Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9970CDW

Color Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (146 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
9
118 of 146(81%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9970CDW
Review 1 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best All-in-One EVER
Date:March 22, 2012
By slimfast
from Sykesville, MD
I have had several all-in-ones before but my Brother is by far the best. It just works. What else can you say. From faxing, scanning, printing it is awesome. I even had them buy it for work in our warehouse and they love it. Especially the ability to scan to a specific PC.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 2 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love this all in one
Date:August 7, 2014
By Catagal
from Arcata, CA
I received my first one for work and when I quit I had to give it back. My husband said that I had to go buy another one because he loved it and we needed one for his business. He calls it the workhorse.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
reliable and easy to use
Date:July 23, 2014
By nameless10000
from Southern California
We have had our printer for over two years now and have had not a single difficulty with it. It prints clear, professional documents, scans, copies and all that is claimed. I love it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 4 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 18, 2014
By kl2014
from MIchigan
I wanted a home color laser printer and did a lot of research before buying this one. It was a little more money than what I had planned on spending for a home printer, but I have no regrets. It works great. Easy to use and great copies. The best all in one color laser for the money. So much better than a color ink jet...no color ink carts that dry out from little usage (most home printing is B&W). Color laser is more affordable to use then color ink jet.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Little Workhorse Printer
Date:July 2, 2014
By Mick
from Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania
I purchased the MFC 9970cdw and am very pleased with the printer. It is actually a great printer, somewhat compact, not too heavy, and very easy to use. The color is really clear. The cartridges cost a bit more, but are worth the extra cost because the cartridges have a higher print capacity.
I did not go wrong when I purchased this printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Upgrade
Date:May 15, 2014
By JAlanL
from Big Bear Lake, CA
I had a Brother MFC-9450cdn for years prior to purchasing this one. I actually wore out the old printer. This one feeds beautifully, scans both sides at once, prints fast and has great quality and is an overall great purchase. It's a little large for a home-based business, but is certainly worth the money. By all means buy it!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Super Purchase
Date:February 24, 2014
By EQ68
from Anchorage, Alaska
This is the first time I have such great performance from a multi-function machine. Every aspect of my expectations have been met to-date. Being wireless has been great for my partner and I. We can work anywhere within our facility.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:February 10, 2014
By BuilderJohn
from Blue Ridge, Georgia
I had a 9570 and decided to upgrade. This has been a great machine. I have a small building company and we have to print a lot of color documents and this works great. Very easy to set up. I have seen some reviewers have issues with the size but I think it is OK.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great value...
Date:February 3, 2014
By rc0108b
from Leesburg, VA
This printer is a great value. It's a workhorse - we have bought 2 (1 about a year ago, still working as new in our home office and 1 about 1 month ago to put in the work office). Great duplex printing and scanning capabilities. Have used for multiple proposals and printing capabilities are excellent!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love this all-in-one
Date:January 14, 2014
By quadwheel
from New York State
I have owned a brother MFC-665CW for years (which still works great) but needed something that can print duplex and handle larger print jobs. This MFC-9970CDW cost a lot more than I wanted to spend, but since my other MFC lasted many years I figured it would prove to be worth the expense over time. This MFC gave me everything I wanted and more, it doesn't only print duplex it also scans duplex! Love it!!! This printer came with toners which ran out within the first three weeks, but I like how it notified me when it was running low and then when it needed changing, which gave me ample time to get the replacement toners. The last page printed just as perfect as the first. I am a very happy customer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 11 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Impressive
Date:January 5, 2014
By TheBear
from California
I usually do not write reviews, but wanted to give credit to Brother for this All In One machine.
I use the Brother All In One for mostly printing and scanning. I also use for monthly checks and envelopes printing.
So where do I begin?
1) INSTALLATION:
The most impressive thing was how easy it was to install the software and actually work!! Had an HP printer before and will not go back. On my recommendation, my Mom got a Brother printer and even she found it easy to work. I did have a minor technical issue for advanced features and technical support was "outstanding" and US based representative.
2) PRINTING: I am happy with quality, both black and white and color. Nice thing it the double sided printing capability. Comes in handy when needed.
