Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J6510DW

Professional Series Inkjet with Full 11"x17" Capability and 3.3" TouchScreen Display
Average Customer Rating:
3.746 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
41 of 55(75%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J6510DW
Review 21 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer!
Date:September 17, 2011
By meeshpie32
from Baton Rouge, LA
This printer is a great buy and i would greatly recommend this to anyone!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 22 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Versital Printer
Date:September 12, 2011
By Ironpedler
from Tacoma, Wa.
I deal a lot, with drawings and literature. With the 11x17 and duplex features, I can reproduce literture easily. I can also print drawings, emailed to me in 11x17 size, which is great for both quotations and field work. The ink seems to last a ver long time.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great choice for home MFC
Date:February 14, 2013
By WalkeratHome
from Pittsburgh, PA
This is a great choice for a home mfc. It was easy to install and easy to connect to wirelessly with all of our devices. The printing is adequate, but I am use to a solid ink printer not an inkjet so there is a big difference. I would definitely recommend this machine!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 24 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Good Machine
Date:January 11, 2013
By GAME
The MFC-J6510DW is superb. If someone is able to istall the Printer and the driver, the you are good to go. It is easy to use, It prints and scans fast, and beautifully well. These are the features that I have used so far.
Review 25 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:December 4, 2012
By Eric10
from Upper Left Coast
Machine is a good buy. Only printer that I can afford that will print my mechanical drawings on one sheet of paper. Only "problems" that I have with it are that it won't copy/fax duplex - just one side at a time - and doesn't have a second paper drawer. Actually, about 4.5 stars.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 26 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
MFC-J6510DW
Date:December 3, 2012
By Bentwaters
from Missouri
I bought it because I wanted a wireless device. It was easy to link up to my router and two computers. I only print a few pages per week. The only flaw I've noticed is that at times it may try to pull more than one piece of paper through at one time and will then jam. Cleaing the jam means going through a series of steps, some of which are not required but still must be done in order to satisfy its internal instruction set. To mitigate this, I open the paper tray and riff the paper in it a few times every week or two.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 27 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:December 3, 2012
By Anonymous
from new york
Its nice &useful product.i like it over all . But I preferred leaser printer.earlier i don't know the difference now i know.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 28 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good value.
Date:December 3, 2012
By Jesse
from Novi, MI
Reliable printer from my Windows - 7 PC. We do have occasional problems printing from the Ipad, although this is likely an Ipad related issue. We've had one paper jam in 12 months. Unit has a footprint a bit larger than most since it will print 11x17. Ink use and cost seems reasonable.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 29 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
fax problems
Date:December 3, 2012
By mcfrocke
from Jamesville VA
Printer works well, although fax does not work unless I am at the unit and press a button to receive a fax.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 30 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Happy with price and performance
Date:November 26, 2012
By dank
from Kelowna Canada
Had some difficulty with set up, but once completed, it's been great. Very easy to use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 31 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
excellent for the price
Date:November 26, 2012
By tvwc
from Willow Creek, CA
I am very happy with it- prints very fast and you can load a lot of paper in the tray. I would recommend this to anyone who needs to print a lot of copies on a semi frequent basis.
Cons: will not print or scan if one of the colors is too low on ink.
Review 32 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Decent All in One Printer
Date:November 25, 2012
By beef1956
from Wadsworth, OHIO
This printer is fairly user friendly! Works very well with WiFi. Easy set up on your laptop! My only dislike is the extensive time the printer takes to recognize a page inserted in the auto document feeder and in-between functions. Very slow!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 33 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:November 25, 2012
By NDTIII
from Baton Rouge, La
Large capacity ink cartridges alows me to work for long periods of time without worring about ink. Very fast and produces high quality prints. I can do everything I need from my desk. A very high quality printer!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 34 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
useability
Date:November 25, 2012
By xxxx
from seattle
the printer itself performs as well as expected. i am very disappointed the brother did not spend any time developing a driver for my printer that will work with windows 8. in order to make my printer work i had to reinstall 7 and therefore lost everything that was on 8 that had migrated from the original 7. worst experience i've ever had.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 35 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:November 25, 2012
By caro
from Orland, CA
The Brother J6510DW was purchased for use in the preschool I run from my home. It was specifically purchased because of the 11 X 17" paper capability.
