Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9130CW

Digital Color All-in-One with Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
14 of 21(67%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9130CW
Review 1 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Awesome Printer
Date:March 9, 2014
By Cowgirl
Great Printer & love the print quality. Toner cartridges couldn't be easier to change!! Installation instructions were easy to follow.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy to use! Beautiful print. Toner saver setting?
Date:March 9, 2014
By Support4reforms
from Mojave Desert, California
Very pleased with this printer. The pages turn out beautifully in color or b&w. It would be nice to have a toner saver/draft mode, and maybe it does. I haven't really looked. You can choose normal or fine.
Printers have been the bane of my life since getting my long hair caught in a chain printer when I worked alone at night as a mainframe computer operator in the 1960s. So far, this printer is wonderful. Keep in mind it is big and heavy. In spite of decades in I.T. (ended up managing departments and finally developing technical training and graphics), I did not attempt to connect it to anything. Why? Because now I must get my butt out of the chair and take the laptop to the printer. Otherwise, I would sit in front of the computer for hours--very unhealthy. The printer is great for me, but do research for your needs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Quiet and Fast
Date:March 9, 2014
By EarlyonHappy
from Albany, NY
The all in one was easy to connect, it prints fast and it is extremely quiet when compared to the HP 2600n I am replacing. I am also happy with the cost of the cartridges which are less expensive than those for the HP as well.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Printer Review
Date:February 24, 2014
By Realjohn
from Tempe, AZ
Very nice printer. Quality very good for both color and black and white. Wi-Fi setup very easy with Win 7.
2 improvements I would make so far:
1) When "Sleeping" it takes a few seconds for the first print
2) Grabbing printed documents a little difficult with larger hands
Other than that, very happy.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 5 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
A Sweet Deal
Date:January 10, 2014
By artyanimal
from McPherson, KS
For those of you that print a lot and in color this is a nice machine. It prints fast and produces very good quality documents. The price is rite for what you get. Be advised that this printer can only be conected to your network wirelessly, or directly to your computer via USB. Mine is still new so time will tell however the machine works very well and the scanner is awsome.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
LOVING MY BROTHER PRINTER
Date:November 3, 2013
By BIGRED46
from Danville, VA
I recently purchased a color laser printer from Brother International and I am just amazed at how much more vivid the printing is than it was in inkjet. I cannot help but to print pictures so that I am able to see how the color is captured through printing. I use the smooth printing paper so that I can catch every aspect of the color copies that I print. It is just so amazing; however, I still have my inkjet and I use it as well, but nothing takes the place of a laser printer. I am so glad that I have this printer and I think that I want to upgrade to the other color laser printer by Brother. Thanks Brother International. You have really outdone yourselves this time.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 7 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Worked Right Out of the Box
Date:September 6, 2013
By ELuria
from Potomac, MD
I've only owned the printer a short time, and I have limited patience for non-intuitive devices, but this printer has done everything I've needed after a very simple setup routine. Wireless connectivity worked with no complications; my laptop computer and other devices connected with it immediately; scans to Adobe Acrobat were set up perfectly immediately; and the copier copied, in good color. I should have purchased it months ago.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 8 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
New Printer
Date:September 4, 2013
By Zambini
from El Paso, Texas
I found setting up and using this printer to be enjoyable. Once I understood the command panel, I practice using it. Found it to be extremely easy and efficient.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easiest Setup Ever
Date:September 4, 2013
By Vlad
from Southern California
Purchased this printer for my home network. Setup went without a hitch. It now provides wireless printing throughout the house. Printing is crisp and fast. I highly recommend this printer.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
I Love this wireless printer!!
Date:July 2, 2013
By JParedes
from Miami, Florida
I needed an all in one printer that was efficient and sharp, The scanner and copier are easy to use from my iMac.
Kind of heavy and big but it prints/scans well. I recommend this for an office or commercial use. Home office is a good use as well.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Date:April 9, 2014
By Mari
Print quality: excellent
Ease of use: rear envelope exit door flimsy
and does not have an extension when one of main purposes is to print envelopes a bit taxing
plus one envelope at a time manual feed.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
great color laser.