3) SCANNING: This is probably the main reason I like this printer. I scan all my working documents and back them up to the cloud. So my filing cabinet and now shrinking in size!!! I also scan my receipts for my bookkeeper and tax purposes, no more boxes and do not have to worry about ink disappearing after a few years. The flexibility of scanning options and which folder to put them in makes this very convenient and can also be advanced if needed.
4) CHECKS AND ENVELOPES
After I fired HP about 5 years ago, my replacement was a Dell Laser black and white printer. My only complaint with Dell Laser printer was is the FEEDER DID NOT WORK. I prefer using the feeder to load the checks and envelopes into the printer instead of opening the tray (personal preference). I called Dell technical support several times and they could not fix it. So guess what they suggest? Buying a new printer! I think it's Dell salespeople pretending to be technical support, just to make a sale. I was tempted but did not take the bait.
The feeder on the Brother machine works very well. Easy to feed and even tells you which side up to put the checks and envelope.
The only draw back I could tell you are two things: 1) it's the largest All In One I have ever purchase (home office use), so make sure you check the dimensions of the space you want to put it.
2) The glue on the envelope melts a little going thru the laser printer and slightly sticks together. A minor annoyance since I only do a few envelopes a month. For heavy users, consider the tape envelopes (no licking required), I think this should help the matter.
To summarize, I am very impressed with Brother from product, customer service and support.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
The Best Multi-Functional Laser Printer ever
Date:October 28, 2013
By Pandabear9
from Houston, TX
I work at home and I decided to upgrade from an injet all-in-one to a laser. I was tired of buying the expensive inkjet cartridges, the slowness of the printer, and lack of duplex printing functions. I researched printers for months on all the major sites looking at the functions, reviews, price, etc. I decided on purchasing a Brother MFC-9970CDW because of the functionality, the high reviews and the affordable price. I have been so pleased with this all-in-one. I know that price/page is cheaper than with an inkjet, it's faster, it's easier and I love the duplex printing on both sides of the paper so I can conserve the amount of paper that I use. I'm sure I haven't even touched a small percentage of what this machine can actually do, but I am so impressed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Happy
Date:October 8, 2013
By Anonymous
from Long Beach, CA
I am happy with my MFC-9970CDW. The All-in-One Color Laser sits on a counter in my small office. The majority of it's use is printing out approximately 80 church bulletins per week, between 8 - 14 pages per bulletin.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
all in one
Date:September 13, 2013
By JENE
from East bay
Needed an all in one and this did it all plus color. One of the best color printers I have used. I have more then 5 all in one brothers printers in my business. This is only a few dollars more and has color.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 15 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Works Great!
Date:August 14, 2013
By Cooldental39
from Denver, CO
Our office really likes this product. It works efficiently. The only problem we are having is trying to learn how to scan and save to the correct files, then finding the scans on the computer. Overall, this product beats the previous two products that the office has had! Definitely would recommend!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 16 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product!
Date:August 14, 2013
By bills
from Little Rock, AR
I'm in an office where the big network printer is on the other side of the office, so I purchased this printer for my personal printer in my office. What a great printer! It does everything I need it too and with great quality and ease of use. I'm thinking about buying one for all of my employees to help make them more efficient by not having to leave their desk and have the ability to fax, scan and copy with quality and reliability.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!
Date:August 13, 2013
By SLC4LBC
from Lathrop, CA
I am very happy with my new color all-in-one wireless machine. We had quick delivery, easy set-up, and no complaints about it at all. Thank you Brother for making a great unit.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:August 12, 2013
By Repete
from Rio Vista, CA
Would recommend this for a small company that wants great printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Office MVP
Date:July 18, 2013
By Poqcatfac
from Hampton Roads, Virginia
The 9970CDW is a valuable component of our office. Exceptional value for duplex printing, scanning and faxing at good speeds. Supplies are readily available. Durable and reliable. Best multi-function device I've ever used.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 20 for MFC-9970CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-9970CDW
Date:May 31, 2013
By Nick6263
from US
Wireless printing & scanning connectivity problems are the only issue I've encountered so far. Due to the fact I'm an IT professional, I had no problem remediating. The average user may require an IT friend's help.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>