Product Reviews

Brother MFC-7860DW

Compact Laser All-in-One with Wireless Networking and Duplex Printing
Average Customer Rating:
3.956 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (205 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
50
3 stars
19
2 stars
18
1 star
18
158 of 205(77%)people would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MFC-7860DW
Review 1 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Most Amazing Laser Printer Ever!!!
Date:August 23, 2011
By DoctorFrank
from New Smyrna Beach, FL
For a simple person wanting a printer that can: be wireless or wired, print double sided, and have one set of toner that can last for much longer period of time any regular ink can, this is the perfect printer. I have realized long ago that I barely use color, and this is really the perfect solution. It prints super fast, and barely makes a noise. A fair price for something so awesome!
It's a must have!!!!!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Laser Printer
Date:December 14, 2014
By Leapbuyer
from South Bend, IN
This is a wonderfully quick, efficient, and easy printer to set up and use. The quality is great.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 3 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
MFC-7860DW
Date:October 30, 2014
By Director
from Clarksville
This is a great printer. I am sold on Brother products pverall. On initial setup I has difficulty gettinmy my printer to print with the machine. A brief phone call the Brother support had me up and going in 15 minutes. I just needed to change some settings on my computer. It is a great product and the support is outstanding!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Medium Business (26 to 999 Employees)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 4 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Do-It-All Printer
Date:October 28, 2014
By AverageBrother
from Columbia, Maryland
I have gone three Brother printers in the five or six years. Each has performed well. Each new printer has been an upgrade. The MCF-7860 seems to have all the features that I will need for a while. This upgrade included the automatic document feeder. I regularly scan documents of 5, 10, or 20 pages. The auto feeder eliminates that walk across the room to place the next page in the scanner. The scanner software provided with the printer is good, but with the 7860 I can use software already installed on my laptops to created PDFs (literally at the press of a button). What took 20 to 30 minutes to do without the auto feeder, now takes less than one minute.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 5 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Best Printer
Date:October 16, 2014
By Anthonyotg
from Cupertino, CA
I had a Brother (TRUE) laser printer years ago and loved it. Don't know why I fell for the laser jet pitch. They seemed to always be out of ink at the worst time. And way too often. I tried several different brands, always with the same frustration. Then I asked myself, "How often do I really need color?" Those really rare times don't even compare to having an absolutely dependable, high quality b/w true LASER printer. Even when the toner eventually gets low, I can always take the cartridge out, gently rock it side to side, reposition it and print more copies. Wireless home network setup was a breeze when guided, step by step, by the excellent free, native-English-speaking, phone tech support. My XX (NOT) laser jet went to the Goodwill and I am happy whenever I need to print on my Brother-7860DW (TRUE) laser printer. The initial higher price, compared to the (NOT) laser-jets, is quickly paid for by the much lower-per-copy ink cost of the Brother. Not to mention the end of aggravation!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 6 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Lasers Are Better
Date:August 27, 2014
By LovelyLawyer
from Atlanta, GA
Item arrived quickly, and was packaged securely. Out of box, there is the Printer, (1) Toner Cartridge, a Quick Start Guide (for easy setup), and a more in-depth owners manual, CD-ROM guide / registration, power cord, and phone cable (for fax machine). As this was my first experience with laser printers I was kind of overwhelmed at first, but the Quick Start Guide provides all the setup information you need (the larger manual and online version via CD-ROM are more of a troubleshoot option or if you're going above and beyond usual printing needs). After following directions to remove all the packing, and installing the toner cartridge I continued the process of setting up time, date functions, etc. Whole process was remarkably fast, and I had everything up and running in about 30min / 45min or so. Prints and copies wonderfully (duplex or two-sided copies is a great paper saving feature, but can be turned off if needed). Have had limited use of the Scan and Fax functions so I cannot fully attest to their reliability. Wireless printing is also relatively simple to set-up (and can be utilized on Chromebooks but ONLY if you have another computer device). You can also print from desktop devices, tablets, phones, and any other wireless enabled device connected to your WiFi network. For more info on the Chromebook / Google-cloud printing comment below and I'll try to assist in the set-up process as best as I can.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
wireless machine
Date:August 26, 2014
By Anonymous
from Alabama
I have to say only good things about this machine. As long as you have good wifi your machine will operator perfectly.... I had to switch wifi but after doing so the Brother worked great!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 8 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
An ALL IN ONE/WIRELESS that works perfectly.
