Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9340CDW

Digital Color All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
15 of 21(71%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9340CDW
Review 1 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best One Yet!!
Date:March 27, 2014
By iluvclemson
from Clemson, SC
This is my 3rd Brother Multi-Function Color Laser printer. The previous 2 are still in use and I have been very pleased. However, this is the best one yet. I was waiting on one that had wireless capability allowing Air Print functions, dual-sided print/copy/scan and would also handle 8 1/2" by 14" paper. This one does it all. I had to wait a while until Brother could incorporate everything I needed a color laser to do and this one was well worth the wait. The only down-side is that I still have to use the USB connection from my computers that run Windows but this is nothing new. There's never a problem using wireless on Apple products. I just consider it another snafu using a Windows platform. The USB cable works just fine, especially for home office applications.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 2 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Small Office Printer
Date:March 26, 2014
By Holodyn
from Atlanta, GA
I don't write many reviews but I've just been blown away at the power of this machine and had to write. This machine is an amazing blend of form and function. The touchscreen interface is easy to navigate and packed with features. Within an hour of opening the box I had connected via Wifi, upgraded the firmware, performed a Duplex scan from the touchscreen to my desktop and again to my OneDrive account. I can now scan bills quickly, directly to a shared drive, cloud storage, or an FTP location. The print quality is as good or better than the HL-4040CDN we have at our satellite office. The ControlCenter software allows you to manage all the printer features remotely, or you can connect remotely to the machine through your browser. You would need to print thousands of pages a day to need anything more than the MFC-9340. I am once again shown what a great product Brother produces.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome!
Date:March 21, 2014
By Helwig
from Austin, TX
I purchased this for my solo practice law firm that I just opened, and it's been wonderful! It was easy to set up, scans beautifully, prints with sharpness, and looks good. I am so happy, because everyone told me to not go with an all-in-one.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great product for Small Business
Date:March 17, 2014
By MsRH
This is a very reliable product. Great software for all jobs, scanning, printing etc. Love that you can use a thumb drive. No negatives except it is very heavy.
Review 5 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Good Product
Date:March 7, 2014
By bellboy
from Bluffton, SC
After only owning this printer for a week, and having happily owned a Brother MFC-7840W for several years, I can say, so far, this new printer is living up to my expectations. It is exceptional. It was easy to install, is very fast and copies, prints and scans beautifully. It replaces a XEROX MFC printer and has proven to be much better, especially in terms of speed.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:February 26, 2014
By Brooklynkid
from California
I am very pleased with the MFC-9340CDW. It's quick and does everything I need it to do.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 7 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This one works wonderfully
Date:February 19, 2014
By DebbieL
from Raleigh, NC
I received my replacement printer, and it works perfectly.
I use and have used Brother Printers for years, this was the first problem I've had in all this time.
The Support Team worked with me and sent out our replacement immediately.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Feature Fill at a great price
Date:July 29, 2013
By Anonymous
I was pleasantly surprised at this feature filled solution.
I was expecting by $550 or more for the features I'm received with this device.
This device is my first purchase of a duplex printer and scanner.
I was able to start print within about 30 min after unpacking the device.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love this printer
Date:July 19, 2013
By timothyaaron
from Waukesha, WI
This printer is amazing. Easy setup, great quality, and flawless iOS and Mac integration... Much better than dealing with the headaches of inkjets and "free" printers...
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great easy to use machine
Date:April 5, 2014
By Wolfman333
from Iowa City, Ia
This machine was a snap to configure & go wireless although had to go online for instructions. It works flawlessly!! Once it wakes up it is the fastest printer I've ever owned , inkjets included
I Luv Luv this printer. No more dried out ink.
No more running out of usb ports.
Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the color is off a little. Bright red comes out orange. If you want photo quality you might spend a little more of a higher level machine but this one does pretty good (Magazine quality) which is what was expected. Kinda like TV without HD. Other then the off color I can not think of a single thing about it that doe's not meet my expectations.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
nice complete all in one
Date:February 27, 2014
By photofarm
This is a great printer scanner with auto duplex scanning, copying and printing. This is a great paper saving feature. It also does a nice job of color printing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer for the Money
Date:February 26, 2014
By vamacus
from VA
This printer is extremely versatile and accomplishes a lot for the price. I use it as a wireless device and the installation was quick and easy. The print and fax quality are excellent, and the ADF 2-sided copying/scanning saves me a lot of time.
It would have been nice to have a manual feeder that loaded more than one sheet at a time. The manual feed tray could also be longer. But these are only minor issues.
