Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8950DW

High-Performance Laser All-in-One with Advanced Duplex and Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
19 of 25(76%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-8950DW
Review 1 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-8950-DW is great!
Date:June 7, 2014
By mtb01
from Salt Lake City, UT
It simply works and works very well: fast, reliable, good print, etc. I have been using it for 1.5 years and haven't had any trouble with it! I love it!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 2 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-8950DW Printer
Date:May 2, 2014
By Gustoff
from Medina, OH
Wow, this is both a very fast (much faster than other reviews lead me to believe) and high quality printer with many extras ... especially the two sided copying & scanning without flipping the sheet. And setting the machine up was simple so long as you follow the instructions (I am using it wirelessly). Can't say enough about Brother products ... they work well and are made well and as advertised. What more could you want.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 3 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-8950DW
Date:February 4, 2014
By Behrooz
from Houston, Texas
I had another Brother Printer the MFC-8660DN and such a good experience with it that I decided to buy another one. This time, I wanted wireless connection capability as an added function. The MFC-8950DW is an outstanding printer. It is high quality in every way I can think of.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 4 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Bought one for the office, then one for home
Date:January 18, 2014
By baltovet
from Maryland
I purchased a MFC 8820 in 2003 and it lasted well into 2013 before it took its last breath one day. I replaced it in the fall of 2013 with the 8950DW, and I have been nothing but impressed with the machine. I have an inexpensive MFC 7740 at home which works well , but lacks the speed and features found on the 8950. When I saw that the 8950 was on sale at a local office supply store last week, I purchased another one for home. It may be a bit of overkill, but I liked the first one so much I wanted the conveniences which it adds for my home use as well The ONLY issue I have had so far is that on the first one, some of the pieces of blue packaging tape left a residue when they were peeled off, which makes it less than smooth when sliding paper across the affected area. (I tried Goof-off, and even that didn't get rid of it) The second printer did not have any such issue. The machine is very fast and so far has not had a single malfunction. The touchscreen is a great feature. My only recommendation would be to make the buttons more "clicky" as opposed to the soft feel that they have.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 5 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:January 10, 2014
By JosephPTS
Scans fast, great copies, WFII works great, No complaints
Review 6 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy set-up
Date:July 13, 2013
By Gatorsadie
I have not used many of the options yet, but found the set-up easy and am very happy with the purchase.
Review 7 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:April 22, 2013
By Gojuman
from Highland Mills, NY
I have my MFC-8950DW for just short of a month at this point. I wanted to print, copy and scan a large amount of documents in a variety of configurations before I wrote this review. Aside from the fact that it is a bit loud at start up the machine is just incredible. Set up is a breeze.
I cannot speak as to whether it can handle a mix of both letter and legal sized documents at the same time as I do not have a second paper tray and don’t need one. I do not use it as a fax either.
Everything I have tossed at it so far is handled with speed, clarity and top notch reliability. I don’t understand why some reviewers complain the function that reduces the size of multiple page documents and fits them into one page does not work. It works perfectly in both single and two sided mode and will save lots of paper. Perhaps those people do not understand the options on the printer properties page. The two sided printing, copying and scanning functions work as they should. However, when scanning to PDF the default size produces very large files and with a few simple adjustments they can be reduced down to where you want them.
In my opinion, after looking at many other brands and models this is the best black and white laser multifunction machine on the market at this time.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Duplex Printing with Brother Printer
Date:January 25, 2013
By Bhaibhai
from Retired Home Office
I Had this Printer for nearly three weeks First and foremost its software installation was a cinch. Secondly I immediately looked into its duplex printing aspect that really made me happy as we get both sides printed in one single saan of the document. That precisely was not the case with my earlier Brother Printer Mod: DCP 8065DN that needed each side scan separately and after some usage it started missing some portion of document on the other side. This one seems ok to resolve that issue. IN total I have three Brother Printers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 9 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine, Great customer support from Brother
Date:January 2, 2013
By cimmo
from Shelby Township Michigan
This is our second all-in-one. We needed a machine that would send a received Fax to a PC so we could easily re-fax or email the document. The competition could not accomplish this at that time, the brother all-in-one did the job and was very dependable. The online support has been fantastic.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Impressive and greatly improved
Date:December 21, 2012
By mgross
Faster, better, smaller than before. This thing is blazing fast. The single-pass duplex scanner/copier is the only one in its class. The new touch screen control panel is simple and so much easier to use. The smaller footprint is more efficient. The higher capacity paper tray takes an entire ream of paper. By far, the best all-in-one out there.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So far an excellent machine
Date:November 30, 2012
By 1974Irish
from Stevenson Ranch, CA
Works as advertised. Okay is this long enough now. I have better things to do with my day.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
easy setup
Date:November 26, 2012
By reynaldo
from Kennewick, WA
Everything works as advertised. Toner cartidges are a little expensive but I like the high number of copies on the high capacity toner cartridge and the 500+ input paper tray. Easy to setup and get started. I feel that it is an excellent multifunction machine at a reasonable price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 13 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great purchase
Date:November 26, 2012
By sandee
from california
very quick and efficient...product....needed a faster machine and dual tray
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 14 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This 8950dw is DynOmite
Date:November 22, 2012
By Stburch
from Great falls,mt
This is my second printer. I bought it because it prints and scans to iPads and iPhones. It was easy to set up, is fast and as a musician scanning music over to iPads can't be simpler . The duplexes is extremely fast. I printed a 360 page music fake book in 24 minutes. Pretty fast if I must say so.