Date:August 14, 2014
By SASinMT
from MT
Very satisfied with the overall performance and operation with this unit (MFC-7860DW). Wireless set-up was easy to follow and it's connected to several laptops. Would purchase again and we just use it in our home. Trial toner cartridge went quick and ordered a new one on Amazon for $42 w/free shipping. I usually shut it off the unit until I need it.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 9 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent printer
Date:August 14, 2014
By JU87g1
from Dallas, TX
Works as advertised, quite, cost effective, great quality. Hands down beats ink jet for home office use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 10 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Work Horse
Date:August 12, 2014
By Pocono
from Tampa Fl
I print a huge amount of data and I am pleased with the quality of the printed product -- So far I think I am leading in 'who uses the most toner' contest ... I use a cartridge every 10 days - not complaining just to give you a good idea of how much I use my machine-- She is right next to me ;)
I would recommend this printer to others and
HAVE !
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 1
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great for small office
Date:August 9, 2014
By Jerseyboy
from Absecon, NJ
I now work from home and it requires me to print/fax send/receive up to 100+ Pages a day. This is a HUGE upgrade over my old ink jet multifunction printer. It is super fast and can easily handle larger volumes with out jamming. So far not a single jam and I have been using it now for about 3 months. The only negative I can say about it is that it is noisy. But it is perfect for my use.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 12 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brotherbest
Date:August 4, 2014
By Brotherbest
from Sanford Fl
This All in one wireless is by far the best printer/copier/scanner and fax I have ever purchased...I have owned Lexmark and HP and Brother outshines them 10 to 1...
Very happy with the purchase and I would highly recommend this product....It works flawlessly!!!!
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 13 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Workhorse
Date:August 1, 2014
By NorthTexasollisonCtr1
from Grand Prairie, TX.
This is the Best Printer for a Small Business! We should have got this Printer in the first palce
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 1
Review 14 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
No fail faxing and scanning
Date:July 28, 2014
By Tommyref
from Huntington Beach, CA
I continually purchase Brother multi functions for my business. They never fail in faxes of multiple pages. No jamming, ever.
The SCAN function on this machine is excellent. Very sharp images, not the ghost image of some scans. The tech support is also A+.
Thank you Brother, again.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: More than 5
Review 15 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent purchase made for my company.
Date:July 14, 2014
By FWT6799
from Miami, fL
Purchasing my Laser All In One Brother printer made my small business very efficient in processing paperwork specially scanning. The scanning is very fast as well printing. I loved it so much, had to buy another one same model for home.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Small Business (Up to 25 Employees)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 16 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good all-in-one printer
Date:July 9, 2014
By Fish
from Colorado
Regarding the MFC-7860DW all-in-one printer. This printer gives nice, clean pages. I wish it had duplex copying as well as duplex printing. Guess you can't have everything at this price.
Brother has excellent technical support. I needed it to wirelessly link the printer to my computer.
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 17 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very satisfied again
Date:June 3, 2014
By majorpierre
from Bourget, Ontario, Canada (near Ottawa)
This is my second laser Brother Printer. Not only it is a great purchase I am very satisfied with the great online service I keep getting from this company. That is why I am taking the time right now to rate this product.
EXCELLENT : I would give it 2 thumbs up or
AAA rating
Thank you Brother for being a good Brother to me!
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 4
Review 18 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent Printer
Date:May 7, 2014
By Seaphotodoc
from Greer, AZ
Satisfied with the print quality and wireless capabilities. Compact footprint. No complaints or problems so far.
Expertise: Advanced Amateur
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 2
Review 19 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
a review
Date:May 6, 2014
By slow
from MD
I've only tried the wireless feature so far, and can confirm wireless printing from computers on another floor works, which saves time transporting computers to the wired USB plugged printer. We did connect it and our computers to our router's local network, though, so I'm not experienced with the printer's wireless capabilities without a router. Our older printers are also Brother all in one kind printers. Though they were wired, they were capable of printing out textbook-worth of papers and are still functional after more than 4 years. One of them has only encountered one breakdown that was a mystery for a while, but with some Googling, was revealed to be an internal paper jam. This printer has been working without problems for a few months, and we expect the same longevity from this printer as from our wired Brother printers.
Expertise: Casual User
Use: Home (Personal Use)
Brother products owned: 3
Review 20 for MFC-7860DW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great Machine
Date:April 30, 2014
By ablenotary
from Washington NC
Great Machine.Fast clean.Fax back 50 pgs.Would recommend for small office
Expertise: Professional or Expert
Use: Home Office (Business Use)
Brother products owned: 2
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>