Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8950DW

High-Performance Laser All-in-One with Advanced Duplex and Wireless Networking
Average Customer Rating:
4.029 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
27 of 35(77%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-8950DW
Review 1 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-8950DW
Date:June 23, 2015
By DrManny
from Tusin, CA
This is my third MFC Brother printer. Each one was a improvement, however the MFC-8950 represents a significant improvement over the MFC-8890DW. It is not so much the speed as the solid build quality is improved. Also it was always a pain to have to fill the unit with paper was it held only a small amount. This unit holds 500 sheets which is really helpful. The other outstanding aspect is the improved software. Night and Day difference. The other MFC software worked but required a lot of extra work. I could scan a group of pages but then I found myself converting to PDF and then combining into one file. This software does all this automatically. A real time saver. I also like the visual nature of the software. The software was always a hassle in loading. Often the computer would not pick up the printer. It just took a long time to set up the printer for each computer. This software is much improved. Was very easy to setup. The LCD Screen is bigger and easier to read. Another improvement is the longer lasting tonner. All is all I am really happy that I invested in this machine. I wish it had been around sooner.
Manny
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-8950DW
Date:May 27, 2015
By mtfrito
from Billings, MT
does the job we wanted it to do. No complaints thus far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another fantastic printer
Date:May 22, 2015
By olfusa
from Florida
I've been purchasing Brother products since 1988 and this all-in one is my 4th unit. In the past I've had HPs and Cannons, but quite frustrating experience.
With with Brother its always great!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love this dual tray printer
Date:April 27, 2015
By Neen
from Bakersfield, CA
I love this printer. I am a notary and print legal and letter sized pages that the printer needs to recognize. I had an issue in the set up process but called Brother and the tech support person was awesome. She set it up to pull the correct pages by paper source. This has made my life so much easier. I no longer have to manually select pages to print by paper size.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Couldn't do without it!
Date:April 11, 2015
By SevenOf9
from Kansas City, Mo
The best laser I've ever had. The scanning capability and the software that goes with are exemplary. I have it on my network and fax documents from any station.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
After a few bumps, it works great!
Date:January 30, 2015
By Vandy
from Kansas
I own another Brother printer, but decided to get this one because it prints much faster and can scan both sides of a document. I like the fact that the printers can be used through WIFI.
Well, long story made short, after I hooked it up, it kept losing the wireless connection. I reinstalled the drivers, and it would work for awhile, then stop working. I ended up with several versions of drivers on in Windows (Copy 1, Copy 2, etc).
I searched and searched on the web to find an answer. Finally I found it! You need to give the printer a static IP addy also (and give it a static IP on the router).
I gave it a static IP on my router right from the start, but that didn't help. However, when I made the IP static on the printer, it worked, and I haven't had any trouble since!
Interestingly, I wasn't having any trouble with my other Brother printer (HL2270DW) until I moved it to another room to make way for my new MFC-8950DW. Then it started doing the same thing as the MFC-8950DW!
Once I got the problem on the MFC figured out, I applied it to the HL also, and they both work flawlessly now!
The MFC printer prints fast! It is quiet and outputs good quality! I am very satisfied with it.
BTW, if you need to change the IP adress to static, follow these steps:
1) Go to the BRAdmin Light
2) Choose your printer, then click on the "Network Configuration" icon on the top. (You can also use the menus: Control | Network Configuration)
3) From with the Network Configuration window that opens, click on the "Network" tab.
4) Tick the "Static" radio button in the "Boot Method" box.
5) Then be sure the numbers in the "IP Address", "Subnet Mask", and "Gateway" match the ones from your router's config. page.
6) That's it!
I hope this helps!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent
Date:December 22, 2014
By CSN44
from Columbus, NE
Great printer! I have two of these printers and they perform flawlessly! Buy it - you'll be happy!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-8950-DW is great!
