and this Brother was BY FAR the slickest, easiest software configuration and setup.
Interface:
It took me a while to find all the print settings and figure out how to create the presets. It's a little clumsy, but it works. I can now print 9.5x12.5 in high quality black. I dare ya to find another printer for under two bills that can do THAT!
Scanning:
Scanning quality is really excellent, and fast too. I scanned a few things at the higher end (1200x1200) and I thought I was seeing jaggies. Then I took a magnifying glass to my original and lo and behold, it had tiny little jaggies I couldn't even see with the naked eye. But the scanner was picking that up, so when I blew up the scan on screen, there they were. It's also extremely fast. For scanning text at 300x300 dpi, it will rip through a page in about 10 seconds. That's including the few seconds it takes to get started after you click the button.
Other Info:
I've had no problem with any of the feeding. My papers feed straight and true through the ADF, through the manual feeder, and out of the paper tray. I use standard copier paper 99% of the time.
Note about printing black: There's a cool print setting called "Ink Save Mode" which can save you a lot of black ink. With this option selected, whenever you print a large area of solid black, the printer will draw the outline of the black area, but it doesn't fill in all the black space. For draft-type printing, it's very useful, or if you print scans that have large black areas on them. (Don't use this option when printing music, or else all your quarter notes will look like half notes ;-)
Summary:
Overall, I'm very pleased with this machine. If I had it to do over again, I'd pony up the extra $50 and buy the 6710 just to have the second paper tray. Absolutely no complaints about this machine though. A few things could be better, but it's a good deal for the price, and it does everything I need it to do without being fussy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Mediocre
Date:September 30, 2011
By CaseyResources
from Colorado
Most features work great, with the exception of two, which are horrible. The document feeder is very crooked, so all our scans come out crooked.
It absolutely will not print light shaded lines or features. Anything shaded less than about 40% will not show up, unlike any other printer I've ever used which will print down to 10% to 15% shading.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
A fine printer, but.........
Date:August 20, 2011
By Eugene
from Timberlake, NC
Setup was easy. Print quality excellent. One problem was a killer for me. This printer would not feed a single # 10 envelope from the MP tray. I need my deskside printer to print single envelopes without having to go through setup and resize the paper (Plus, when I did it, it still didn't work.) The printer printed what I wanted to print on the envelope on letter-size paper from the main tray. When I called the Brother help desk, they insisted that the printer was working properly. Telling them that my Brother Laser printer would feed #10 envelopes from the MP tray didn't affect them. Speaking to a supervisor didn't help either. The Brother help desk sucks. I placed this printer in service on a Thursday afternoon. I removed it from service Friday afternoon and put it back in the box. UPS picked it up on Monday. The same UPS truck that picked up this printer delivered it's Epson replacement.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Great office MFC for price
Date:July 6, 2011
By officeuser
from Pittsburgh, PA
I needed a desktop office printer/scanner for color 11 x17 documents so I do not need to run to a store all the time. This cost effectively solved my need for every day use. The scan does not pick up detail or soft colors. The colors on prints are not accurate. Printing is slow. If I'm preparing a presentation for a client, I still go to the print shop.
The scanner hasn't jambed once! Scan quality is the same as other home office MFC brands.
Machinge is not recommended if primary function is for photography use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Versital Printer
Date:September 12, 2011
By Ironpedler
from Tacoma, Wa.