The copier is reliable and easy to clear if the rare paper jam occurs. I like the ability to purchase separate color cartridges, rather than discarding a tricolor cartridge with only one color fully used.
Original copies made by sending the information wirelessly from my computer are of good quality. My one complaint is that color copies made on the printer itself look faded and do not have a good quality of color.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 36 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
User friendly All-In-One
Date:October 19, 2011
By Mochilo
from Rockton, IL
User friendly machine, specially the wireless feature. The double face printing is a great paper saver. I'm very glad I purchased it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great machine, great price
Date:July 5, 2011
By Anonymous
from Hattiesburg, MS
First, let me say this is just a J6710DW without the extra paper tray, so you should probably read those reviews too.
I don't do a lot of printing, but like others who bought this, I needed scanning and printing of oversize stuff (music, in my case). For under 3 bills, this is about your only choice.
Performance:
Greyscale printing is average, but you can make it very very good by changing the print settings (which of course slows it down somewhat).
Color printing I would say is somewhat below average. However, I have not spent any time tweaking this for better performance. Why? Because I virtually never print color, and when I do, it's just to run off a web page for friends/family. I don't do photo printing, so I can't comment about that.
Yes, the supplied black cartridge seems to be dwindling fast. No worries. For $30 (if you shop hard) you can get the high-cap black, which is rated for 2400 pages. Folks, this is really cheap black printing.
Software:
I've dealt with HP and Lexmark software installations for MFC machines in recent years, and this Brother was BY FAR the slickest, easiest software configuration and setup.
Interface:
It took me a while to find all the print settings and figure out how to create the presets. It's a little clumsy, but it works. I can now print 9.5x12.5 in high quality black. I dare ya to find another printer for under two bills that can do THAT!
Scanning:
Scanning quality is really excellent, and fast too. I scanned a few things at the higher end (1200x1200) and I thought I was seeing jaggies. Then I took a magnifying glass to my original and lo and behold, it had tiny little jaggies I couldn't even see with the naked eye. But the scanner was picking that up, so when I blew up the scan on screen, there they were. It's also extremely fast. For scanning text at 300x300 dpi, it will rip through a page in about 10 seconds. That's including the few seconds it takes to get started after you click the button.
Other Info:
I've had no problem with any of the feeding. My papers feed straight and true through the ADF, through the manual feeder, and out of the paper tray. I use standard copier paper 99% of the time.
Note about printing black: There's a cool print setting called "Ink Save Mode" which can save you a lot of black ink. With this option selected, whenever you print a large area of solid black, the printer will draw the outline of the black area, but it doesn't fill in all the black space. For draft-type printing, it's very useful, or if you print scans that have large black areas on them. (Don't use this option when printing music, or else all your quarter notes will look like half notes ;-)
Summary:
Overall, I'm very pleased with this machine. If I had it to do over again, I'd pony up the extra $50 and buy the 6710 just to have the second paper tray. Absolutely no complaints about this machine though. A few things could be better, but it's a good deal for the price, and it does everything I need it to do without being fussy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Verdict still out
Date:July 4, 2011
By chkm8k2
from Pickerington, OH
I've had this machine less than a month now and had to replace the first one I purchased under warranty due to a printing issue with the black ink. Had both wireless connectivity issues as well as print head issues. Will say that Brother support is top notch if you have problems. They might be located in India but they know their stuff. The second machine is working quite nicely so I am keeping my fingers crossed. I't a big machine so make sure it fits the space you have for it. My daughter has an HP and loves it....
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good ppurchase
Date:September 30, 2013
By dotty
from Elkin, NC
I cannot get my computer to work with this printer as I cannot plug in the USB port to the printer. I can copy but cannot print from computer. Ifeel it will be great if I could get it plugged in.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for MFC-J6510DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Gets the job done
Date:September 1, 2013
By HomeUser25
Large footprint, long and noisy start-up and shut-down, and a pain with only one paper tray. That being said, works fine and, so far, lasts a long time. Print speed and quality are good and ability to do large size documents/art is super. Would buy again.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>