Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9970CDW

Color Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
10
119 of 149(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9970CDW
Review 1 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer; worthy replacement to my 9420CN
Date:April 17, 2012
By
from Memphis, TN
So far, so great. Despite having good experience with the Brother product I was replacing, I researched this purchase extensively before settling on another Brother. This printer sits on a network that supports my home office and everyone else in the household. In the week I have owned it, I have already tested some of its limits, printing huge Powerpoint documents and scanning large documents in duplex mode. This printer has preformed flawlessly. Text is crisp, colors are vibrant, speed is very good, and I love its quiet operation.
I read the negative feedback about printing and scanning photographs, but even as a photographer by hobby, I would not ask this of a business device and therefore cannot comment.
I also have not had any issues with reported excessive paper curling or overly dark scans. The anti-curling setting seems to work just fine, and scans look good for my needs.
The only problem I had was setting up the printer to print in duplex mode. The duplex setting on the printer had no effect on the operation of this feature I had to contact support to learn that I had to set this capability up within the printer driver on my Mac. Initially Support was not real helpful, but with perserverence I got to the right person (Scott?) who was very helpful. This is a fantastic feature for cutting down on paper consumption and was one of the reasons I chose this model.
So far I am impressed. I don't think a better option exists when balancing quality, features and total cost of ownership.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Okay it's big but.....
Date:August 9, 2012
By
from California
I've owned the MFC-9840 for several years and loved it but it got semi-destroyed in a fire (it still works by the way). I thought "What am I going to replace it with now?" Then I saw the MFC-9970! This is the logical step up from the MFC-9840.
The MFC-9970 takes much less time to warm up and prints very fast. The MFC-9840 was upstairs and whenever we wanted to print anything, by the time we got up the stairs, the printer was just thinking about getting started. The MFC-9970 has already finished the job when we get up to it. Very fast!!!
The warm up time is much faster and I love that I don't have to wait for a minute just for the scanner to "warm up" when I want to copy something. It only takes a few seconds and it's ready to go!
The print quality of the MFC-9970 is excellent as was the MFC-9840 and it also takes less time to print a double sided sheet. Double sided manuals appear to print almost twice as fast!
The fax is a fax and our country connection is very slow so I can't comment much on that other than it works flawlessly.
The document feeder tray is much faster than the MFC-9840 doing a double sided document in only a few seconds.
The menu is now a lot easier to navigate with the LCD screen and the front panel controls are easy to use although Brother did reverse the black and color scan buttons from the MFC-9840 so that takes a little getting used to if you're coming from the MFC-9840 like I am.
My one complaint, as always with Brother (and almost all other printer manufacturers), is that they put "starter" toner cartridges in their machines so you have to purchase new ones fairly soon if you print a lot. I wish they'd just put standard cartridges in it to start. It is also very BIG but it does so much so well, that is not really a problem if you have the space and unless you have to move it. It is a little lighter than the MFC-9840 though!
All in all, the MFC-9970 is quite an improvement in speed over the MFC-9840 which was a very solid worker for years. I love my new MFC-9970CDW!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good for a Home Business
Date:January 9, 2013
By
The printer is bulky, but works well for a home business. It's particularly nice that it has wifi so computers can be used from anywhere in the home. Print quality is excellent. Sometimes there is a delay from when the print is issued until when the printer starts printing. This could be a wifi issue (but not likely given the speed of my network).
