Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J4510DW

Business Smart™ Inkjet with up to 11"x17" Printing and 3.7" Swipe TouchScreen Display
Average Customer Rating:
3.503 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (175 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
54
3 stars
15
2 stars
18
1 star
31
119 of 175(68%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J4510DW
Review 1 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Small Package...Big Results
Date:November 26, 2012
By Peppermint
from Surprise, AZ
We, like many households seem to go through a new printer every few years. We have tried most of the brands out there and end up with either technology no longer supported, or repairs after warranty that don't justify the cost of the repair. We decided to try the new BrotherMFC-J451ODW for 2 reasons: very small size and very nice price. A bonus was the cost of the ink cartridges - they are WAY less than other brands on the market...big plus! This printer was very easy to set up and so far it has performed well. Ink cartridges are very accessible and packaged in kind of an ingenious way so they don't dry out while waiting to be purchased. The quality of printed page is good; scanning is easy and copying is just pushing a button. There are additional menu options for scanning and copying so you can set B&W, Color, resolution, etc. My husband and I would recommend this printer to anyone looking for a nice home printer that won't break the bank and has cost effective ink cartridges.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love our printer
Date:April 5, 2014
By RegMikeWall
We use to have a brother color laser printer, we love it, had it for almost 10 years, finally it gave up the ghost (died). We decided to purchase the MFC-J4510DW because we travel full time and this printer is both color and duplex. It is also about 50 lbs lighter. Some have complained about the noise; however, we do not see it as disturbing. We recommend it highly
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice Printer
Date:April 2, 2014
By office59
from East Texas
I have enjoyed this machine so far. It's very user-friendly and is quick. It is sitting beside my other Brother HL2270DW that gets used for most of my B&W printing needs.
I haven't gotten a chance to scan with it yet but the copier and printer parts I am very pleased with their output.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 4 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother Copier
Date:March 20, 2014
By STXtim
from St. Croix USVI
The MCF-J510DW is working great. easy to setup the wireless, easy on ink, and replacement cartridges are easy on the wallet compared to others. It uses up the whole paper tray without jamming.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
You get what you pay for...
Date:March 12, 2014
By pnp1020
from Naperville, IL
I originally picked up a new MFC-J470DW to replace a broken MFC-J430 that died after an overdose of cheap (non-Brother) ink cartridges. It lasted 2-3 years and was a good machine. Anyways, the MFC-J470DW does not play well with others (meaning my network, I use WEP encryption). After I finally got it connected (manually) it still had a hard time connecting to the computers wirelessly. What broke the deal is I use the ADF a lot, and the MFC-J470DW acted more like a paper shredder than a scanner. I took that unit back and swapped it for a MFC-J4510DW which cost twice as much. BUT... it connected to my network on the first try (manually), and each computer (4) I installed the software on. The ADF scanner works perfectly (like it should). Printing is fast. And this is all done wirelessly. The only gripe (like the others before me) is that it sounds like it's going to blow a gasket then it prints. Buy it and you'll see what I mean. Otherwise it's great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:March 2, 2014
By threeiii
from Fayetteville NC
I did not expect this printer to be this good because of the way I received it. I got it by cashing in a credit card reward using my Visa. It is 10 times better than the HP I had. I have no issues with this printer as I print and fax. I am having a very satisfying experience with this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellant machine
Date:February 27, 2014
By Baldeagle
from Virginia
The printer has a good document feeder, scans well in color and black and white, makes faxing easy and prints well. the two sided option is a nice feature. Set-up was not as intuitive as other multifunction machines but it out performs the previous machine we had from another manufacturer. I recently purchased a Brother Laser printer and am highly satisfied by both products.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Performance for Price
Date:February 12, 2014
By MIsello
from Raleigh, NC
For home office use the Brother MFC series has been an excellent choice for the typical home office and small business printing needs. The 2 sided copy feature and ink cartridge life is better than my prior HP and Cannon mutti function printers. The size of the printer is also another plus.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great all in one printer.
Date:February 6, 2014
By Anonymous
from Philadelphia,Pa.
We went from a Hewlett Packard All In One to the MFC-J4510DW. It is much faster and easier to use. Tech Support helping me set up was excellent. The compactness of the Brother and it's general appearance is much more attractive than our previous printer. So far, so good.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:November 13, 2013
By Anonymous
from New Jersey
I believe that most of the Complaints for this machine are either operator error or computer conflicts..
I have 2 of these machines, which work flawlessly, one on a shared network and one personal.
I have NOT one (1) complaint.....
Cartridges are inexpensive and EASY to change
pictures are good not great (i.e. business machine)
SCAN and FAX properties are good.
I am a Professional User/Business Owner.
