Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-J265w

Compact Inkjet All-in-One with Fax and Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
30 of 33(91%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-J265w
Review 1 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
really like it
Date:November 26, 2012
By betty
from vallejo,ca.
pleased with it,it does everything that i wanted.can sit in one room and it comes out in other
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome!!
Date:October 22, 2011
By nclapotra
from Crofton, MD
So far so amazing! I was a bit skeptical at first due to the great value, but I was able to set it up without a hitch. I have not had any use for the fax yet and so far that's the only part I find confusing, but other than that, I love it!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Outstanding Value
Date:October 16, 2011
By WoodworkerR3
from Clarion, Iowa
The MFC-J265w is a remarkable machine in that it is a great value price-wise, but also is a great performer. I added this printer to my computer in order to print color, scan and copy documents. It makes superb copies and I was amazed at the speed it prints. It may not keep up with my Brother 5340D, but it can do all the things the laser printer can not do. The wireless feature is also very nice. I highly recommend this all-in-one machine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
An excellent machine
Date:October 15, 2011
By SHAH
from NJ
Does everything it is supposed to. Setup was very easy. I own another Brother all-in-one but it is not wireless.
I have two suggestions to make the experience even better: The printer already came with several (useless) stickers on the top cover. A small sticker to remind (the first couple of steps regarding) how to send /receive fax would be extremely helpful.
Second suggestion is to remove the cover of the paper-tray, so that you can easily load paper as well as you can see how much paper is available without completely removing the paper tray.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer!
Date:October 14, 2011
By Soonersrtops
from Gallatin, TN
I purchased this printer several months ago and have been very pleased with it. I haven't had any issues, and it is perfect for what I need it to do - love the wireless capabilities. I have used the printer, copier, fax, and scan options and they all work quite well. I also like having the color ink in separate cartridges rather than all in one like some printers. Great printer, easy to setup, and use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:October 9, 2011
By elliehh
from Ohio
I had no trouble setting this up and have had no trouble using it. It works great. I like the price of the ink too.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 7 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
At Last
Date:September 22, 2011
By Mario
from Boquete, Panama
At last I've found an excellent printer that performs perfectly and is inexpensive to use. The wireless feature is wonderful. Instructions for set up were easy to use. Thanks. Keep up the great products.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 8 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer.
Date:September 21, 2011
By Redeemed
from Dammeron Valley, Utah
Very nice printer....easy to set up even for the technically challenged like me. Does an awesome job considering the low price. Have not had a hitch. Much quieter, smoother and faster, including on & off, than similar Epsons which always end up quitting on me. Ink cartridges are a breeze to install and the screen lets you know how each cartridge is doing. Definitely uses less ink than Epson at a lower purchase price. What more can I say!!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 9 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid & reliable + easiest wireless setup ever!
Date:September 12, 2011
By 2kotic
from Fort Worth, TX
Recently purchased but so far I can say it was the easiest wireless setup ever. Good print quality. But if you're running Windows Vista be prepared for the "digitally signed drivers" error message. I installed Win 7 and had no issues with driver.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great all in one
Date:September 5, 2011
By KCinTC
from Tophy Club TX
I purchased this as a replacement to another Brother all in one, which I loved and had, it seems forever, for some time. This was a great choice, same functions and ease of understanding. Looks cute too!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best value
Date:August 30, 2011
By blkhawks1
from Illinois
Its easier to list the cons as this printer has so many pros. No multi sheet feeder [obvious from the picture] but for me I would choose a flatbed scanner over a sheet feeder anytime. Smart card reader will only read the smaller cards. Not a problem though as it reads the most popular cards and that is enough. Ive only had this a month so I cant evaluate the life of the unit but so far its the best printer ive had at any cost. The printer cartridges are so inexpensive I can say so long to refills and non-oem cartridges. Its a win-win printer
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good so far
Date:August 29, 2011
By BobW
from Philadelphia, PA
I was looking around for an economical all in one unit that could also do faxes. This unit met all my needs and was available for a great price. So far so good. This is just for home use and so I haven't used it enough to get a feel for how much ink it uses. Print quality is good and the scanner, fax and print functions work fine. It doesn't have a feeder so you must manually load originals if you have more than one original page but for me that's not a problem.
