Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8680DN

High-Performance Laser All-in-One with Networking and Duplex
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-8680DN
Review 1 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Nice printer
Date:July 4, 2010
By medicEdrn
from Phoenix, AZ
I have had this printer for about 2 months and so far so good. Makes great copies and scans and printing is fast. Easy set up and no problems with windows 7. Haven't used the other functions (duplex, etc.). The only complaint, and very minor at that, is it is a bit on the big side. Overall a very nice combo unit and glad I got it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer I've ever owned.
Date:July 4, 2010
By lee788
from New York
Works flawlessly, has more features than I can count. Machine does everything but make my morning coffee. Far exceeds my older Laserjet in speed and features.
Does single, and duplex printing. It's quiet and very fast. Toner cost is reasonable with about 5000 copies per cartridge. The cartridge is about the price of a tri-color inkjet from the two letter company. All considered the printing cost is a fraction of what the average ink-jet costs per copy.
The scanner portion is full color and will even e-mail you the copies.
I would have purchased the color version but I rarely print color and my budget didn't allow it. My sister has the Brother full color machine, it is about 4 years old and never had a problem. She is only now replacing her cartridges. The color version can produce near professional copies, and is built with the same high quality as the monochrome version.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:July 4, 2010
By Dononlbi
from New Jersey
I bought 2 of these and use the updated Paperport Pro program on Windows 7. I try to scan all my bills and paperwork and these units do the job very well. The dual side scan is very nice feature. I have had a few of the earlier models which also worked very well. I would recommend highly.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Perfect So Far
Date:July 3, 2010
By WealthmanagerinPitt
from Pittsburgh, PA
Bought this machine after reading great reviews on Consumer Reports. Got a great price at Costco.
Have use the machine for copying, scanning and
lots of printing. It is very simple to use, very fast
and the print quality is very good. Most importantly,
the cost per page is low, low, low. Liked it so much that I just bought a Brother Color Laser to go with it.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Gust are Happy
Date:July 3, 2010
By Wildflower
from Cuero TX
MFC-8680DN have Increas my Bussiness,
all my gust are very happy, Best Buy Ever
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice Printer, but ...
Date:January 22, 2012
By JayBee
from NY Metropolitan area
Overall, the printer has great functionality, Brother support is excellent ~ unlike dysfunctional HP, but I have one grievance:
The printer must remain on to retain the date & time setting and the fax log for fax usage reports. I consider this an inexcusable oversight since electricity is costly and energy should be conserved in today's environment.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 7 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice machine for personl or small business
Date:July 3, 2010
By DJWilson
from San Diego, CA
The price was right and the features are nice.
If you have to have a copier, fax and printer this one won't do you wrong.
I have never had a problem with any of my Brother printers/copiers/fax machines and this one is no different.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 8 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Date:September 22, 2010
By cmkuo
from Arcadia, CA
This machine has all the functions I need. However, the scanning area seems to be smaller than it should be. More exactly, the actual size of the copy of a letter size document is 8.43x10.97. This creates a blank margin (truncation) compared to the original document. Moreover, it would be great if the scanning software is the full/pro version.
Expertise: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-8680DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Disappointing.but consider this is my 4th Bro MFP.
Date:July 3, 2010
By DocJ
from Fort Lee, NJ
This is my 4th Brother MFP, all things consideredthe other 3 performed well, and lasted a very long time until the cost for the Toner and Drum became more expensive than the newer models... I have decided to switch to a new one... This one however, only lasted a little over 1 year.. what a bummer.. it just simply stopped working.. I even had to waste a new toner/Drum set to boot. With that said, I replaced it with another MFP.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.