Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J470DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Duplex Printing
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
34
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
7
125 of 144(87%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J470DW
Review 1 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Better than I hoped for
Date:September 16, 2014
By greatgrandma
from Kennebunkport, Maine
My Brother printer was purchased 2 months ago and is so user-friendly that today is the first time I used the CD Users Manual.
I made one call to the Customer Service, and they were very helpful.
The speed of printing surpassed my expectation - did not realize how slow the old printer was.
I was not looking for double-sided copying, but use this handy feature often.
The Brother is not what I set out to buy, but the size, features, price, etc. were just what met my need.
I love this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does it All!
Date:September 10, 2014
By Crookedstick
from Stonewall TX
I rely on my intelligent brother and 2 sons to direct me on printers and computers. They plug them in, set them up and I hit "print" or copy etc. and hope they work. This printer has never failed me. In fact, that intelligent brother I referred to purchased THREE for his business and his wife's business after seeing how happy I was with mine. I use mine in our RV since we travel all over the country and must pay bills and do corrrespondence on the road. I would buy another in a heart beat!! Thank you brother!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Blessed Machine
Date:September 10, 2014
By aacarter1
from Crossville, TN
At first the black ink was not coming through but that is now a non-problem. I find that the photographs made on this unit are very good.
I have a MFC 9320CW printer that probably has a burned out laser diode. Is there any way to fix this? The print on one of the margins of the paper is very light and not dark like the main body.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 4 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Not Bad for Price
Date:August 18, 2014
By Kamran
from Skokie, IL
so far i have no problem with it. printing time is little slow but i can live with. only problem i have is updating takes long time. so far all good and ink is reasonable price as well
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good buy
Date:August 12, 2014
By snugs
from minnesota
like all the features especially the scan, as I do a lot of these. That it is wfi means my daughter can use it from her printer.
Makes nice copies
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value in Printing
Date:August 12, 2014
By Duster
from North Central Florida
Does great 2 sided coping - faultless in wireless communications. Seems quite efficient in ink used.All advertised attributes work well
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:August 9, 2014
By danodk
from Los Angeles
Works very well. Easy to use; easy to understand usage. Reliable.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great All in One Printer
Date:August 4, 2014
By Jkurow55
from Antioch.IL
Works great all the time.I like that you can scan,fax and copy all in one printer. Print photos with very good clarity. I would recommend to everyone I know.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:July 30, 2014
By Tracie
Love it so simple to use. Quality is excellent!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFCJ470DW
Date:July 29, 2014
By rafjr13
from Harlingen, Texas
This printer is working great just like the 4 year old Brother printer I had before. More features and faster newer model.
Great job
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Just what I wanted
Date:July 28, 2014
By SisterT
from Tn
I really like my printer. It was money well spent! All my projects have turned out nice and clear. The colors are great!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
surprisingly efficient
Date:July 28, 2014
By bestbirthdaypresent
from Bergenfield, NJ
This was a pleasant birthday present which I did not want until my old printer failed. I am glad this unit is here, it makes my activities less involved and FUN. It does more than I expected.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
dependable printer
Date:July 26, 2014
By likes2read
from Fayetteville, NC
This printer performs exactly as advertised. It prints superbly and I have had no difficulties with it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 14 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:July 23, 2014
By mannabread1947
from Ellendale, ND
I have been very happy with this printer from the day I ordered it right up to the present. This machine was very easy to set up for the internet and has excellent color rendition for my color prints and other similar color applications. The copy and scan functions are among the best that I have ever had and b & w printing is very good as well. I received the unit on the 16 of June and have already run at least 2 reams of paper through the system. Thank you Brother for your great product
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased
Date:July 21, 2014
By Jimpea
from Tucson, AZ
Exceptional multi use printer for the money. I couldn't be more pleased. Love the separate ink cartridges.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great printer
Date:July 21, 2014
By oldretiredman
from phoenix, AZ
I love this printer was easy to set up and is easy to use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 17 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J470DW Printer Review
Date:July 20, 2014
By delftcdr
from Columbia, SC
This is a wonderful little printer, especially for the price I paid for it. Only two issues with this printer (which have not reduced my positive attitude toward it): It tends to get paper jams, and I have yet to be able to figure out how to set two-sided printing as the default. I've owned this printer for four months, and have averaged 4 jams over those months; despite my use of the recommended 20lb paper. I will never regret buying this printer; it is a good mate for my Brother MFC-490CW which I also use on a daily basis to print those things which need to only be on one side of the sheet.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 18 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:July 20, 2014
By domino
from Saratoga Springs, NY
We love the printer. Does what it says it will do. The price was perfect and the cartridges will not break the bank. Other printer cartridges were very pricey. I would definitely recommend this printer to any home user.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 19 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Value!
Date:July 20, 2014
By Lesc
from New Jersey
I love this printer, a major upgrade from a 6 year old ink eating printer. I have not set up the fax yet so I cannot rate it. However, the print and copy functions are great, especially 2-sided printing option without needing to flip and reload paper. Best of all, to me, is the "fast mode" (draft mode in my old printer), which prints dark enough for almost all my needs. After 3 months I still have more than half my initial black cartridge ink, and that's after 1+ream of paper. Prints up to 22 pages per minute.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for MFC-J470DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J470DW PRINTER
Date:July 14, 2014
By cantyjojo
from Long Grove, IL.
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST ALL IN ONE I HAVE USED SO FAR...
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>