Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J615W

Compact Inkjet All-in-One With Wireless Networking for Home or Small Office
Average Customer Rating:
3.98 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
6
40 of 50(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J615W
Review 1 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value for the money
Date:March 6, 2011
By wsdk
from Dothan, AL
I have owned my MFC-J615W for about 6 months. I have used every feature so far, except the fax. Copier, printer, scanner and wireless feature have all worked great. I wish the copier was a little faster, but I have no complaints for the money.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer I Have Owned
Date:February 22, 2011
By zipdryve
from Rochester, NY
This printer was very easy to install & so is the ink. The only concern I had was how it would print pictures. That was obviously a foolish concern since it prints better quality pictures than my the photo printer I used to own ever did. It prints fast and the scanner works great. Thank you Brother for making an excellent product. Please keep quality your top priority. My only complaint is the paper tray that is very difficult to get back in. That to me is inconsequential when compared to the overall quality of this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC Love it
Date:February 17, 2011
By Johnny123
from milford ct
Sorry guys, I have a teenager that set it up for me. Nothing like clicking print from my laptop and having it print anywhere in the house. Great to have a fax in the house regardless of how outdated faxes are becoming. Good price, good product
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased
Date:February 15, 2011
By Zman
from Canandaigua, NY
Bought this machine as a back-up to my MFC 6890CDW while it was in for warranty repairs. Ink cartridges were identical, price was very reasonable and ship time was great. Works like a charm, both color & BW.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased...
Date:February 14, 2011
By CleveOH
Our daughter got this printer first and really liked it so, when our printer died I purchased one also. The price is right, it works like a charm, wasn't hard to set up the wireless and so far the ink hasn't run out or posed any problems. We're happy with our purchase.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:February 13, 2011
By Ricardo
from Minneapolis, MN
We installed it over Christmas and have been using it ever since. Wireless function works extremely well, installation was effortless. Love the brightly lit display. Prints faster than the HP we had, and print and color quality are great. An amazing number of features for the price. Jammed up once, but the paper was easy to remove, and it worked fine after that. Still haven't figured out how to get it to receive faxes, but that may be due to my ignorance, not the machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT size, GREAT features, GREAT price
Date:February 13, 2011
By GREATallAroundAllIn1
from Jacksonville, FL
I had to replace my HP printer/fax/copier/scanner after many years. It was a good machine, although there were occasional imaginary paper jams.
But, I am SO MUCH HAPPIER with this Brother all-in-one. First, due to its small size and appearance, I can leave it on top of the desk and not under and out of sight.
It is VERY easy to use. Changing the ink is MUCH easier than the HP was. It has all the right features. Scanning is a breeze, and you can easily select what to do with the scanned image. It is quiet, and fast.
Will likely not go back to HP after having this printer. Hopefully it lasts as long or longer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I'm pleased with my decision
Date:February 13, 2011
By Tamara
from Chicago, IL
I love this printer and the app for my I-phone is great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Extremely pleased!
Date:February 12, 2011
By BeckyP
from Fleming Island, FL
This product was so simple to set up to my laptop and desktop. The wireless feature is flawless throughout the house. I am very pleased with quality of the printing I have done so far. It is able to handle two different computers tasking it for printing items. Puts my old printer to shame!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best wireless printer
Date:February 12, 2011
By Sparkyb
from Columbus, Ohio
I truely love this computer. It's the best one I have purchased compared to other brands and some much easier to download the information into your computer. It's so quiet, can hardly tell it's printing. I would highly recommend getting this printer if you are looking for an all in one printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Exactly what I needed
Date:February 12, 2011
By Dewey
from Texas
I live in a hotel room over 150 davs a year and my Brother Multi-Function MFC-J615W is just what I needed and more. No need to pay to fax doccuments, or make copies. I love the automatic docment feeder, its a much better way to scan multiple pages. The set up instructions were concise and clear, and the support I received when I phoned was right on. Even though I'm tech-challenged they never made me feel that way.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice Purchase
Date:February 12, 2011
By JosieP
from Miami FL
Easy to install, practice, fast, wireless. Nice purchase
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
nice working machine
Date:February 12, 2011
By acolvin
Everything works great and has since Day 1. I use it a lot.