I deal a lot, with drawings and literature. With the 11x17 and duplex features, I can reproduce literture easily. I can also print drawings, emailed to me in 11x17 size, which is great for both quotations and field work. The ink seems to last a ver long time.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Gets the job done
Date:September 1, 2013
By HomeUser25
Large footprint, long and noisy start-up and shut-down, and a pain with only one paper tray. That being said, works fine and, so far, lasts a long time. Print speed and quality are good and ability to do large size documents/art is super. Would buy again.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
disappointed
Date:August 18, 2011
By shellya
from Boynton Beach, FL
I took delivery and returned it the following day. The specs misstated the speed of the machine and it was slower than the oldest color printer I have ever seen. I like and respect the Brother products so I bought the HL 5370DWT which corrected my problem. I would have preferred a printer of this style with a scanner and output of 11 x 17 but it was not offerred.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC J6510
Date:June 4, 2012
By BobbyK
from Seattle
I use this primarily for faxing and copying as I have a dedicated scanner and a separate Brother laser printer. The unit is well built, was easy to configure for wireless use, and a good value. I occasionally need to print contracts so the ledger size ability comes in handy. The inks are also inexpensive compared to other brands.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Verdict still out
Date:July 4, 2011
By chkm8k2
from Pickerington, OH
I've had this machine less than a month now and had to replace the first one I purchased under warranty due to a printing issue with the black ink. Had both wireless connectivity issues as well as print head issues. Will say that Brother support is top notch if you have problems. They might be located in India but they know their stuff. The second machine is working quite nicely so I am keeping my fingers crossed. I't a big machine so make sure it fits the space you have for it. My daughter has an HP and loves it....
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Covers all my multiple use printer requirements
Date:June 9, 2013
By Flowers
from Clinton, MA
Easy to use this machine - faxing, printing and copying. The colors are as expected. So glad I choose this model.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Paper feed
Date:November 25, 2012
By Ronbrp
I am very disappointed in the paper feeding on this machine....I continually get multiple pages going through the printer. I have to only use a relatively few sheets at a time.
Very frustrating!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:December 13, 2012
By Trulyunhappy
from Morley MI
I have bought and owned nothing but brother for the last 15yrs. Loved everyone, UNTIL I bought this one, the most expensive one I ever bought talked for yrs I wanted one like this. The only printer I ever owned that will not feed card stock of 65lbs I have to manually feed each peice and it rarely prints straight. Jams more then any printer I ever owned. I am a business owner and print my tags on card stock, they look like bad now, I use this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Doesn't print envelopes well
Date:December 5, 2011
By AD1NorthCarolina
from Washington, NC
Good price for an 11 x 17 printer but it does not print #10 envelopes well due to the wide margins they have set for the #10 setting. It means the return address has to be more than a inch from the left edge which looks ridiculous! Manual feed can be clumsy asking you to reload often. Ink cartridge life seems good. I am a marketing design company and sending invoices and letters in envelopes that look poorly designed is a real problem to me.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Constant Jams
Date:March 6, 2012
By Norden
from Pennsylvania
I'm sure I would like the large format printing, IF I could make it print without jamming! Manual feed prints crooked, no matter how hard I try to put paper in straight! I've now wasted hundreds of pages trying to get straight prints!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
User friendly All-In-One
Date:October 19, 2011
By Mochilo
from Rockton, IL
User friendly machine, specially the wireless feature. The double face printing is a great paper saver. I'm very glad I purchased it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good ppurchase
Date:September 30, 2013
By dotty
from Elkin, NC
I cannot get my computer to work with this printer as I cannot plug in the USB port to the printer. I can copy but cannot print from computer. Ifeel it will be great if I could get it plugged in.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not Happy
Date:April 14, 2014
By Legalsec
from Birmingham, AL
This printer was purchased for a small law firm. I usually put out about 200 pages a day of printed material and copies. This machine takes approximately 30 seconds after copying to set itself up for the next document. This has been a big problem as I find myself constantly waiting to copy the next document. Thirty Seconds doesn't sound like a lot, but when you are in a hurry it really makes a difference. Also, it eats Brother ink. I have never had a machine that consumes black ink so quickly. I put a black XL in on 3/28 and it was empty on 4/7 (10 days). This was using the machine regularly and not cleaning the heads or anything. None of the machines I have ever used have used ink that quickly. I can say that support has always been good and the color quality of the print is good. We loved our old Brother black and white printers, but I'm not happy with this color printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer!
Date:September 17, 2011
By meeshpie32
from Baton Rouge, LA
This printer is a great buy and i would greatly recommend this to anyone!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value
Date:January 20, 2014
By printfax
from Michiogan
So far this printer has out performed any of my previous printers that cost a great deal more. The support also is superior to the popular brands that I have owned.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>