Overall recommend - very good value.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product
Date:August 27, 2011
By mj2834
from Delaware
This product was very easy to install/set-up. It has a very nice print quality. The scanner is easy to use and has a very user friendly software. I have not used the fax because I bought this unit primarily for a printer/scanner. I am really happy with my purchase and would highly recommend this product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 14 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-J265w
Date:August 16, 2011
By TechWitch
from Florida
works excellently, easy installation, first wireless product I ever installed.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great All-in-One
Date:August 15, 2011
By LadyKit
from Eugene, OR
The Brother MFC-J265w is a great little work horse. The print quality it excellent, the cartridges are extremely reasonable, and it is very, very easy to operate. I've printed, scanned, and copied -- all with great results.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Good Printer!
Date:August 9, 2011
By Jamesisit
from Tulsa, Oklahoma
This All In One Printer, Copier, Fax with Wireless connectivity has Surpassed my expectations. First, it Prints Very well, in Normal for everyday printing it Sips at the Ink. I've also Printed out some 8.5 X 11.0 Full Color High Resolution Photographs on Photo Paper and all I can say, is WOW! They are Excellent ! The Included Software and Drivers make this Printer Easy to use too. The Fax Function works very well for Simple Home use. and the Scanner does a Great Job as well. Want to Copy something, just place it under the top cover, and select color or black and white. No Computer needed.
Best of all I can Print or Scan Pictures or Documents from my Cell Phone when connected to the WiFi Network the Printer is on. Set up with either a USB cable or Just WiFi is a Breeze. Easy to read Instructions, just follow step by step. The Footprint is Smaller than other All In One Printers I've owned, so it fits my Desk space Better also. My Favorite Part is how much I have printed already and used so little Ink. Set the Quality where you need it for Photos, and lower for Day to Day use, and this is Hands Down the Nicest, All in One I've owned. Good Going Brother !!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Quiet, small footprint
Date:July 22, 2011
By TobyG
from Berkeley, CA
I really like this printer for four reasons:
* It’s very compact, which is important in my small home office. It’s less than 6 inches high, and unlike most printers, there is no paper sticking out of the top of the printer; it’s all hidden inside. This makes the printer seem quite small.
* It doesn’t shake my desk when it prints, unlike my ancient old Dell.
* It’s very quiet when printing.
* You can use it either wirelessly or via a USB cable.
No idea as yet how long the print cartridges will last, but I like the three separate cartridges for color: If you happen to do a lot of printing with red content, for example, you would only need to change the red cartridge.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very pleased with Purchase!
Date:July 21, 2011
By jocurtis
from Burkesville, Ky.
So far I'm enjoying this multifunction printer. I've not used the wireless yet, so I can not say about this. The copy function and scan function I've used with excellent results. I've not used the fax yet. I cannot say about the the ink usage yet, but so far it looks good! This is my first purchase of a Brother product. So far, it's GOOD!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
purchase
Date:July 9, 2011
By ahyusuf
from San Francisco
Installation a snap, performs as advertised, makes great copies and faxes. I have not set up the wireless networking (yet) but the instructions are really easy to understand. This was a replacement purchase and I am so pleased with this product and recommend it to all.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-J265w
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-J265W Printer
Date:March 22, 2011
By jlslife
from Wyoming
I have had this printer for a bit over a month now and have printed over 700 pages of text, and about 50 5X7 pictures (at the highest print setting) with it. I am still using the original setup cartridges. They are running low but I have not had to replace any yet, so needless to say I am ecstatic about the amount of printing you can do with this printer.
The setup was fairly painless, I am using the USB cable and not wireless, so the only hard part was getting to the cable port under the machine.
The only caution I would advise on is if you are not using Brothers photo paper, that you make sure to set the paper type to other. If you don’t you will have wasted a sheet of paper, as the ink will puddle on top of it and not dry.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>