Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J450DW

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Duplex Printing
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
17 of 20(85%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J450DW
Review 1 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best purchase ever
Date:February 21, 2015
By shimmey
from Burton Michigan
faster than lighting copier. easy set up. price was fair. fax is clear, and easy to use..scanner fast and copy two sides of paper, is amazing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great!
Date:February 19, 2015
By BMac
I am an educator and read a review by another colleague two years ago rating this all in one copier as excellent. At the time I had a Dell all in one that had served me excellently for 8 years. The only problem with my Dell was the cost and frequency of using the ink. I decided to purchase the Brother copier. I've had it for two weeks. I am very pleased with the ink quality and speed of copying.I will write a review of the ink duration later. Thank you for an excellent product.
Review 3 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Best
Date:February 16, 2015
By cregor
from Michigan
I love this printer. Works so good and easy set up, easy to use. I would recommend this to every one.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer
Date:February 15, 2015
By aixylinux
from Marietta, GA
The print quality is very good. I printed several photos on plain paper, and they will be just fine as is. I have not had it long enough to assess cartridge life. It was easy to set up, both wirelessly and USB. The Google web print was also easy to set up, which I needed for use with my Chromebook. The only odd thing is the internal routing of the USB and telephone cables--it would have been better if these ports were on the back.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:February 10, 2015
By Anonymous
from Katonah, NY
Great printer, easy set up & great copies. Love the wireless print feature. Easy to print from my IPhone, IPad and laptop without wires. Great copies. Does two sided copies automatically. Scan feature works great, also without wires. Easy to change ink cartridges without opening the whole machine, great feature. Very happy with this machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
good printer
Date:January 21, 2015
By iloveitto
This printer works very good and was easy to set up wireless. I like the color display and the scanner software. Very happy with product. I wish it had come with a large 103 ink cartridges but hay printer companies are in the ink business not the printer business
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
easy to set up
Date:January 12, 2015
By CoolDr
from Savannah, GA
Easy to set up, great price, quality prints and a great buy
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 8 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
printer
Date:December 22, 2014
By Anonymous
from Las Vegas, NV
very good product. easy to hook up. it prints just like i want it to.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased
Date:November 11, 2014
By Iris
from Alabama
This printer replaces an old brother that finally just gave up the ghost.
Extremely easy to setup - I had it up and running via wireless on both my computers in about 15 minutes. The controls are enough like my old one there was no learning curve.
Print quality is very good and extremely fast.
If this one lasts as long as the old one, I'll be a happy camper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent for all the little reasons
Date:August 23, 2014
By SabaGuy
from NC
I'm a Mac user and found the MFCJ450DW easy enough to install and use. The wireless print function was instant, the wireless scan feature took a little tweaking. I do not use the FAX.
The things that endear this printer to me are all the little, unexpected benefits/features. No matter what I need to accomplish, there always seems to be a way. Indicates to me that Brother put a lot of thought into design of the printer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy Set Up
Date:July 19, 2014
By Ciaran
from West Desert, USA
Nice printer, super quality color output, dead easy connecting to my Mac running System 10.6.8 - I like the wireless option, works with my Kindle and Nook over my Airport network. I like Brother products; I have a Brother laser printer, too.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
very good purchase
Date:February 18, 2015
By imprimatur
from staten island, n.y.
unit is very versatile but manual(s) should be more descriptive and simpler to understand
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Not Bad at all
Date:February 17, 2015
By Constable
from Hampton Beach NH
So far so good, easy to set up and seems to be a solid machine, however, It is new lets wait and see if it is a keeper.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
very good printer
Date:February 13, 2015
By nkb75
from SAN ANTONIO, TX
I AM ENJOYING MY BROTHER PRINTER AND FAX MACHINE. IT IS A GOOD SIZE AND PRINTS OUT COPIES OF A GOOD QUALITY.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great machine, not so great instructions.
