Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8950DWT

High-Performance Laser All-in-One with Advanced Duplex, Wireless Networking and Dual Paper Trays
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
20 of 25(80%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-8950DWT
Review 1 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Economic Alternative to Lease/Purchase
Date:June 26, 2015
By LawOfficeGuru
from Las Cruces, NM
I have owned (and continue to own) printers, fax machines and scanners (both flatbed and high-speed), and I have owned and leased copiers. Until recently, I balked at owning either high-speed scanners or copy machines because they were generally either outside my budget or lacked the features and speed my office required.
Not so with the MFC-8950DW and its two-drawer sibling, the MFC-8950DWT, which is really the same machine with an included, but separately boxed, second drawer. So far (since I have only owned and used it for a couple of months), it has behaved flawlessly for what I have used it - primarily a copier, with some duplex printing.
The controls are intuitive, so I have yet to have to read the ample manual that came with it, other than at setup, which proceeded flawlessly. It is hooked up to my wireless network, so any of my office stations can print to it. The copies it makes are clear, and if anything, initially somewhat dark, until I set the darkness level a little bit lighter.
And it's fast, at or nearly equal to my commercial rental, and since it both scans and prints in duplex, it by far outdistances the rental when I am printing in duplex, since my old machine took each copy through a complex mechanical second printing pass before the copy was deposited in the completed pile.
But what sold me is the economics. As long as I don't need to make originals or copies larger than the 8950's maximum 8 1/2" by 11" sheet size, which comprises at least 99.9% of my output, I can amortize over one year the full cost of the printer and its copies, including the toner and eventual new drum, to about what my commercial rental was costing me for the same period. The difference being that after the first year of purchase and operation, I have paid for my Brother what I would have paid under my lease, so my costs for any use AFTER that first year (when I have only operating costs) are dramatically LESS than leasing. Before purchasing, I spoke with my current copier lessor about something it might have for comparison, but nothing with the same features and remotely comparable price point was available across its three available commercial product lines. My monthly duty cycle falls comfortably within the cycle specified by Brother.
I admit that I miss a larger platen size for reduction copying, but for the vast majority of my office work, large documents are not involved, and the wireless connection and duplex (and greater) printing options more than compensate for me. The Bother warranty assures that at minimum the 8950DWT will operate during my amortization period, and as I say, thereafter it becomes an ever-increasing bargain.
Since I already have dedicated printers, scanners and fax machines, I do not utilize those features on the 8950DWT, and cannot speak with any authority as to them.
I have two other Brother printers, neither of which have had any problems after their respective warranty periods have expired. Hopefully, the 8950 will be the same.
Well done, Brother!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 2 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for a small business
Date:June 5, 2015
By AnytimeRealty
from North Port FL
You need a professional to set up scan to email feature. The printer status shows offline sometimes and my other printers never did that so I changed the sleep setting to 90 min which is the max and that problem may of gone away. Besides that this printer is great for a 15-20 person office. I cna print from my cell phone which is cool
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-8950DWT
Date:June 2, 2015
By aloanofficer
from Bakersfield, CA
Absolutely worth the money. Only 1 thing I would change is when letter paper runs out there is no notice, automatically switches to legal sized printing. Other than that a great machine. I will never go back to HP printers again.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Date:January 28, 2015
By AZSERVICE
from Miami,FL
Works awesome and prints fast !! would recommended to anyone.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another terrific Brother MFC.
Date:January 12, 2015
By KLDriver
from San Francisco, CA
This top-tier Brother mono MFC-9850DWT replaced a worn-out MFC 8640DN: this one's a step up with its improved duplex copier and improved print quality. I have three current Brother printers at home to compare against our office that has Canon and HP printers and copiers. I chose Brother for my personal home usage because of its optimum quality and value - that says it all...
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it
Date:November 18, 2013
By DSPesq
I love it and my staff loves it.
Setup is difficult and
PaperPort ripped out all Nuance products already installed on my machine. That I did not love. Now I have to pay to replace working Nuance programs.
