Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9120CN

Digital Color All-in-One With Fax and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.575 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
28 of 40(70%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-9120CN
Review 1 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great move on my part
Date:December 24, 2012
By Loooney
from NY, NY
If you are tired of being ripped off paying for inkjet ink this is your solution.
Great quality print.
A lower cost per page.
What else is there?
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 2 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Purchase Ever
Date:July 13, 2010
By jdsams
from Wallowa Oregon
We purchased this to supplement our injet, it does an excellent job in all categories.
it is a little slow but I am upgrading the memory to speed it up.
it does not print pictures like the injet but is not a photo printer.
It is more economical and easier to use than our H.P.injet.
We got it at Costco on a special buy$$$
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 3 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
An Exceptional Small Business All-in-One
Date:July 9, 2010
By chambraigne
from Grand Junction, CO
The MFC-9120CN is a breeze to configure. Network scanning is completely straightforward and it took a total of about 2 minutes to figure out how to set up the machine to receive faxes through my company's VOIP phone system.
After about 4 months of steady use I would recommend this machine to anyone looking for a trusty multi-function laser printer. You won't be disappointed.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Home busines printer
Date:July 6, 2010
By SamR
This printer has turned out to be a very reliable and hard working printer for my home office and business. It pretty much handles any thing we throw at it from faxes to high end graphics. For a
ink-jet it is very economical to operate. My only con to the printer is the LCD screen could be larger to make it easier to read. Other then that I give this unit 5 stars.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 4, 2010
By Shockwav24
from Ohio
To date, this is by far one of the best printers I have ever owned. Getting hooked up to my network has been a little tricky, but it has been just as easy for me to just bring my laptop to the printer location and plug it in with the supplied cable. I had gotten so tired of my inkjet printers having problems with the cartridges going dry before I ever got full use out of them. This laser printer has been top-notch. It is easy to set up and easy to use. And all the functions make my life so much easier. I would definitely recommend this printer to any one.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
All-in-one Brother
Date:July 4, 2010
By BagramJohn
from Bagram Afghanistan
Bought to replace DoD printer which had a bad scanner. Very pleased with the Brother as it is quiet, fairly fast and the cartridges are reasonably priced compared to other mfgs. Will definitely consider Brother for future IT needs.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 7 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product
Date:July 3, 2010
By MountainGirl
from High in the mountains of Colorado
This machine ROCKS!! I'd finally had it with ink printers. I live in a low humidity area and my ink cartridge heads were always drying out and clogging up since I didn't print documents very often. Now that problem is nonexistent with this laser printer. I can go for months without printing anything then, when I finally do print something out, it works like a champ. I had to tweak the color adjustments some, but now they're set to my liking. I'm using regular paper and the printer heat seems to make it curl a bit, but maybe there's some laser specialty paper I should be using. Word of warning....this beast is HEAVY!! All in all, this is a terrific product and I highly recommend it!!!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great machine
Date:July 3, 2010
By bdilks
from Alexasndria, Virginia
we have owned this machine for a few months now and are really enjoying using it. set up was easy enough. instructions were ver good. The large paper capacity is nice to have. color is veery good. pictures loook great even on plain paper. document feeder is very fast. slow warm up time but that is because it has to heat up to print. print speed is very good. some minor problems using the manual feed slot. suspect that is because I don't quite understand the why's and hows of using it enough. this should get better with longer use of the mafchine. i kept trying to feed the paper and pressing the print button too quickly causing a backlog of print jobs. this caused my timing to be off when inserting the envelope into the slot. Can't print more than one envelope at a time. the scan function works very good as well. I do not know if the auto fax/tel setting works to recognise the difference between a fax and voice to send the call to either the fax or the answering machine.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Machine
Date:July 3, 2010
By NMAntiquer
from Carlsbad, NM
I have had this machine for a month now, and it copies well, prints well and faxes fine. My only complaint is the paper tray is small. I previously owned a different laser all in one and it was noisy and kept cycling itself. This machine is pretty quiet and prints much faster than my old machine. I am very pleased with the machine especially for the money. You can find it cheaper on other websites.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great improvement
Date:July 3, 2010
By mudman612
from Hill AFB, UT
We got this one to replace an older version after it stopped working. This one is more user friendly, set up was easy, it always works over our home network and the LCD display make it easy to use.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 11 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:July 3, 2010
By booknut
from Madison, WI
I got tired of my color inkjet printers drying up so I was looking for a color laser. I really liked my b/w Brother laser and this color one is awesome.
