Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J650DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with TouchScreen Display plus TouchPanel
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
22 of 27(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J650DW
Review 1 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome product
Date:August 3, 2014
By TedH
from Tennessee
Got to be the best printers on the market; it won't be long before I will be buying another to go with a second computer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect machine!
Date:July 3, 2014
By bootlegger13
from Clayton, NJ
Have not used fax...print, scan and copy couldn't be better. Compact and stylish machine. Very easy to use!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid, Simple & Superb!
Date:June 4, 2014
By RockyWayne
from New Castle, Indiana
I was using a competitors product and for whatever reason was getting unacceptable results. I thought about it and I had owned many Brother products over the years and had never had one fail me. Therefore, I threw my one-year- old brand-x printer in the dumpster, purchasing my Brother MFC-J650DW the same day. Now I am enjoying great results at a competitive price. P.S. I noticed that my new printer weighs 50% more than brand-x. That's ok, it's not heavy, it's my BROTHER!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Our Best Multi-Function
Date:May 30, 2014
By Debiann21
from Northwest Florida
We have only had it a week with only limited use so far. We haven't sent a fax yet. That is only an occasional occurance anyway. It was very easy and quick to set up with all of our computers and we have both Window 8 64-bit and Windows 7 32-bit and 64-bit machines. It was an easy set up with our Android tablets and phones, Iphone and Ipad. This is definitely the fastest printer ever. The printing is crisp and so far the colors are true and sharp. If my opinion changes I will re-post.
I also think this is a very reasonably priced printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Have problem this time.
Date:May 27, 2014
By Cogline
from DishNet in Scottsburg, VA
Brother printer at sister's house would print without my PC having any wireless devices (through Ethernet, maybe?) This printer was setup correctly, but both my PC (now with wireless adapter), and laptop show the printer as Offline. Called tech support and they walked me through a troubleshooting. Pinged printer and got a "Destination net/host unreachable" report. Then concluded that we have a problem such as two computers sharing the same IP address. I did receive a message about this PC having the same IP as another, but don't know how to resolve. My daughter would love to be able to print from her laptop. Any ideas (preferably without having to turn my PC off for 24 hours)? Thanks.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J650DW
Date:March 23, 2014
By JimMCD
from Dallas, TX
Great printer easy to use and set up. No problems at all. I love it
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 7 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer!
Date:March 22, 2014
By Golden
from New York State
I love this printer. Very easy to set up, painless connection to wireless and Google Cloud. Printing is also very nice. Replaces another company's inkjet that was unreliable. I have owned 2 other Brother printers (still have one laser) and neither one of them ever disappointed me.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product for the price point
Date:February 5, 2014
By GvilleRealEstateAgent
from Gainesville, FL
Upgraded to this model from a MFC-J430W about 2 weeks ago. Owned the J430W for over a year and had no problems. Spouse took the J430W to use at work. His work is very stingy with purchasing equipment. I print between a Brother color laser printer and the MFC-J650DW for my real estate flyers, brochures, and business cards. I love the automatic duplex printing on this J6650DW! The printer is in another room and I can duplex wirelessly without getting up and down from my desk. I had no problems with setup either. I am running Windows 7 on my laptop. The color for give away flyers and brochures is very acceptable.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Satisfied Customer
Date:February 5, 2014
By Mach1
from Ohio
Have had this printer for only a week but so far I'm very impressed with the overall performance. The prints are high quality, speedy printing & scanning, offers many functions, easy wireless setup, touchscreen is simple to follow and perfect size for visual. I don't use the fax so I can't comment on that but overall I give this printer a 5 star rating for my experience. Time will tell if it holds up on quality but it looks sturdy and well made. This is my first experience with a Brother printer, I had a HP for many years.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
wow
Date:January 21, 2014
By seahawk59
from arlington wa
when I got this all in one printer it works great to print things out or to make up photos
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Always buy Broher machines
Date:January 12, 2014
By gray
from Rhinbeck, NY
Never disappointed with a Brother machine no matter what I have bought.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Wonderful Technology
Date:January 10, 2014
By vinomaker
from Chicago burbs
I have had HP, Epson and Lexmark printers in the past and the straw that broke the camels back was all the issues that I was having with Lexmark. Having to reset the PC and the printer in between printing separate documents with all the firmware and software updates was a drag. I love the ease of flexability with Brother and the added function of being able to print from my smart phone or tables without having the have my PC on. Great product and excellent print quality.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Highly Satisfied purchase
Date:December 26, 2013
By HighFlyer
from Glendale Az
Have used brother products for the past several years and found them to be easy to operate, efficient in printing all types of products and economical to operate.
Further they are reliable and have long functioning life as an all around printer, fax, scanner and copier.
As an owner of several variations of brother printers I have found them all to be excellent.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice - easy setup
Date:June 16, 2014
By jjb1130
from California
CDW has always delivered on their promise. Delivered and easy to set-up, wireless set-up simple and printing away within 15 minutes of taking out of the box.The print quality is good and plenty speedy for any home office. Color also very good. This is an inexpensive, solid printer for general use (office or home) and well worth the small investment.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
got another one
Date:June 16, 2014
By bigEDB
from northwest florida
Have always enjoyed MFC's. No need to buy anything else. And we will be using the wireless feature.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Another Quality Brother
Date:May 29, 2014
By JMG2953
from Holiday, FL
This MFC model replaced an older one (MFC-665CW) that served us well since purchased in 2007. Its installation procedure, while similar to that of its now-retired brother (no pun intended) seemed incrementally easier. I always take my time with installations, so no speed records were set; but things happened as they were supposed to, except for one small hangup while registering some accompanying software. The second installation, on my wife's computer, gave no problems at all.
I can appreciate the need to save paper and cost by reducing printed material to a minimum. That said, the included Basic Users Manual is a real eye test, having not only been shrunk from that of the 2007 model, but also printed in a grey ink rather than a strong black - a real challenge for these old eyes.
It's too soon to speak of this model's reliability, but if it carries on the Brother tradition of dependability as I've experienced it, some years will pass before I'll be writing another one of these reviews.
//jm
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Oh Brother the printer
Date:April 5, 2014
By Chief300
from Sacramento, California
After only a few months I am completely satisfied, however, I have not fully explored the possibilities of this machine. Having only used the printing and copying capabilities so far, I am very pleased with the results. I am especially pleased with the two sided printing capabilities. I have not had a printer before with this very useful function.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good buy for money.
Date:January 11, 2014
By OldCharlie
from Starke, FL
I recently purchased this All-In-One printer and found it to be a simple set up for WIFI. I have not had time or opportunity to set up the other features and I no longer seem to have the functional know-how I used to with tech issues, therefore I put it off. I am satisfied with the printer so far and have had many Brother printers/all-in-ones before so I trust the product entirely.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good printer for the price
Date:December 22, 2013
By johnny5
from NJ
The printer is easy to set up and use. It is fast enough and has works wireless with 3 computers in my house. The paper tray is big enough and the print quality is good given that is not a lazer printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J650DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
well..
Date:June 5, 2014
By reed
well, i guess i would say this is a good printer, if i could get it to work.. windows 7 keeps telling me there is an unknown device and when checked further, says that it has stopped service on the printer because of ' known problems '..code 43.. have installed, uninstalled, and reinstalled four or five times now.. all Brother info says successful install.. then windows stops it...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>