Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9440CN

Color Laser Multi-Function Center® with Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9440CN
Review 1 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Has it all
Date:February 4, 2013
By RickT
from Greenwich, CT
I upgraded from a Brother MFC-9940CDW to the 9970 because I needed legal size scanning, copy and automatic duplex capabilities. Both machines have exceeded my expectations -- the print quality is excellent and the automatic duplex feature is very convenient (and a real paper saver). Thanks for such a great well engineered product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 2 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
No complaints
Date:May 3, 2010
By sfb68
from Missouri
The company I work for has purchased 10 of these machines and no one has had any complaints. It works great and I would highly recommend it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Color Printing at its Best
Date:May 1, 2010
By Resourcewiz
from Stamford, CT
I have installed about a dozen of these printers. Its a smooth installation every time. Excellent solution for a workgroup color printer, scanner and scanner. Comes with Paperport application to manage document images and scanning.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Very Good Printer
Date:May 4, 2010
By SusanP
from Rochester, NY
Color is very good & the ink is cheaper. Easy to make copies & can scan multiple pages into one PDF. On the down side, it doesn't show the ink levels and is a bit cumbersome when printing envelopes as I have to open back, adjust levers, print, then undo--they should've put the levers up front.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:May 3, 2010
By Dick
from Florida
Purchased about 2 months ago and have given it a pretty thorough workout. I am impressed with the quality and speed in printing. This is my first color laser printer and it does what I expect it to do. I am happy with the lan connection, but when I bought it, did not realize it was not wi-fi ready, but had a linksys print server which made going wireless easy. I really like the fax from computer features and ease of use. There are two cons to this machine. It is extremely slow to warm up from sleep mode and the USB port for scanning to a memory stick will only store about 4 picture scans, even though it shows the scans being loaded to the stick. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
good value for the money
Date:May 2, 2010
By dwightex
from Virginia
I use about 1500 pages per month. This is my 3rd Brother printer, but I have also had HP and Canon. I much prefer this to the other two laser brands. a little noisy and not so quick warming up, but always reliable and fairly inexpensive per copy.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Geat Multi-function Printer
Date:May 1, 2010
By Dacsoft
from Melbourne, FL
I was looking for a quality color laser to replace my worn Okidata C5150N laser. I wasn't considering a mulit-function, but when I saw this in Staples I decided to give it a try.
I am very happy with the decision. Setup was easy and worked with XP, Vista, and Windows 7 without any difficulties. The colors, while not as bright as the Okidata, are really great. Even prints with a lot of color are nice with on visible scan lines.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
The Only Problem is
Date:May 1, 2010
By TheTubMan
from Bartlett, TN
Great machine - However, the number of pages per 110 cartridge is rather "weak" in comparison to HP. So we go with the 115 cartridges which Office Depot does not carry in store (order on line). Otherwise great machine. Would make the "reduce/enlarge" incremental rather than preset for percentage increase/decrease. We liked it so well we bought a second one.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
mediocre printer
Date:February 9, 2012
By printerReview
from Chicago, IL
First page printout slower than most other laser printer. Color output not as bright. Toners for this printer is expensive. B/W prints also uses up coler toners. Big and heavy for its size.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 10 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
good but probably better out there
Date:May 4, 2010
By KellieVjd
from California
I purchased this for a home office to supplement an ink jet all in one. I wanted something faster that could handle more.
Its colors are not as bright as the ink jet. It is larger and heavy to move around. Requires two people. I don't use the fax.
I have been using the scanner quite a bit. There are faster scanners on the market. This one is okay but not great with odd sized paper through the feeder.
For black and white I really like it. Color just okay.
Printing envelopes is bad. They get crushed and just do not seem to feed through well. I have ended up keeping my old ink jet around just for envelopes.
Overall it seems reliable and I do like the scan soft software that comes with the computer.
For copying it is okay. Not as good as a stand alone copier but for a few things, it is fine.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good but has some issues
Date:May 1, 2010
By Scanningguru
from Orem, UT
This machine works great. It never jams, but the colors are way off, and I can't seem to adjust them to be better. Also, the scanner always produces crooked documents from the auto feeder. Luckily I have Adobe Acrobat to straighten them for me otherwise this machine would be absolute garbage. Finally, this product came with PaperPort 11 when I purchased the machine. That program worked okay with Windows XP. But it wouldn't recognize the ADF when I switched to Windows 7. I had to purchase the next version PaperPort 12 which honestly just plain sucked. I can't believe I wasted my money on that program even after reading all of the horrible reviews on it. I had to fork over the money to get Acrobat which isn't a cheap program, but it works great with this product.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-9440CN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:May 1, 2010
By verydisappointed
from Southern CA
Poor design, poor programming, poor layout, not user friendly, poor troubleshooting guides, horrible customer support that will not allow a return or refund on the product after mutilple ligitimate complaints. Real lemon. Buyer beware, do not purchase this product at any price.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 4 found this review helpful.