Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J270w

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Fax and Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
32 of 40(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J270w
Review 21 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome All-in-one
Date:January 26, 2011
By Swanprint
from Dixon, Ca
This all-in-one is awesome! Easy setup, easier to use, LOVE the Wireless. Its a great energy saver too, with the auto on/off feature. Best of all I don't have to pay to fax anymore!! Worth way more than I paid. Thanks for a great machine.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 22 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:October 5, 2011
By Saigon
from Richfield,MN
So far so good! No problem happened. Automatically installing after you hook up with the computer.
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 23 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
could not beat it for the price
Date:September 11, 2011
By jp728
from phila, PA
i purchased this printer on a back to school sale and got it for half off.....it does all that i ask it to with ease. and i stocked up with easy to find generic ink for it which was super cheap. for a quick reliable all in one i highly recommend this one
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 24 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good printer for great price
Date:September 11, 2011
By Oofook
from New Hyde Park, NY
I purchased this machine to use it at home. I have printed over 200 pages so far and did not give me a problem at all. Wireless setup was easy and quick, it prints reasonably quick, colors are pretty nice and bright as well. My favorite thing about the entire purchase is its IOS app. I have used brother's commercial products too. Company generally offers good quality for its price. So far the only problem I had associated with this purchase was availability, size and price for its cartridges.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 25 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Like it alot!
Date:August 29, 2011
By MisterT
from Marietta, Ga.
An Atlanta talk show host casually commented on his Brother Product (not this particular product) and how reliable/functional it had been.
So, I took a shot at this item and have been more than pleased with it's performance. It's worked well and the network setup was very easy. We use in home Wi-Fi with two computers and could not ask for a better All-in -one for the price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 26 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Simple & Works
Date:August 27, 2011
By mtoedtli
from Denver, Colorado
I bought this for use at home after I had such good luck with another Brother product at my office. It works great, printing isn't quick by any means but it's high quality so I can't really complain.It does everything I need!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great price for a printer!
Date:August 25, 2011
By kandie
from Texas
Got a great price for this wireless all in one printer. Been pretty happy with it since I just do simple printing from websites. Haven't done any photo printing yet so I can't say anything to that. Did have problems connecting it wirelessly but that was because my router was acting funny that day. Other than that, it would have been an easy installation.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Brother Printer
Date:August 25, 2011
By jeeprzcreeperz
Great product, just can't get the scan & fax to work...
Review 29 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:July 25, 2011
By Julie
from Buffalo, NY
Great price on sale; excellent printed results; annoying little habit of doing some 3 minute head-cleaning thing everytime you turn it on, which wastes ink. The 22 ppm makes up for the time, though.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 30 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Little Machine
Date:July 18, 2011
By Anonymous
from Colorado
Purchased this as a 'travel' printer.
Easy to set up, compact, easy to transport, works great.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 31 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:January 22, 2011
By Wanda
from Philadelphia,Pa
Great for the price very good with printing. Just wish it had a phone attached to it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
works very well
Date:January 22, 2011
By CMcC
from AR
It prints well, the ink cartridges are easy to replace and they are economical. My only wish is that I could print front and back without having to remove the paper tray, put the one sided print copy back in, figuring out which side it prints on, and print again. I have created pamphlets that have to be front and back and this is difficulty and time consuming.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Not Enough Research Done
Date:September 9, 2011
By kris
from Suburbs of Illinois
Did not do enough research on product. After getting home found out that it has no feeder and had a difficult time with envelopes (no designated feeder separate from paper tray). Fax works but have to hand feed each and every page. No feeder for multiple copies to be scanned/faxed. My fault for not doing more research but printer works fine.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 34 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Very difficult in connecting wireless
Date:August 8, 2011
By Srini
from San Diego CA
I had tuff time connecting this printer wireless
WPA/WPA2 type of brad band connection may be difficult in connecting this printer.
I have called the Brother customer care, they are helpful but could not resolve my issue of connecting the printer eventually I have returned this printer to Best buy US.
Thanks
Srinivas
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 35 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Color Ink Dependable
Date:July 9, 2011
By Gulfgirl
Finding a durable printer is tough. We were very delighted with Brother after experiencing other brands, one brand did not even last more than a month! I love that it is wireless and that the papers are not constantly jamming. My only dislike is the fact that it needs all colors to not be on low to print in BLACK. I am on a deadline, and was printing some labels for some products to take to the store. They only needed to be in black, and I even tried setting the printer on grayscale....only to find it will not print! But I have a full cartlidge of black ink in there. It is the cyan ink that is low, and even with the cartlidge shook up and appearing to have ink in the little small window on the cartlidge, it will not print because it registers as low! Now my product will not be ready in time. I have had printers before that would print fine on black only if out of color ink, I think for this to be a newer product, it should do the same. That is why I do not recommend this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
MFC-J270
Date:January 24, 2011
By LTN1
from Sacramento, CA
I purchased this MFC-J270W 01, 2011 from Best Buy with a major discount it seemed to be a Good product. I have had nothing but issues trying to hook up wifi. Even customer service was unable to help.
This machine is unable to scann to a memory card.
Using a USB cord and not wifi has cost me $20 for the cord. When I wanted all I wanted was for the wifi to work.
For a home office or use and you have the ability to establish wifi it should be a good machine.
Using the USB cord prints are fine (not better or worse then others)
Copies seems to be good quality
Fax have not needed it yet.
Scanning Unable to scan to memory card.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
everything that can go wrong, has!!!
Date:December 24, 2011
By svstreck
This has to be one of the worst purchases I have made. First, the original cartridges were either empty or very shortly emptied. (I only print very rarely). New cartridges were ordered and installed. The price of the cartridge was nearly the cost of machine. Now the sheet feeder will not feed properly. This boat anchor (not really heavy enough) is going into the trash. I will never purchase or recommend these to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Review 38 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Nuance Software Is non-Performer
Date:October 23, 2011
By peggyd
from Wheeling, WV
I have been unable to open the Nuance software. I get a runtime error. Their tech support does not understand runtime error. I am very disappointed. I have a printer and that is it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 39 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Bought but not in use
Date:September 11, 2011
By kennt
from Rochester, MN
I bought this all-in-one printer about 2months ago and its been completely useless for me as the printer set up gives me lots of trouble. Still up till now,can't use the printer.I really have nothing to write about the laptop.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 40 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
hard to use
Date:August 3, 2011
By brianna
from california
This printer is not easy to install. it tells you that you need more ink when you dont. i dont like it and will not buy this product again. i try to go on the website to troubleshoot, and even the website makes it hard to troubleshoot! not everyone is a computer wiz and can figure things out quickly can you please make things more simple? because i feel like i wasted 100 dollars for no reason
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
<<prev 1 2