Product Reviews

Brother MFC-7860DW

Compact Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Duplex Printing
Average Customer Rating:
3.928 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (167 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
17
129 of 167(77%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-7860DW
Review 1 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Most Amazing Laser Printer Ever!!!
Date:August 23, 2011
By DoctorFrank
from New Smyrna Beach, FL
For a simple person wanting a printer that can: be wireless or wired, print double sided, and have one set of toner that can last for much longer period of time any regular ink can, this is the perfect printer. I have realized long ago that I barely use color, and this is really the perfect solution. It prints super fast, and barely makes a noise. A fair price for something so awesome!
It's a must have!!!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Super machine
Date:April 10, 2014
By Puck
from Charleston,SC
Great machine does everything well. Very very happy!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 3 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Does the job
Date:April 3, 2014
By Auds
I needed a printer to make permanent copies that would not be affected by water, and that meant a laser printer. I bought the Brother on the recommendation of a friend, and am very pleased with the performance. It is quick and quiet, and produces very crisp, clear copies. I now use it in "toner saver" mode and notice no difference in the quality of the copies.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 4 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Purchase
Date:March 16, 2014
By Shai
from Saint Louis, MO
This Brother replaced an HP inkjet product that had scanning and wireless capability. Within two years of owning the HP I developed an ink head problem that would cost almost as much as the printer to fix. Also, the printing quality even though claimed to be as gook as laser was deficient. This Brother makes great looking copies, takes less ink replacement. We'll have to see if this continues. I have another Brother product and have been impressed that it is a real work horse. So far I have been very satisfied.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 5 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
great product
Date:March 16, 2014
By gem1412
from fl
I enjoy using the product. It provides excellent service and is great at all functions that it provides. The only drawback is the initial toner cartridge is very small and started saying out of toner very soon after starting to use the printer.
other than that, the replacement cartridge is reasonable.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very solid performer
Date:March 5, 2014
By JimUlster
from Ulster County, NY
I purchased this machine to replace a MFC 7340 which I had happily used for four years. The drum unit was near the end of its life and I wanted the benefits of the wireless feature.
I had difficulty getting the wireless connection to work with the cd's provided. However, Brother customer service was very helpful in completing installation on my two household computers.
I am very satisfied with the performance of the unit as printer, scanner and copier. The scanning software is considerably improved over the MFC 7340 and now scans multiple pages as a single file. I have not attempted to use the fax feature and therefore have no comment on it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Another outstanding Brother printer!!
Date:February 16, 2014
By wsw3
from York, Pa
My overall rating my MFC7860DW is 4.5 out of 5. Not a 5 out 5 because it is loud. I am using this wireless with a Windows 8 laptop, a old XP desktop plus 2 Galaxy SIII smart phones. The software and updates have all installed and worked perfect. The print quality is Excellent no mater what the source. This printer likes the paper made for Laser printers (20lb) better than thin copy paper. Scan and faxes are fast and look great. Wish it had a built in stapler but as is, you wont find much better at this price. This is my third Brother printer in 10 years one I wore out, one I gave away now this one I hope will last for many years. The first 2 printed of thousands of pages with little complaint.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Product...few changes would make it perfect
Date:February 2, 2014
By Catherine
from Salem Oregon
I am CEO of a small nonprofit... so performance, cost & support are critical. I have experimented with 2 of the other major brands. I am now committed to Brothers... long story but best support I have had... also, fast and simple to use. Only chance I would make is the paper feed tray... Changing from legal to letter is a real pain!... Something you can do with one hand would be great.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Happy Customer
Date:January 21, 2014
By Anonymous
from Las Vegas, NV
This is my second machine from Brother and the only reason I have only owned two is they last and they do the job. There is a lot in that statement, buy Brother.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 10 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
They Just keep getting Better!!
Date:November 14, 2013
By Bucka
from Atlanta, Ga.
This is my third MFC machine and the wireless feature is awsome. I can print from anywhere in my home and even from my IPhone. I have had this one about a year and it might have misfead 3 times its so simple work with I don't need a $5000 Dollar tank to do everything I need!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer and HP Killer
Date:November 7, 2013
By TLC808
from Hawaii
I dumped my HP and picked up the MFC-7860DW. Set up was a breeze. Quality is great. Being able to print in duplex make all the sense in the world. I'm saving trees. Hints to save toner, drop down the quality of the print, even the lowest setting is fine for letters. I find I don't need to have a color printer and when I do, I can just go down the street and pay a couple buck to print in bulk. Cheaper then ink. The scanner works great, black and white or in color. You can load and scan or copy multiple sheets of paper. If this printer got stolen, I would replace it with the same one. If my needs change and I decide I need to have a color printer, I will get the color version.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-7860DW
Date:October 28, 2013
By jedi1
from Stamford, Ct
Great device for black & white duplex all in one. Easy to install, excellent and quick print,scan,fax,copy. Keeps working without problems. Tech assistance, if necessary is very good. Can't beat the price.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Solid, reliable printer
Date:October 2, 2013
By BankruptcyLawyer
from Atlanta area
This printer works very well, trouble-free and jam-free, and compared to many other printer brands is economical on toner.
I bought this one to replace another Brother printer which gave excellent service for about 8 years of regular daily, fairly heavy use; it still works well as a backup; only the ADF function has died from old age. (Probably just needs a feed part replaced, but as cheap as the new one is, it's a lot quicker to just replace it.)
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 14 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very Satisfactory
Date:September 24, 2013
By Ostegaard
from Washington State
This all-in-one actually does much more than we need, but what we do use has produced excellent results. The wireless connection is good, copies are consistently excellent, we have never had a paper jam, it prints labels without any trouble. Initially we had to have the 7860 share a phone line with voice. It had no problems recognizing the difference between voice and fax. There is not quite as much versatility in copying for booklets as I would like, but we have figured out a way to do what we need.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:August 31, 2013
By jedi
from Connecticut
Great job, and a great price. Works so well I don't even know it's there.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
Review 16 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Buy
Date:August 28, 2013
By Loquitur
from Chicago
I love this printer. I use my IPhone, IPad and laptop to print documents from throughout my home. Excellent product. Nice scanning capabilities also.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 17 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Multi Perpose Office Product
Date:August 26, 2013
By OFFICE177
from East Orange, NJ
Reliable, easy to maintain machine, economical,
and good performance
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 18 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great printer
Date:August 5, 2013
By MUMCHistorical
from Manchester, MO
Helps our church historical committee record information and reduces time walking to a distant printer. We do a lot of scanning and copying too.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great purchase
Date:July 29, 2013
By Batgirl
from Hattiesburg, MS
Very pleased with the print, copy and scan features. Works great!!
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Printer
Date:July 15, 2013
By Myrna
from Columbus, Ohio
Love the printer. I use it with 3 wireless computers. I have the Brother app for my Apple IPad. The only problem I have is it does not support some programs I want to print on my iPad. I hope Brother will fix that problem.
I usually scan from my ipad because it is so easy and quick using my Apple iPad.
When I travel, I take the Brother printer with me so I am always ready if I have to print something in my job. I also may need to make copies or scan something. This machine is a work horse!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 5
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>