Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J4710DW

Business Smart™ Inkjet with up to 11"x17" Printing and Duplex Capabilities
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
12 of 18(67%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J4710DW
Review 1 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love Love
Date:March 26, 2014
By WhiplashKustomsLady
from Huntsville AL
I had a brother before I purchased this one. I own a custom body shop and this is perfect for my business.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great purchase
Date:March 17, 2014
By twl60076
from Anderson Indiana
Great unit for my business. I own a electrical business and this works great for scanning and printing invoices.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Quality
Date:March 16, 2014
By danet
from Deerfield
I love the features on this printer, they are awsome! My best features are the wifi and the duplex functions!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 4 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:March 9, 2014
By SKondo
from Howey in the Hills, Fl
I had a Lexmark which was a good printer/scanner/fax. My reason for going with the Brother Printer is its compact design and that I can print from my IPad/Mobile device without jumping through any hoops. Once I got the WIFI set up it was easy sailing. I have put it through the paces and it is performing great. Keep up the good work.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent product
Date:March 5, 2014
By Barney9969
from Kingsford; MI
I love the Brother prouducts. They are very dependable, are priced right. If there is a problem it is handled fast and efficient. The features of my Brother printer is amazing. There is not a thing I can not do with it, two sided printing, photo printing, it is an excellent copier(the resolution is fantastic).
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:February 15, 2014
By DAE1
from Pueblo, Colorado
The brother printers are the easiest printers to set up that I ever owned. These are quality printers, that are inexpensive to operate. This is my second one I have purchased. One is at home and the other at my small business.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does EVERYTHING
Date:February 14, 2014
By AndreaS
from Austin, TX
I still haven't figured out all the ins and outs yet; I'm not sure the manual is complete about all that it can do? But the more I use it the more I find out what it does. EASY to scan to a file on your desktop or email. LOVE the bypass tray and the auto doc feeder. ITS WIRELESS!! It's neat and tidy; doesn't take up a lot of space and it's FLAT ON TOP so that if I need to, I have a bit of temporary extra freed-up space.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 8 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent for the price
Date:December 14, 2013
By tgshoe
from Texas
Excellent feature set and decent build quality. I am not sure why the negative reviews for this printer as I have had no issues with it. I have had it set up usb and wireless. 11x17 at this price range with the feature set it has is very good. Does it do everything perfect or the easiest, no but it would be much more expensive if it did. lower price always dictates a trade off. CD could be updated to include OS X and Windows updates, that way you would not be required to download drivers from internet. Better integrated installation process for all the drivers and software and the fact you can't use usb and wireless at the same time are the only real complaints I have. Maybe this can be fixed in a firmware/CD update? Print quality is good if you need darker prints don't print in draft mode select a higher quality mode.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:September 13, 2013
By MikefromAustin
from Austin, TX
After weeks of searching, I committed to this machine and I'm so happy with the result. This is the most feature rich printer I have ever owned. While it doesn't do much outstandingly well, it performs all of it's many functions without a hitch. Sleek-looking, compact, and with the ability to print 11x17, I couldn't be more pleased.
Pros: easy set up, easy menus, fast (on normal), many features, small footprint
Cons: Colors are only rich on photo paper, Plastic parts seem on the flimsy side
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:July 25, 2013
By required
wanted 11*17 capability without taking out a loan works great the rest is a bonus
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
13 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:March 23, 2014
By Otto
from Dunedin, Florida
Great printer very user friendly especially when scanning easily saves as PDF you won't be disappointed.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Better than some
Date:April 2, 2014
By OfficeManager1
from High Point, NC
I bought this to replace my office printer. I first bought another printer but then took it back after a week for this one. The construction is a little flimsy. The paper trays don't come out easily and the touch screen will fall sometimes when I press a little hard so I have to be "gentle" with it if it's fully extended. It is a good printer otherwise. I like that it holds alot of paper (paper trays are hidden inside) and the cartridge replacement door is on the outside on the front. Duplexing feature is great. Because of my job, I'm hard on a printer and whether the construction will hold up remains to be seen. I would recommend to a friend but not to be used everyday.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 13 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Ok for the price
Date:September 7, 2013
By Slopes
Not bad for the price. Print quality is ok and wireless is good. First one bought was a lemon (jamming and smearing) but they replaced it with a new (not refurbished model).
By default - prints in reverse order, which is inconvenient.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Date:March 26, 2014
By schmidterditter
I would say so far it seems slower than the other printer. Hopefully it lasts longer (more than 2 years). And, the wait time for customer service is WAY TOO LONG. I don't care if it is free. If it takes a long time to get a customer service rep., then it's wasting MY TIME which is also valuable. If you're going to solicit free tech service, then get enough staff to run it efficiently!!! I will have to comment later on how well the printer performs. I have not had enough time to evaluate it because I've been on the phone trying to get it installed properly.
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 15 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
worst purchase ever
Date:March 14, 2014
By neveragain
from new orleans
Been having issue with the printer since I purchased it.. tech support is no help!!!
Review 16 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Took it back
Date:March 10, 2014
By JTT6300
It ate my paper, wouldn't allow single sheet feed without ruining the paper. It was noisy and seemed like it was about to come apart.
Bought a different brand.
Review 17 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not what we expected
Date:February 19, 2014
By beke
from Jackson, WY
This printer was very moderately used, but never printed as quickly as expected, especially in wireless mode. The scanning quality was good but the print quality was not as good as I expected. The tray for legal sized paper malfunctions regularly and the entire machine failed after a few months. The replacement machine arrived broken. Still waiting for number 3.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for MFC-J4710DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Very Disappointed
Date:December 19, 2013
By None112
Problems right out of the box. Mfg. support useless.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.