Think carefully before you install the suite if you have other Nuance products already installed.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:November 13, 2013
By ChiroCare
The printer is great, the office upgraded to this model for the 2nd paper tray capabilities. We use medical bill forms and it is nice to not have to keep switching paper. Its is much quieter, the machine shuts down quickly and it is fast. Just a note, the machine itself is the MFC-8950DW, which is the 1 drawer machine, the only thing that makes it a MFC-8950DWT is the 2nd tray that is just added on to the machine. I thought we got the wrong machine when it arrived because it was in a huge outter box with MFC-8950DWT, then it was in an inner box that was marked MFC-8950DW. There was a seperate box that had the additional paper tray, but it really wasnt clearly marked when ordering or opening, we thought the other box with the tray was the toner. So just be aware of that the machine itself is marked MFC-8950DW.
Havent used the scanner yet, but since its wireless, seems easy.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellencies
Date:October 22, 2013
By RAPIDMEX
from Philadelphia ,Pa
5 Stars the best very nice and easy
Top quality excellent
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC8950-DWT
Date:October 11, 2013
By Remmy
from Fort Worth, TX
So far the equipment meets my expectations and I am very pleased.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
What a Wonderful Machine!!
Date:September 29, 2013
By HLeRoux
from Los Alamitos, California
Fabulous piece of equipment. Fast, excellent print quality. Fantastic paper capacity. Recommend it
highly. Best machine I have ever purchased. Well worth the price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Pleased
Date:May 25, 2013
By Bridget
from Brea CA
I have had Brother printers for many years. This is the first time I had one with the dual paper trays and I LOVE IT. I also love the fact that it prints both sides at one time. I am very pleased. I print flyers for work and even in the toner save mode, my prints come out beautiful, crisp, and clear.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 12 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT BUY
Date:May 16, 2013
By FUNNYBONZ
from TX
THIS PRINTER IS GREAT. I HAVE BEEN USING BROTHER PRINTERS FOR ABOUT 10 YEARS. THIS IS THE FIRST ONE TO COME THE SECOND PAPER TRAY IN THE BOX. THE TRAYS ARE VERY LARGE, SO LESS LOADING.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 13 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Customer Care
Date:March 7, 2013
By JD710
We ordered the original printer from Costco online. Right out of the box there was a software problem that could not be fixed over the phone. Without hesitation, I was offered another new printer which was overnighted to my location. The replacement has worked flawlessly and the wireless feature adds benifits that makes the purchase even better. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE after the sale. Brother is a top notch company and has earned my respect and consideration for future purchases.
Review 14 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
We love it!
Date:November 25, 2012
By garth
from Knoxville, Tn
Now this is no commercial Laser printer...But we just bought our 2nd one because we like it so well! It has above avg speed in printing/scanning. I dont think you will be upset. Shop around the price on this has a big range! ;)
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent "All in One"
Date:November 12, 2012
By Selectronics
from Waterford, Michigan
This machine does it all! It was simple to set up and network within our office. It's easy to use. You don't need the Manual to figure out how to use all the functions! It prints and copies faster than any machine we have ever used in our office.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good machine!
Date:June 18, 2015
By DocPrepper
Overall great printer and scanner. A bit slow on the scanner side but does the job we need it too. We print/scan roughly 3500 pages of material per week and we are happy with our Brother MFC-8950DW. In addition, we use the super high yield toner cartridges and they are absolutely worth the money!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
MFC 8950DWT
Date:September 30, 2013
By Omega5
from Texas
I needed this for the mult tray for the ability to print legal doc's and so far it has been doing great. It has been only a few weeks but so far I had no issues and love it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
my work is easier
Date:July 29, 2013
By sacsue
This equipment is efficient and takes less space. Will suite my office needs.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Purchase
Date:April 2, 2013
By linperk
from Hamden, CT
Have only used for 3 days, but am very satisfied with machine. It prints very quicklyand the scanning feature is a plus.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-8950DWT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Good printer but stops working often
Date:February 26, 2015
By ChurchOffice
from Canton, IL
Well made printer 2 years old - stops working often and we have to open and close front/rear doors to get the operator panel to turn on. Problem occurs about once a week????
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>