The other requirements were wireless, and a scanner. I probably won't use the built-in FAX.
Setting up the wireless is tough and getting color photos (make sure to use laser photo paper) takes some adjusting.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fast...Quick...Easy
Date:March 1, 2010
By Bogs
from Casper, WY
This line of laser printer dubbed the Brother MFC-9120CN is absolutely stunning. I do not have to wait for my pile of papers to finish printing. It prints as if you are ready to go with your documents before most printers prints line per line.
This one is insanely terrific. I must say even if it's bulky as a big machinery. It serves its purpose. Printing quality inked documents.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
After 12 Months
Date:December 24, 2012
By HudsonsBoss
from Los Angeles, CA & Park City, UT
I like this unit, copies wells and easy to use but I do not use too many advance features and scanning.
The one issue I have but is with most color copiers, is the expense of the ink-toner supplies.
Also, this unit is relatively new and haven't run into any problems or warranty issues. This is the primary area where I feel problems or dissatisfaction occurs.
Time will tell but I still like this unit and would rate this at 4-1/2 Stars.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Satisfied so far
Date:August 16, 2010
By juler15
from Central Pennsylvania
We've had our printer for approx. 4 months. Overall I have been satisfied with the product. We did have to replace the ink already which surprised me because I thought it would last longer than it did. (although, it lasted longe than my old printer would have) and we did have a piece of paper get stuck in the printer which created about 1/2 hour of wasted time but, that we little bit of paper was in the printer, and the machine kept telling us that it was. I would by this product again.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:July 6, 2010
By ParishAdministrator
from Louisiana
Purchased the MFC-9120CN two mons ago and am very well pleased. The color printing is just fabulous! Our bulletins and newsletters are much more pleaseing to peruse with color. We are still haveing trouble with the FAX, but I thnk it's on our end having trouble setting up. Would highly recommend this printer to anyone.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 16 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great
Date:July 6, 2010
By newbie
from Mt. Pleasant, SC
I love the printer. It is rather slow on the warm up but that doesn't particularly bother me.
My main complaint is that when printing envelopes, they come out slightly wrinkled and sloppy looking (the printing is fine, I just don't like that they are wrinkled and curved).
Additionally, there are several different options for scanning which can be confusing until you decide exactly what you want to use.
I don't use the fax machine so I can't speak to that.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Review 17 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great All-In-One; Adequate software
Date:July 5, 2010
By ThorAtHome
from Rhode Island
I like the Brother products and have a bunch of them in my home and office.
The MFC-9120CN is excellent, fast and accurate. a good sturdy printer/scanner. It's my mainstay office printer, I use every day. I'll buy a second one in a heartbeat when I need one. I have used both the USB and the network connections. All good. For my business, I use the printer and scanner, not the fax.
I give it 4 stars because the control software for the scanner is clunky, my only complaint. But I scan in b/w & color, single- and multi-page to PDF routinely and with no problems. Can scan to TIFF, JPEG, etc, too. Would be nice if the software were as elegant as the printer itself.
ANother excellent Brother product. I'm happy.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 18 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
I like it!
Date:July 5, 2010
By linda
from St. Louis, MO
I've never bought Brother products before, but bought this all-in-one on the referral of the IT company I use. They said it is sturdy and economical.
I really like it -- it offers all the features I wanted for my business, and I enjoy using it. At first I was a little intimidated with the huge cartridges and figuring out how to use it; but the features and cartridge installation turned out to be very simple. I haven't yet used the fax; but the printing, copying, and scanning are so easy!
The only drawbacks would be that it prints very slowly and the colors are a little off. But for my needs, it is awesome!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 19 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Almost perfect for home office
Date:July 4, 2010
By BrandynSim
from San Francisco, CA
Love this printer for printing color and black and white forms, letters, etc. HOWEVER, printing an envelope is another matter. I can't tell you how many times it "jams" and there isn't a jam. The automatic document feeder has been great, I have problems with this feature on other laser printers.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 20 for MFC-9120CN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Quality but...
Date:July 3, 2010
By ChuckC
from Raleigh, NC
I've been a fan of Brother printers for a long time. This machine performs very well - quiet, almost no jams, intuitive controls and easy to set up. But... be sure to price the toner cartridges and calculate the total cost of ownership so you won't be unpleasantly surprised as was I. The printer is worthy of 5 stars, but the costly cartridges pull the overall rating down.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 2 next>>