Product Reviews

Brother MFC-8510DN

Fast Laser All-in-One with Duplex Printing and Networking
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 of 11(55%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-8510DN
Review 1 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
GREAT PRODUCT!
Date:December 26, 2012
By defender777
from Chicago
i am a solo practitioner lawyer in Chicago and I have to say that I just love this machine. It prints like a dream and the text output quality is very professional. It's exactly what i was looking for.
I highly recommend this printer for those that require professional high quality output.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 2 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent - Should Have Bought It Years Ago
Date:November 25, 2012
By Larryst
from Northern Virginia
Starts printing just seconds after turning on. Been working fine since first day. Lot less expensive in ink costs vs an inkjet per page and also because ink does not dry out which further adds to inexpensive per page costs.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great for Medical Office
Date:March 25, 2014
By MindFulB
from Columbia, SC
There is the protection of patient's records with the use of this all in one device. Our office staff is truly amazed at the user friendly ability to do everything needed with this unit.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Adequate
Date:September 17, 2013
By dmbrfld
from Tucson, AZ
MFC 8510 DN is adequate for a small office, would not serve as the only printer. Monthly reports need to be printed from one of my programs, this printer does not recognize all of the reports and shows an error of "out of paper" when there is plenty of paper in the machine. Tech support stated that my program needed an adjustment not the printer, but that was not true. I had to switch to another printer in order to print the reports which this Brother could not recognize. Also the output tray in front of the printer needs a design modification, prints need to be brought further out of the printer for easy removal.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 5 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
A work horse
Date:September 16, 2013
By Nurse
from Redding, CA
This printer works all day long at a busy medical clinic with 6 different computers in the network- printing and FAXing.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 6 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Nice
Date:May 23, 2013
By Mookie
from Chic
I've only given this printer 4 stars instead of 5 because I've only printed to test it out, I haven't actually used it at this point. However, when programming it I think the instructions/manufacturer could have been clearer on the "air printing" and the type of internet would be necessary to use this feature. I found the description of this product to be misleading.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Review 7 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Nice but unable to get toner for it
Date:January 10, 2013
By yard07
from Minden, LA
The printer is fine but I have tried to order the toner and went to office depot, best buy and have been unable to get a toner cartridge. It is backordered and I need my printer everyday!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Works fine--for a short amount of time
Date:June 12, 2014
By anony
When new, the printer and copier worked fine--speed was good, quality was fine. The process of making menu selections was a little excessive.
Then after about 15 months, printing quality deteriorated, lines showed up in scans, and paper output started wrinkling regularly. We could not rely on the copier after that, and there was no replacement part that could take care of the problem in an affordable way. It was very reasonably priced for all of its functions, so it may make sense to purchase with an extended warranty. But it seems wasteful if if the printers aren't made to last.
Review 9 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Disappointed
Date:September 10, 2013
By Chefdoc
from North Carolina
Brother products have always been of high quality and I have never had any problems until this model. The printer is excellent, but the copy quality is dark and blurred, especially when fine print is involved. The contrast, brightness, and quality settings seem to have little affect on the copy outcome. My new Model 8510 had this problem, and the replacement factory refurbished model was no better. I would definitely NOT buy this product again
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Starts Great but goes downhill
Date:October 7, 2014
By DMBrother
from Wichita, KS
I have been using brothers for sometime now for the company. The products have been good until this model. This model has gone anywhere from a week to a year and a half before it goes down the drain. The papers start to wrinkle and jam. The most pages printed on all of them have only been right at 20,000 so there is no reason for failure at that point. Very disappointed. Switching back to Dell AIO with 5 year Pro Support Next Day Service for less than I have been buying these.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 11 for MFC-8510DN
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Not what it used to be
Date:August 5, 2013
By Carminjt
from Southfield, MI
We had stuck to brother as a company for quite some time. The Brother MFCs we bought had always packed a lot of value - this one though, if I could return them, I would. We purchased two of them, within three months, we were already performing warrantied maintenance (that leaves us without a printer for a week) on one and the other looks like it will need it too. The software is clumsy and almost useless, the web interface is slow, and cumbersome. Lastly, you can NOT expand the printer to use a second tray. It comes with one tray and that is it.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.