Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J285DW

Compact All-in-One with 1.8" TouchScreen Display plus TouchPanel
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J285DW
Review 1 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased so far
Date:April 2, 2014
By hthloeb
from Atlanta
I set up my Brother All-in-One this past week. It was very easy to connect it to my WiFi and have printed several color items, all of which were printed quickly with true colors. I like the position of the ink cartridges, the drawer at the side rather than having to open the whole top of the printer. I hope I continue to enjoy using this machine for a long time!
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Good Printer
Date:March 18, 2014
By Signoninc
from New Jersey
I had Brother products earlier and was confident that this would be of same High quality.
Its a very good machine and very reasonably priced. Installation was easy and with wifi connection, I could print from any other laptop from anywhere in the house. I am very satisfied with purchase and would recommend this product. Thank You
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
pleasantly pleased
Date:March 7, 2014
By mrprintsalot
from southwest Ohio
Like all other Brother printers I have bought, it works and prints like nothing else.
When I went to install it it basically installed itsself
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 4 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:February 26, 2014
By B8user
from Burbank, CA
This printer is fast when printing color. True this printer has its quirks - when loading pic's from camera - the printer must be active by pushing the ON switch. Otherwise the pic's don't get to the computer. The automatic on is great for all other printing. Sometimes the ink tanks are hard to change - hard to install the new ink tank.
But this is a great printer...
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Always like Brother Printers for their reliability
Date:January 18, 2014
By Jscag
from Temecula, California
I found this computer be exceptionally fast. The setup was extremely easier and the features were countless. I would highly recommend this printer for anyone interested in getting a printer. You can not go wrong this. Good job Brother!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great
Date:December 31, 2013
By Anonymous
from Florida
The included software did not work with the latest Mac software and I needed to download a new version. I'm not sure if I'm missing something but I can't set the quality from the computer. This would be my only complaint so far. It works well wireless and from my iphone.
I purchased this on sale for a great price. So I am very happy.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
decent printer
Date:December 17, 2013
By boppy
from Fountain Hill,Pa
simple installation, set it up in no time. i am using a wired connection because the printer sets next to my pc. overall i really haven't any issues with any of my brother inkjet printers.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
my new printer
Date:December 8, 2013
By HappyHannah
from massachusetts
It arrived Friday afternoon and we hooked it up right away. I've used it three or four times already and love it. I am not at all technically minded and do not have to be with this. I hit print and it turns on and prints. Works for me.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great All In One
Date:December 8, 2013
By TateBird
from Colorful Colorado
I had a Kodak that was slower than a snail, always disconnecting from the wifi, was BIG and would always paper jam. Purchased this Brother and couldn't be happier. Set up was a breeze. Printing is fast and crisp. Faxing is simple and scanning happens fast and it's nice and compact. Great price, great all in one.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Only one small surprise
Date:December 5, 2013
By Developer
from Tennessee
Any product purchased online should match the description and meet the buyer's expectations. This was my second Brother MFC. My earlier one performed flawlessly until it was damaged in a move so I decided to try another. The new one met my expectations with only one small surprise. There was no wired Ethernet connection. I suppose the reason was that a wired connection was not deemed necessary since wireless connectivity was available. Installation was straight forward and connecting to my wireless network was simple. Brother print quality was never in doubt. The user interface was much better than my earlier example.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Printer with Air Print
Date:November 1, 2013
By Wilwalt2
from Georgia
I love it!! Plus the price was right! The ease too program was "awesome"! This is my third
purchase from Brother and have yet to have any complaints. This is a five star!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:October 15, 2013
By Lawrence
from Aurora, Co.
I just purchased this printer because my other MFC-J615W quite printing in color. I had it insured so I was blessed to be able to purchase another printer for free. In looking over the printers, I found this one and it is just what the doctor ordered. It works perfect for me even down to duplex. I had said that the next printer I buy would do 2 sided printing. I could not beat the price either. I actually saved over 25.00 dollars.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best printer I bought
Date:October 9, 2013
By arp2164
from Durham,NC
Very fast Delivery from Brother mall, arrived in 3 days. Excellent packing and supplied documentation. It was very easy to setup and connected Wi-Fi with no problem. Auto 2 sided print is excellent feature. Quality of the print is good. I like the front side to replace ink cartridges. Best is Fax, you don't need computer and it worked with my magic jack plus VOIP telephone service.
This is the best printer I bought and for excellent price.
I am very happy with scan feature and supplied paper port software.
Overall I am happy with printer I highly recommend to buy.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
So far so good
Date:March 26, 2014
By mindmotion
from Southern California
I bought this printer about a week ago. Everything looks good so far. The only issue I have is that I am not able to change the print settings to a quick print (to save ink). This was something that I could do with my previous printer, (Lexmark X8350). Also when I do a print preview from a selection of text off the web, it prints right away without any printer window appearing, which would allow me to change preferences. Anyway these are minor issues (and maybe I am not aware of how to change the settings.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 15 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:March 20, 2014
By idntcre
from Ft Edward, NY
MFC-J285DW has ment all of my needs from copying, faxing, scanning, pictures and printing. It has great definition and it's very easy to use. It so good, I'm thinking about buying a second one for my boy friend.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:March 9, 2014
By willing
simple, affordable, great for home and small office
Review 17 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good deal
Date:March 4, 2014
By Ginny
from Benicia, CA
This is my second Brother multi-function printer. I love that fact that Brother is an easy to use printer in all capacities AND that the ink cartridges are less expensive than any other printer out there!
My only complaint would be that the instructions for hooking up the wifi connection could be made a little less confusing. Other than that, I love my Brother!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
first brother printer
Date:January 12, 2014
By twinbrother
from ocean county New jersy
I had to call help desk to install the wireless printer properly. They walk me through the install.
The install direct needs some work.
I only have it a few days, so I getting use it it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
A Compact Printer
Date:November 19, 2013
By Briteness
from New York, NY
I purchased this printer after searching, comparing and reviewing different models within my price range. I chose this Brother all-in-one for its style and different functions. I had no problems installing this printer with the easy to use cd-rom. I started using it within 2 hours after set up and I am happy with it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J285DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Let's hope this one works properly
Date:November 1, 2013
By Hopeful
I am pleased with most of the functions on the Brother printers but the last 3 machines have all had one fault - the yellow does not work after 6 months or so - rest of colors fine. Main printing is usually black so it is not over use and print heads clean. Let's wait and see if this is a success.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>