Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J4710DW

Business Smart™ Inkjet with up to 11"x17" Printing and Duplex Capabilities
Average Customer Rating:
3.447 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
9
28 of 47(60%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J4710DW
Review 1 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
YES
Date:November 11, 2014
By BUTTONAD
from chicago,IL.
HAVE NOT TRIED ALL OF THE MFC-J4710DW FEATURES BUT FOR NOW THE EASY TO USE TOUCH SCREEN IS MAKES MY PRINTING A REAL JOY. EACH DAY I PICK-UP MORE STEPS THAT KEEPS ME MORE AND MORE A SATISFIED PRINTER.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J4710DW
Date:September 25, 2014
By Dickiv
from Mattoon, IL.
The biggest plus for this brother all in one is the customer support. OUTSTANDING. The printer is the best we have had including HP, Epson, Canon.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best one Yet
Date:September 16, 2014
By psychodad
from Richmond, Va.
This is the 5th Brother printer I have bought. Except for the one that stopped working becuase the ink catcher filled up, they all have worked great. So far this one has also been great. With large paper trays I can print more without having to refill the tray every few days. The printing,scanning and faxing is acceptable. The faxing on this machine is a little slower than the others but it could also be my new phone service. Still no complaints from here and I will buy Brother printers again.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 4 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Total fulfillment of requirements
Date:July 11, 2014
By Harv
from Avon, CT
The MFC-J4710 has allowed me to discard a B size printer which had aperiodic use - with the inkjets unreliable. The MFC-J4710 has given me superb results with nary a hiccup.
I now have all my office functions in one reliable J4710DW machine - to supplement an older Brother 5240 printer (laser) which has delivered almost 100,000 copies
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great home business printer
Date:July 5, 2014
By Johnch
from Hanover MA
Great printer and easy setup. Printer also works great from my note 2 and my Kindle hdx with the brother Mobile print and scan. Love the two sided feature and 11x17 paper function.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 6 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
In A Word... WOW
Date:June 10, 2014
By JamesT
from Washington, DC Metro Area
I work for a small company and 4 of us work out of a home. When the "other brand" inkjet printer we were using saw it's last page, my boss went to a retail store and purchased a Brother Laser MFC. Other than the P Touch I was unfamiliar with their products and was hesitant. In a very short time I ended up loving it so much that when my printer gave out I purchased a Brother myself.
Since I starting working from my home 6 weeks ago, I have owned the MFC-J4710DW and couldn't be happier. I ordered it online from www.BrotherMall.com, it was here in 2 days. Setup was a breeze and the product has worked flawlessly since day 1. I did need to call Technical Support once because of an error message of the "paper tray empty". I didn't realize it has 2 paper trays, so it was operator error and not the printer (yes, I felt like an idiot...lol). Although that phone call is what has endeared me to Brother.
The call was answered with minimal hold time and the nice lady that answered had a southern accent. I asked where their tech support was located and her reply shocked me... in Tennessee! Not India, the Philippines, Malaysia or another far off land I will never visit, but Tennessee! An American company providing American jobs. As long as that fact and the quality of their machines remains the same, I will never purchase another band.
Thank you Brother I am a client for life!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Review MFC-J4710DW
Date:June 5, 2014
By Jael
from Chicago, IL.
So far I am very impressed. Just having it for only 5 days it does things so faster. I find scanning is much easier and I do not have to wait for color or black and white prints like I did on my old printer. I am not sure of the color yet. I haven't used it for pictures. I suspect the kind of paper you use has a lot to do with it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
New to brother
Date:June 3, 2014
By Sunbird
from Mesa, AZ.
So far so good, just learning to use, the duplex printing is really good.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice
Date:June 2, 2014
By TireShop
from Gilroy, CA
Just got printer so I can't really say much, but so far so good. I like the fact that it's wireless and any device that's connected to my network can send documents over to the printer wirelessly to be printed. Also, very compact and I also like that Brother thought about us business owners and the need for space in our offices. It was a great idea to hide the cables inside the machine.
Fast and very clear documents. A little slow before printing out 1st page, but I think that can be corrected if I really wanted to by changing the power save settings.
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Early Results Are Excellent!!
Date:May 13, 2014
By JandJ48
from Lake Wylie SC
Had an old HP multifunction and just wanted to modernize - especially go wireless for printing. Checked a bunch of machines and everyone I talked to pointed me to this one. I've had the J4710 for about 3 weeks and so far, I am impressed and understand why people recommended it. Easy setup and it works perfectly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 11 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love Love
Date:March 26, 2014
By WhiplashKustomsLady
from Huntsville AL
I had a brother before I purchased this one. I own a custom body shop and this is perfect for my business.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great purchase
Date:March 17, 2014
By twl60076
from Anderson Indiana
Great unit for my business. I own a electrical business and this works great for scanning and printing invoices.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 13 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Quality
Date:March 16, 2014
By danet
from Deerfield
I love the features on this printer, they are awsome! My best features are the wifi and the duplex functions!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 14 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 9, 2014
By SKondo
from Howey in the Hills, Fl
I had a Lexmark which was a good printer/scanner/fax. My reason for going with the Brother Printer is its compact design and that I can print from my IPad/Mobile device without jumping through any hoops. Once I got the WIFI set up it was easy sailing. I have put it through the paces and it is performing great. Keep up the good work.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent product
Date:March 5, 2014
By Barney9969
from Kingsford; MI
I love the Brother prouducts. They are very dependable, are priced right. If there is a problem it is handled fast and efficient. The features of my Brother printer is amazing. There is not a thing I can not do with it, two sided printing, photo printing, it is an excellent copier(the resolution is fantastic).
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:February 15, 2014
By DAE1
from Pueblo, Colorado
The brother printers are the easiest printers to set up that I ever owned. These are quality printers, that are inexpensive to operate. This is my second one I have purchased. One is at home and the other at my small business.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does EVERYTHING
Date:February 14, 2014
By AndreaS
from Austin, TX
I still haven't figured out all the ins and outs yet; I'm not sure the manual is complete about all that it can do? But the more I use it the more I find out what it does. EASY to scan to a file on your desktop or email. LOVE the bypass tray and the auto doc feeder. ITS WIRELESS!! It's neat and tidy; doesn't take up a lot of space and it's FLAT ON TOP so that if I need to, I have a bit of temporary extra freed-up space.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 18 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent for the price
Date:December 14, 2013
By tgshoe
from Texas
Excellent feature set and decent build quality. I am not sure why the negative reviews for this printer as I have had no issues with it. I have had it set up usb and wireless. 11x17 at this price range with the feature set it has is very good. Does it do everything perfect or the easiest, no but it would be much more expensive if it did. lower price always dictates a trade off. CD could be updated to include OS X and Windows updates, that way you would not be required to download drivers from internet. Better integrated installation process for all the drivers and software and the fact you can't use usb and wireless at the same time are the only real complaints I have. Maybe this can be fixed in a firmware/CD update? Print quality is good if you need darker prints don't print in draft mode select a higher quality mode.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:September 13, 2013
By MikefromAustin
from Austin, TX
After weeks of searching, I committed to this machine and I'm so happy with the result. This is the most feature rich printer I have ever owned. While it doesn't do much outstandingly well, it performs all of it's many functions without a hitch. Sleek-looking, compact, and with the ability to print 11x17, I couldn't be more pleased.
Pros: easy set up, easy menus, fast (on normal), many features, small footprint
Cons: Colors are only rich on photo paper, Plastic parts seem on the flimsy side
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:July 25, 2013
By required
wanted 11*17 capability without taking out a loan works great the rest is a bonus
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>