Review 14 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Network Printer
Date:February 12, 2011
By Traci
from Northeast, PA
We needed to upgrade our printer for personal and business use from our home. Our previous printer was and MFC usb model we purchased 6 years ago and we loved the features and multiple ink cartridges option. Looking through the best reviews on Brother printers, I came across this model and it had excellent reviews with an outstanding price tag to match.
We like the wireless capability, the same features and of course the 4 separate ink cartridges. The wireless setup to our home network was a cinch, it remains in sleep mode when not in use, but wakes up extremely fast when needed.
Printing speed is fast. Printing quality is excellent. We haven't used the fax yet, so I can't tell you about its functionality.
We have 2 main computers in our home office that use Windows 7 OS 64 bit systems, and we've had many headaches when it comes to setting up new software and programs on this type of system. It was not difficult with this printer, very pleased :)
Please note: You will need is a driver download from Brother to run this printer on your network if you are using Windows 7 64-bit. Download the full driver and software package to ensure you have everything you need. We are very please with our purchase, I hope this has helped you with our decision.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
My All In One Printer
Date:February 12, 2011
By FlipS
The J615W is absolutely perfect for my home and small business needs. It has totally met my positive expectations. All functions are superb. Thanks Brother!
Review 16 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy to Use
Date:February 12, 2011
By OverworkedMom
from Woodbridge, NJ
Works like a charm...easy to connect and use. Printing is beautiful and I like the sleek design. Only problem? might be that the ink seems to be used up quicker than my last Brother printer. But might be that I'm just using more than normal and not realizing it..Love Brother, it's my second model and would recommend to all!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Yet
Date:February 12, 2011
By Anonymous
from Tiverton, RI
After great success with a Brother Laser and very intent on reducing wires and devices, I bought the Multi Function Printer.
It is perfect. The wireless setup was easy and I can print upstairs in my computer room from either my wife's machine or mine. Little portable I keep downstairs can print as well. Separate ink cartridges reduce ink costs. It is quiet. Never Missfires. I have removed another printer and scanner and a whole bunch of wires. This printer provides exceptionallly clear images and scans. I would strongly recommend this to my best friends as being totally reliable. A quality product
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 18 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great printer
Date:February 12, 2011
By Anonymous
The built in wireless is fantastic. Print quality is great for documents. I have not printed any photos yet. It prints quickly. The only criticism I have is that the ink monitor says that the ink is low long before the cartridge needs to be changed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Completely pleased!
Date:February 12, 2011
By Indyfreespirit48
from Indianapolis, IN
Excellent home printer! Also, the ink replacement cartridges are reasonably priced.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for MFC-J615W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased
Date:October 22, 2010
By HeyJoe
from Cincinnati, OH
I've had this MFC for a few days now, and am very pleased with the purchase. Could I purchase something that performs any given function [print/scan/fax/etc] better/faster than this device? Sure. Could I find something that does all of the things the J615w does, and does pretty darned well, at this price point? Probably not.
PROs (many):
- looks great in my office
- does all of the things it says it does
- easy set up
- very slick integrated software package
- print and scan directly to/from my iDevice
- works with Mac and PC
- powers itself on/off as needed
- 4 ink cartridge system
Cons:
Like another reviewer mentioned, scanning multiple pages from the document feeder, they don't necessarily stack up neatly as they come out. If you're printing busy documents and in good quality mode, you probably won't get anywhere near the max PPM speed. My volumes are low, so for me these cons are not really an issue. And again, at this price point, the J615w still exceeds my expectations.
One other thing I thought worth mentioning. I'm replacing an older Brother MFC with this device (which still works, BTW). One thing I really didn't like about the older model was that it had a cleaning process that happened at random times when not in use, and it was kind of noisy. The new model doesn't do this - good improvement.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>