Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J270w

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Fax and Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
32 of 40(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J270w
Review 1 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer Ever
Date:October 7, 2011
By pive7
from Austin.TX
Easy to install it took me about ten minutes to set up the rest of my home network such as: desktop, and laptops. No problems, so far working great. I would recomend to anyone, great price for a all in one wireless printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:October 3, 2011
By KELWAY
from Baltimore,MD
I have been searching online for the last two months;finally found the perfect all-in-one printer to suit my needs.It was easy to set-up plus another bonus it was on sale when I purchased it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 3 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Value
Date:October 3, 2011
By BWhite
from New York City Suburbs
Just started researching wireless printers, and this model went on sale, so after researching reviews decided to purchase - glad I did, never knew what I was missing having a wired printer. The convenience of being able to print from anywhere in the house is a huge time-saver.
Setup was simple - other reviewers on the retail site expressed they were running into problems - complete setup took 10 to 15 minutes, printer found my network immediately and connected with no issues.
Quality is better than average - photo printing leaves a bit to be desired as they don't seem as crisp as printers specifically for photos, but I bought this for work / school so photo printing not a great concern. Photo printing is about average, not horrible, not exceptional.
I can hardly hear this printing, very quiet. Pages print very quickly.
Overall, would recommend purchasing this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very satisfied
Date:September 30, 2011
By Drifty
from Atlanta, Ga.
I am pleased with the purchase of my Brother all in one fax. I feel it is and excellant value for the money.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Hard Working Little All-In-One
Date:September 19, 2011
By Steph
from Phoenix, AZ
For a home All-In-One and for the price, I am thrilled. Once I found how to connect via cable as my system does not have wireless, it was a snap. Just connect to the USB port and off you go. I've used the printer, copier and scanner and was surprised the scanner created an automatic .pdf document without any issues. For a home all-in-one and for the exceptional price, I am extremely thrilled.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 6 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So far no complaints from me.
Date:September 18, 2011
By Whanes1
from Kansas City, MO
I probably should wait on this review. I have only used the printer but I really like the output. The printer was super easy to set up and even get on my wireless network. I have not used the scanner or fax yet and probably will not use the fax as I really don't need it.
I would recommend this printer for it's price and ease of set up.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Soooo Easy
Date:September 17, 2011
By betawolf
from Phoenix
Easy setup - easy program - very good support - wish it had auto feed (but being lazy is not much of a reason).
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding
Date:September 15, 2011
By mrealc
from Tybee Island, GA
I love this small all-in-one fax and wireless printer. It was easy to set up and the quality is great. Plus the price was fabulous!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 9 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I love this printer!
Date:September 11, 2011
By zdocglock
from Fayetteville, NC
I really love this printer. I bought three of them; one for home, one for my office and one for my son. Setup was simple, but I had to install the software on each computer to be able to print wirelessly. It prints as fast as a laser printer! I haven't tried photos on photo paper yet, but if it is as good as everything else, I'm sure it will be great as well. The only way this could be better would be to have a document feeder and double-sided printing!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 10 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Value
Date:September 11, 2011
By MrSaturdayNight
from Las Cruces, NM
You can't beat this printer on value for the money. Setup was very easy (in-home Wi-Fi). Great looking prints. Good quality. The only drawbacks are that it does not have a document feeder and the paper tray seems a little flimsy. You have to unload the regular paper in order to print envelopes. That's a little annoying, but it does handle multiple envelopes very well without jamming. I'm very pleased with this product and will definitely consider purchasing Brother products in the future.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 11 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Buy
Date:August 31, 2011
By WAREAGLE2U
from Dothan, AL
Up and running in less than 30 min. Easy on the pocket book too. Wireless is a big plus. Prints great. Turns off quick when not in use.
First BROTHER product and I am very pleased with it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 12 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellent product
Date:August 29, 2011
By abarth
from Napa, CA
great product- easy wireless setup- print, scan, copy and fax flawless- good support- ink supplies are reasonable-
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 13 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent product for the price
Date:August 29, 2011
By RSus
from Moon Twp., PA
Bought this printer to replace a 3 year old Brother MFC that served my every need but was nearing the end of life. The setup was extremely simple and the operation is even easier. I am very pleased with the quality of both the scanning, and the printing. And, the low cost for the ink cartridges, in comparison to other brand printers, makes this a keeper!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
First time Brother user.
Date:August 25, 2011
By MeMikeT
from Florida and New York
I use this printer in my home for mostly documents. I have 3 computers that my wife and I print from so the wireless feature was what I was looking for. The setup was as close to self-setup as you can get. For me it is worth more then the selling price. It goes to sleep when not being use so I never turn it off. Because it has it's own wireless built in I don't have to have a printer server on to print. It is a good buy and does what BROTHER say is does. Simple as that.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Well Worth The Money
Date:August 25, 2011
By Gonzo
from New York, NY
Excellent printer. Well worth the money spent, especially with it being on sale at the time. Prints fast, easy wireless set-up (anyone who says it can't or is difficult to get going wirelessly doesn't know what they are doing), crystal clear copies and prints. Another plus is that the ink cartridge prices for this printer are so much more reasonable than that of HP, Canon or Epson. Don't know why I waited so long, but I'm glad I finally took the plunge and invested in a Brother.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Totally Best Buy we made
Date:August 23, 2011
By Guitar99
from Lorton, VA
We went to Best Buy just looking for a Fax Machine. We found this all in one for 50.00 and we picked up the 2 year Protection Plan for an extra 15.00. We have been faxing, Scanning, Printing, and it's Mobile Phone Ready so you can actually scan off of the Printer right onto your Android, iPhone as well as print off your Smartphone to it. IT's got a multiple page loading tray as well. The Ink cartridges are pretty fair price and replaced one by one. Great Deal!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 17 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2011
By micool1965
from eastern US
So far at least. I've never had a printer that hasn't malfunctioned in 18 months I've had this one 3 months. I am most impressed with the customer service. I have called for somethings that may be a waste of time. I have never been on hold more than 15 minutes and have called more than 5 times because of my hesitancy due to other printers. Everything works!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
excellent printer
Date:July 24, 2011
By lscurry
from Elizabethtown Ky
Easy to use , Bargain Price!! It's a very good printer and the ink doesn't cost you much.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 19 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding for the price
Date:July 23, 2011
By bojomo
from Kalamazoo, MI
You cannot beat the simplicity of hook-up, the price, and the quality. It is perfect for mome, or very, very small office. I've had allin-ones before that I could never get to fax coreectly. This prints, copies, scans like a dream. The separate lnk cartridges are a big plus. Highly recommend.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for MFC-J270w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:July 6, 2011
By MrMacky
from Douglasville, GA
I don't know why I didn't find this printer earlier. I mean no print heads nor chips to mess with. In conjunction with a printer "kit" I was able to compliment the printer with, I can actually print w/o worry for ink issues. I never have to replace the cartridges - merely fill them externally.
For print quality I was surprised at how good the graphic printing is; didn't expect it . My only problem has been printing envelopes smaller than 9 X 6 (say a standard #10 or smaller). I haven't been able to figure out why I keep coming up w/an error of 'wrong paper size. Then again if this be my only issue, I can live with it. Would recommend this printer to everyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>