Product Reviews

Brother MFC-990CW

Color Inkjet All-in-One with Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-990CW
Review 1 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
it`s great
Date:April 2, 2011
By katzz33
from Philadelphia
I loved i use all the function of my MFC-990CW,it`s great for my family.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-990CW
Date:April 2, 2011
By RPMRANCH
from Whitesboro, Tx
Great printer. The only complaint I have is there are no additional telephone hand sets available for the printer. I have looked everywhere and talked to Brother on the phone and they tell me that Wall Mart has them. Went to Wall Mart and they do not stock any Brother hand sets.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excelent
Date:September 21, 2010
By Jisgore
Bought this for wireless printing with bluetooth, works like a charm.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Machine
Date:August 12, 2010
By Soto
from Mass
I needed something that can do it all, after doing many search and reading several reviews, I found the Brother MFC-990CW to be the best for the price and functionality. I purchased it online for $189.00. It is been the best.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer!
Date:February 15, 2010
By gerard
from syracuse, ny
blows my old HP away in terms of being glitch-free. I had so many software/firmware issues with my old HP printer....along with the vivera ink catridge annoyances and constantly being out of it.
This printer is very sharp looking, the touchscreen is outstanding and very handy. Navigation is simple... it prints quiet enough and plenty fast enough for my needs, scans great, and it just plain works. no bugs, no issues, software package is light but powerful. all in all im extremely happy. It's hard to find a printer that just works as it should and this one just does. I recommend it highly.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
ink used, used the main ink from brother
Date:January 5, 2012
By doright1st
from UNIVERSITY PL. WA
all of you that said black ink is bad number 1, were you using the main ink from brother if not the ink will mess up ink, and where you can't use it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Color Quality
Date:April 4, 2011
By Bergl
from Philadelphia, PA
Good multi functional printer. Only beef is the color is not as vivid as past ink jets.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Recycled it
Date:April 10, 2011
By junk
from Maine
I bought this Brother MFC-990CW new and had it for 7 miserable months, lightly used in home use, and finally dumped it in a recycle bin. It was so troublesome that I did not even want to call Brother about it and would not even have considered dealing with a replacement. I simply wanted this plastic nightmage gone, chalked it up as a complete loss, and trashed it in a recycleing bin. Slide-in paper tray sticks and often jams needing brakable force and several tries to push it in. It is also very very inconvienent to load. Telephone is useless and has its own mind. The phone never worked and interferred with my regular home phone. Color print color is very weak. bland really. After installing a new black ink cartririge the machine would no longer accept a new cartrige, tried 3, and copy work would only come out blank, other reviews had the same problem and could no longer use the machine because of it not accepting a new black ink cartridge. For me the first cartritage replacement went ok but then the next change was just the end of the line and the machine would no longer print in black. I have had 15 years of reliable printers and copiers of many types and brands. This was my first Brother and this machine has clearly taught me to STAY AWAY. It was the most miserable machine I ever could have imagined. I feel relieved to have it be gone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-990CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
ink problem
Date:April 2, 2011
By REappraise
from Corydon, Indiana
I am very disappointed with my printer. The very first - Very First- time I needed to replace the black ink cartridge the printer refused to recognize the new cartridge. I put the old one back in and it would not recognized it either. I have not been able to use the MFC-990 since. Because it was used for work, it was replaced that same day with another (different brand) machine. It sits off in a corner until I decide what to do with it now.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.