Date:June 7, 2014
By mtb01
from Salt Lake City, UT
It simply works and works very well: fast, reliable, good print, etc. I have been using it for 1.5 years and haven't had any trouble with it! I love it!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brother MFC-8950DW Printer
Date:May 2, 2014
By Gustoff
from Medina, OH
Wow, this is both a very fast (much faster than other reviews lead me to believe) and high quality printer with many extras ... especially the two sided copying & scanning without flipping the sheet. And setting the machine up was simple so long as you follow the instructions (I am using it wirelessly). Can't say enough about Brother products ... they work well and are made well and as advertised. What more could you want.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-8950DW
Date:February 4, 2014
By Behrooz
from Houston, Texas
I had another Brother Printer the MFC-8660DN and such a good experience with it that I decided to buy another one. This time, I wanted wireless connection capability as an added function. The MFC-8950DW is an outstanding printer. It is high quality in every way I can think of.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Bought one for the office, then one for home
Date:January 18, 2014
By baltovet
from Maryland
I purchased a MFC 8820 in 2003 and it lasted well into 2013 before it took its last breath one day. I replaced it in the fall of 2013 with the 8950DW, and I have been nothing but impressed with the machine. I have an inexpensive MFC 7740 at home which works well , but lacks the speed and features found on the 8950. When I saw that the 8950 was on sale at a local office supply store last week, I purchased another one for home. It may be a bit of overkill, but I liked the first one so much I wanted the conveniences which it adds for my home use as well The ONLY issue I have had so far is that on the first one, some of the pieces of blue packaging tape left a residue when they were peeled off, which makes it less than smooth when sliding paper across the affected area. (I tried Goof-off, and even that didn't get rid of it) The second printer did not have any such issue. The machine is very fast and so far has not had a single malfunction. The touchscreen is a great feature. My only recommendation would be to make the buttons more "clicky" as opposed to the soft feel that they have.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:January 10, 2014
By JosephPTS
Scans fast, great copies, WFII works great, No complaints
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Easy set-up
Date:July 13, 2013
By Gatorsadie
I have not used many of the options yet, but found the set-up easy and am very happy with the purchase.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine
Date:April 22, 2013
By Gojuman
from Highland Mills, NY
I have my MFC-8950DW for just short of a month at this point. I wanted to print, copy and scan a large amount of documents in a variety of configurations before I wrote this review. Aside from the fact that it is a bit loud at start up the machine is just incredible. Set up is a breeze.
I cannot speak as to whether it can handle a mix of both letter and legal sized documents at the same time as I do not have a second paper tray and don’t need one. I do not use it as a fax either.
Everything I have tossed at it so far is handled with speed, clarity and top notch reliability. I don’t understand why some reviewers complain the function that reduces the size of multiple page documents and fits them into one page does not work. It works perfectly in both single and two sided mode and will save lots of paper. Perhaps those people do not understand the options on the printer properties page. The two sided printing, copying and scanning functions work as they should. However, when scanning to PDF the default size produces very large files and with a few simple adjustments they can be reduced down to where you want them.
In my opinion, after looking at many other brands and models this is the best black and white laser multifunction machine on the market at this time.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Duplex Printing with Brother Printer
Date:January 25, 2013
By Bhaibhai
from Retired Home Office
I Had this Printer for nearly three weeks First and foremost its software installation was a cinch. Secondly I immediately looked into its duplex printing aspect that really made me happy as we get both sides printed in one single saan of the document. That precisely was not the case with my earlier Brother Printer Mod: DCP 8065DN that needed each side scan separately and after some usage it started missing some portion of document on the other side. This one seems ok to resolve that issue. IN total I have three Brother Printers.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great machine, Great customer support from Brother
Date:January 2, 2013
By cimmo
from Shelby Township Michigan
This is our second all-in-one. We needed a machine that would send a received Fax to a PC so we could easily re-fax or email the document. The competition could not accomplish this at that time, the brother all-in-one did the job and was very dependable. The online support has been fantastic.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Impressive and greatly improved
Date:December 21, 2012
By mgross
Faster, better, smaller than before. This thing is blazing fast. The single-pass duplex scanner/copier is the only one in its class. The new touch screen control panel is simple and so much easier to use. The smaller footprint is more efficient. The higher capacity paper tray takes an entire ream of paper. By far, the best all-in-one out there.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
So far an excellent machine
Date:November 30, 2012
By 1974Irish
from Stevenson Ranch, CA
Works as advertised. Okay is this long enough now. I have better things to do with my day.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 4
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
easy setup
Date:November 26, 2012
By reynaldo
from Kennewick, WA
Everything works as advertised. Toner cartidges are a little expensive but I like the high number of copies on the high capacity toner cartridge and the 500+ input paper tray. Easy to setup and get started. I feel that it is an excellent multifunction machine at a reasonable price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 5
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-8950DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great purchase
Date:November 26, 2012
By sandee
from california
very quick and efficient...product....needed a faster machine and dual tray
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>