It holds 500 sheets and I have a lower tray(lt5400) ordered.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 15 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great! As Promised!
Date:November 18, 2012
By MissPam
from Texas
Great, fast, easy to use printer. Does it all. Wireless set up was a snap & I am not a computer person. Love printing from iPhone & iPad.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Review 16 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good Value
Date:February 10, 2014
By Cruz
It's a great value with the optional extra paper tray. Never had any issues with memory. The printer/copier is fast (single side). The fax functions are very dependable.
My only complaint is that it cuts any image or character from the very edge of the original document being copied or scanned, so that the copy will not be identical to the original.
Review 17 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great printer for the price
Date:August 8, 2013
By acdasb
from San Diego CA
We have had other Brother printers in the past and have always been happy with them. This one is no exception. It prints quickly and so far seems to be a great printer.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 18 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Impressive "wake up" time
Date:November 26, 2012
By Customer
from Detroit
I am amazed at how fast the machine wakes from power saving mode and is ready to work. It is literally a second or two!
The touch screen is a bit awkward but functional.
Importing contact information from a csv file was complicated. The machine itself cannot accept a csv file. However the pc-fax application can import a csv file and then save it in a format that the machine accepts. One extra step and done right? Nope. Gotta import the new file you created with the pc-fax software and then go back and manually enter your 32 one-touch quick dials.
This said, the frustration of this was worth the benefits of what this machine does. I only hope that by the time this one wears out Brother will have software that can import a multitude of file types of contact information.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
It's fast but not perfect
Date:November 25, 2012
By TimLawyer
from Oklahoma City
I have been a longtime user of Brother all-in-ones, so I have some perspective on the performance of this model. Brother really went over the top and included about every possible feature you could ask for in the MFC-8950DW.
Pros: Fast, easy - visually appealing visual interface, feature-packed, the black color is attractive, increased paper capacity.
Cons: Cheap construction (especially in the ADF), sub-par photo copies (e.g., drivers licenses, and the like). My previous Brother all-in-ones, in the photo mode, make a more detailed copy of photos, as compared to this new flagship model. That is a disappointment. It appears they have sacrificed greyscale step- quality in favor of speed.
Some messages on the display are in obvious ESL format.
When the toner gets low, a message appears on the display. Thereafter, the display never goes into sleep mode, unless you dismiss the low-toner message (or replace the toner). This is just poor programming. Brother either wants to goad you into prematurely replacing your toner cartridge, or they just just didn't think out the programming on this error message.
Other thoughts:
I was going to purchase the more-or-less matching Brother laser printer to complement this new all-in-one, but after observing the build quality of the MFC-8950DW, I decided to go with a competing model with more robust construction.
I hope Brother listens to their customers and steps up their game, with more robust build quality in their next generation, to match their great specs and capabilities.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
this was a bust!
Date:February 24, 2014
By sjs1598
from raleigh, nc
Brother 8950dw is a good idea BUT I could not get the "fax forward to email" feature to work properly after hours of trying various settings and several calls to Brother tech support. Brother Tech support was useless! All they could do was email me troubleshooting procedures which I had already downloaded from the internet and used, but no avail. They promised they would escalate this issue to the next tier of support and they would call me within 4 hours, but I never received a phone call back. I returned my Brother mfc 8950 for full refund. This product is faulty, at least with regards to fax forward to email feature that Brother advertises. If you need/want this feature you better look elsewhere.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>