This is a great piece of office automation equipment.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 13 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:February 12, 2014
By 7awesomegirls
Customer service was wonderful when we were having issues with our recently purchased printer. They shipped us a new one with detailed steps on what parts to keep and how to return the used one. Very easy! New one is working great!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good Machine
Date:November 15, 2013
By Justizguitar
from Lewiston, Idaho
Brother makes a good product for the price. In the law office for years I bought expensive printers that did little more functionally than the printers I have purchased from Brother. I found that the previous machines cost me thousands of dollars and all that they did that these Brother Printers do not do is copy and print legal sized documents and stapled the documents. The old machines were far bigger and you had to have a maintenance contract that was more than one hundreds dollars per month. Brother machines are not designed to be high output but they do pretty well. On the average a Brother machine lasts about three to four year in my office. I spend about four hundred dollars on each Printer I purchase from Brother. I spent about 1500 dollars per year on the old machines just in maintanance contracts not to mention costs of makjor repairs. I have found over the past several years that I save substantial money buying a Brother Printer and throwing it away when it ceases to function properly 3 or four years later. Only complaint, if any, is the manual document feed and the output receiver are clumsy. Legal sized paper cannot be used, but that is so seldom needed in this day and age that the two or three times a year I would need that feature is far outweighed by the savings. The ink is expensive but no more than older larger printers. Over all I would say that I am very statisfied. The new Brother laser jets even take glossy paper but must be fed manually. Took about 30 minutes to set the printer up. Makes great copies for the price. I would recommend it. Also I wish there were more people who worked on these machines. They are so inexpensive to buy that there is little motivation to have them repaired. It is faster, easier and more ecconimical to purchase a new product. The only reason this product does not get a 5 star rating from me is because it does not staple or take legal sized paper, however, for the price, who could reasonably expect it to.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
good deal
Date:March 25, 2014
By Anonymous
from Clearwater, Fl
I found the printer very hard to set up. I have a mac and as you know I had to go on line and down load driver to print not knowing that I had to re start computer to make it work. Maybe its a mac thing???? Then it would not scan. Guess what? I had to go on line and down load scan driver. I had to make several calls that took hours to Brother and Mac. I have not tried the Fax-probably another driver for me to fax????? Over all love the print quality and speed. Just a bear to set up.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good, but problems
Date:February 28, 2014
By sheak
from Boulder, CO
My Brother MFC-9340CDW is two weeks old and doing well on some jobs, but horrible on others. I have MACs. Airprint works great! Any MS Offices files or PDF won't print over the wireless network after the fourth page. The wireless connection report says that I'm connected, but half way into the job the print cancels, blocks the print queue and all subsequent jobs are blocked. I have to clear the print queue manually. The network report says the printer is connected with good signal strength. I wanted this printer to work solely via a wireless connection, but I am adding a wired connection to see if I can get past the larger file print problems. The printer is also slow to print over a wireless connection in my case.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
MFC-9340CDW has software issues on network
Date:March 24, 2014
By AdmOp
from Houston
Utilized on network, this machine malfunctions repeatedly. Latest issue is regarding an error message to load correct paper in fax inbound transmissions. Unplugged, disconnected from network, repowered, set to default. Errors continued. This is the 2nd exact machine we have purchased. Probably would work just fine if not a network shared device.
If stand alone, it would probably function just fine.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 18 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Could be better
Date:March 20, 2014
By WMS2008
from Phoenix, AZ
Have had 2 of these machines in less than 1 month. Both have had problems with even color distribution. Machine has fuser issues after 2 days of use with few documents printed. Will not scan due to connection issue with Windows. Have to Install printer drivers several times.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 19 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
setting up wireless VERY frustrating
Date:October 16, 2013
By BruceT
from Minneapolis, MN
I have the MFC-9340CDW set up in a wireless configuration to a Windows 7 laptop and a Windows 8 laptop (have a network wireless hub).
I installed the drivers from the included CD and checked all configurations for install (printer, scanner, etc). The printer portion worked well for both OS environments, but could NOT get the scanner to work on either.
First I used the support chat and eventually it went in circles with no solution. Then I called customer support directly and that resolved nothing. In fact, they gave me wrong advice.
I re-installed drivers 5 different times, which ultimately ends up being Brother's answer. No luck. Another time they suggested my network is the issue. That was wrong as well.
I was ready to return the product to the store and thought I'd try one more thing. After the drivers are set up from the CD install, I did AN ADDITIONAL DISCOVERY within the control panel (devices and printers) and had Windows find the product (again) for me. It did just that and created an additional device within the control panel. I used that device's settings for the scanner and now the scanner works. The device that Brother creates from the setup CD is still used as the default printer. I had to do this for both Windows 7 and 8 computers.
Very frustrating to set up. Once set up, it seems to work well.
Take 1.5 stars away just for the poor setup installation for wireless and 1.5 stars away for poor tech support.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-9340CDW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
One of my worst purchases ever
Date:July 19, 2013
By Anonymous
from Anchorage
Can't print a single check.
Can't scan standard 5.5" x 8.5" using ADF.
Manual paper feeder too short.
Output cumbersome.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
8 of 32 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>