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Printer But
Date:October 14, 2012
By
from FL
This printer does the following great:
1. Print Balck & White
2. Print color documents
3. Duplex Print
4. Duplex scan with one pass!
5. Copy is good
Here is what is wrong:
1. Printing color photographs is inferior. The color and clarity is just not there.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Best Multi-Functional Laser Printer ever
Date:October 28, 2013
By
from Houston, TX
I work at home and I decided to upgrade from an injet all-in-one to a laser. I was tired of buying the expensive inkjet cartridges, the slowness of the printer, and lack of duplex printing functions. I researched printers for months on all the major sites looking at the functions, reviews, price, etc. I decided on purchasing a Brother MFC-9970CDW because of the functionality, the high reviews and the affordable price. I have been so pleased with this all-in-one. I know that price/page is cheaper than with an inkjet, it's faster, it's easier and I love the duplex printing on both sides of the paper so I can conserve the amount of paper that I use. I'm sure I haven't even touched a small percentage of what this machine can actually do, but I am so impressed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:August 12, 2013
By
from Rio Vista, CA
Would recommend this for a small company that wants great printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great features/speed but build quality ??
Date:November 20, 2013
By
from Louisville, KY
I am a huge Brother fan and have owned several of their products over the years. Bought the top of the line 9970CDW and have not been disappointed in its functionality. We do a good bit of scanning and this machine is really fast compared to the 8860DN we now use as backup. Print speed seems to be as advertised. Color quality is OK - about what you would expect from laser. Noticed the difference in build quality from the 8860 as soon as we pulled out the paper tray and lifted the ADF cover. No problems so far after several months and thousands of pages through scan and print, but only time will tell if it will last. Feel like we have to be a little more gentle with this unit compared to the old 8860 workhorse that is still kicking. Overall, would definitely recommend based on functionality and previous experience with Brother products.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Excellent SOHO printer
Date:January 9, 2013
By
from Los Angeles, CA
This printer does everything I expected it to do, and then some. The best part is that it "just works" - we use a combination of Mac, Windows and Linux machines, plus an Android device or two, and they all print flawlessly.
Setup was fairly straightforward. The only challenge I had was that initially I set it up for wireless networking, and any time the router was reset the printer would lose its connection and force me to go through the setup again. I changed to a wired connection, and no problems since. We have a second one in our business office, and it seems happy with wireless. Could be a recent firmware update corrected that issue.
The first "sample" set of toner cartridges yielded about 1,700 total pages. I purchased the "high yield" replacement set and am now beyond 10,000 pages and going strong. I've also scanned hundreds of documents and sent a few dozen faxes.
I knocked off a star for two reasons: first, the paper tray capacity is far too low for a machine of this calibre. Having to pay extra to load more than a couple hundred sheets at a time is silly. Second, we've had troubles trying to feed heavyweight paper, envelopes and the like through the front feeder. The only paper jams experienced have been while feeding non-standard paper this way. Other than that, it's awesome.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Small office MFC
Date:December 25, 2012
By
from Virginia Beach, VA
Does a great job with printing both for quality and speed. Copying and fax are also fine. Has been very reliable for nearly a year. My one complaint is that the toner reads low after far fewer copies than advertised. When you are forced to change, as the toner low warnings are persistent and a bit of a hassle to override, there is clearly plenty left in the cartridge. There is no simple way to tell when the cartridges are getting low and they are very, very expensive to replace.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Disappointed not compatible with Apple Airport
Date:October 22, 2012
By
Warning: This printer is not compatible with Apple's Airport Extreme wireless router. In order to set up the connection, you have to input the network key. The network key on an Airport Extreme is 64 characters but Brother only accepts 63 characters. Brother tech support told me to ask Apple to change the network key to something shorter for me. (Right.)
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love this all-in-one
Date:January 14, 2014
By
from New York State
I have owned a brother MFC-665CW for years (which still works great) but needed something that can print duplex and handle larger print jobs. This MFC-9970CDW cost a lot more than I wanted to spend, but since my other MFC lasted many years I figured it would prove to be worth the expense over time. This MFC gave me everything I wanted and more, it doesn't only print duplex it also scans duplex! Love it!!! This printer came with toners which ran out within the first three weeks, but I like how it notified me when it was running low and then when it needed changing, which gave me ample time to get the replacement toners. The last page printed just as perfect as the first. I am a very happy customer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC9970CDW
Date:December 26, 2012
By
from Texas
I love this machine. Easy to use and easy to set up.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best small business multi function machine
Date:December 24, 2012
By
from Morgan Hill, CA
1. Unpacking and setup of the MFC-9970 was easy - especially compared to other similar class machines I've unpacked and setup.