Date:November 4, 2013
By argo
from Tucson, AZ
Great color laser, multifunction with fax and copy that makes this one ideal for a small business
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 13 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Easy Set Up and Operation
Date:October 2, 2013
By JMilo
from Houston, TX
This is my 3rd Brother printer but first laser machine. In addition to being a quality product that makes great prints, I was very please with how easy and seamless it was to set up and get running on all of the computers in my household, including wireless connectivity and the interface with the smart phone print app.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-9130CW
Date:September 18, 2013
By scapi
from Illinois
First: I would like to say that this printer was advertised as a "Laser Printer" through different suppliers on the internet and by "Best-Buy" salesperson. What I discovered, AFTER MY PURCHASE, was it is a "DIGITAL PRINTER, something I knew nothing about. I would like a clear and distinct explanation of what a DIGITAL PRINTER IS!!! Something like this should NEVER be left open for ANY CONFUSION.....and this is why I cannot give it a 5 star rating...
Second: It will not show anything but a blank rendering when I SCAN and highlight "Color Document," it will when I highlight "Color Photo."
Third: Why must I have to attach a USB Cable to get it to SCAN a document and place it onto my Computer, if both the computer and printer are "Wireless?"
Fourth, Printing, Faxing and Copying are great, clear and the results are sharp images.
I love the large paper capacity tray.
I love the Color Touchscreen. it's easy to understand and follow its instructions.
I like the fact that even though the ink cartridges cost close to $60.00, they give lots of copies before you have to replace.
I also like that four separate color cartridges, so if one runs out, you just replace that one and not all.
So far I like it and am glad I made the purchase. I'm a "BROTHER" fan!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Confusing MFC
Date:September 15, 2013
By DrOpie
from Utah
Getting the 9130 was a good choice until I had to connect the fax to my 2 line telephone. I attempted to get help from Brother but it took 30 to 45 minutes to get anyone to answer either on the phone or on their chat line. Then, when I did, they knew little about how I could accomplish this. I eventually went to my phone company and paid to have a technician come and address my problem. The problem is that there is only one line allowed into the fax so the second line became inoperable. Consumer service? Nice people, but surely not competent or willing to pass you on to someone who may have more knowledge.
PS the stars represent the machine once it is fully functioning, customer service would receive .5
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Mixed review
Date:March 9, 2014
By Serene
from Chicago, IL
Machine does alot but does most slowly and stupidly. It takes less space than my old copier and has a tray for the paper but it doesn't hold a full ream of paper. It uses a toner cartridge which is far better than some with individual colors which dry out if unused. However, to make a copy one must first push a button on the screen then wait till a picture comes up and then press a copy button. The copy then comes out quite slowly. If you want to make multiple copies of the same sheet, it is much faster after the initial copy.
One cannot copy on both sides of a sheet of paper without returning the first copy to the paper drawer in a certain orientation. I couldn't believe there wasn't an easy way and called the company.
The fax works well but the slowness is set by the same copier. i haven't used the other features yet. It will work for my purposes and save me money versus buying cartridges. It is poorly engineered...most likely outside of the US because of how awkward it was made to work.
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Date:April 9, 2014
By support
the printer works well with my computer using a usb cable im not able to use with multiple computers using my network I called for support but had to hang up after waiting 30 minutes on the phone
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Disappointed
Date:August 31, 2013
By BBBB
from Minneapolis MN
The setting are difficult to adjust on the fly when printing, if you don't want default settings. My old HP was much easier. Print quality is not all that great and there is NO WAY to print double sided. The option is greyed out in the settings.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Worst Brother Printer that I have ever had!
Date:February 9, 2014
By TMARTY
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
This printer will not stay connected to the WiFi system for more that two or three hours and then takes an hour to get it reconnected. I have two computers that connect up to the same WiFi transmitter and are further away and never have to be reconnected. I tried dealing with a representative but all she wanted to do was turn off the WiFi and turn it back on. I truly wish that I had purchased a HP or some other brand as this piece of junk is more trouble to use than it is worth
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-9130CW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
wifi connection not very good
Date:December 31, 2013
By Mammoau
from Alabama
This printer works great when it works. I lose my wifi connection just about everyday and have to reload the printer on my laptop. A real pain. Would not recommend if you are planning to use wifi as the connection.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>