We have a Plumbing/HVAC Service Co. and all Work orders are printed via these machines. Duty of 1000 pages per month
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Little Machine
Date:November 5, 2013
By Buffy
from San Francisco, CA
This printer was very easy to set up and performs beautifully.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 12 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother 4510 review
Date:October 30, 2013
By ARNS
from Mid Hudson Valley, NY
I purchased this printer for low ink cost and because a previous Brother printer was one of my best over the years. The MFC 4510 exceeds my expectations. Photos are beautiful.. text as well. And the included initial cartridges just don't seem to go down. Yea! I certainly would recommend this printer to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great
Date:October 16, 2013
By dbdb
from florida
everything works right out of the box, as advertised. great price.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
INCREDIBLE VALUE ALL IN ONE
Date:October 6, 2013
By IGinVA
from VA
This is a great, well designed product with all features working even better than the ads promise. At the price that I paid for it new, it is a tremendous value for my money. It installed quickly and easily with my wireless home network, it works with my PCs, iPads, and iPhones. And yes, it even looks great! My complements to Brother for this outstanding all in one printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 15 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Gets the Job Done
Date:October 4, 2013
By PapaTom
from Milwaukee, WI
Being able to print from an iPad or iPhone really comes in handy. This printer also allows us to print on both sides of the paper which lowers costs. Besides being a great printer, it even looks great just sitting there.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love 2-sided feature
Date:October 2, 2013
By smash
This printer is attractive, compact & more than efficient. Our very first Brother purchase - hope it continues to "wow" us!
Review 17 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Meets all expectations
Date:September 24, 2013
By ARABY
from Melbourne, FL
This is my second Brother product. I bought it because of the success I had with my laser printer. The 4510 does everything well and is so convenient. I used to use separate scanners and printers to work but now I can make quick photocopies without even turning on any computers and can fax again since my new computers don't have telephone modems. It is fast, convenient and very efficient with the use if ink.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love MFC-J4510DW
Date:September 19, 2013
By MmeMoxie
from Douglasville, GA
I have been a "fan" of Brother's MFC Printers, for almost 10 years. This is the 3rd MFC Printer, that I have purchased. The 2nd one, which I purchased 4 1/2 years ago, is still going and I gave it to my daughter.
I love what the MFC-J4510DW can do ... Fax, Scan, Copy and Print. When I say Fax, the best thing about this model is ... You can do a Stand Alone Fax, by dialing directly from the Printer or do a PC-FAX.
As for Scanning, you just never know when you have a need to "scan" an important document or paper. This unit Scans and Copies extremely well. Printing is just as good.
Since, this is a Business Printer, it does have the option of printing in what I call "light" mode, meaning that the colors and blacks, will not be heavy and dark/deep, but definitely readable. I love this option, it saves me on printer ink. Yet, when I need to have a "laser" type printer copy, I have the option, to do that.
I love the ease of setting up the printer. Simply, put in the CD, that comes with your printer, run it and when it tells you to ... Plug up your printer ... It is ready to go.
I got this model, because I could put a larger amount of paper, in the paper tray. I tend to print lots of different things and wanted to have a larger amount of paper, available.
I also, love the Wi-Fi capabilities and it gives me great flexibility, for printing from another computer or device.
I can only say ... I am "in love" with this MFC-J4510DW Printer by Brother.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer!
Date:September 3, 2013
By REBroker
from Naples, Florida
I saw this printer advertised on TV and recently purchased it on sale at OfficeMax to replace a one year old Brother model MFC-J825DW printer. I inadvertently plugged up the printer heads on that printer by using non-Brother cartridges! As recommended, you should only use genuine Brother Innobella cartridges since those cheap so called "Brother Compatible" cartridges may plug up your printer heads. I learned this the hard way and will now only use genuine Brother cartridges in this new printer!
I decided to purchase this model MFC-J4510DW since the cartridges print 1200 pages which is twice the number I could get with the 825 printer cartridges! This will be a major cost savings over time! The very reasonable sale price was also a factor in my decision to purchase it.
This printer is much faster than my 825 printer! It can hold more copy paper and print legal and ledger size single sheets in the rear feeder.
I do not have a problem with the noise when the printer grabs a sheet and it is printing it! It is just a little louder than my 825 but prints faster!
This printer auto scans fast and provides crystal clear text and photos to print, save or email. The flat bed scanner allows you to scan book pages or larger size documents. It is compact, good looking and fits nicely on my desk.
Thus far, I am extremely pleased with the performance of this All-In-One printer which I use in my real estate business. It is an excellent printer, copier, scanner and fax machine. It is a great value and I highly recommend it!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J4510DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does what it is supposed to!!
Date:August 30, 2013
By LDS8
from Northern NJ
Really nice all in one. Fast, good quality printing,
easy scanning, like the doc feeder and flatbed options...convenient.....small footprint, like the fax although not used very much...
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>