2. Workstation software installed properly on WinXP, Win7-64 and WinSrvr SB.
3. Scanning to PC works well - all PC's appeared in MFC control panel. Scanning via network is fast.
4. 2nd paper tray requires virtually no installation. Lift the printer up, place the second tray on the bottom, put the printer on top of the second tray, and it is installed and working. We use the second tray for 8.5X11 - holds a full ream. We use the top tray for 8.5X14 legal.
5. Printing is fast, with accurate colors and shading. 6 reams and still no paper jam - good paper handling.
6. The printer also handles multiple jobs quite well - no reboots.
Only two negatives; (i) the output "hole in the middle" is not well designed - difficult to get 8.5X11 paper out of the stacker, and (ii) it is not possible to simultaneously operate both wifi and wired network interfaces. We had to make a choice, and finally settled on the wired interface because scanned file transfers are much faster. Unfortunately, there are two workstations that can only be connected via WiFi, so the printer is not available to them.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
It is a great product!
Date:December 24, 2012
By
from Charlotte, NC
I have really liked this product and we use two other Brother All-In-One machines at our office and find them extremely reliable and helpful.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic All in One Finally!
Date:August 6, 2011
By
from Lakeland, FL
After trying HP printers for many, many years, I am SO excited to have my new Brother MFC-9970CDW all in one printer. It starts printing and prints more pages quicker than my old HP laser printer, it duplexes in many fashions, it gives you the fax confirmation cover page showing your first page that you sent, it is relatively quiet, it faxes very quickly, sorting or stacking is easy, it is quite attractive, has 40 memory or speed dials for faxing and so far, we just LOVE it!!!! Thank you BROTHER
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Except for Envelopes
Date:November 23, 2012
By
from Philadelphia, PA
The printer is excellent in almost every way. That's what you'd expect from a "high end" unit like this. However, it cannot print envelopes without crinkling them. This is true of any envelopes including those made specifically for laser printers. For me, that major flaw disqualifies it from business use - every office needs to print envelopes without crinkling!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Most reliable printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By
from Bay Shore, NY
This is indeed, the most reliable printer I have ever owned. I have purchased many good professional printers, but Brother printers are superior.
I have also gone for repair training for several printer Manufactures including Brother's, and I know how well built their printers are.
What else can I say. I highly recommend them.
When I need another one: "I'LL BE BACK."
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Priinter
Date:December 24, 2012
By
from union, NJ
After going through many multifuntion printers, it is a relief to finally find one that is very reasonably priced, yet is one of the best mulit-function printers I have ever used. This is used in my business for basic copying, but is pushed to the limits for brochure printing and duplex printing/copying. All is done flawlessly. I highly recommend this printer for someone in need of this type of printer. If I could name anything that needs improvement, I would have to say that it could use a better way to monitor toner usage in real time. The only way you know that toner is going low, is when you get an notice sayng its running out, and time to change. I would like to see something better in this regard, although this is very minor to me. Enjoy
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Versitle Printer
Date:December 24, 2012
By
from Eugene Oregon
Great all in one laser printer. The only problem I have is color issues since I used cheap off brand laser toner. ONLY USE BROTHER OEM TONER.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Top-Quality All-In-One
Date:March 30, 2012
By
from Austin, TX
Replacing an older Brother color laser AIO, this unit has several advantages. The touch-screen is intuitive and easy to use. Instant-on LEDs for the scanning light source are far better than the previous ccfl units. Furthermore, both sides of a document are scanned in one pass. GREAT. The print engine warms quickly and is quieter than the previous unit. Color is a bit oversaturated out of the box, but can be adjusted with the driver. I'm very pleased with this new unit and would highly recommend it for its feature set and quick, quiet operation.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>