Date:February 11, 2015
By JackO
from White Plains, NY
The machine itself is terrific. Hooked up (USB) very easily, prints beautifully. Tried copy and scan functions, and both work great. Haven't needed to fax yet (and may never).
Wireless set-up instructions are confusing, to say the least. Set-up wizard is also confusing. Maybe it's me, but I've been playing with computers since DOS.
Curious as to whether I can run USB connection and WiFi at the same time. Documentation is no help.
Still like the printer and would buy another.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
best in many ways
Date:February 2, 2015
By cdmcl3
best for its price and features, and cost/page printing. ink costs are lower than for other printers.
but nowadays, would also expect fairly robust software to manage printing website pages like other printers can. surely this could be done as a software upgrade, or an optional software package, with notifications sent to registered owners, etc. if such had already been provided, would have given a 5-star rating.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Works Like Any Other Printer Out There
Date:February 22, 2015
By HomeUser1234
from FL
Received this printer as a gift. Activated it using the printer and getting it to recognize the wireless device was a little complicated but got it to work. Only problem doing this way is you don't get all the programs to make it easy to use. Tried the download option but it wanted me to hook up the printer using a usb cord which wasn't supplied. Tried the cd and again it wanted me to hook up the usb cord. If that is how you have to get it onto your computer to utilize all the programs it should be provided and explained in the directions for set up. Found an old usb plug that worked and finally got it uploaded. Problem now is that the control center 4 that makes it easy to use from the computer doesn't work. Also the directions to scan directly off the printer only worked thru the web service. The multi document paper feeder doesn't work for scanning but does for copying. Go figure. Got tired of trying to figure out the problems and using it the way it is. If it wasn't given as a gift I would return the printer as my old one worked fine for my needs. The multi document feeder was the focal point of the present but doesn't really work so still doing it individually by hand. With all the special gizmos I wouldn't recommend this printer as it isn't that easy to get all the functions to work correctly.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 18 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
MFC-J450DW
Date:February 21, 2015
By Shosholoza
I bought this printer as the Staples person advised. I only use the printer function.
I was unable to set up the wireless or fax functions of this printer as the directions were too complicated. My advice is to make these devices more user friendly. Simplicity is the key.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
MIDDLE, PROJECT NO INK, WON'T PRINT IF 1 CTG. GOES
Date:January 31, 2015
By RBURGEL
from LAS VEGAS
HOW STUPID IF THAT .... WHILE PRINTING A JOB, THE PRINTER SHUTS DOWN WHEN 1 CTG. RUNS OUT. YOU CANNOT RE-PROGRAM IT TO PRINT AT LEAST ALL BLACK ... OUR 2ND. MACHINE.... USES 5 COLOR CTGS. TO 1 BLACK CTG. NOT HAPPY! IT LOCKS UP UNTIL YOU REPLACE ANY ONE OF THE 4 CTGS. THAT RUNS OUT. HSAVE TO RUN TO THE OFFICE DEPOT JUST TO GET THE PRINTER BACK ON LINE!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J450DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
horrible experience
Date:July 16, 2014
By littlesister
from new york state
I would not give this printer even 1 star. I had connection issues and received poor help from the call center. I had to make almost a dozen calls to resolve connection issues, and I'm still not sure the scanner is connected. Be prepared to call the support center at 9 a.m, unless you want to wait a half hour or more. They must have a small staff or a huge # of problems. The manual gives incomplete info for MAC users. Reps sometimes send printed instructions but these come late and don't always relate to the problem I described. I've hung up thinking a problem was resolved only to find that it isn't. On one occasion, after being disconnected twice, I finally reached an agent. I had been on hold for 25 minutes. When he learned I have a MAC he told me he'd have to connect me to a MAC agent. I'd already spent over an hour on the phone and couldn't wait any longer. I'd never recommend the MFC-J450DW to anyone. I'd never recommend any Brother product to anyone.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
14 of 23 found this review helpful.